HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Istanbul, Turkey

Cheers Hostel 96%

1. Cheers Hostel

Hostel
Alemdar Mahallesi, Zeynep Sultan Camii Sokak No 21

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 93%

Location 99%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 95%

134 out of 139 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cheers Hostel

02 Jul 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

Helpful staff, excellent location, clean facilities.

would recommend this property

09 Jun 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Beach / sunbathing Business / conference Relaxation / spa Romantic getaway Shopping Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 18-24

the people is sooooo friendly and so nice and super care !!! the location is good ! the food (breakfast) is so delicious. keep it up guys ! AWESOME !!!!

would recommend this property

Read all Cheers Hostel reviews
Portus House Istanbul 95%

2. Portus House Istanbul

Hostel
Mumhane Cad, 31, Kemankes Mah. Karakoy

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 95%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

55 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Portus House Istanbul

16 Mar 2017 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Partying / nightlife Romantic getaway Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

everything from the location to the team the atmosphere it was amazing great money value if i want to come back coming there is the greatest reason

would recommend this property

10 Jun 2016 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Preisleistung hat einfach gepasst.

would recommend this property

Read all Portus House Istanbul reviews
The Hub Hostel 94%

3. The Hub Hostel

Hostel
Sinanpaşa Mah. Aşık Garip Sok. No:14 Beşiktaş

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 91%

Safety 100%

Staff 100%

Value 100%

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Hub Hostel

19 Aug 2015 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Nice location, good people, great price

would recommend this property

20 Mar 2015 86%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

The staff was really nice and the rooms were clean. A really nice place.

would recommend this property

Read all The Hub Hostel reviews
Saruhan Hotel 94%

4. Saruhan Hotel

Hotel
Kucuk Ayasofya Mahallesi Cinci Meydani Sokak, No:33 Sultanahmet

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 95%

Location 89%

Safety 96%

Staff 97%

Value 94%

38 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Saruhan Hotel

13 Jul 2015 80%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities Visiting friends or family

.

would recommend this property

13 Mar 2015 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Romantic getaway

it was nice and clean. very friendly and helpufl staff. our room was very spacious and nicethe breakfast was very good and abundatthe hotel was very close from the main attractions and located in a quiet area

would recommend this property

Read all Saruhan Hotel reviews
Agora Hostel and Guesthouse 94%

5. Agora Hostel and Guesthouse

Hostel
Akbiyik cad (street) Amiral Tafdil sk. no.6, Sultanahmet / Istanbul

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 97%

Value 94%

160 out of 164 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Agora Hostel and Guesthouse

29 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone

If this is your first time in Istanbul and you are on a budget, I cannot recommend Agora Guesthouse more highly. The reception staff are welcoming and helped with my enquiries, it is warm, always hot showers with good privacy and ample basin space, quiet, relaxing and seems to attract a very friendly traveller. The hostel has an excellent location for the tourist areas of Sultanahmet with the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar just a few streets away. The breakfast is consistently good - I particularly liked the homemade lentil and potato spring rolls, but with plenty of meats, cheese, cucumber, tomato, eggs, olives and fresh fruit on offer as well as cereals, juice and bread, I ate well each morning. The communal area was well serviced with tea available all day, and a couple of guidebooks and English novels. There were far more Japanese books, if that is of interest to you! The shared dorms were a good size, with huge lockers underneath the bed. It felt so safe though, that whilst the lockers remained locked, we left the door open, and I had no worries about anything that was left on my bed. The beds themselves were comfortable, and while I didn't sleep well every night (more to do with my sleeping pattern than anything about the room) the pillows and blankets provided were cosy. I moved from Agora for a change of scenery and I wish I was back there now as my new place is nowhere near as good.

would recommend this property

22 Oct 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

Fantastic hostel. Staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Bathrooms are really clean with high pressure showers. Rooms are great, nice and comfortable bunks. Wifi is strong throughout and the terrace breakfast, view, and location is awesome!

would recommend this property

Read all Agora Hostel and Guesthouse reviews
Big Apple Hostel 94%

6. Big Apple Hostel

Hostel
Akbiyik Caddesi Bayramfirin Sok no:12, Sultanahmet

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 90%

Location 96%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

95 out of 102 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Big Apple Hostel

05 Mar 2017 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break
Age Range: 25-30

Its very nice hostel , staff very very nice and helpful , hostel location excellent, 3 min from tram station which can use it for any where you want to go inside ISTANBUL , very closed for all sultan Ahmed museums , shops , reaturants. Breakfast very nice with sea view , make your morning mode different .

would recommend this property

10 Feb 2017 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

Clean, quite luxurious for the price, AMAZING staff who were helpful in so many ways!

would recommend this property

Read all Big Apple Hostel reviews
Metropolis Hostel 94%

7. Metropolis Hostel

Hostel
Akbiyik cad. Terbiyik sok. No:24, Sultanahmet

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 88%

Location 99%

Safety 98%

Staff 94%

Value 94%

701 out of 770 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Metropolis Hostel

29 Sep 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family Work / volunteering
Age Range: 31-40

Location is one of the big advantages of this property. It is surrounded by Restaurants, Pubs and historical Structures. The rooms are big, clean and quite. The Staff is very helpful and friendly.

would recommend this property

01 Apr 2016 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 31-40

Walking distance to all the main tourist sights and easy to catch public transport for longer journeys. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was cleaned every day and the shared bathroom was always clean too. Great breakfast included in the price.

would recommend this property

Read all Metropolis Hostel reviews
#bunk taksim 94%

8. #bunk taksim

Hostel
No: 34 Papa Roncalli Sokak, Elmadag

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 93%

Location 90%

Safety 98%

Staff 96%

Value 93%

37 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend #bunk taksim

13 Nov 2016 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break Shopping Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

I like the view from the rooftop, it is amazing! The staff is superfriendly and helped us out a lot and they know very good about the local sightseeing and everything you need to know when you are in istanbul. it is modern and clean and the beds are really comfortable

would recommend this property

20 Jun 2016 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Events / festivals Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family
Age Range: 18-24

I really like the staff there. They were so helpfull and made sure that we have everything.

would recommend this property

Read all #bunk taksim reviews
Lotus Hotel Istanbul 93%

9. Lotus Hotel Istanbul

Hotel
Yavuzsultanselim Mah.Vakıf Mektebi Sok.No:1 Fatih

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 93%

Location 77%

Safety 97%

Staff 100%

Value 97%

6 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Lotus Hotel Istanbul

25 Aug 2016 94%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Romantic getaway
Age Range: 31-40

Very friendly, in a nice neighborhood.

would recommend this property

13 Jan 2015 94%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: City break Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture

The people were very friendly and we could even get in earlier at our arrival stay longer on the day we left

would recommend this property

Read all Lotus Hotel Istanbul reviews
Chambers of the Boheme 94%

10. Chambers of the Boheme

Hostel
İstiklal Avenue, Kucukparmakkapi sokak No 13, Beyoglu

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 89%

Location 99%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 95%

149 out of 163 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Chambers of the Boheme

19 Oct 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Partying / nightlife Shopping Sightseeing & culture

I am so happy i decided to stay here, I ended up staying a few more nights here near the end of my trip. Aside from the great location, this was much more than your typical hostel. By the end of my stay, the owner, Ahmet was more like my "hostel dad". He had lived in Canada for a number of years, so his English was excellent. He helped me plan and organize my multi day tour on my own by bus/night bus, tours, hostels to Cappadocia, Pamukkale and Ephesus. Excellent local recommendations for hammam and food. As a solo female traveller, I felt very taken care of and would definitely stay here again, or recommend my friends to stay here.

would recommend this property

05 Oct 2015 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Business / conference City break

Ahmet and all the staffs were really helpful. Actually if you're in somekind of rush and you haven't booked already, you just have to come and book at the receptionist.

would recommend this property

Read all Chambers of the Boheme reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Istanbul hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Istanbul. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Istanbul

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Istanbul. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!