HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites

Hostel | 4842 Camino Costanera, Punta del Diablo, Uruguay 27222

82.7% Overall Rating

22 out of 25 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/12/2013)

Adrienne Bosworth thinks…

"Loved the location, atmosphere, and especially the staff. Some great company and late night chats. The property is right on the beach and perfect for morning walks in the sand and moonlight swims.…"

Read all El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If customers cancel within 3 days, they will be charged 25 % of the total booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta del Diablo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta del Diablo

El Diablo Tranquilo
14.90 USD

Hostel 87.2% 63 reviews
Hostel de las Hadas
17.03 USD

Hostel 85.4% 10 reviews
La Amistad
25.55 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel El Nagual
17.50 USD

Hostel 92.1% 9 reviews
Hostel de la Viuda
12.00 USD

Hostel 95.0% 83 reviews
La Casa de las Boyas
15.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 23 reviews
Compay Hostel
21.29 USD

Hostel 82.9% 5 reviews
Pueblo Arriba Hostel & Posada
15.33 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

22 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adrienne Bosworth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Adrienne would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location, atmosphere, and especially the staff. Some great company and late night chats. The property is right on the beach and perfect for morning walks in the sand and moonlight swims. Fun people and fun place. Would love to go back!

Disliked: Adrienne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room is stunning with a classic rustic design. It's right on the beach, the staff are great and always in for a sincere chat, no obligated speeches like 'where are you from, how are you travelling' etc. Then there's the surrounding, the magical little town and the long stretched beaches. I was really happy here, it was a real break.

Disliked: That I had to leave

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lachlan Moore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2012 Lachlan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, sharp knives in the kitchen, good location, great place to relax.

Disliked: Booking was mixed up but the staff fixed it immediately and without any problems.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: How on earth can you offer a 9-bed-room without a window????

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke O'Dell

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super friendly and always willing to help. The location is second to none, with great views of the beach and the main surf spot. Literally stepping from the property onto the beach. The facilities and rooms were nice and very comfortable. The hostel offers great activities, surfing, and are affiliated with a yoga studio and a horseback riding adventure (this is a must, so much fun, a great way to explore the national forest and some other beaches, worth every peso).

Disliked: Not much to dislike. Some of the finer details like chairs, window shade fixtures and floor boards could use some repair.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Anne Boxleitner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 November 2011 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing beachview, nice bar, good food and cocktails, friendly stuff. The concert evening was great! The beds were made every day!

Disliked: Could be cleaner. Forgotten socks, half-empty glasses and empty bottles in the rooms. The girls toilets are small and one of the dorms I stayed was too small for 6 persons. Food portions could be a bit bigger. But all in one a good deal..

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

28 July 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: There was a german shepherd dog belonging to the staff which was unchained and unmuzzled. It guarded the hostel at night and when we tried to get in, it barked and ran at us. When we tried to agree with staff that they would make sure that did not happen again we were yelled, sworn at and verbally abused by a member of staff. The staff suggested we cooked in the kitchen, or that they could cook something for us in the kitchen. Later that evening, we saw two rats in the kitchen. Our sheets and towels had red, yellow and brown stains on them. There was no heating in the hostel, only an unguarded open fire, about two feet away from the bed which had a flammable mattress. The building was largely constructed of wood and bamboo. There were no fire extinguishers, fire escapes, smoke alarms, fire alarms or carbon monoxide testers. When we asked for an electric heater (it was about minus three that night) we were told none were available. The hostel was difficult to find. We had to go into a bar to ask a barman directions, which were not easy to follow as the streets were poorly lit. There was a layer of dust and dirt on the bar/reception area. Our bathroom did not appear to have been cleaned since the previous guests. The staff encouraged wild stray dogs to enter and nest around the hostel entrance.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Ernst

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2011 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location next to the beach; bar open every night; nice place to relax and 6-bed-dorms with sea-view

Disliked: some staff members a bit unfriendly. if you want to cook in the evening, you have to go to another hostel and the staff there kicked us out at 11pm - not really nice.... moreover staff was not really helpful and could not provide lots of information

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool design, with some real attention to what backpackers need but don't normally get--for example, each bed has its own set of electrical outlets and a light! The location is awesome, and most of the staff are nice and friendly. Computers available are really good with fast, reliable internet. Cool and clean bathrooms! Very easy to meet other travelers, as it attracts a fun crowd.

