We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of F&F Hostel

Hostel | Stop 6 Playa Brava, Carlos Vaz Ferreira St between, M`Hijo el Dotor and Cantaro fr Punta del Este, Uruguay .

66.9% Overall Rating

86 out of 118 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2015)

Selena Humble thinks…

"I loved this place!! Clean, nice atmosphere, very very great staff, new matresses, and excelent drinks at the bar... I recomend it to everybody, one of the best stays I ever had, love F&F Hostel.…"

Read all F&F Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta del Este?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta del Este

El Viajero Brava Beach Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 86.4% 74 reviews
La Lomita del Chingolo B&B
15.00 USD

Hostel 91.0% 206 reviews
Hostel Del Puerto
34.38 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel del Patio
12.00 USD

Hostel 55.9% 50 reviews
ISA Hostel
16.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casablanca Hostel
15.47 USD

Hostel 83.6% 20 reviews
El Hostalito
25.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 74 reviews
Hostel Punta Ballena Bar
13.75 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.9%

Overall Rating

86 out of 118 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'F&F Hostel'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
56.8%
Value
72.8%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 114 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Fonseca

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Good bedrooms, great garden and pool, fully-equiped kitchen, two computers for public use.

Disliked: Huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub, but there was only one on the first floor, which is clearly not enough for everyone.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: We arrived at 3pm and were told our room would not be ready until 9pm. Come 9pm we were told it would be another hour. We didn't get to check into OUR room until 11pm. The hostel was completly over booked and other backpackers were also having problems. The next day we asked for a discount at check out and were told we were not entitled to one as the rates online are already discounted. We refused to pay the full $50 for a room we didn't get til 11pm so they called the police. After an hour of fighting we eventually got a discount but left this place feeling scared and very annoyed. The owner was extremly aggressive and we didn't feel safe staying in punta del este. By far the worst place we have stayed in the past 6 months.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Eva Ocenaskova

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2012

Liked: The property, the house itself is really lovely. Ok pool and beds around. The staff are not very particular about check-out time, they are quite relaxed. In all positive, negative aspekts.

Disliked: All the rest. Not really safe - someone torn over all my suitcase. Surprisingely nothing got lost.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great outdoor social area with pool, bar, hammock and sun beds. Nice light rooms.

Disliked: Very noisy at night till around 3 or 4am (depending on who's staying there) as the bar area is open and can be heard from all the rooms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The bedroom that we stayed in, was too small and the was no ventilation

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jack McPherson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2012 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice backyard (pool, bar etc.) Good backpacker vibe, soccer field. about a 10 minute walk to the beach.

Disliked: Bit far from the main part of town, dorms very very hot, not tab system at the bar. We (Australians) couldn't take money out from any of the ATMs in Punta which was very frustrating (not a reflection on the hostel of course!) All the hostels are very expensive too, including this one.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved this hostel. The location is perfect. So close to the beach and cafes. Close enough to the bus station (10-15min walk). The staff were super friendly and helpful. the hostel is so cute with plenty of space to relax in a hammock, play football, chill out in the combi room or swim in the little pool. We arrived on a weekend were they were having a massive fluro party so we hung out there all night which was sooo fun. I loved my stay at F & F!!!!!

Disliked: nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Maria Pelufo

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

29 January 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: We had an amazing party under the stars, by the poolside on the first night of our stay, with great atmosphere, music, and free drinks!...Also the staff is wonderful, and the location, and facilities are great, so overall it is wonderful value for the money. If you are in a budget, I doubt you can do better in Punta del Este, a very expensive beach resort! Go for it, and be armed with patience for the little flaws!

Disliked: The place has some little shortcomings (as: very little space where the bunk beds are crammed, no electric plugs or individual lamps, no lockers, wifi not working, too few bathrooms and not all that clean). But they can be overcome with good will.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011

Liked: Reasonable location with pool, was out of action when we went though

Disliked: Rented a double room with bathroom and shower. Firstly there was no key to our room and on request the host said he didnt know where it was, but said the hostel was safe, not a great start. The shower didn't work so we had to use the main bathroom which was limited to one shower 3 floors down.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Over all your hostel and the staff is excellent! The only thing i would say is that i needed some space for my clothes - a cupboard/drawer/selfs/ hangers - something beside the floor to put my clothes.

Disliked: N

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only 2 words: Loved it!!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fantastic, the people, the place, the help from the front decks guys, everything SO FINE... I recommend this place to spend some days in Punta.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place. Close to everything. Clean and fun. The dinner was so good and a great way to meet people. Stay here!

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cheap with a great location. Everything was within walking distance and the staff were helpful and friendly

Disliked: It was a little dirty and the shower in our room didn't work

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gnecchi Ruscone Piermaria

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

19 February 2011 Gnecchi Ruscone would recommend this property

Liked: The best Hostel in Punta del Este! staff very nice and helpful! beautiful place! swimming pool, bar, garden ... and the best breakfast in the world served by the Magno!

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Forsberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 February 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: the pool, the backyard and that we felt like home:)

Disliked: the room was small and there would have been nice with one more toilet and hot water in all showers.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the beach.

Disliked: Organization and cleanless of the kitchen and bathrooms.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2011

Liked: Friendly staff, located close to Punta's center and good place to know people.

Disliked: It's an old house, barely rebuilded to be an hostel. It needs maintenante in both electric and water system, some rooms are tiny and the staff don't appears to know what they're doing. They get problems with reservation, play loud parties until the morning (even when themselves put warnings of silence past 11 pm), and doesn't seem to know much about punta del este. The reception get empty sometimes, it seems really as an amateur thing!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 January 2011

Liked: It was a few minutes walk to the two main beaches. There was one bathroom that was pretty big and clean. The staff would let you use their own computer if the shared one was taken. The staff was helpfull and really nice.

Disliked: The bathrooms, except for the big one, where pretty dirty (but not much more than other hostels I stayed in). All the showers had a really small stream and you had to pay for a locker (however, it was pretty safe to keep your stuff in the room). The first night they told me there would be a party at the hostel. I was tired of the journey, so I didn't go, but the party was right next to the dorm. It would have been ok for one night, and if the music wasn't that loud, but both nights I stayed the music was on till late really loud (even the night there was no 'party'). Last, the matrass and pillow were very thin.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Twamley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: location is great, staff are great, nice cool swimming pool, kitchen and bathrooms are kept very clean, bbq to use when you want. one of the cheapest places to stay in punta del este. its a very good place for meeting other travellers. booked for 2 nights and ended up staying for a week and then returning for 2 nights over christmas.

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2011

Liked: The location was good, near to the beach. The kitchen was fully equipped and the rooms where clean.

Disliked: First of all, the directions given by the hostel through hostelbookers is not correct, therefore it took us a long time to find the hostel. When we arrived the staff was really unfriendly and did not explained anything about the hostel to us, just showed us the room and that was it. We had to pay for the lockers, there are not really enough showers and toilets for all the guests, so there are lines for the shower. Also, breakfast is not included. To conclude, this hostel charges too much for what it has to offer.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Jean Roberto Mendonca

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

06 January 2011 Jean Roberto would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful built

Disliked: dirty bathrooms, 10% charges for those using credit card. There`s no information about this on the website

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Martina Filipkowski

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

05 January 2011 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing! It' s a big house with swimming pool, very comfortable and clean. People there are very helpful and polite, they' re cleaning everything all the time, so you never find a kitchen or a bathroom dirty. The price is not that good, kind expensive, but for me it worthed, I enjoyed too much.

Disliked: Don`t have breakfast