We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Willy Fog Hostel

Hostel | Maldonado 977, Montevideo, Uruguay -

80.0% Overall Rating

56 out of 71 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/03/2015)

"I really enjoyed my stay at Willy Fog Hostel (I extended it two times ;) ). The location is perfect to discover Montevideo, close to plaza del independencia, la ciudad vieja and la rambla. You have everything around you…"

Read all Willy Fog Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montevideo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montevideo

Hotel Iberia Montevideo
18.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.6% 69 reviews
Hostel Dolce Vita
15.34 USD

Hostel 86.5% 56 reviews
Hotel Aramaya
36.00 USD

Hotel 60.8% 40 reviews
Live MVD Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 80.9% 10 reviews
Red Hostel
16.00 USD

Hostel 74.3% 87 reviews
ContraLuz ArtHostel
20.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
El Viajero Downtown Hostel & Suites
18.00 USD

Hostel 83.7% 37 reviews
Ukelele Hostel
18.50 USD

Hostel 89.7% 128 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.0%

Overall Rating

56 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Willy Fog Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 71 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at Willy Fog Hostel (I extended it two times ;) ). The location is perfect to discover Montevideo, close to plaza del independencia, la ciudad vieja and la rambla. You have everything around you might need, like supermarkets, laundry service and so on. The building itself is really beautiful, a lot of community space, a big kitchen and a nice terrace, the rooms are nice and there are enough bathrooms, also two which are only for women. And the best about it, is the incredibly nice and friendly stuff. I definitely will come back to this hostel and I highly recommend it to everyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Danielle Molisani

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2015 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: O hostel (talvez por ser o mais barato) atrai um ótimo publico e conhecemos muita gente interessante por la. Esse é certamente o ponto positivo. A localização também é legal e acabamos ficando vários dias lá porque era carnaval e não queríamos lidar com acomodações lotadas no litoral. Outro destaque é que nas noites que estávamos lá teve algum evento dentro do hostel, como musica ao vivo, asado e tal.

Disliked: Porém... um dos recepcionistas, que disse que era o Fogg do nome willy fogg, estava mais perdido que a gente. Tudo que ele falava tínhamos que consultar com o outro recepcionista, muito mais organizado e confiável. Até direção errada ele nos deu. Enfim, todo mundo que conversamos estava reclamando dele por motivos diversos. Outro problema que o hostel é uma bagunça, a cozinha é uma zona, a esponja de lavar louça estava nojenta, o café da manhã era servido no meio de uma bagunça, com cafeteiras quebradas. Todo o resto do hostel está meio caindo aos pedaços e está necessitando de manutenção urgentemente. Outro problema é a limpeza. Os banheiros pareciam ser limpos apenas pela manha quando a faxineira estava lá e pela noite estava numa situação de calamidade. O hostel só parecia de fato organizado quando o chileno que mora lá fazia a limpeza. Aí sim o lugar ficava agradável por algumas horas. A conclusao é: se voce curte encontrar um pessoal legal, agitação e não liga pra limpeza e organização, esse hotel é uma boa escolha.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jose Osvaldir Mulek Junior

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything. This hostel was the worst hostel that I've ever been. The street is ugly and it's not safe. The hostel is very dirty, is impossible to stay inside. I went there to stay just one night, I saw a lot of comments about the hostel telling that the hostel was terrible, but checking the pictures I decided to give a try, but I was completely wrong. The staffs are very rude and stupid, the only guy who was more friendly was the cleaner. To stay there I didn't change the clothes. I slept with the body clothes to wake up very early to leave that place as soon as I can. Don't go there

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: Very dirty room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria c toledo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2015 maria c would recommend this property

Liked: Sinceramente, este lugar me encantó. A mi llegada, me recibió Federico, un chico sumamente amable, que me explico de la ciudad y del hostel. La habiatación era limpia y cómoda. Los lockers son gigantes! (entra una mochila grande y sobra espacio). Los baños siempre estuvieron limpios. Tienen muchas áreas comunes, cocina, comedor, living, terraza, sillones por todos lados para sentarse tranquilo y hasta en mi estadía hicieron un asado para todos los viajeros! Super super recomendable!

Disliked: NADA! TODO ESTÁ PERFECTO!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Kaiser

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2014 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place nice people helpful stuff

Disliked: ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron devoy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2014 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Great location t see the few sights of montevideo. Very helpful staff that all speak good english. Good breakfast. Also had great communial spaces.

Disliked: Aaron left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

leanne harrison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 leanne would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay here. It is centrally located a nd the building has real character. The staff were amazing. Unbelievably helpful with everything. As a female solo traveler, this hostel was everything i could possibly want

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Francisco Sandoval

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: It has a nice kitchen and the bathrooms are good and the showers are hot.

