We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ukelele Hostel

Hostel | Maldonado 1183, Montevideo, Uruguay 11100

89.7% Overall Rating

118 out of 128 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2015)

"Great location near Old Town, close to supermarket and bus stop. The dorms have fans and there is a nice breeze from the balcony. The kitchen is large with dining area. There is a large social area and pool to…"

Read all Ukelele Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 40.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montevideo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montevideo

El Viajero Downtown Hostel & Suites
18.00 USD

Hostel 83.7% 37 reviews
Red Hostel
16.00 USD

Hostel 74.3% 87 reviews
Hispano Hotel
22.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 36 reviews
Hostel Dolce Vita
16.11 USD

Hostel 86.5% 56 reviews
Hotel Iberia Montevideo
18.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.6% 69 reviews
New Arapey Hotel
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 57.3% 81 reviews
Willy Fog Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 80.0% 71 reviews
Hotel Aramaya
36.00 USD

Hotel 60.8% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

118 out of 128 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ukelele Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 123 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near Old Town, close to supermarket and bus stop. The dorms have fans and there is a nice breeze from the balcony. The kitchen is large with dining area. There is a large social area and pool to sociallize. Staff is friendly and helpful. The neighborhood seems safe during the day.

Disliked: The kitchen was crowded with people trying to cook at once. Its so expensive in Montevideo that no one eats out. Bring earplugs, there is a good chance there will be a snorer in the 8 bed dorm.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great atmosphere

Disliked: A small lack in bathrooms...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice hostel in beautiful building

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tomer Berkowitz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2015 Tomer would recommend this property

Liked: Ukelele Hostel has relatively comfortable beds and good Wi-Fi, with a very large, well-equipped kitchen to boot. You need to walk for about 10 minutes to get to the heart of Montevideo, but a supermarket close by makes things easier.

Disliked: The rooms could have been a little cleaner and there was only one standing fan which cooled two out of twelve people.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexander Stromberger-Wissiak

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2015 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: pool. very nice ambiente

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm rooms were huge and there were lockers for your bags. Kitchen was large and well equipped and breakfast was excellent.

Disliked: The front dorm room is very loud.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Montevideo. Quiet, good location and clean

Disliked: The neighbourhood is quiet for party, but it was a weekday

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carol Pons

Alone

Business / conference

04 September 2014 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: Preciosa casa, con un amable personal.

Disliked: Que estaba lleno la noche siguiente y me tuve que ir...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Lima

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the hostel. The atmosphere is great, staff is helpfull and buena onda, location is good, breakfeast is good and bathrooms are clean.

Disliked: The heater could have a heater in the room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014

Liked: nice location, well laid out, comfortable rooms. pity it wasn't sunny as it has a swimming pool

Disliked: although one staff member was very friendly and helpful I found some of the staff less so. for instance the tv room is next to the reception - the female receptionist kept playing her music very very loudly and I couldn't hear the tv - I had to keep telling her to turn the music down which I felt was unacceptable as the music was only for her not other guests. also later on we were asked to leave the rolm so the staffs friends could watch a football game, they weren't guests intact most of the people in the hostel were the staffs friends - that was completely unacceptable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Vicente

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is just beautiful. It was recommended to my by a friend, and I loved it. Good location, right in the city center. Lovely staff, very helpful when giving tips of the city. And very nice breakfast, with real orange juice!!!!

Disliked: Nothing...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaclyn Kosmicki

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Jaclyn would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the style of building and decore and was always kept warm ( we were there for winter)

Disliked: The staff seemed agitated and uninviting. They seemed to help the locals very willingly but foreginers not so much...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Nicolas Figueron

Alone

Events / festivals

18 June 2014 Daniel Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the atmosphere, location..

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

NIKOLAOS VAGENAS

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 NIKOLAOS would recommend this property

Liked: Bulding

Disliked: Location

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Bulmer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was brilliant and staff were very helpful

Disliked: The location is not ideal, as it is far away from the nightlife

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful house with lots of common rooms to hang out and meet people. Nice pool for hot days.

Disliked: We didn't get any information about the city, especially maps would be nice. There's a dangerous area beginning just one block away from the hostel where we got robbed. Would have been nice to be warned about that before...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Walter Nelson

Alone

Events / festivals

16 February 2014 Walter would recommend this property

Liked: Muy lindo lugar, limpio y seguro. Los chicos del staff muy buena onda, dieron consejos buenos para aprovechar la ciudad. Me quedé una noche más para ver las llamadas que son a dos cuadras del lugar, y son impresionantes, valen la pena, y están super cerquita, lo recomiendo totalmente.

Disliked: hubo un huesped brasilero muy molesto que roncaba mucho durante mi estadía, pero no es la culpa del hostel!! Me compré auriculares y listo!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Zino

Alone

City break

14 February 2014 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it!! Clean, with great staff, great pool, good wifi... So much more than what you can ask to a hostel... And it was 2 bolcks away from the "llamadas", which is the best parade Montevideo has in the whole year!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Lotas

Alone

City break

18 December 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed one night, but was enough to be sure it's the best hostel I've ever stayed in my whole life. Loved the style, comfy bed, and the swimming pool! They should charge much more than regular hostels.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money. Good location.

Disliked: Stayed two nights, the shared bathroom wasn't clean. Horrible shower, hot water doens't work, poor continental breakfast.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, 4 blocks from Plaza Cagancha. A very well conserved historical property with an unique atmosphere.

Disliked: Lockers are not very effective. If you move the bed you can access the locker's contents from behind. Even though, the place seems very secure in general. No credit card available for payment. You can pay your reservation with hostelbookers but you have to cancel the rest in cash.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cristian Rasch

Alone

City break

22 October 2013 Cristian would recommend this property

Liked: The chilled out atmosphere, the friendly and helpful staff, good location and the fact that the place is well looked after.

Disliked: Cristian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cayetana Ruiz de almiron

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2013 Cayetana would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice house with so good atmosphere. Staff were so kind. Share room was good and it didnt feel small for 7 seven people. Breakfast was good offering toats, cereals and fruits, so good to start the day!!!

Disliked: Cayetana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Cesar Fiorini Amorim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Bruno Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen fully equiped and clean and easy to use! Awesome showers (wish I could've used the tub, which didn't work). Very good breakfast. Quiet dorms.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike in here.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 September 2013

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Bed bugs in the 12 dorm room on multiple beds. I believe this was an isolated incident because I have not read about this in any other reviews. I was allowed to change rooms and the other room was fine. The water access and water temperature was not consistent.