HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Galope Horse Farm Colonia del Sacramento

Hostel

Cno. Concordia, Colonia Suiza, Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay

Atmosphere 100%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 93%

Location 93%

Safety 100%

Staff 99%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Sauna
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Pets are not allowed. Children under the age of 18 are unable to be accommodated. Please, always call or send a SMS saying what time and where your bus is leaving to Colonia Valdense in order to arrange a taxi to pick you up from Colonia Valdense bus stop to take you to EL Galope (transfer USD10 for 4 persons max.) We recommend taking Turil company buses. Once you have booked, you will have the information in order to be able to contact El Galope. If you can't send a SMS, ask the person at Turil's desk so call us indicating time and city of departure.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Colonia del Sacramento?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 100%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 93%

Location 93%

Safety 100%

Staff 99%

Value 94%

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Unique experience. Excellent hosts. Lovely, restful place.

Disliked: It was perfect.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: Beautiful location in a the countryside.Clean and comfortable.Quiet.Nice kitchen

Disliked: I found the meals to be overpriced for what they were. Pretty much paying restaurant prices for nice and homey but also cheap meals to make. You can't cook your own good after 6pm,You have to pay for a taxi from local bus station. It is common in my experience for hostels in out of the way locations to provide free pick ups, that would be nice here.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything!!!! Mónica and Miguel are incredible hosts! The Estancia itself is beautiful, the accommodation, the kitchen, the sitting room are all beautifully built and decorated, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food is delicious, all local produce and the wine was very tasty too! The horse riding was a great experience and the sauna in the evening is a must!!!!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great welcome fabulous service friendly atmospher

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comment.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really nice change of pace out in the countryside. Rooms are pretty amazing if you're used to the slightly cheaper side of hostels in South America, the best place I stayed at in Uruguay hands down. Great owner, plenty to keep you busy. I'm not the worlds biggest fan of horses, in fact I'd never been on one before, but they know their stuff and its a great way to spend a couple of days. Food is ace too!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Ho thank you so much for your comment and rating!!! We really enjoyed meeting you too.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely relaxing place to stay to get away from the city and stress! Great animals to play with and lovely horses to go out riding on, the couple that run the place are super nice!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for the comment and rating. Sorry about such delayed answer.
Cheers
Monica and Miguel

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We loved the atmosphere at El Galope and were welcomed so warmly by Miguel and Monica (and their friendly dogs and horses!) to their lovely farm and property. Miguel gave us a great lesson in horseriding and was so enthusiastic about the place and all it had to offer. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and tidy and it was lots of fun getting to know other travellers at the communal dining table for meals. A lovely break without internet - really felt like we were having a holiday!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Beautiful land and farm. Monica and Miguel made us feel at home. The home cooked dinner is well worth the money. Room are cozy. It was an ideal stay. We could not have asked for more.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for such grate comments and rating.
All the best to you, and sorry about the delayed answer

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Had a very nice time here was very relaxing met some very nice people staying at the ranch as well. Miguel and Monika were very welcoming and I enjoyed the horseback riding, made me feel at home there. Hot showers and free breakfast included.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We all enjoyed the stay in here!! NO TV, NO internet, but we have fresh air with many fireflies on the ground, millions of stars in the sky!! Miguel and Monica are so friendly. We had horse riding here and enjoyed so much! Monica prepared delicious meals, esp the homemade lemon ice cream!!! ( They sent us a price list of everything, so i think it is ok if you can know everything before go!)everything is good here, It is worth to spend a day or more to here to have a peaceful getaway :)

Disliked: no

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability