HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Willy Fogg Hostel Montevideo Hostel

C/ Maldonado 977, Montevideo, Uruguay

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 73%

Location 86%

Safety 83%

Staff 80%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montevideo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 73%

Location 86%

Safety 83%

Staff 80%

Value 74%

Showing 11-20 of 21 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved my stay here. It is centrally located a nd the building has real character. The staff were amazing. Unbelievably helpful with everything. As a female solo traveler, this hostel was everything i could possibly want

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location t see the few sights of montevideo. Very helpful staff that all speak good english. Good breakfast. Also had great communial spaces.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It has a nice kitchen and the bathrooms are good and the showers are hot.

Disliked: The wifi was terrible and almost unusable. A few times I had to unplug the ethernet cord from non-working terminal PC so I could use the internet. Like almost every other hostel in South America a complete lack of heating of any type so during my winter stay it got pretty cold inside the hostel.Insulation was non-existent so it got as cold as it was outside. The largest and cheapest dorms are up front, street-level so sleeping could be hard at times with all the noise coming from inside and outside of the hostel but this is very common of hostels in South America as well.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Every staff were kind. Good location.

Disliked: Bedroom and bathroom was so dirty and bad smell. Hot shower was not so hot. Wifi is so poor.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Brazilian staff. Large common area. Large lockers.

Disliked: Messy. They don't have control of reservation. Check out time not respected.


The property's response is

Sorry about that,anyway you had your bed,and is better for every body i´ve you have late check out for the same price.

thank you anyway

willy

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was in a decent location to the centre and had some great chill out areas. Kitchen is of a decent size.

Disliked: I'm genuinely surprised this hostel is rated so highly on here. The hostel has so much potential but it seems the owners don't really want to exploit this fact. Apart from one Brazilian member of staff the rest seemed completely disinterested. The majority of the people I think were permanent residence so you lost that social traveller vibe. Also the majority of these people seemed to be wandering around in a zombified haze of Mary Jane and 'other friends'. Room smelled damp, showers rarely produced hot water and door to room didn't shut let alone lock. That's all.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Wonderful big house, superfriendly staff, chill atmosphere, everyone has a place to be there. One of the best hostels i stayed at and i've been backpacking/stayed at different hostels for years.

Disliked: Loved everything

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything! Huge building with lots of chill out space

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel is Awesome, It has lots and lots of chill areas and is very well laid out. The dude Carlos and the cute Belgian girl are super nice and good vibes. The beds were hella cozy and the A/C in the dorm rooms was a pleasant surprise in hotass Uruguay. Free breakfast oo ;-D

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This huge property was really pleasant, with a good location, people were kind. I recommend it

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability