HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Diablo Tranquilo

Hostel | Avenida Central s/n, Punta del Diablo, Uruguay .

87.3% Overall Rating

54 out of 62 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/10/2013)

Johan Fiets thinks…

"The social atmosphere was one of many highlights during my at El Diablo Tranquilo. I like the round lobby where we hung out in the evening, they serve meals for 10 bucks which are delicious and…"

Read all El Diablo Tranquilo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Punta del Diablo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Punta del Diablo

El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites
20.00 USD

Hostel 82.7% 25 reviews
Hostel de las Hadas
17.24 USD

Hostel 85.4% 10 reviews
La Amistad
25.86 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel El Nagual
10.00 USD

Hostel 93.6% 8 reviews
Hostel de la Viuda
9.00 USD

Hostel 95.3% 80 reviews
La Casa de las Boyas
14.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 23 reviews
Compay Hostel
10.77 USD

Hostel 98.6% 4 reviews
Pueblo Arriba Hostel & Posada
15.52 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

54 out of 62 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Diablo Tranquilo'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 48 of 52 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johan Fiets

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 October 2013 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: The social atmosphere was one of many highlights during my at El Diablo Tranquilo. I like the round lobby where we hung out in the evening, they serve meals for 10 bucks which are delicious and healthy at the same time (Gracias Nadia, eres la mejor cocinera ;)). It was just amazing, even the cleaners are happy and social in this place. Also, they make your bed every day which is just a pleasant extra.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Long

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in in South America!

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Long

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel made my stay in Diablo memorable. The color design and layout set the stage but the staff made it all happen. They made me feel at home as showed me an incredible time. I have nothing but good things to say about the hostel and its staff!

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, decent breakfast

Disliked: beds were okay, dormitories rather small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Filipe Lopes Decusati

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

29 June 2012 Filipe Lopes would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosfera Sala de estar Acolhimento dos funcionários

Disliked: Ducha do banheiro estava caindo

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ash Rahman

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

09 April 2012 Ash would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere

Disliked: they rasied the price of the bed and room by USD$ 6 a night with out advising us. we were very dissapointed about that.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

16 January 2012

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Dont go to this hostel: Very small bedrooms. Bathrooms were very disgusting, really not a clean hostel. Bed buggs. Very expensive, not worthy at all for the money we paid

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amy neale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2011 amy would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome atmosphere, great bar lots of fun! Really had a great time

Disliked: The kitchen was very average but bearable and the rooms a little cramped.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lucy best

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2011 lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great location (if only the sun had come out) on the beach, and a log fire for the winter. Meals served at hostel were good value for money and great food. Staff were helpful with how to get there and whilst there. They were also good to chill out with over a few beers! Music choices good too.

Disliked: Breakfast was slightly less choice than at other hostels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrice DOS SANTOS

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2011 Patrice would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect spot at Punta del Diablo, direct on the beach, friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This has been the best hostel experience in south america so far. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, the city of Punta is AMAZING, and we met the best people during our stay. After only three days, we were already making plans to meet up with our new friends during the course of our travels.

Disliked: Only word of advice, bring ear plugs... not that the noise was a deterrant, only that sometimes i wanted to sleep before the party ended. Ear plugs did the trick!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean bathroom; good atmosphere; great place to spend time at the beach - nice and relaxed.

Disliked: Bar was down the road at the other hostel; fridge was jam packed full of old food mainly belonging to staff. The place appeared to be full of staff members rather than actual guests.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Thomas Grinter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

07 January 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibe, modern facilities, staff spoke english and were helpful

Disliked: 8 bed dorm was cramped, not much room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul Dempsey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

19 December 2010 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked this place great vibe, super friendly and helpful staff, good warm showers and a great place to meet people

Disliked: Kitchen a little small and 10 bed dorm a little cramped

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast had fruit and it had plenty of common areas.

Disliked: Bed was uncomfortable to the point of having back ache in the morning, I heard that someone had their wallet go missing when we where there, I´m not sure if it was behind reception or not but that wasn´t very good. The kitchen is a bit small too for the amount of guests that try to cook there although it was clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Benner

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: I have no improvements to suggest

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beach location, restaurant with good atmosphere, good value and good quality food. Very friendly hostel staff

Disliked: Showers and bathrooms could have been cleaner

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mário Lopes

14 April 2010 Mário would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place. Really chilled atmosphere, very helpful and kind staff and great facilities. This is a great place to stay, hands down!

Disliked: Mário left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

04 April 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

DIMITRA CHATZIIOANNIDOU

12 March 2010 DIMITRA would recommend this property

Liked: a beautiful hostel with great view. the staff is really helpful. is really clean and you can meet many people. there was not hot water though!!!

Disliked: DIMITRA left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and attracts great people. Love the resto and bar area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

marc squires

07 February 2010 marc would recommend this property

Liked: nice place overall - good party hostel for sure and very clean - some nice staff there v friendly, others a little caught up in their own lives as can happen when you are only there for a short while working i know.. really need to sort that tiny kitchen out - was a major problem when last there - one stove working between large hostel meant long wait times -also a tendency for rotten apples at breakfast needs to be sorted - overall recommended though

Disliked: marc left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Michael Sivucha

02 February 2010

Liked: Good location, good staff, decent building and amenities.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

02 February 2010

Liked: not much

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.