HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel de la Viuda

Hostel | Calle San Luis y Nueva Granada, Punta del Diablo, Uruguay 27204

95.0% Overall Rating

83 out of 83 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

Amaya Garcia zubiri thinks…

"El hostel esta cerca de la playa de la viuda, muy linda. El ambiente es súper acojedor y los propietarios son encantadores y muy serviciales. Dan todo tipo de información acerca de actividades,…"

Read all Hostel de la Viuda reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta del Diablo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta del Diablo

Hostel El Nagual
17.50 USD

Hostel 92.1% 9 reviews
Hostel de las Hadas
17.02 USD

Hostel 85.4% 10 reviews
La Amistad
25.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
El Diablo Tranquilo
14.90 USD

Hostel 87.2% 63 reviews
El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites
15.00 USD

Hostel 82.7% 25 reviews
La Casa de las Boyas
15.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 23 reviews
Compay Hostel
21.28 USD

Hostel 82.9% 5 reviews
Pueblo Arriba Hostel & Posada
15.32 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.0%

Overall Rating

83 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel de la Viuda'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 64 of 81 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Bulmer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Everything it was just amazing

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amaya Garcia zubiri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Amaya would recommend this property

Liked: El hostel esta cerca de la playa de la viuda, muy linda. El ambiente es súper acojedor y los propietarios son encantadores y muy serviciales. Dan todo tipo de información acerca de actividades, autobuses y cualquier información que preciséis. Tienen un servicio de transfer, a la llegada al pueblo me fueron a buscar y en mi partida también me llevaron. Durante el día tienen varios horarios para llevar o traer del pueblo, caminando son unos 15min. Tienen buenas bicis para alquilar a buen precio, muy aconsejable ir al parque de Santa Teresa. El desayuno es rico y variado. Cuidan al máximo la limpieza, tanto en la cocina como en baños y habitaciones. Posee distintos lugares de esparcimiento. Sala de billar, sala de lectura, piscina.. El jardin es grande y muy bien cuidado. Aceptan todo tipo de moneda. Realmente merece la pena alojarse en este hostel

Disliked: Nada, todo fue perfecto.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Plinio Stocco Muniz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Plinio Stocco would recommend this property

Liked: Simply amazing!!! The best ever staff that I meet in my trevels... Very good infrastructure and atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, amazing staff. Felt so much like home only made it to the beach two times during the week i stayed there. Pool, hammocks, music, drinks, food... no need to leave the hostel, amazingly relaxing!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The relaxed atmosphere, the property and the excellent service of the staff.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah O' Connell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I have just spent a fantastic and very relaxing 3 nights at Hostel de la Viuda - I would definitely recommend to anyone travelling to the gorgeous Punta del Diablo! Staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way to convenience guests. Breakfast was generous and good quality! Location very near a beautiful beach and a 15 minute walk to the village. Every facility provided including pool table, hammocks, swimming pool! V friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Maybe worth installing additional power points in bedrooms?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pierre Husser

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2013 Pierre would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and professional staff, always here to help. The hostel is a very relaxing place with nicely featured living area.

Disliked: N/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Bowden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels we have stayed at, in a two year period covering a lot of countries, and ive never left many reviews, this place deserves it though. Really friendly and helpful staff, extremely clean and comfortable. The hostel has everything you need, great kitchen, ample bathrooms and a great garden for those nicer days. They even sell food and drink at shop prices for those rainy days or if you just cant be bothered!! Good breakfast which seems constantly replenished!! All in all a great hostel which I would really recommend.

Disliked: Honestly nothing really, only small point is the location, it is a 15 min walk to the shops and town centre, however if done via the beach this really isnt bad. However dont let this put you off, unless your super lazy!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

begoña carulla

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 October 2013 begoña would recommend this property

Liked: It's more a guest house! Guada and Seba are great people and they are improving the place all the time. I've travell for long time, and i am lazy for reviews, but this hostel it's one of the best. It has a swimming pool, a pool table, a nice, complete kitchen, and it's few minutes from a great great beach!

Disliked: begoña left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff!!! Hostel BBQ!!!

Disliked: It is a way from the "main street"

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jesse gaunt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, it was fantastic, I will definatly recommend this hostel an I would definatly stay again

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

gemma burnham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2013 gemma would recommend this property

Liked: It is a really lovely hostel, really homely and comfy. The staff are fantastic, very helpful and friendly and Sebastian will pick you up/drop off to the bus station and give you lifts into town. They have lots of food on offer, fresh empanadas, quiche, sandwichs etc as well as beers and wines at pretty much the same preice as the shop. You can also bring your own alcohol. The pool is good for a game of water volleyball, they have a room with a pool table in and you can hook your ipod up to the speakers. The breakfast is one of the best ive had in South America with fresh pastries and yogurt/cereal/breads every day. The coffee is nice too. There are 3 really friendly, docile dogs at the hostel who will sometimes accompany you to the shop or beach! Its a little far out of town, about 20 minute walk but this wasn't an issue for us, and you can hitch or sometime catch a lift with Sebastian if he's going in.

Disliked: There are a lot of flies in the hostel all the time. The staff do the best to get rid of them and keep the food covered but they are annoying. Loads of mossies too so take repellant.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Omri Zada

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 December 2012 Omri would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing a traveller needs

Disliked: Omri left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of those hostels that you will remember. First of all, the staff (Sebastian and Guada) are absolutely lovely. They run a hostel out of passion, you can tell. We (a couple) stayed in one of the new apartments that they built just a few blocks from the hostel. It was so quite, all the little decoration details, great facilities (toaster, coffee maker, water cooker, huge tv, stereo, even a blender!) and they brought the GREAT breakfast over each morning. Also, the shower, a rain shower, is the best I've ever had in a hostel, I don't know how they do it but it was. You have your own balcony and there is also a rooftop terrace. Sebastian picks you up and drops you off at the bus stop when you arrive or leave, so no need to walk with heavy backpacks (just remember to take the phone number of the hostel with you). Best value for money we've had in a long time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bart Han- Liong Ie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012 Bart Han- Liong would recommend this property

Liked: B E S T place to stay in Punta del Diablo. GOOD VALUE. Close enough to a quiet beach with impressive waves, beautiful sanddunes, located in a very pleasant green area with forest nearby, too. Swimming pool, nice garden where you can enjoy the sun, also a tower with good sea views. Hammocks all over the place. Very spacious kitchen with excellent utensils, cosy living room, also enough and good space inside when it's raining. Pleasant quiet spacious dorms, pleasant beds with lockers and everything clean, including all bathrooms. For dinner Sebastian brought and picked me up to/ from a restaurant in town as it was raining heavyly and the people staying at other hostels had to walk and arrive soaked at their hostel!

Disliked: - N A D A -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nora Gibbons

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2012 Nora would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is amazing! It´s everything you would want in a hostel and more! The owners and staff are so helpful and friendly, and amazingly hard working! Stay here! but beware . . .you won´t leave!

Disliked: that we had to leave!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasha Beker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel. Very nice staff. Great communal areas. Nice breakfast. Great being able to purchase drinks and snacks. Thank you for arranging our bus tickets to Brazil, very helpful. Pickup service to and from bus station is good too. Highly recommend this hostel. Lucas and Natasha New Zealand

Disliked: Natasha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

decombe brigitte

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 November 2012 decombe would recommend this property

Liked: on se sent chez soi, entouré, c'est comme une famille, sébastien et son équipe sont attentionnés, présents, discrets. foi muito otimo. muito gentils. It was like a family, we were so happy to be there that everyboby have to go there, for everything, as environment, atmosphere, friends, sea, surfing....

Disliked: decombe left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sam Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 November 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: The 4 bed dorms are really good value for money. Clean with plenty of room and small lockers for your valuables. This is a great place to stay and meet people.

Disliked: Some of the shower curtains were really dirty and in need of being replaced or cleaned. It's a bit far from the beach for me, but it's a 10-15 minutes walk to the closest beach and supermarket.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet people, kitchen is well equipped and plenty of bathrooms. Comfy beds with hot showers. wifi good, good breakfast. Sebba was v helpful and picked us up from the bus terminal and did regular runs into town.

Disliked: We booked a superior double which was basic, included TV and DVD player but the cable didn't work whilst we were there so felt we should have paid the same price as the standard room. We didn't ask, they didn't offer. At the beginning of stay more staff than guests, felt like we were intruding sometimes. Although kitchen is well equipped, probably needs a good clean and clear out...lots of flies (dead & alive) all around the hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arne Skillestad

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 November 2012 Arne would recommend this property

Liked: Nice summer house with good facilities. Plenty bathrooms. Excellent cleanliness all over the house. Huge yard with many hammocks and a swimming pool. Owners are friendly and takes their time to answer all questions. Over all a very nice place to relax for a couple of days.

Disliked: Arne left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great common area, nice breakfast, best kitchen during our SA travels so far, amazing staff, lovely dogs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhys Kingdom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2012 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: The best kitchen and communal area we have come across, staff were very friendly and helpful, beer the same price as supermarket, watchtower was unusual and cool.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jon Zygadlo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the beach, extremely friendly and helpful staff, very homely feel.

Disliked: Nothing, except the bad weather we had whilst there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rebecca Bradshaw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

04 May 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: This was a really nice place to stay for a few days. We could see that if the weather had been hot the outdoor space would have been great to chill in, but the indoor space was lovely, lots of sofas and dining tables. The host Sebastien was very friendly and picked us up and dropped us off at the bus stop and arranged our bus tickets to Brazil for us.

Disliked: The bedroom (superior double) was nicely decorated but very small, only just enough room to get around the bed, and nowhere to put our big rucksacks. The bins in the kitchen weren't emptied everyday which was a bit smelly and there were quite a few flies in the kitchen area. The bathrooms could have been cleaner.

The property's response is...