HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel de la Viuda Punta del Diablo Hostel

Calle San Luis y Nueva Granada, Punta del Diablo,, Punta del Diablo, Uruguay

Atmosphere 99%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 98%

Location 83%

Safety 97%

Staff 98%

Value 98%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta del Diablo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 99%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 98%

Location 83%

Safety 97%

Staff 98%

Value 98%

Showing 21-14 of 14 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is a really lovely hostel, really homely and comfy. The staff are fantastic, very helpful and friendly and Sebastian will pick you up/drop off to the bus station and give you lifts into town. They have lots of food on offer, fresh empanadas, quiche, sandwichs etc as well as beers and wines at pretty much the same preice as the shop. You can also bring your own alcohol. The pool is good for a game of water volleyball, they have a room with a pool table in and you can hook your ipod up to the speakers. The breakfast is one of the best ive had in South America with fresh pastries and yogurt/cereal/breads every day. The coffee is nice too. There are 3 really friendly, docile dogs at the hostel who will sometimes accompany you to the shop or beach! Its a little far out of town, about 20 minute walk but this wasn't an issue for us, and you can hitch or sometime catch a lift with Sebastian if he's going in.

Disliked: There are a lot of flies in the hostel all the time. The staff do the best to get rid of them and keep the food covered but they are annoying. Loads of mossies too so take repellant.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: B E S T place to stay in Punta del Diablo. GOOD VALUE. Close enough to a quiet beach with impressive waves, beautiful sanddunes, located in a very pleasant green area with forest nearby, too. Swimming pool, nice garden where you can enjoy the sun, also a tower with good sea views. Hammocks all over the place. Very spacious kitchen with excellent utensils, cosy living room, also enough and good space inside when it's raining. Pleasant quiet spacious dorms, pleasant beds with lockers and everything clean, including all bathrooms. For dinner Sebastian brought and picked me up to/ from a restaurant in town as it was raining heavyly and the people staying at other hostels had to walk and arrive soaked at their hostel!

Disliked: - N A D A -

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is one of those hostels that you will remember. First of all, the staff (Sebastian and Guada) are absolutely lovely. They run a hostel out of passion, you can tell. We (a couple) stayed in one of the new apartments that they built just a few blocks from the hostel. It was so quite, all the little decoration details, great facilities (toaster, coffee maker, water cooker, huge tv, stereo, even a blender!) and they brought the GREAT breakfast over each morning. Also, the shower, a rain shower, is the best I've ever had in a hostel, I don't know how they do it but it was. You have your own balcony and there is also a rooftop terrace. Sebastian picks you up and drops you off at the bus stop when you arrive or leave, so no need to walk with heavy backpacks (just remember to take the phone number of the hostel with you). Best value for money we've had in a long time!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel is amazing! It´s everything you would want in a hostel and more! The owners and staff are so helpful and friendly, and amazingly hard working! Stay here! but beware . . .you won´t leave!

Disliked: that we had to leave!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fantastic hostel. Very nice staff. Great communal areas. Nice breakfast. Great being able to purchase drinks and snacks. Thank you for arranging our bus tickets to Brazil, very helpful. Pickup service to and from bus station is good too. Highly recommend this hostel. Lucas and NatashaNew Zealand

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice summer house with good facilities. Plenty bathrooms. Excellent cleanliness all over the house. Huge yard with many hammocks and a swimming pool. Owners are friendly and takes their time to answer all questions. Over all a very nice place to relax for a couple of days.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great common area, nice breakfast, best kitchen during our SA travels so far, amazing staff, lovely dogs.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: The 4 bed dorms are really good value for money. Clean with plenty of room and small lockers for your valuables. This is a great place to stay and meet people.

Disliked: Some of the shower curtains were really dirty and in need of being replaced or cleaned. It's a bit far from the beach for me, but it's a 10-15 minutes walk to the closest beach and supermarket.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for the comment as curtains were changed what we do baths twice a year, to season (April) and the beginning of high season (December) we would have loved to have made this remark while in the hostel!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: on se sent chez soi, entouré, c'est comme une famille, sébastien et son équipe sont attentionnés, présents, discrets. foi muito otimo. muito gentils.It was like a family, we were so happy to be there that everyboby have to go there, for everything, as environment, atmosphere, friends, sea, surfing....

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Good place to meet people, kitchen is well equipped and plenty of bathrooms. Comfy beds with hot showers. wifi good, good breakfast. Sebba was v helpful and picked us up from the bus terminal and did regular runs into town.

Disliked: We booked a superior double which was basic, included TV and DVD player but the cable didn't work whilst we were there so felt we should have paid the same price as the standard room. We didn't ask, they didn't offer. At the beginning of stay more staff than guests, felt like we were intruding sometimes. Although kitchen is well equipped, probably needs a good clean and clear out...lots of flies (dead & alive) all around the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Sam regret that the cable did not work as it was a satellite problem, we know you were not at fault but the hostel but there are more than 100 films. The room has cable TV but also DVD, had booked a few days in the double top and others in the room of 4 people, however were every day in the double and were asked a price!

Check Availability