HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of F&F Hostel

Hostel | Stop 6 Playa Brava, Carlos Vaz Ferreira St between, M`Hijo el Dotor and Cantaro fr Punta del Este, Uruguay .

82.2% Overall Rating

80 out of 102 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/02/2014)

remo castiglioni thinks…

"It's the best place I have ever been , the Staff and the cleanliness are the best"

Read all F&F Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta del Este?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta del Este

El Viajero Brava Beach Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 85.6% 73 reviews
La Lomita del Chingolo B&B
15.00 USD

Hostel 91.0% 206 reviews
El Hostalito
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 67 reviews
El Viajero Manantiales Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 76.3% 40 reviews
Hostel del Mar
15.83 USD

Hostel 72.4% 3 reviews
Uy Punta Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Backpacker de La Barra
20.00 USD

Hostel 81.3% 44 reviews
ISA Hostel
15.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

80 out of 102 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'F&F Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
84.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 64 of 98 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I came again and again back , that is the best review :)

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josh Deliot

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 January 2013 Josh would recommend this property

Liked: My second stay at this great hostel. I've seen quite a lot of hostels during the last years and this is absolutely the best of them! Perfect location, great staff, nice travellers. Really nothing to complain about.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Pump

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

19 January 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostel I've ever been: the location is perfect (so close to everything) staff and atmosphere fantastic. I spent only 3 nights there, but I wish I could have stayed longer.

Disliked: N

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Dorsone

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

11 January 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel is really good: the rooms are clean and comfortable, the sfaff is friendly and helpful and the position is central, only 5 minutes from the centre of Punta. There are lots of services included in the price and also some trips and parties organised from the staff. You can also cook your lunch/dinner in the common kitchen. The style of the Hostel is nice and homely, so I reccomend it to everyone to spend some nice days in Punta del este.

Disliked: Nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Belle Jansen

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

03 January 2013

Liked: The common area outside

Disliked: The dorms are really small, there is not enough room for luggage and no lockers. There is only one functioning shower in the entire hostel; the bathrooms are dirty. The towels are not included; they charge US$5 for them. We paid US$50 a night each, for a dirty hostel without breakfast or towels, no place to keep our valuables and standing in line for a dirty bathroom.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Has a nice pool and outdoor area.

Disliked: Toilet and shower was broken. Wifi did not work in room. High price for what you're getting.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2012

Liked: Chilled atmosphere, couple of staff were really nice, no one was uptight, outdoor area excellent - the hammocks, decking and day beds were great.

Disliked: No breakfast, not even tea or coffee. Only two bathrooms for the whole place, they advertise in-room wifi which isn't true, also say they accept credit cards but they don't. Bit of a walk to get even food and compared to other hostels, are a bit far from the main tourist area. If you don't like hot midday walks, expect to pay more than what you save in their cheap rates in cabs getting to and from the place. Bathrooms were gross, no soap for hand washing. No lockers and the front gate and door are permanently open. Verrry thin foam mattresses, old linen. All rooms are adjoining the decked common area so it's really hard to sleep until after 2am when the music finally goes off. No activities or equipment - no surfboards, bikes etc to hire, no knowledge of local tours (out to islands etc).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stuart Hendry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2012 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff,good location and good music

Disliked: Nothing in particular

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much perfect hostel. There are a few small problems, but you can see that everyday they are improving things and making it as good as possible. The outdoor area is really good, it's the cleanest hostel I've stayed in and the staff are very friendly. Nice place to relax in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La ambientación del lugar es excelente :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elise Tucson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2012 Elise would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel we have stayed in by far, with excellent staff and atmosphere

Disliked: Elise left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kate Ginns

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2012 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, the staff were nice and friendly.

Disliked: The hostel seemed to be in renovations and it was as if they were not ready for us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel and friendly people work there! Just when you arrive, it's possible noting the good atmosphere of shared house. The workers are really good, enjoy and resolve every kind of problem you have inside there (if you have). The dinner is great, an exemple of good cooking. The place it's beautiful!!

