We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Che Lagarto Hostel Colonia

Hostel | 18 de julio 487, colonia del sacramento, uruguay Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay 70000

82.6% Overall Rating

37 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/12/2013)

Eric Hynes thinks…

"Guys at the hostel were very helpful and kind.. It was easy to socialise and most people were up for sharing stories and to go out for a drink and play some pool.. a great night was had by all :)"

Read all Che Lagarto Hostel Colonia reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 40.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Colonia del Sacramento?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Colonia del Sacramento

Hostel Colonial
13.85 USD

Hostel 80.3% 18 reviews
Mi Viejo Hostel
14.25 USD

Hostel 43.8% 3 reviews
El Viajero B&B
30.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.2% 42 reviews
El Viajero Hostel & Suites
16.00 USD

Hostel 84.3% 272 reviews
La Casa de Teresa
20.00 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 95 reviews
Hostel El Espanol
13.00 USD

Hostel 69.1% 87 reviews
El Galope Horse Farm
25.00 USD

Hostel 97.6% 29 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

37 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Che Lagarto Hostel Colonia'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 40 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sermin Gungor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2014 Sermin would recommend this property

Liked: Everythings

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Simone Botti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and cleanness.

Disliked: Missing a bar.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

James Bulmer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: The whole thing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It looked nice from the outside

Disliked: Room was a bit small, no indoor common area

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find location, kind and helpful staff and a nice courtyard

Disliked: the same as everyone else, no real security but there doesn't really seem to be a need for it..

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014

Liked: Friendly staff, location close to the bus terminal.

Disliked: No real common room with sofas or anything to spend time with others. During the day anybody could just have walked into the dorms from the street without being noticed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Eric Hynes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2013 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Guys at the hostel were very helpful and kind.. It was easy to socialise and most people were up for sharing stories and to go out for a drink and play some pool.. a great night was had by all :)

Disliked: nothing comes to mind

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: seperate bathrooms for men and women

Disliked: the patio was a mess

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Matthew Bracegirdle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Close to bus and ferry terminal and only a few blocks from historic area

Disliked: A little noisy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sara Hosford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Small and cosy. NIce high ceilings. Lovely bathrooms, very homely and clean. Comfortable beds, and the top bunks were quite low which was nice. Great breakfast! NIce patio area.

Disliked: All perfect, except the wifi didnt work for my phone and there was only one computer... but the hostel was quiet so no problem, I could use it whenever.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catrin Cooke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Catrin would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly nice, staff a little reticent but helpful when asked.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adriana Rocha

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: They weren't willing to hold our reservation and wanted to put us on different accomodations. After some talk and argumentation, they've transferred the persons who they've placed in our room and things went ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rick de Booij

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013 Rick would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was pretty quiet when we were there, but it was a nice escape from Montevideo where it was pretty crowded. The kitchen and bathrooms were always clean, in fact, probably the cleanest hostel kitchen ever. There is a nice patio in the back to sit, but not a ton of space. The breakfast is nice with fresh bread, cereal, some sort of flan, coffee/tea, and oranges.

Disliked: We were in the front room which had a lot of noise from construction acros the street which starts at 7am. The lockers in the room are not that strong and could easily be broken into. One of them was being fixed whie we were there. The front door is open during the day, so it would be easy for someone to sneak in, yet the town does feel pretty safe. The bathrooms open to the hallway, which makes it a little awkard when you are showering and someone opens the door from the hallway to get in.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013

Liked: It's ok for one night as the hostel is close to the bus terminal, the port and the historical centre. Comes with a nice garden.

Disliked: When I arrived, the bathroom was kind of flooded...don't know what happened there...however, a couple of hours later everything was clean again. What I didn't like was that the hostel was basically open to everyone - and there's not always someone at the front desk to check who's coming in. Doors to the rooms couldn't be locked either. At least there were lockers in the room...still, I didn't really feel unsafe because Colonia is too sleepy a town to break into a hostel, I guess.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2013

Liked: The Hostel is near the Bus station and the Ferries, but the location is the only good thing

Disliked: The place was dirty and the bathroom could not be locked, we had a room without window and it was dark and grey in there...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to the Ferry Terminal and Bus Terminal and not to far from the historic city part.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Matthew Chua

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and common areas.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was really nice, quite small but has a well equipped kitchen and a nice garden area. The beds were comfy and rooms were clean. It's a quiet place but easy to meet other travellers.

Disliked: The only issue was that we booked a twin room with a tv and air con, the room had air con but no tv but they didn't tell us, just waited for us to work it out and then offered discount. Also one of the beds had no sheets on it, I told him that and he said that he knew it didnt have sheets.... so then I had to ask if we could have some sheets... which he didn't bring out and we had to remind him! but not a big issue....

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Frans Flippo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Frans would recommend this property

Liked: Charming place, nice outside area with shade provided by a grape vine. Helpful staff. The rooms are roomy, there's lockers for everyone, the beds are made. Breakfast with bread, cake, cereal, milk, coffee and tea. It's just a few blocks to the historic center and the port/bus terminal, there's a supermarket around the corner and restaurants nearby.

Disliked: WiFi seems a bit flaky outside, the toilets had some flushing issues, but the staff were quick to resolve, nothing really to dislike.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, great bread. Very clean and well equipped bathrooms

Disliked: There was little fin to be had in this hostel

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Myers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The owners gave me lots of information on Uruguay and helped me plan my trip. I appreciated that a lot. Its a nice small hostel in walking distance from the bus and ferry terminal. The old town is just a few minutes away by foot. A recommendable place!

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The open courtyard was a very pleasant addition to the hostel. It made it feel very relaxing, and comfortable while getting fresh air for a change

Disliked: The dorms were very small for 6 people. It made it quite difficult when everyone was in the room. In addition there were only 2 outlets for the entire room to charge their accessories

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great, friendly and helpful staff and awesome asado. Decent breakfast too.

Disliked: Room was close to reception, so can get a tad noisy

The property's response is...