HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Willy Fogg Hostel Montevideo Hostel

C/ Maldonado 977, Montevideo, Uruguay

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 73%

Location 86%

Safety 83%

Staff 80%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Express check-in / out
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montevideo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 73%

Location 86%

Safety 83%

Staff 80%

Value 74%

Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The balcony to chill on

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: Everything was terrible. I had my single most worst hostel experience at this place.They wanted to charge for towels, even though the website says Free Towels. They also said it was clean and heated. It was the dirtiest and coldest hostel I've ever stayed at. Staff are ridiculous. They play loud music all night long and won't let you sleep. They say breakfast is served at 8:00, but it's not, it is usually around 9 and it consists of bread and jam and something I can't even dare call coffee. They also sell weed at the reception

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Amazing hostel !!!! Waou !!!

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staffGot a better room offerd for the same price at arrival The crepe grill/toaster thing, you can grill anything on it hahaAirco

Disliked: The breakfest

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at Willy Fog Hostel (I extended it two times ;) ). The location is perfect to discover Montevideo, close to plaza del independencia, la ciudad vieja and la rambla. You have everything around you might need, like supermarkets, laundry service and so on. The building itself is really beautiful, a lot of community space, a big kitchen and a nice terrace, the rooms are nice and there are enough bathrooms, also two which are only for women. And the best about it, is the incredibly nice and friendly stuff. I definitely will come back to this hostel and I highly recommend it to everyone.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: O hostel (talvez por ser o mais barato) atrai um ótimo publico e conhecemos muita gente interessante por la. Esse é certamente o ponto positivo. A localização também é legal e acabamos ficando vários dias lá porque era carnaval e não queríamos lidar com acomodações lotadas no litoral. Outro destaque é que nas noites que estávamos lá teve algum evento dentro do hostel, como musica ao vivo, asado e tal.

Disliked: Porém... um dos recepcionistas, que disse que era o Fogg do nome willy fogg, estava mais perdido que a gente. Tudo que ele falava tínhamos que consultar com o outro recepcionista, muito mais organizado e confiável. Até direção errada ele nos deu. Enfim, todo mundo que conversamos estava reclamando dele por motivos diversos.Outro problema que o hostel é uma bagunça, a cozinha é uma zona, a esponja de lavar louça estava nojenta, o café da manhã era servido no meio de uma bagunça, com cafeteiras quebradas. Todo o resto do hostel está meio caindo aos pedaços e está necessitando de manutenção urgentemente. Outro problema é a limpeza. Os banheiros pareciam ser limpos apenas pela manha quando a faxineira estava lá e pela noite estava numa situação de calamidade. O hostel só parecia de fato organizado quando o chileno que mora lá fazia a limpeza. Aí sim o lugar ficava agradável por algumas horas. A conclusao é: se voce curte encontrar um pessoal legal, agitação e não liga pra limpeza e organização, esse hotel é uma boa escolha.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything. This hostel was the worst hostel that I've ever been. The street is ugly and it's not safe. The hostel is very dirty, is impossible to stay inside. I went there to stay just one night, I saw a lot of comments about the hostel telling that the hostel was terrible, but checking the pictures I decided to give a try, but I was completely wrong. The staffs are very rude and stupid, the only guy who was more friendly was the cleaner. To stay there I didn't change the clothes. I slept with the body clothes to wake up very early to leave that place as soon as I can. Don't go there

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Sinceramente, este lugar me encantó. A mi llegada, me recibió Federico, un chico sumamente amable, que me explico de la ciudad y del hostel. La habiatación era limpia y cómoda. Los lockers son gigantes! (entra una mochila grande y sobra espacio). Los baños siempre estuvieron limpios. Tienen muchas áreas comunes, cocina, comedor, living, terraza, sillones por todos lados para sentarse tranquilo y hasta en mi estadía hicieron un asado para todos los viajeros! Super super recomendable!

Disliked: NADA! TODO ESTÁ PERFECTO!

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: Very dirty room

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely place nice people helpful stuff

Disliked: ...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability