We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Posada al Sur

Guesthouse | Pérez Castellano 1424, Montevideo, Uruguay 1100

87.4% Overall Rating

147 out of 159 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/01/2015)

"Very interesting hostel set out in two buildings. It was very clean, good breakfast that was available till 11am and had a rooftop terrace. Staff were helpful and friendly. Good location- very close to ferry terminal…"

Read all Posada al Sur reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Children's play area
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montevideo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montevideo

Los jardines colgantes de Babilonia Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 95.6% 20 reviews
Boulevard Sarandi Hostel
14.68 USD

Hostel 64.7% 11 reviews
Montevideo Chic Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 95.2% 3 reviews
Ciudad Vieja Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 83.9% 54 reviews
Montevideo Port Hostel & Suites
17.00 USD

Hostel 68.5% 25 reviews
Palacio Hotel
19.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.1% 197 reviews
Splendido Hotel
19.00 USD

Hostel 80.1% 171 reviews
Hispano Hotel
22.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 36 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

147 out of 159 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Posada al Sur'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 110 of 137 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lara Vermont

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2011 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: The building is absolutely beautiful and the dorm had the more space than almost any I have stayed in. The staff are absolutely fantastic and there is a great atmosphere, very homely. Make sure you visit the roof terrace! This is a perfect place to relax for a few days - and perhaps take a detox from any party hostels you have stayed in!

Disliked: I personally liked everything. I notice that many people mention the location being dangerous at night, which may be true, but the staff clearly explain where to avoid upon check in. Do not let this deter you from experiencing this lovely hostel =)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are all really spacious and clean. There is central heating in all areas and a really good equipped kitchen.

Disliked: It is not safe to go out at night because it is a not so nice area at night time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, cozy and private. The rooftop cabin is ideal for a romantic getaway.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to stay

Disliked: Maybe the location in Montevideo is not the best at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: loved it

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente, la gente muy amable, muy limpio, el desayuno delicioso...:)

Disliked: TODO ESTUVO PERFECTO

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The chalet was great

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast with fruit, bathrooms are very clean, staff very friendly, private rooms are really nice, wifi fast

Disliked: the dorm was cramped, not very safe area at night. But in general nice hostel and would stay there again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and spacious, clean rooms and great areas to just hang out in. Well supplied kitchen!!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: location not many things to do

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: charming property, very clean

Disliked: no lockers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: location

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dorthe beldal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011 dorthe would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very very nice place with a great atmosphere. It has a very good size and great staff. The breakfast is THE highlight right along with the comfortness and aroma of the place.

Disliked: I did not dislike anything. On the contrary i loved everything about it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great building with lovely high ceilings and a nice roof terrace.

Disliked: The hostel is in/on the edge to a dodgy area (part of the old town) and it is not recommended to walk out in the evenings!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms, good kitchen

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicola young

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2011 nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Was so clean, and a lovely place to be. A home from home, we loved it and all the staff. Breakfast is so lovely, a welcome change. Would definitely go back :)

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostal Posada al Sur was clean and comfortable in a grand old town house in Old Town. Nice roof terrace, great breakfast, super local eatery on the corner.

Disliked: Shame Old Town is not safe at night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place

Disliked: the price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cameron Lewis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2011 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel. Very private when you want your space. Great kitchen facilities, good bathrooms with great hot showers, nice rooftop terrace for chilling out. Highly recommend!

Disliked: Nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is amazing and the roof terrace as well. Very nice renovated building, would higly recommend people to stay over here. For sure one of the best hostels/ B&B´s I´ve stayed in since a long time!

Disliked: Notting

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great dbl room in a beautiful building. Extremely friendly staff. Very clean.Generous breakfast.

Disliked: Rooms too hot even with a fan. Mosquitos.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice big, clean rooms, great breakfast, very quite

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully house, well maintained - in accumlate condition.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

28 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everythong.... the Posada is beautiful, with a wonderful decoration and very ogirinal furniture, rooms are very nice and big, the terrace upstairs is wonderful, with a lot of space and a terrible view on the city and the port. breakfast is organic, very well served, very good, fresh and tasty, and the staff is just too kind.... the internet room is beautiful as well, if I must really give a critical idea, I would say that internet connexion is a little bit slow....

Disliked: We loved everything.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasent decor, is as advertised on the internet Very good staff, and plenty of info available to make the most of your trip to Montevideo and Uruguay.

Disliked: Organic breakfast sounds impressive but is not