HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ukelele Hostel

Hostel | Maldonado 1183, Montevideo, Uruguay 11100

83.8% Overall Rating

107 out of 117 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2014)

Mariana Lima thinks…

"Loved the hostel. The atmosphere is great, staff is helpfull and buena onda, location is good, breakfeast is good and bathrooms are clean."

Read all Ukelele Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montevideo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montevideo

El Viajero Downtown Hostel & Suites
16.00 USD

Hostel 84.6% 36 reviews
Red Hostel
16.00 USD

Hostel 74.3% 87 reviews
Hispano Hotel
22.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 36 reviews
Hostel Dolce Vita
14.25 USD

Hostel 85.8% 50 reviews
Mvd Colonial
20.36 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Iberia Montevideo
18.73 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.5% 64 reviews
Hotel Arapey
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 57.3% 81 reviews
Willy Fog Hostel
11.99 USD

Hostel 82.3% 53 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

107 out of 117 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ukelele Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 71 of 112 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Lima

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the hostel. The atmosphere is great, staff is helpfull and buena onda, location is good, breakfeast is good and bathrooms are clean.

Disliked: The heater could have a heater in the room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014

Liked: nice location, well laid out, comfortable rooms. pity it wasn't sunny as it has a swimming pool

Disliked: although one staff member was very friendly and helpful I found some of the staff less so. for instance the tv room is next to the reception - the female receptionist kept playing her music very very loudly and I couldn't hear the tv - I had to keep telling her to turn the music down which I felt was unacceptable as the music was only for her not other guests. also later on we were asked to leave the rolm so the staffs friends could watch a football game, they weren't guests intact most of the people in the hostel were the staffs friends - that was completely unacceptable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Vicente

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is just beautiful. It was recommended to my by a friend, and I loved it. Good location, right in the city center. Lovely staff, very helpful when giving tips of the city. And very nice breakfast, with real orange juice!!!!

Disliked: Nothing...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaclyn Kosmicki

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Jaclyn would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the style of building and decore and was always kept warm ( we were there for winter)

Disliked: The staff seemed agitated and uninviting. They seemed to help the locals very willingly but foreginers not so much...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Nicolas Figueron

Alone

Events / festivals

18 June 2014 Daniel Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the atmosphere, location..

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

NIKOLAOS VAGENAS

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 NIKOLAOS would recommend this property

Liked: Bulding

Disliked: Location

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Bulmer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was brilliant and staff were very helpful

Disliked: The location is not ideal, as it is far away from the nightlife

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful house with lots of common rooms to hang out and meet people. Nice pool for hot days.

Disliked: We didn't get any information about the city, especially maps would be nice. There's a dangerous area beginning just one block away from the hostel where we got robbed. Would have been nice to be warned about that before...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Walter Nelson

Alone

Events / festivals

16 February 2014 Walter would recommend this property

Liked: Muy lindo lugar, limpio y seguro. Los chicos del staff muy buena onda, dieron consejos buenos para aprovechar la ciudad. Me quedé una noche más para ver las llamadas que son a dos cuadras del lugar, y son impresionantes, valen la pena, y están super cerquita, lo recomiendo totalmente.

Disliked: hubo un huesped brasilero muy molesto que roncaba mucho durante mi estadía, pero no es la culpa del hostel!! Me compré auriculares y listo!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Zino

Alone

City break

14 February 2014 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it!! Clean, with great staff, great pool, good wifi... So much more than what you can ask to a hostel... And it was 2 bolcks away from the "llamadas", which is the best parade Montevideo has in the whole year!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Lotas

Alone

City break

18 December 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed one night, but was enough to be sure it's the best hostel I've ever stayed in my whole life. Loved the style, comfy bed, and the swimming pool! They should charge much more than regular hostels.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money. Good location.

Disliked: Stayed two nights, the shared bathroom wasn't clean. Horrible shower, hot water doens't work, poor continental breakfast.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, 4 blocks from Plaza Cagancha. A very well conserved historical property with an unique atmosphere.

