HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel El Español Colonia del Sacramento Hostel

Manuel Lobo 377, Lavalleja e Intedente Suarez, Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 70%

Location 87%

Safety 74%

Staff 73%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Colonia del Sacramento?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 70%

Location 87%

Safety 74%

Staff 73%

Value 74%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: This was a lovely, cheap hostel in a great location. Very spacious and with a nice outdoor area. Staff was helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The atmosphere wasn't very social, me and my friend felt like we were the only ones staying there. I wouldn't recommend staying here to make friends.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Liked: Friendly environment, good location, good value

Disliked: Gets very hot in the dorms in summer at night time

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: its a beautiful colonial house

Disliked: staff doesnt speak english at all- really 0. door was open the whole day, so i guess everybody can just walk in

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good location, the staff is friendly, but nobody speak one word english, it´s clean

Disliked: Braekfast even for south americanobody speak englishit´s not possible to pay with credit card

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating


17 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The price

Disliked: Not very clean.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location wasn't bad, but Colonia is pretty tiny so everything is always close! The outside looked nice.

Disliked: Very run down and uncared for. Kitchen lacked a lot of basic equipment and was very dark and dirty. Staff were quite unfriendly. Not like modern hostels - no information. Not fault of the hostel but our dorm mates weren´t considerate of us at all (showers at 1, talking through the night, leaving the door unlocked)

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly people at this hostel. Very safe, and a lovely traditional setting.

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't great but I think this is a general Uruguay peculiarity.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is a big hostel and it seemed quite clean.

Disliked: The staff weren't that friendly. Also, on hostel bookers there is no option to book in Uruguian pesos and there was some confusion as to how much we had to pay as their fees at the actual hostel were a lot more than on hostel bookers.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: lovely old adobe building with nice courtyard. only a few blocks away from historic town center, and closest accommodation to ferry port. also the cheapest of the hostels.

Disliked: not enough shared bathrooms to cope with peak times/full house. breakfast is very basic, and not buffet so limited amount of food per guest.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is the cheapest one in Coplonia, but for more one dollar I believe that you will find better places to stay.

Disliked: The toilets are really bad, and the hostel basically is a old house where they "built" an hostel...

Check Availability