HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Galope Horse Farm

Hostel | Camino Concordia s/n, Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay 11700

97.6% Overall Rating

29 out of 29 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/08/2014)

Jennifer Muscheidt thinks…

"Everything!!!! Mónica and Miguel are incredible hosts! The Estancia itself is beautiful, the accommodation, the kitchen, the sitting room are all beautifully built and decorated, very comfortable and…"

Read all El Galope Horse Farm reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Pets are not allowed. Children under the age of 18 are unable to be accommodated. Please, always call or send a SMS saying what time and where your bus is leaving to Colonia Valdense in order to arrange a taxi to pick you up from Colonia Valdense bus stop to take you to EL Galope (transfer USD10 for 4 persons max.) We recommend taking Turil company buses. Once you have booked, you will have the information in order to be able to contact El Galope. If you can't send a SMS, ask the person at Turil's desk so call us indicating time and city of departure.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Colonia del Sacramento?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Colonia del Sacramento

Hostel El Espanol
13.00 USD

Hostel 69.1% 87 reviews
La Casa de Teresa
16.00 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 95 reviews
Hostel Colonial
10.17 USD

Hostel 80.7% 17 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel Colonia
500.00 USD

Hostel 82.6% 42 reviews
Mi Viejo Hostel
14.65 USD

Hostel 43.8% 3 reviews
El Viajero B&B
30.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.2% 42 reviews
El Viajero Hostel & Suites
15.00 USD

Hostel 85.9% 271 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.6%

Overall Rating

29 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Galope Horse Farm'

Atmosphere
100.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
96.0%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 29 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Muscheidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!!! Mónica and Miguel are incredible hosts! The Estancia itself is beautiful, the accommodation, the kitchen, the sitting room are all beautifully built and decorated, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food is delicious, all local produce and the wine was very tasty too! The horse riding was a great experience and the sauna in the evening is a must!!!!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice change of pace out in the countryside. Rooms are pretty amazing if you're used to the slightly cheaper side of hostels in South America, the best place I stayed at in Uruguay hands down. Great owner, plenty to keep you busy. I'm not the worlds biggest fan of horses, in fact I'd never been on one before, but they know their stuff and its a great way to spend a couple of days. Food is ace too!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JANET HOLLAND

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 JANET would recommend this property

Liked: Great welcome fabulous service friendly atmospher

Disliked: JANET left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely relaxing place to stay to get away from the city and stress! Great animals to play with and lovely horses to go out riding on, the couple that run the place are super nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Molly Mitchell-Olds

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 December 2012 Molly would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful land and farm. Monica and Miguel made us feel at home. The home cooked dinner is well worth the money. Room are cozy. It was an ideal stay. We could not have asked for more.

Disliked: Molly left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the atmosphere at El Galope and were welcomed so warmly by Miguel and Monica (and their friendly dogs and horses!) to their lovely farm and property. Miguel gave us a great lesson in horseriding and was so enthusiastic about the place and all it had to offer. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and tidy and it was lots of fun getting to know other travellers at the communal dining table for meals. A lovely break without internet - really felt like we were having a holiday!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Morrison

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Had a very nice time here was very relaxing met some very nice people staying at the ranch as well. Miguel and Monika were very welcoming and I enjoyed the horseback riding, made me feel at home there. Hot showers and free breakfast included.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hiu Na Yu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012 Hiu Na would recommend this property

Liked: We all enjoyed the stay in here!! NO TV, NO internet, but we have fresh air with many fireflies on the ground, millions of stars in the sky!! Miguel and Monica are so friendly. We had horse riding here and enjoyed so much! Monica prepared delicious meals, esp the homemade lemon ice cream!!! ( They sent us a price list of everything, so i think it is ok if you can know everything before go!) everything is good here, It is worth to spend a day or more to here to have a peaceful getaway :)

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Clarke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: I had such a great stay at El Galope! After being in BA for two weeks, I arrived at El Galope and finally relaxed in the sun reading, going for long treks, eating the local food and wine and relaxing in the sauna. It's perfect too because it's on the way to Montevideo, and the dorm they had there was the best dorm I've stayed in so far in South America. El Galope is an amazing place, so relaxing and I will never forget my stay there

Disliked: Nothing. Monica and Miguil were so friendly and willing to help out with anything (not just about Colonia but sent me an email of tips on the rest of Uruguay). There is an extra cost for food but everything is locally made (the wine, cheese, milk) so it is worth it. Ask for the cheese fondu for dinner - delicious

