HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Lomita del Chingolo B&B

Hostel | Las acacias s/n, entre Av. La Paloma y L'mans, Punta del Este, Uruguay 1425

91.0% Overall Rating

200 out of 206 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/12/2013)

allan wallace thinks…

"it's quant and beautiful. Nice area, great for walks. Lots of trees, flowers, and quiet spots on the property itself. The owners/managers were frendly and helpful. Had a great time. I write books,…"

Read all La Lomita del Chingolo B&B reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 50.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If a customer fails to arrive at our property we will charge 100% of the booking. For the below-mentioned periods, all cacnellations need to be 9 days in advance, if not we will charge customers 50% of the booking: - Christmas and New Years Enve period from 22 Dec 2012 to 7 Jan 2013 - Carnival period Feb 17 to Feb 24 2012

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta del Este?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta del Este

F&F Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel 82.2% 102 reviews
El Viajero Brava Beach Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 82.3% 69 reviews
El Hostalito
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 65 reviews
El Viajero Manantiales Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 76.3% 40 reviews
La Quinta Eco Hostel & Club
35.00 USD

Hostel 80.7% 4 reviews
Hostel del Mar
17.08 USD

Hostel 72.4% 3 reviews
Uy Punta Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Backpacker de La Barra
20.00 USD

Hostel 81.3% 44 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

200 out of 206 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Lomita del Chingolo B&B'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 160 of 178 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

allan wallace

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2013 allan would recommend this property

Liked: it's quant and beautiful. Nice area, great for walks. Lots of trees, flowers, and quiet spots on the property itself. The owners/managers were frendly and helpful. Had a great time. I write books, and this place (or a representation) may well end up in one of them.

Disliked: allan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buena la atención. Los dueños fueron super amables

Disliked: Nada. Todo bárbaro

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lukasz Sadlik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Lukasz would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff (owners). Their approach is outstanding in comparison with other hostels. Breakfast is more like in a hotel, not a hostel. I definitely advice to choose this hostel for holidays in Punta del Este.

Disliked: Location requires some walking - irritating if you forgot to buy something on your first trip to the city.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

María Noel Pérez Vega

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 February 2013 María Noel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and friendly and the hostel is located in a beautiful place near playa brava.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The tranquility to begin with. We all felt safe (5 girls) and the family who runs the place and live there is awesome and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were very friendly and welcoming. They helped us so much with what to do and where to go. The breakfast was the best I've ever had at any B&B and the house and the rooms are very nice!

Disliked: I liked everything about it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gilberto Maurer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 June 2012 Gilberto would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people and homeless atmosphere.

Disliked: Hard to find the place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very homey and small. you live with the owners in their little house. great kitchen and nice garden.

Disliked: you will not meet a lot of people as it is very small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool family kinda place, very friendly, small place, nice chill out area

Disliked: a bit far from the club area, but no place in punta is perfect for everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasha Burgess

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2012 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: It felt very homely without feeling you were intruding in their home.

Disliked: Nothing!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2012

Liked: very clean. comfy beds and nice breakfast with fruit, cereal & toasted sandwich... although on my second morning i wasn´t offered the sandwich or alternative. the lady was very friendly.

Disliked: it really is like staying in someone´s house, and the owner spent the entire time i was there sprawled on the sofa. they had friends over which made me feel a little in the way.... quite noisy with lots of kids running around. when i asked the owner for some advice on transport to another town in uruguay, i was rudely told that unless i was going to see punta del este properly, then he couldn´t help me! although he later said he would find out for me, i never got any answers and so walked half an hour to the bus station to find out for myself. the location is not great at all, and the $5 taxi fare to the bus station is way off; i paid nearly $8 on the way to the hostel and $9 going back to the station, the extra because the taxi was ordered by phone?! wouldn´t recommend this place to anyone.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amy Henschen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Safe neighborhood.

Disliked: Far from things. 30 minute brisk walk to bus terminal. 15 minutes to the shopping mall.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great guesthouses on the property. Very nice family, we didnt exactly realize that we would be staying at their home, but they were very welcoming and we felt extremely comfortable there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Uwe Zegnotat

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Uwe would recommend this property

Liked: This property is very good to stay at. the atmosphere is lovely, you feel like being part of the family and the owner is very helpful by dealing with any problems. I felt very relaxed afterwards and that was my purpose of staying there.

Disliked: Uwe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LEWIS WILLOUGHBY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 LEWIS would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, very clean,helpful staff and they have thought about all the little touches that most hostels forget about!

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Angela Tedesco

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2012 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Staff extremely friendly

Disliked: Angela left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is great, very helpful and inviting. If you want to kick back and relax for a bit this is the place to come. Out of the busy part of town but still within reach of everything. The beach is only a few minutes away.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2012

Liked: The hostel was clean, great house dog. Nice neighbourhood. Good kitchen. Helpful ebough staff.

Disliked: No, repeat, no atmosphere. Nice enough owners but not really warm, did not make me feel very welcome. I dont think they like running a hostel at all. Long walk to anywhere.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not your regular hostel, manageable size, excellent architecture and amenities, fantastic atmosphere, like staying at your friend's place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Skinner

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

20 December 2011 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: This place is like your home away from home. It was such a great group of people when I stayed there, so welcoming, open and generous. I could not imagine a better place to stay in Punta Del Este and you can be sure I will be staying here again. I really didn't want to leave...

Disliked: Nothing, it is not far to walk into town or to the beach, there are plenty of supermarket options for food or anything else you may need during your stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owners and the environment

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've ever had. The host are so friendly and make you become part of their family. And then the asado :)

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucas Netto

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place, especially if you're not looking for a party hostel.

Disliked: Nothing