HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel de la Viuda

Hostel | Calle San Luis y Nueva Granada, Punta del Diablo, Uruguay 27204

95.0% Overall Rating

82 out of 82 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

Amaya Garcia zubiri thinks…

"El hostel esta cerca de la playa de la viuda, muy linda. El ambiente es súper acojedor y los propietarios son encantadores y muy serviciales. Dan todo tipo de información acerca de actividades,…"

Read all Hostel de la Viuda reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta del Diablo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta del Diablo

Hostel El Nagual
15.00 USD

Hostel 92.1% 9 reviews
Hostel de las Hadas
17.10 USD

Hostel 85.4% 10 reviews
La Amistad
25.64 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
El Diablo Tranquilo
14.90 USD

Hostel 87.3% 62 reviews
El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites
20.00 USD

Hostel 82.7% 25 reviews
La Casa de las Boyas
15.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 23 reviews
Compay Hostel
21.37 USD

Hostel 98.6% 4 reviews
Pueblo Arriba Hostel & Posada
15.39 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.0%

Overall Rating

82 out of 82 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel de la Viuda'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 63 of 80 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: outdoor, breakfast, staff very helpfull

Disliked: long walk from the city and the beach, dorm rooms are not roomy at all

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Look no further - this is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! An absolutely beautiful sort of farmhouse just a short walk from beautiful beaches and the little town. I went here for my birthday and had the best time, the owners are both so lovely and really look after you! They cook fantastic dinners and the breakfast is beautiful too. I cannot rave on enough about it here, it's such a beautiful environment to be in with great views too. Well decorated, very tasteful. You'll feel like you're really at your own little getaway.

Disliked: Nothing - some people may say it's a bit of walk from the beach but it's really not bad, it's a nice little walk, makes you feel like you're a bit more 'away' from everyone, more relaxing. Also the owner guy will you pick you up from where the bus drops you off in the town anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Sneed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. I ended up staying here for 17 nights as a place to split up my trip. I was able to relax with ease and also socialize and have a good time as well. Guada and Seba run an absolutely outstanding hostel and work tirelessly to make sure all your needs are taken care of. I've stayed in hostels in 25 countries on 4 continents and I would put Hostel de la Viuda in my top 3. I would recommend this hostel to absolutely anyone I meet headed to Punta del Diablo. Thanks Seba and Guada!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness and helpfulness of the owners and staff. The layut of the hostel, great kitchen and sitting area.

Disliked: too far from town

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Blackburn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

29 December 2010 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a great place to relax, everything is super clean.

Disliked: It´s a fair walk into Town.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

02 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Seba and Guada´s hostel is like staying in their home. the communal kitchen, living areas and garden are ace. The hosts are very friendly and super helpful. I think where it is will be ideal for the summer as it is away from the crowds and we were happy to walk the 10-15 mins to the beach. Also worth going in the off season as Guida has time to make delicious cakes for breakfast. I would thoroughly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: a little warm at night as no mosquito nets on the windows

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Beard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2010 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: Sebastian and Guadalupe as the hosts are amazing! So helpful with anything you ask. Thanks Sebastian for picking us up and taking us to the bus station. Thanks Guadalupe for such delicious breakfast treats. The hostel is almost a year old and has a great lounging area. The wifi is pretty good and the kitchen space is fantastic. Sunset on the deck was especially good. Plenty of hot water and the place is kept spotlessly clean! For me it was a little far out of town, but this fact was negated somewhat by the owners offering to drive us in to get some dinner one one occasion and then taking us in to buy bus tickets on another. when we were there were quite a few flies and mosqitoes so I suggest bug spray

Disliked: Allan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paula McCabe

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2010 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: Seba & Guada are brilliant hosts to go out of there way to make your stay enjoyable. Their property has a very relaxed feel that makes it possible to find time to yourself or mingle with others. The breakfasts is by far the best I´ve had in Uruguay and although the hostel is slightly out of town, it is only a short walk to the beach and main centre. Dorms are a good size with lockers and regularly cleaned bathrooms.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Montserrat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

21 November 2010 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: Well, every thing is fine. The atmosphere is relaxing and the music is fantastic. The common areas are a pleasure and big. The staff is very helpfulness, they did my stay there very pleasant and so I decided to extend one week in the place. I enjoyed a good asado with another customers. I had all indications to do in the village and tours. There are a good hot shower and excellent wifi also. Thank you!

Disliked: Is a short walk to the village center but the price-quality is fantastic!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rand shoaf

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

15 November 2010 rand would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel de la Viuda is a place that feels like home! By far one of the best hostels in South America. We loved our stay here and especially Guadalupe's amazing breakfasts!!! The owners make the hostel a special place, and are very helpful and friendly! Nice setting, atmosphere and very clean... Highly recommended!

Disliked: rand left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Purcell

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2010 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I´ve ever stayed at. Very friendly owners, good breakfast, very clean, nice garden.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Travelling now for 8 weeks, so far the BEST hostel. What a great people, very friendly, good location, quit and a good place if you want to rest a bit on your trip. Who does not want to hear birds sing in the morning? Highly recommend this place! Punta Del Diablo!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrew evans

09 April 2010 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great time here. Well equipt kitchen and beutiful property. It is a little out of the way but It was really nice and relaxing because of this. 20 min walk to town but close to the beach, The staff (a couple) were really friendly and helpfull. I would stay here again for sure!

Disliked: andrew left no negative feedback.