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Dell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Loved El Galope - was an amazing place to stay and Miguel made us feel so welcome. The common area was beautiful with an open fire. The fondue was great, as was the homemade lemon icecream! We loved all the animals and the horse riding was a fab experience as well. We had read the reviews on here so were prepared for the extra costs... just read the email they send you carefully and decide what you want to do and spend beforehand and it wont be a problem. Be prepared for some chill out time, so bring a book, but it was a perfect place to spend a few nights. Easy to get to on the bus from Colonia and Montevideo. Rooms were more like a hotel than a hostel and the solar water was always really hot;

Disliked: Jenny left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owners Miguel and Monica were very welcoming and eager to share with us about their farm and the surrounding community. We loved their dogs; Tupac and the new boxer puppies, Kida and Roco as well as the sleepy kitties. The beds and bedding in the dorms were very comfortable and the shower in the shared bathroom worked fine even though it was solar heated water and we didn't get much sun. Breakfast and the dinners prepared by Monica were delicious - we especially enjoyed the fondue. The fireplace in the common area was so relaxing. We were the only guests so it was a little lonely but nice to just read and sip some of the great wine made by their neighbor. Monica also showed us how to properly drink and share mate which we really liked. Definitely go horseback riding!!

Disliked: We really enjoyed our time at El Galope but I feel it would be remiss not to leave some constructive (we hope) criticism. We are sad to say we left with a bit of a bad taste in our mouths on account of all the individual extras we had to pay for at checkout. Miguel and Monica are upfront about all of these costs and I think its right to have some things as optional add-ons (i.e. alcoholic beverages, horseback riding and the sauna) but in our opinion it would make more sense to just have dinner included in the nightly rates since the kitchen is not available for guest use after 6pm and it's too far to go to town. Even if they raised their nightly rate I think it would just feel better than having to pay for everything separately, especially in the case of dinner because you actually can't use the kitchen to self cater. We stayed at a similar remotely-located ranch in Peru where dinner and use of a sauna were included - here they charge US$12 and $10 per person, respectively. When we questioned why not just have a flat rate to use the sauna (since it doesn't cost any more to set it up for more people) they said they only do it for a minimum of 2. In that case, I'd suggest just saying it's US$20 to use the sauna. Transfers from/to the highway bus stop could also be included ($2/person per transfer) to encourage travelers to stop at the farm even if they don't have their own wheels. I know its not THAT expensive but it's one of those psychological things that I think most people would agree with - I'd rather have those charges that aren't really "optional" included in a higher nightly rate instead of having the sense that I'm being nickel-and-dimed. At US$40 for two of us in a dorm it's already a fairly pricey accommodation for Uruguay (we are now in a huge private double with ensuite bathroom in Colonia for only $5 more per night) so my opinion is there could be some value added by including dinner and transfers in that rate. All that said we still wouldn't hesitate to recommend visiting Monica and Miguel's place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The chance to stay in the Uruguay countryside in a very relaxing and peaceful place with beautiful views and friendly owners. The accomodation is comfortable and the fire in the lounge area makes it cosy; an ideal spot to read a book or chat with other guests. I had the meals at the hostel which were good and the locally produced wine too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very tranquil environment to spend a few days. horse ride at sunset is a must. the food is great and the wine is smooth! clean and comfortable rooms and nice big towels!! go there and relax with miguel, monica, tupac the dog and all the horses. enjoy. thanks again ...tim and sascha

Disliked: nada.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The tranquility, animals, rustic, clean and comfortable furnishings, views, bright stars, homecooked and locally sourced yummy food/wine, spring water, small number of guests, horse riding, tips and conversations from the hosts Miguel and Monica. The way the homestead was laid out with lots of different places to relax and the way the rooms were structured were thought out well. A lovely place to relax and just what we needed. Would definitely recommend el galope.

Disliked: These are just minor things really but would suggest fresh orange juice at breakfast instead of cordial, and our toilet seat needed fixing. Services such as lunch, dinner, laundry are offered at the hostel but you still have to do the dishes and hang out and bring in the laundry yourself at 6US a load. However, horseriding is very reasonably priced. But overall absolutely wonderful and restorative experience.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El Galope is the best hostel we've stayed at so far on our whole South America trip. The staff are so helpful and Monica's cooking is the best! There are a lot of walking trails around te property and a beach, which is 15km away, is breathtaking. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone looking to get away for a relaxing weekend away from the city. Very good.