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Julio Alberto Alegre Stelzer

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

24 September 2012

Liked: Facilities

Disliked: Good structure but the place was having a rebuilding during the stat

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nathalia Catherine Afonso

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

26 April 2012

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: We arrived at the hostel and the bedroom was not ready (even after two hours of check in time) and we was informed the hostel not accept credit cards. The bedroom was soooo stinking, impossible to use (we got a private bedroom and private bathroom) and the hostel it's not very well signaled and we was lost. Bad experience at all... I can't enjoyed it the beach because of this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorena DOTI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2012 Lorena would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel, been to many round the world but this was the best. Spotless, friendly and great chat. Loved every bit of Punta and F&F made it that good a trip. if there wasn't so many other places I wanted to go I'd be straight back.

Disliked: N

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Fonseca

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Good bedrooms, great garden and pool, fully-equiped kitchen, two computers for public use.

Disliked: Huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub, but there was only one on the first floor, which is clearly not enough for everyone.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: We arrived at 3pm and were told our room would not be ready until 9pm. Come 9pm we were told it would be another hour. We didn't get to check into OUR room until 11pm. The hostel was completly over booked and other backpackers were also having problems. The next day we asked for a discount at check out and were told we were not entitled to one as the rates online are already discounted. We refused to pay the full $50 for a room we didn't get til 11pm so they called the police. After an hour of fighting we eventually got a discount but left this place feeling scared and very annoyed. The owner was extremly aggressive and we didn't feel safe staying in punta del este. By far the worst place we have stayed in the past 6 months.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Eva Ocenaskova

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2012

Liked: The property, the house itself is really lovely. Ok pool and beds around. The staff are not very particular about check-out time, they are quite relaxed. In all positive, negative aspekts.

Disliked: All the rest. Not really safe - someone torn over all my suitcase. Surprisingely nothing got lost.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great outdoor social area with pool, bar, hammock and sun beds. Nice light rooms.

Disliked: Very noisy at night till around 3 or 4am (depending on who's staying there) as the bar area is open and can be heard from all the rooms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The bedroom that we stayed in, was too small and the was no ventilation

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jack McPherson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2012 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice backyard (pool, bar etc.) Good backpacker vibe, soccer field. about a 10 minute walk to the beach.

Disliked: Bit far from the main part of town, dorms very very hot, not tab system at the bar. We (Australians) couldn't take money out from any of the ATMs in Punta which was very frustrating (not a reflection on the hostel of course!) All the hostels are very expensive too, including this one.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved this hostel. The location is perfect. So close to the beach and cafes. Close enough to the bus station (10-15min walk). The staff were super friendly and helpful. the hostel is so cute with plenty of space to relax in a hammock, play football, chill out in the combi room or swim in the little pool. We arrived on a weekend were they were having a massive fluro party so we hung out there all night which was sooo fun. I loved my stay at F & F!!!!!

Disliked: nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Maria Pelufo

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

29 January 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: We had an amazing party under the stars, by the poolside on the first night of our stay, with great atmosphere, music, and free drinks!...Also the staff is wonderful, and the location, and facilities are great, so overall it is wonderful value for the money. If you are in a budget, I doubt you can do better in Punta del Este, a very expensive beach resort! Go for it, and be armed with patience for the little flaws!

Disliked: The place has some little shortcomings (as: very little space where the bunk beds are crammed, no electric plugs or individual lamps, no lockers, wifi not working, too few bathrooms and not all that clean). But they can be overcome with good will.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011

Liked: Reasonable location with pool, was out of action when we went though

Disliked: Rented a double room with bathroom and shower. Firstly there was no key to our room and on request the host said he didnt know where it was, but said the hostel was safe, not a great start. The shower didn't work so we had to use the main bathroom which was limited to one shower 3 floors down.