We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Montevideo Port Hostel & Suites

Hostel | Bartolome Mitre 1535, Montevideo, Uruguay 11000

68.5% Overall Rating

15 out of 25 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/01/2015)

"We liked, that it was near to the plaza independencia and to the port. The private room was spacefull and the actual owner was nice and spoke english, he just wasn't around that much time."

Read all Montevideo Port Hostel & Suites reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 40.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montevideo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montevideo

Montevideo Chic Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 97.1% 5 reviews
Splendido Hotel
19.00 USD

Hostel 77.4% 173 reviews
Ciudad Vieja Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 83.9% 54 reviews
Boulevard Sarandi Hostel
12.76 USD

Hostel 66.7% 12 reviews
Hispano Hotel
22.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 36 reviews
New Arapey Hotel
17.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 57.3% 81 reviews
Los jardines colgantes de Babilonia Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 95.6% 22 reviews
Posada al Sur
16.00 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 160 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.5%

Overall Rating

15 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Montevideo Port Hostel & Suites'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
80.0%
Value
69.6%
Safety
60.0%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 25 reviews
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2015

Liked: ¡Nada!

Disliked: La atención es pésima, no existe el más mínimo confort ni ningún tipo de seguridad. En el mismo lugar vimos prostitutas ofreciendo servicios y personas consumiendo pasta base en la puerta.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2015

Liked: rate

Disliked: almonst everything location, atmosphere.. really bad neighbourd and strange atmosphere i was felling really unconrfortable

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2015

Liked: We liked, that it was near to the plaza independencia and to the port. The private room was spacefull and the actual owner was nice and spoke english, he just wasn't around that much time.

Disliked: The pictures give you a totally wrong impression. The kitchen is extremly dirty and also the bathrooms are not very clean. There are many people who live there, they don't clean the kitchen often so that some times you don't have clean dishes. You feel like you're in the wrong place, because almost every other person lives there. Also the breakfast was very simple, bread slices, jam and coffee. The biggest problem is that the pictures are just a lie.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2015

Liked: Owner was trying to be really helpful, spoke English. Location is relatively good, near port market and plaza independencia. Rooms were spacious.

Disliked: The rest of the staff and the 20 people who actually live here permanently. They make you feel like you are not welcome, they don't clean properly (don't even restock toilet paper or clean toilets once a day, not even when they clearly need cleaning) and make a lot of noise till deep into the night, playing loud music. The hostel overall doesn't feel secure since there isn't anyone watching the front desk most of the time. Seems like random people are giving you your keys when they feel like tending the front desk. Also breakfast is quite poor. It consists of cold coffee (no tea, we had to buy that ourselves), a pile of baguette slices and some dulche de leche or jam. At one time we had to use napkins as plates since there weren't any clean plates around (permanent residents hadn't cleaned them after use). Lastly, the kitchen isn't useable since it is just too plain filthy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to city centre and Old town.

Disliked: Walking back to the hostel at night the area does not feel really safe.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: The sheets were dirty. The kitchen also. The neighborhood is unsafe at night.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The sheets and bathroom were not clean.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very big and open. friendly staff and clean

Disliked: nothing really it was more than fit for purpose, it was possibly a bit quite but i think that was more down to the season than the hostel

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

THIAGO CORREA

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

24 February 2012 THIAGO would recommend this property

Liked: Não é a melhor vizinhança, mas fica bem perto dos principais pontos da cidade. A funcionária que fica na recepção na parte da manhã é extremamente atenciosa.

Disliked: Um dos funcionários, que fica na recepção na parte da noite, não é nada educado e nem um pouco amistoso. Tivemos problemas com o chuveiro do quarto que ficamos, que apresentava vazamento e molhava o banheiro todo.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kimberley davison

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2012 kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: really nice hostel!!!! big kitchen with all cooking equipment still present & workable! the hostel was big and spaceious, not over crowded like some big hostels are. good location, not right in the centre, but within walkable distance. the staff were lovely nad very helpful. the hostel was very clean and well maintained.

Disliked: we were warned that around the hostel, kids had started mugging tourists, whilst it isn´t the hostels fault, and in the hostel was safe and secure, we did worry that we could get mugged walking back to the hostel. we didn´t though and if you are always on your guard, neither should you! :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Luiza Souza

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

06 January 2012 Ana Luiza would recommend this property

Liked: Funcionários muito solícitos, bem educados, sempre prontos a ajudar. A localização é ótima, perto dos principais pontos turísticos de Montevideo e dos pontos de ônibus.

Disliked: Não aceita cartão de crédito

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renato Hirakawa

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Renato would recommend this property

Liked: We spent the new year's eve with the people at the hostel including the staff with a shared dinner with other travellers. We really enjoyed staying at the Montevideo Port Hostel, Hugo and his coleguees from the staff are very friendly and they want to make sure you have a nice time in Montevideo. Dinner with other travellers helped in meeting other people and making friends as well. Strongly recommended.

Disliked: Renato left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast and location in old town

Disliked: Area is a bit dodgy at night. Our courtyard was like a construction zone. Overall it was fine though.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything, espaecially the breakfast

Disliked: sometimes, it was noisy