Disliked: The wifi was terrible and almost unusable. A few times I had to unplug the ethernet cord from non-working terminal PC so I could use the internet. Like almost every other hostel in South America a complete lack of heating of any type so during my winter stay it got pretty cold inside the hostel.Insulation was non-existent so it got as cold as it was outside. The largest and cheapest dorms are up front, street-level so sleeping could be hard at times with all the noise coming from inside and outside of the hostel but this is very common of hostels in South America as well.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Simone Botti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014

Liked: Brazilian staff. Large common area. Large lockers.

Disliked: Messy. They don't have control of reservation. Check out time not respected.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

HIROKI OHASHI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 HIROKI would recommend this property

Liked: Every staff were kind. Good location.

Disliked: Bedroom and bathroom was so dirty and bad smell. Hot shower was not so hot. Wifi is so poor.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014

Liked: It was in a decent location to the centre and had some great chill out areas. Kitchen is of a decent size.

Disliked: I'm genuinely surprised this hostel is rated so highly on here. The hostel has so much potential but it seems the owners don't really want to exploit this fact. Apart from one Brazilian member of staff the rest seemed completely disinterested. The majority of the people I think were permanent residence so you lost that social traveller vibe. Also the majority of these people seemed to be wandering around in a zombified haze of Mary Jane and 'other friends'. Room smelled damp, showers rarely produced hot water and door to room didn't shut let alone lock. That's all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful big house, superfriendly staff, chill atmosphere, everyone has a place to be there. One of the best hostels i stayed at and i've been backpacking/stayed at different hostels for years.

Disliked: Loved everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

helena macgregor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2014 helena would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Huge building with lots of chill out space

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is Awesome, It has lots and lots of chill areas and is very well laid out. The dude Carlos and the cute Belgian girl are super nice and good vibes. The beds were hella cozy and the A/C in the dorm rooms was a pleasant surprise in hotass Uruguay. Free breakfast oo ;-D

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sylvain Jean

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Sylvain would recommend this property

Liked: This huge property was really pleasant, with a good location, people were kind. I recommend it

Disliked: Sylvain left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Belgium girl at the front desk was very pleasant and attentive. Loved the 3 computers setup for guest use. Like the relaxed atmosphere in general.

Disliked: 1,000 older chilean men checking in was a bit weird; along with other groups of people in their 50's....didn't really give backpacking hostel feel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was cool and the place was huge! Things were decently clean but the best part was probably the rooftop hangout spot.

Disliked: Our room smelled really really musty.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013

Liked: Very cool "look" and floor plan. Beautiful rooftop patio and nice computers.

Disliked: The place is a bit run down. Broken lockers, burned out lights and such. Could use a good scrubbing. And some heat for the showers.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2013

Liked: nice chill out area. and if you wanna stay not so long got to save some money, because the prices are really cheap. is good located to reach the center in few minutes walk.

Disliked: the hostel wasnt that clean, especially the showers and they dont have any hot water.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2012

Liked: It was a cheap place to stay to save some money before NYE in Punta del Este.

Disliked: It was hot and sticky throughout the hostel and the room smelled like an old musty basement. The community bathrooms were also up a flight of stairs from the room which is always kind of an irrirtant. The staff was helpful when asking about restuarants to go to for dinner, but upon arrival there was no introductory info on where the bathrooms were, when breakfast was served, or that there were no sheets on the bed. It wasn't until 12 at night when we went to pull back the comforter to go to sleep we realized linens weren't included. A little annoying.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hanne Nelen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2012 Hanne would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely enjoyed my stay at the hostel, hay una muy buena onda! The staff was really friendly and helpful, and they also liked to have some beers with the travelers, organise asados ... ! The terrace upstairs is a really nice place to relax and socialize with other people, but also the commun rooms are spacious and chill!! I would recommand this hostel to everyone who goes to Montevideo!

Disliked: Hanne left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

soledad di croche

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2012 soledad would recommend this property

Liked: I definitely would recommend this hostel. The staff was very helpful and nice. The building is quite comfortable, with a great terrace and it has a good location. The breakfast was very good too. Great place for socializing!

Disliked: It could be more clean and the building needs some restauration. The big dorm doesn't have good ventilation, I would recommend to not stay in that one, the small ones are much better.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice and friendly travellers environment. Very good location near the exiting afro-uruguayan neigbourhoods. The service and knowledgement of the staff really makes a difference and they make it easy to feel right at home upon arrival.

Disliked: Nothing big really. Maybe the dorms were a bit on the darker end but thats nothing compared to all the positive qualities.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ernesto Rodriguez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012 Ernesto would recommend this property

Liked: The decor is very bohemian and airy. It doesn´t feel cluttered. I love the terrace, which is very large and has a good shade, and inside there is ample sunlight thanks to a skylight that extends two hallways.

Disliked: Ernesto left no negative feedback.