We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Splendido Hotel

Hostel | Bartolomé Mitre 1314, Montevideo, Uruguay 11100

82.1% Overall Rating

145 out of 169 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2013)

"Everything....the decor was the best we had experienced in south america. Brilliant freshly made biscuits and cake for breakfast. Great location, with relaxed feel - treat yourselves to a private room if you can. If not…"

Read all Splendido Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montevideo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montevideo

Ciudad Vieja Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 83.9% 54 reviews
Montevideo Port Hostel & Suites
18.00 USD

Hostel 74.8% 21 reviews
Palacio Hotel
18.00 USD

Hotel 87.0% 195 reviews
Hispano Hotel
22.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 36 reviews
Montevideo Chic Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Boulevard Sarandi Hostel
11.87 USD

Hostel 41.9% 3 reviews
New Arapey Hotel
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 57.3% 81 reviews
Los jardines colgantes de Babilonia Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 94.6% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

145 out of 169 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Splendido Hotel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 112 of 141 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Juan Manuel Morán Aqueveque

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Juan Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: Todo muy bien.

Disliked: Nada

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Robert Feldmeier

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 June 2013

Liked: It does have a good location,

Disliked: There were cobwebs and peeling paint in my room. I have never stayed someplace so dirty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything....the decor was the best we had experienced in south america. Brilliant freshly made biscuits and cake for breakfast. Great location, with relaxed feel - treat yourselves to a private room if you can. If not even the dorm rooms are lovely and bright.

Disliked: The dorm room was beside a staff bedroom - with working late, they were also up late watching very loud tv.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Very stylish, cool interieur, -computer with internet access on every floor - Very clean bathrooms

Disliked: - Be aware of low ceiling in lobby ;)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Old charm!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Giselle Garcia

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Giselle would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, good staff, good breakfast, old building and could be cleaner. It's a good deal.

Disliked: Could be cleaner, old building...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: There is no service..........the staff at the front counter are a joke........hell, they had to google to find out where the main bus terminal is????.They have no idea how to run a hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gay friendly, interesting decor, great location, free bicycles. I would stay here again.

Disliked: Some of the furniture was broken/needs repair. Same goes for the hotel in general, but still a good place.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 November 2012

Liked: Had a good colonial feel and was very well positioned in town except bars on the floor bellow are very loud in some rooms.

Disliked: Rather run down

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location,literally round the corner 1 block from main plaza,Plaza indepencia & also close to plaza constitution 3-4 mins walk.Great continental style Buffet Breakfast included in price.10 minute walk to montevideo port & Burqubus ferry terminal to Buenos Aires.Same walking time to Mercado del puerto.Recommended for budget travellers looking for there own room ,in the city center of Montevideo,very reasonably priced.

Disliked: Hotel splendido could do with some loving care & attention.Has seen better days.But this is reflected in the very reasonable cost of having your own single private Room in the centre of Montevideo at excellent value for money.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Heloá Oliveira

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 May 2012 Heloá would recommend this property

Liked: Localização boa e excelente caráter, tivemos um problema com o quarto e eles se responsabilizaram em encontrar outro lugar para ficarmos (pagaram a diferença de valor) e deixaram a opção de ir tomar café da manhã com eles.

Disliked: O local (rua) é bem barulhento a noite. Não conhecemos o quarto e por isso não podemos opinar sobre.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fernando Landini

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

29 April 2012 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Very interesting place to stay

Disliked: Fernando left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, stunning interior, friendliest staff ever

Disliked: nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place doesn't look as fancy in real as on the pictures of their website, as some others noticed already, but it's such a nice, charming and wild decorated place, i thought it was just much better. and the people working there are as bohemian as the hotel, and super friendly. very well located in downtown with a view on the ocean from the balcony.

Disliked: montevideo itself looks a bit boring compared to the hotel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gonzalo Gomez Sullain

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2012 Gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: Is an old fashioned petit-hotel, in the downtown, is really well located and it has character, i really loved the place, the building is old but well manteined, is a nice experience. Is so big that there was a long way from the room to the kitchen and shared places, but we had a computer with 24hs internet in our corridor, that was not a problem.

Disliked: Gonzalo left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aidan Maguire

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is great, fruit is always good. It's really central. The building has great character, it feels like your in the early 20th century.

Disliked: Traffic outside may effect light sleepers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Kelly Duggan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2012 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, old building with wonderful character.

Disliked: Kelly left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mino Corsale

Alone

City break

04 January 2012 Mino would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location. The building was charming and old fashion. The staff was very helpfull. Thanks to Leandro and Paulo.

Disliked: It's ok to sleep here for a couple av nights but nothing more. The room was to close the street and in spite of I was there monday and tuesday it came a lot of noise from there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pierre Rancourt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Pierre would recommend this property

Liked: des services gentils et empressés

Disliked: peut-être un peu trop vieillot et défraîchi.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and the location was central. Atmosphere feels warm and artsy.

Disliked: Half the rooms look out onto a very noisy alleyway filled with bars that open every night and stay open until dawn. One of the staff at the reception was unclear about the policies of Hostelbookers in regards to the 10% deposit, and ended up mixing up my laundry with that of other guests!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location - literally 5 mins taxi from Buquebus, right in Ciudad vieja and a few minutes walk on the other side from 18 de Julio Avenue and the main drag. Very friendly and helpful staff. Cute kitsch use of the decaying decor - lots of bizarre, fun decoration (eg, an Evita portrait above a huge goldfish tank). Free WiFi worked flawlessly.

Disliked: tiny dorm-style bed; even tinier room; worn, grubby black velveteen throw on the bed; not dirty, but dusty room. at least, i did avoid the noise from the bars below on the other side.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2011

Liked: Not much really!

Disliked: This is definitely a place to stay if you want an experience. But I was pretty freaked out by this property and expected to meet the headless horseman down the corridor. Breakfast was shocking, cold coffee and chocolate cake???? We were in a room down the road from a massive party that went on till 6am. We did not sleep!!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jan Gutzeit

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Location, good breakfast and cleanliness

Disliked: next to a big street and to the main bar street, so it can get noisy

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location off the main plaza

Disliked: No bathroom with the matrimonial suite is disappointing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Simple, but very attentively decorated, I would almost say artistic setup. Very, very friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: Right above some bars, get's quite noisy at night.