HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Red Hostel

Hostel | San Jose 1406, Corner Santiago de Chile, Montevideo, Uruguay 11200

74.3% Overall Rating

68 out of 87 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2012)

Joshua Sumner thinks…

"The atmosphere is really good, and the dorms are spacious, warm and well equipped. It was so nice to have a duvet after weeks of sheets and blankets"

Read all Red Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montevideo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montevideo

Hostel Dolce Vita
14.64 USD

Hostel 85.8% 51 reviews
El Viajero Downtown Hostel & Suites
16.00 USD

Hostel 84.6% 36 reviews
Hotel Iberia Montevideo
18.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 93.5% 64 reviews
Mvd Colonial
19.79 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Aramaya
36.00 USD

Hotel 60.8% 40 reviews
Willy Fog Hostel
11.99 USD

Hostel 82.7% 55 reviews
Ukelele Hostel
14.25 USD

Hostel 87.8% 121 reviews
Live MVD Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 80.9% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.3%

Overall Rating

68 out of 87 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Red Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
81.6%
Value
67.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 49 of 55 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014

Liked: The location is good

Disliked: I had a reservation for the hostel from 4 april to 8 april and once i got there the door was closed. After about 10 minutes knocking on the door, the atendant from the market nearbt told me the hostel had closed due to low reservations. I even asked around and got the same answer. I didn't receive a single e-mail from the hostel cancelling the reservation. Hopefully, somebody showed me the way to another place, otherwise i don't know what i would do. I had payed for the first night and i don't think i'm getting it back.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

MARIO FILHO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2014

Liked: good location.

Disliked: >im not really a experienced on hostels (this was my 3rd) but the random attendants could know a liiiiiitle more about the city or at least the block theyre in, one girl was very helpful but couldn`t help nothing, and the other one even spoke a word of spanish, just english (wtf?) >i figure how expensive this can be but the mattresses could be changed more often, but i also understand it could be worse. >the worst part of whole stay: some "attendant" of the midnight after kept listening and laughing really loud really late night and pratically screwed the first couple of hours of rest of tired hostees (and payers) that walked the whole fucking day wich at least deserved a silent night to recharge. That was really really annoying and tottaly fucked up any good opinion i could have about this hostel. >also, the receptionist haven`t had the hostel bookers reservation confirmation we ordered trough credit card, she sad the mail that hostelbookers send to that hostel usualy stop with the bosses that aparently dont inform her about this kind of transation when receiving the people. a management issue in my opinion, not her fault. but its ok, the 10% reservation we payed was accepted when we showed her the email on the screen of a mobile phone that luckilly one of us had.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joshua Sumner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is really good, and the dorms are spacious, warm and well equipped. It was so nice to have a duvet after weeks of sheets and blankets

Disliked: The breakfast is very basic, and runs out quickly

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The ambient was very quiet and friendly

Disliked: Disorganization with the rooms. I've reserved a room for 3 people but at the moment of ceck in did not have rooms and i've sleep in a room for 12 people, like a Big brother!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendlt staff and atmosphere. Good location

Disliked: Street noise can be loud and wake you up.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Fabio Gois

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011

Liked: The location and the staff.

Disliked: The cleanliness.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reid Norris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2011 Reid would recommend this property

Liked: i enjoyed the friendly staff and intrestining guests

Disliked: not much to dislike here

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Timothy Ripley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2011 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Big,old building with nice sized rooms and a great roof terrace.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice staff, comfy beds

Disliked: The bathrooms were always busy, maybe there should be more

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 February 2011

Liked: Lovely old building, great space on the roof.

Disliked: 5 showers for the whole hostel is not enough!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alfredo Jose Jimenez Mena

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2011 Alfredo Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and dedicated staff, from the administrator to the ladies doing the cleaning, they all would help you in any way they can. Very nice, clean house and great Urban terrace. Good central location. Different kinds of friendly travellers... ranging from the veteran 1970´s backpacker to the nice mate drinking young and beautifull Argentinian girl who is travelling for the 1st. time

Disliked: Depending on the person in charge at night times the hostel can become desperately LOUD. Most of them would keep some order and send the party people up to the terrace after 22:00 or 23:00 but... for example there was a short, dark haired guy from the staff who played sometimes music and was partying louder than the wild kids at the hostel in the reception untill 4:00 a.m.... a nightmare for most of the people who wanted to sleep or rest. During hot sommer days it can be HOT and there are only two fans in the house .

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2011

Liked: near city centre

Disliked: see above

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Terrasse, Breakfast, Caracter of the old building,

Disliked: very thin mattrasses

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

07 March 2010

Liked: Dark and depressing. Beds were sagging ... could feel the springs. No interaction between travelers. Staff were helpful when asked.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rodrigo Afonso

04 January 2010 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great price and friendly staff! Breakfast is a bit disappointing tho! But definitely recommended!

Disliked: Rodrigo left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great last night, with an asado on the roof and lots of drunken madness, but generally I thought this place was a bit average. Quite pricey as well for what you get, not sure if that's just Montevideo though..I wouldnt have a problem coming back but I'd probably check somewhere out first

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paula halley

07 November 2009 paula would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, lovely staff, clean

Disliked: paula left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Cathal O´Shea

08 February 2009

Liked: average hostel, beds were comfy

Disliked: Cathal left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location. But if was in Ciudad Vieja, would it be better.The staff is a little bit confused, the bathroom a little dirty. The desayuno/breakfast is honest. There is a cool place to hang out above the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

KELLY PAYTON

03 September 2008 KELLY would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really great and really helpful! I forgot my passport at the hostel for a few hours after I checked out and they wrote me an email right away to let me know. Great beds, free internet, good breakfast!

Disliked: KELLY left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

alistair geddes

18 May 2008

Liked: location an roof top terrace

Disliked: alistair left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 May 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great old villa with open fire for those cold autumn nights. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Cable t.v. and dvds, books and recommendations.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place is really nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lisa Whyte

18 March 2008 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Good bathrooms

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johan Norlander

23 February 2008 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: nice chillout rooftop with bar and bbq

Disliked: Johan left no negative feedback.