We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Posada al Sur

Guesthouse | Pérez Castellano 1424, Montevideo, Uruguay 1100

86.9% Overall Rating

145 out of 157 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

Lexi Randall-L'Estrange thinks…

"Great staff, location, and diverse guests. Fresh bread and fruit for breakfast was a real treat. Full kitchen available for use by guests. Nothing to complain about at all!"

Read all Posada al Sur reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Children's play area
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montevideo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montevideo

Los jardines colgantes de Babilonia Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 94.7% 15 reviews
Boulevard Sarandi Hostel
12.09 USD

Hostel 41.9% 3 reviews
Montevideo Chic Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ciudad Vieja Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 83.9% 54 reviews
Montevideo Port Hostel & Suites
18.00 USD

Hostel 74.8% 21 reviews
Palacio Hotel
18.00 USD

Hotel 87.0% 195 reviews
Splendido Hotel
19.00 USD

Hostel 82.1% 169 reviews
Hispano Hotel
22.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 36 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

145 out of 157 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Posada al Sur'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 108 of 135 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lexi Randall-L'Estrange

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Lexi would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, location, and diverse guests. Fresh bread and fruit for breakfast was a real treat. Full kitchen available for use by guests. Nothing to complain about at all!

Disliked: If you're looking for a social hostel vibe then this might not be the place for you, it's more like a B&B. Very tranquil.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lauren Stevenson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014

Liked: Good breakfast, nice location which was close to everything

Disliked: The first night I had a baby staying in my room, who woke up throughout the night. The second night there were two younger kids. The staff was also quite rude. For these reasons, I would never stay here again.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice clean hostel with a great breakfast and beautiful sunsets from the roof

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Auritt

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: This property was a great value for the money. The rooms are spacious with beautiful lofty ceilings. The staff was very kind. They graciously added an extra bed to our room when another friend decided to join us the day after we arrived. Breakfast was nicely presented and decent. The zone isn't the richest by any means, but it puts you close to practically all the museums and other sights. Don't listen to other reviews that say it's unsafe. Yes it's fairly dead at night, but if you have your wits about you and travel in groups, there should be no reason for problems.

Disliked: My only complaint was that there were mosquitos in the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thiago Santos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Thiago would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is pretty cool, and clean. The atmosphere is great, the brick walls, the high roof and everything makes the hostel an awesome place!

Disliked: I have made two reservation, one just for myself in a shared room, with shared bathroom, for 1 night, which turned out great, and another one for the next 2 nights in a private room with private bathroom, and something not good happened, they didn`t have any room with private bathroom because they gave it to someone else, and my reservation was made almost 3 months in advance.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, great roof deck, yummy breakfast

Disliked: The location does not seem to be the safest in town. We did not have any problems but heard of others who had some close calls.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i only asked for a room with priovate bathroom and got the amazing log cabin on the roof. a whole paartment, and i got to meet new people every evening as other guests come up to the roof for the beautiful sunsets...

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was the cleanest hostel we`ve ever seen before and the breakfast was ideal to start a day with energy and good mood! Thank You

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and friendly staff Close to all amenities Good breakfast and really nice and clean showers and bathrooms Amazing rooftop deck and nice common areas

Disliked: area outside is not the safest place especially turning left outside of the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming building with great staff.. I especially loved the rooftop with the hammocks and lookout.

Disliked: The only downside is that the neighborhood is supposedly unsafe at night. Luckily the bus stops two blocks away, so you can go spend the night in other parts of town and still get back okay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Manantial Gutierrez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Manantial would recommend this property

Liked: tiene muy buena recepcion , desayunos y es muy acogedor

Disliked: Manantial left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2012

Liked: Posada al Sur is a beautiful, clean, gorgeous hostel but in the Ciudad Viejo, which is incredibly unsafe. If you picked the hostel up and put it in another neighborhood, it would be the best hostel I have ever stayed in.

Disliked: As stated, the area is unsafe. My husband was mugged at night, and we heard of other guests that were mugged as well. In terms of being ¨street smart¨, we are from NYC and so we understand street smarts. This is a poor neighborhood and muggings are common no matter if you are walking with a camera or not. We felt like we could not leave the hostel at night because of our safety. For this reason, I would not recommend it, which is a shame because the hostel itself and the staff are fantastic. We have also spoke with many Uruguayians who say that crime in this part of the city seems to be on the rise.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing organic breakfast and rooftop terrace.

Disliked: Location is a little dodgy at night, but fine in pairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maria Patricio

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 January 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Nicest Breakfast ever! Super friendly Stuff!

Disliked: Not the best area at night, super area during the day :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the athmosphere

Disliked: The location

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Pitkethly

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely environment, full of character. Great rooftop terrace where you can relax on the hammocks. Everso friendly staff and seems attract a nice group of residents as well.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: old city not safe at night and streets tend to be dirty

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Old city location is dirty and unsafe at night. Both are manageable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Winnie Skov

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2011 Winnie would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities and breakfast are very nice, with a nice hippie-feel to it.

Disliked: The location is a bit dodgy at night, but during the days its very nice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eamonn Maguire

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Eamonn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and very helpful. Had a really comfortable stay here.

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great rooms + breakfast, friendly staff

Disliked: location (specially at night)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vinicius Almeida

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2011 Vinicius would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, nice atmosphere. Showers were excellent. Free towels and internet were a plus.

Disliked: Location not the best at night, but didn't have any problems.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Truman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break

26 September 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The fact that they provide an organic breakfast. Its cleanliness and excellent facilities. A real home from home.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lara Vermont

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2011 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: The building is absolutely beautiful and the dorm had the more space than almost any I have stayed in. The staff are absolutely fantastic and there is a great atmosphere, very homely. Make sure you visit the roof terrace! This is a perfect place to relax for a few days - and perhaps take a detox from any party hostels you have stayed in!

Disliked: I personally liked everything. I notice that many people mention the location being dangerous at night, which may be true, but the staff clearly explain where to avoid upon check in. Do not let this deter you from experiencing this lovely hostel =)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are all really spacious and clean. There is central heating in all areas and a really good equipped kitchen.

Disliked: It is not safe to go out at night because it is a not so nice area at night time.