Disliked: My room smelled super moldy after it rained--not great when you're allergic to it. Also, common space is limited when the weather is poor, as the restaurant/bar closes in the afternoons and evening. There's no kitchen (but there is a fridge where you can store your food). I don't recommend the surf lessons offered by the hostel for beginners.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samuel Matthews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 February 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, heaps of movies, sweet breakfast.

Disliked: The smell outside.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Felipe Albuquerque

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely view!

Disliked: The room didn't have a good air circulation

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Bartosz Kozik

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

07 January 2011 Bartosz would recommend this property

Liked: We had the ocean suite Nr. 1 and woke up to a sun rise while listening to the waves every morning. Everybody is super nice, helpful and chilled out. You can pay with a credit card without being charged more!!! Live bands play in the restaurant. It is really a nice hostel and we would certainly return if back in PdD

Disliked: Looking at the prices the word "Hostel" should be taken out of the name of this place as pricing is more of a beach hotel than a hostel. When we checked in, the room was not cleaned and the sheets not changed which at those prices is a big no-no (was done right away upon request)... All staff is US-American and such is the service. Absolutely good and efficient but sometimes "too happy" (maybe I am being too European here, sorry...) but in a way I wish, there were more Uruguayans or other South Americans working there. The breakfast is crap and so is the restaurant food (worst in all places we stayed at in 1 month!!!)... Have a beer with other guys there but go eat somewhere else

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

pierre enguialle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2010 pierre would recommend this property

Liked: Endroit très sympa,, proche de la plage, en contact avec l'extérieur... Architecture sympa

Disliked: Les toilettes manquent d'intimité. Big lack of intiity in the bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Panke

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
City break

29 November 2010 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever. Right on the beach. I spent most of my time reading in one of the hammocks on the deck and whenever I felt overheated I just hopped on down to the water to cool off. it was amazing. so chill but so fun and really cool people.

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

26 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice hostel right on the beach, friendly staff, good internet and lots of mod-cons.

Disliked: If you're not in the front dorm room then it is a bit cramped and dark (no windows). Also you can't use the kitchen after 6pm...you can go up the road to the other sister-hostel but it's a bit small and strange to be going to another hostel to cook dinner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Beach / sunbathing

16 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Playa Suites is beautiful. A great location right on the beach and so nice to have the restaurant readily available with excellent food. Staff very helpful - rooms clean and just a wonderful couple of days. Definitely would like to return.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Moby Missezeu

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

24 September 2010 Moby would recommend this property

Liked: What is not to like? The place is right on the beach and you have an amazing view of the entire Playa Rivero right out of your dorm window. I've never been in a dorm with 7m panoramic windows. Place is new, universal outlets at every bed, slick new computers, great design, restaurant right downstairs was cash only but served up some mean food. I'd had this place recommended twice before arrival and will pass on the good word for sure.

Disliked: Moby left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

30 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location. Unbeatable atmosphere. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The room was one of the nicest rooms we have stayed in in South America, with the most amazing view! We spent our time walking on the beautiful beaches, hanging around the fire chatting with other travelers, and eating delicious homemade meals prepared by the staff. All in all-the perfect beach getaway!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wes Malarky

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

26 July 2010 Wes would recommend this property

Liked: The blend of traditional materials, rustic vibe, and modern design was awesome. The view of sunrise over the ocean from our dorm room was incredible and the fact that the staff sits down to eat a family style dinner with you during the slow winter months was a great way to get to know everyone.

Disliked: All good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barry Feijen

26 May 2010 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is on the perfect location, just in frond of the beach! The staff was very friendly and willing to help sort things out! We also did a lovely horseback riding trip here!!!!

Disliked: Barry left no negative feedback.