Disliked: If you don't have a car it's very hard to get to the beach (I wouldn't even reccomend trying), but there is so much to do within walking distance of the property it's no worries.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Monica and Miguel are fantastic hosts. El Galope is a home away from home. they prepare marvellous meals and ith only 10 guests you get the opportunity to sit around the dining table and share experiences with other travellers. You can bike ride, horse ride or just hang in the hammock and rest. It's perfect.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

kimberley davison

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012 kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: very rural setting, really really lovely place. it IS a little too far out from town though and the only way of getting there is by walking! staff friendly and helpful and everywhere was spotlessly clean. it was lovely

Disliked: there are hidden costs RE: food. they state you have self catering facilities and they DO have a kitchen. however, it is only available for guests to use it between 12 and 3pm, so if you want an evening meal, you either have to buy theirs or walk into town, it wasn´t what we were expecting.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a lovely, relaxing place to stay, it is perfect for getting away from everything. The hosts are very welcoming. Highly recommended!

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Corrigan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2011 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: This was pretty much a perfect place to stay. Set out in the tranquil countryside, Miguel and Monica are wonderful hosts. Our room was super clean and comfortable. We had a fire lit each night to warm the room up. The common area was cosy and comfortable. We spent most of the time in front of the fire. We loved the quiet and solitude out on the farm, and Miguel and Monica did everything they could to make it a great stay. The food was wonderful, with most of the items sourced locally. On offer was horseback riding and the sauna if you could pull yourself away from relaxing. Make sure you try the wine made by their neighbour. It was a wonderful stay and we were sad to leave.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a wonderful stay at El Galope. It is located in the green countryside, it is a great break from the city and very easy to reach. Only 50 min bus from Colonia and the owners were just in time waiting at the bus stop. I found the location was just what I needed and a chance to get away form the touristic areas and get to know real life at the countryside. It is also on the way and close to Montevideo where I was heading for. I bought food supplies beforehand since one of the reviews said that the meals were too expensive! To my surprise, it was not only cheaper than Colonia and Montevideo, but excellent! Everything is homemade with regional products. Miguel and Monica were excellent cooks and the best hosts. And if you feel like cooking they even provide low cost food products for sale at the hostel! I wish I could have stayed longer!! Highly recommended!

Disliked: Not being able to stay longer.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful location to escape & relax within. Lovely pets, sauna, kitchen & duvets! Open fire in the lounge constantly fuelled...lovely & cozy!

Disliked: We chose to self cater while staying at El Galope & felt this was necessary due to the costly meals that were on offer. It would have been helpful to have small amounts of communal basic food ingredients on offer, ie. sugar, oil, flour (even if this meant a higher overall nightly rate to stay there).

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location off the beaten path Miguel & Monica were great hosts and provided lots of useful information for our week in Uruguay Lovely meals if you didn't want to cook yourself (fondu, pizza, asado)

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allison Crnic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful setting, friendly owner--a super charming rural escape! Facilities were quite nice, and I like that you could rent bikes onsite. The pets are great too. Very clean. This is one of the nicest hostels I've stayed at in four months of travel in South America.

Disliked: Like another reviewer mentioned, there are bugs. However, they're not mosquitoes and don't really bother you--just potato bug-like things that are sometimes on the wall.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Blackburn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful setting in the countryside. Fantastic hosts and absolutely brilliant facilities.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Honor Dargan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2011 Honor would recommend this property

Liked: Monica and Miguel who own and run El Galope really know how to run a welcoming and relaxed place where you can go and wind down from the daily grind. There is no crazy hustle and bustle and the pace of the day is whatever you choose it to be. You can be as active or as chilled out as you like. If you love animals (we do) then Tupac their dog plus their 3 cats and 3 horses are great companions. Then there's the countryside, the cheese farm, the goats farm, and the bicycle ride to the beach. It really was a great place to visit and we'd recommend this trip to everyone we know. A huge thumbs up.

Disliked: It doesn't bother us but I know some people who would freak so it's better to know beforehand. You are in the country so if you're not a fan of insects you may not like this. The rooms are clean and tidy but you can't stop the local wildlife popping in to say hello : )

The property's response is...