HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel de la Viuda

Hostel | Calle San Luis y Nueva Granada, Punta del Diablo, Uruguay 27204

95.0% Overall Rating

83 out of 83 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

Amaya Garcia zubiri thinks…

"El hostel esta cerca de la playa de la viuda, muy linda. El ambiente es súper acojedor y los propietarios son encantadores y muy serviciales. Dan todo tipo de información acerca de actividades,…"

Read all Hostel de la Viuda reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta del Diablo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta del Diablo

Hostel El Nagual
17.50 USD

Hostel 92.1% 9 reviews
Hostel de las Hadas
17.05 USD

Hostel 85.4% 10 reviews
La Amistad
25.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
El Diablo Tranquilo
14.90 USD

Hostel 87.2% 63 reviews
El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites
15.00 USD

Hostel 82.7% 25 reviews
La Casa de las Boyas
15.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 23 reviews
Compay Hostel
21.31 USD

Hostel 82.9% 5 reviews
Pueblo Arriba Hostel & Posada
15.35 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.0%

Overall Rating

83 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel de la Viuda'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 64 of 81 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, very clean, big kitchen, nice living room and even a swimming pool. We stayed also for 2 nights in their apartment house which was very nice as well (even if its not very close to the hostel).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: extremly nice and helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clay Loftus Wilwol

Alone

Romantic getaway

26 March 2012 Clay would recommend this property

Liked: I´m usually far too lazy to leave feedback on hostels, but this one wannants as many positive reviews as it already has, it really is a wonderful place. Seba and Guada are great owners who are working in the hospitality business beacase they actually enjoy the presence of other human beings and care about their hapiness and satisfaction (hard to believe, I know). You would be foolish to pass up the chance to spend some time here, the only danger is you may never leave...

Disliked: Clay left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john cunningham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2012 john would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Owners are really nice and helpful. Just an all-round good place to stay.

Disliked: Room was a little small, but not a big issue

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Julia Linke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

12 March 2012 Laura Julia would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a last minute stay at la viuda and we enjoyed every minute of our time there! Even though we were only on a one week vacation this hostel seemed to us like backpackers paradise! Great and friendly staff, best hostel kitchen i have seen in a while, nice pool and great and familiar atmosphere. It is a litlle outside the village but you can reach the beach or supermarkets really easy... I wish i could go back right now ;)

Disliked: Some airconditioning would be nice.... But that is just a luxury problem. I really can't think of anything negative so far.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vincent Martens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: a lot of space, nice athmosphere, very very good breakfast

Disliked: Vincent left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

01 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff. Cute dogs running around. Big property with pool, hammocks, etc.

Disliked: Too loud at night for me, because the hostel was full (although it's probably not any louder than any other hostel in the area).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Suzie Hall

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

30 December 2011 Suzie would recommend this property

Liked: The common area and kitchen are lovely.

Disliked: Distance from the beach...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday

23 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic and helpful hosts who will even drive you to the bus stop or other places when possible, a lovely yard and swimming pool to relax in, a huge and well-equipped kitchen, extremely clean and well kept!

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk to the beach- about 15 minutes and to town- about 25 minutes. Fortunately the hostel itself is so great that it makes up for it. I wish I could have stayed longer.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great kitchen and breakfast. really nice staff and very helpful. Meant to stay two days but ended up staying four it was so great.

Disliked: Bit far from the bus stion but the owners will pick you up from there and often give you lifts to the village.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Drew Cummings

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2011 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxing atmosphere, great breakfast and best ever living room! If you want to chill out after Floripa this is the place to go! The kitchen is like a dream and can wash your clothes. Perfect place to stop for longer. Well worth the money!!!

Disliked: Everything was perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yehonatan gida

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 yehonatan would recommend this property

Liked: the best hostel I have been to

Disliked: nan

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice premises, great breakfast

Disliked: everything was ok

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guy Ashiri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Guy would recommend this property

Liked: Actually everything, a really worthy place!

Disliked: Well, when I've been there we were only 4 guests at the whole place so it's been quite empty, and this affects your stay... Except for that, the hostel is really far from town's centre, but this is really nothing! The place is one of the best I've been to in South America

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a lovely stay here. Its a beautiful hostel with a lovely relaxed atmosphere. We were there in the off season so the town was very quite but the hostel itself made it enjoyable. The owners are lovely and very helpful. There is great breakfast - homemade cakes - that´ll set you up for the day.

Disliked: Its about a 15 min out of town but its only a 5 min walk to the beach and its worth it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reto Portner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 May 2011 Reto would recommend this property

Liked: The couple who runs the hostel was muy amable. They build their house/hostel with much of love and enthusiasm, and so the interior is really cozy and inviting to just sit there with a book, talk to other people or drink a glass of wine. They are always investing to give the guests back as much as possible. Be surprised and enjoy the next summer! Also the kitchen was the best we have seen during our travel.

Disliked: I'm sorry, nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Run by a lovely couple (we were out of season and only people there) and a really nice place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Guada and Seba are excellent hosts - extremely helpful and accomodating. The property is big, with a great kitchen and outdoor spaces. Breakfasts were huge and delicious. Unlike most hostels these days, there was a place to wash and dry your clothes, which was really helpful.

Disliked: It´s in a nice, secluded location which was beautiful, but a little far from the town.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. Sebastian and Guadelupe are such lovely hosts with an amazing place. The bedrooms are huge and clean, as are the bathrooms. There is a loungeroom to hang out in complete with games and books and dvd´s. The lookout in the backyard is awesome for sunny days. Cannot rate this place highly enough, it´s awesome. We didn´t want to leave.

Disliked: Nothing, it was perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly helpful owners and staff Excellent well equipped kitchen

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, spacious and very accommodating staff

Disliked: liked everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Newton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far the best hostel I have stayed at during my travels through South America. For a start, the couple who run the place do an amazing job of making you feel welcome and looked after. Sebastian picks people up and drops them off whereever there is a need if he can. He organises trips for you, will pick you up from the side of the road when you are walking home from the supermarket. What really struck me is the genuine caring that is shown. The kitchen is big and has the best cooking equipment of any hostel I~ve stayed at. There is a beautiful back yard with hammocks, laundry facilities. The place is very clean and well kept. The crowd is friendly and those who could tended to stay on an extra day where they could. Would love to go back.

Disliked: Although there is wifi, there is no basic computer for those travelling without to use the net (mind you most people are friendly and dont mind lending). Other than that, I really enjoyed it and hope that they keep up the great work.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable. Good kitchen facilities, great outdoor area. Very friendly staff

Disliked: A little far from the town and beach

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A quiet and relaxed hostel. Friendly and helpful staff. There were several different areas to go and relax with a few hammocks around. They have sinks and lines so you can wash your own clothes. You can get a lift into town if you need to, especially useful when leaving/arriving so you don't have to carry your bags to the bus stop.

Disliked: Finding out that it's a fair bit more than 5 minutes to walk to the beach (minimum 10, more like 15-20 if you're taking a slow relaxed walk) and that even though it's $12 on hostelbookers.com I was always told $15 when extending a night.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Bailey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2011 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay here, great value for money, extremely friendly and helpful staff. thanks

Disliked: a short walk to the town!