Disliked: Lockers are not very effective. If you move the bed you can access the locker's contents from behind. Even though, the place seems very secure in general. No credit card available for payment. You can pay your reservation with hostelbookers but you have to cancel the rest in cash.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cristian Rasch

Alone

City break

22 October 2013 Cristian would recommend this property

Liked: The chilled out atmosphere, the friendly and helpful staff, good location and the fact that the place is well looked after.

Disliked: Cristian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cayetana Ruiz de almiron

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2013 Cayetana would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice house with so good atmosphere. Staff were so kind. Share room was good and it didnt feel small for 7 seven people. Breakfast was good offering toats, cereals and fruits, so good to start the day!!!

Disliked: Cayetana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Cesar Fiorini Amorim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Bruno Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen fully equiped and clean and easy to use! Awesome showers (wish I could've used the tub, which didn't work). Very good breakfast. Quiet dorms.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike in here.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 September 2013

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Bed bugs in the 12 dorm room on multiple beds. I believe this was an isolated incident because I have not read about this in any other reviews. I was allowed to change rooms and the other room was fine. The water access and water temperature was not consistent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corinne Duquesne

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2013 Corinne would recommend this property

Liked: Is it an hostel? It looks like a super-genial place!! Really charming and beautiful place. Helpful staff, bathrooms and bedrooms are clean, big kitchen, swimming pool. Delicious breakfast with fruit. One of the best hostel in Montevideo! I clearly recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessie Leigh Winokur

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 August 2013 Jessie Leigh would recommend this property

Liked: Ukelele is simply amazing. It was my first time staying in a shared dorm style hostel and it was a great one to pick. I met some folks there who had been staying there for several months already, and I found it hard to believe that anyone could stay in a hostel for that long. However, after a few days, I completely understood and realized that I could have stayed there for months too. It simply feels like family and all of the staff are so, so nice and helpful. They really go out of their way to go above and beyond the call of duty and make sure everything is perfect. It is the cleanest hostel I ever stayed in and the facilities felt like a luxury. The piano, guitar, and ukeleles are an amazing touch. I felt very comfortable bringing food to cook in the massive kitchen and just hanging out even when the weather outside was terrible. It just feels like a big beautiful house where you have a bunch of roommates and people taking care of you. If you go to Montevideo you will NOT regret staying here!

Disliked: There was a little incident with one of the guests having some really awful behaviour in the morning but they dealt with it and we all agreed that none of us had seen it coming when he checked in the previous evening.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malte Buecken

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Malte would recommend this property

Liked: Cannot rave enough about the staff and the hostel itself. If you go to Montevideo, stay here. Great hostel, very nice rooms and a superb kitchen! Pool is nice to have ... loved it here!

Disliked: nothign

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and very helpful. The hostel was clean and breakfast was good. There was a nice living room area with comfy sofas, a fire, a guitar and a couple of ukeleles too, which was nice for having some down time. Overall a great hostel!

Disliked: Got a bit noisy late one night when the large group of Brazilians also staying in the hostel got a bit lairy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Pettitt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff, and only a short walk from the city centre. Would definitely recommend for a budget stay in Montevideo.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is a really nice place. I totally recomend go there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antti Kauttonen

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Antti would recommend this property

Liked: Very good for meeting fellow travellers from all over the world and sharing the experience with them. Montevideo is a bit dry for travellers, but luckily my experience at Ukulele made up for this. Also one of the best breakfasts ever with a lot fresh fruits. The staff were like my old friends since the first moment.

Disliked: The computer for using internet didn't work, other than that I had nothing to dislike.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Tierney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Bautiful Hostel, very modern interior and spacious. The staff are very helpful and lively which makes it very welcoming. The breakfast is ne of the best ive had. Booked for one night, stayed for three.

Disliked: The mosquitos (not the Hostels fault).