HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Istanbul, Turkey

Istiklal oldcity 100%

1. Istiklal oldcity

Hostel
alemdar mahallesi divanyolu caddesi numara 70/4 su

Atmosphere 100%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 98%

Location 100%

Safety 100%

Staff 100%

Value 100%

8 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Istiklal oldcity

14 Apr 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Beach / sunbathing City break Events / festivals Partying / nightlife Relaxation / spa Romantic getaway Shopping Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

terrace view I loved I was so compfortable and happy there.

would recommend this property

22 Jan 2016 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Beach / sunbathing Business / conference City break Events / festivals Partying / nightlife Relaxation / spa Romantic getaway Shopping Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

super comfi beds

would recommend this property

Read all Istiklal oldcity reviews
Cheers Hostel 96%

2. Cheers Hostel

Hostel
Alemdar Mahallesi, Zeynep Sultan Camii Sokak No 21

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 94%

Location 99%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 95%

132 out of 137 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cheers Hostel

02 Jul 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 18-24

Helpful staff, excellent location, clean facilities.

would recommend this property

09 Jun 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Beach / sunbathing Business / conference Relaxation / spa Romantic getaway Shopping Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Age Range: 18-24

the people is sooooo friendly and so nice and super care !!! the location is good ! the food (breakfast) is so delicious. keep it up guys ! AWESOME !!!!

would recommend this property

Read all Cheers Hostel reviews
Istiklal Hostel 95%

3. Istiklal Hostel

Hostel
Divanyolu cad no 70, Sultanahmet/Fatih

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 92%

Location 98%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 94%

425 out of 458 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Istiklal Hostel

03 May 2016 77%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 31-40

Location of the hostel.

would recommend this property

20 Apr 2016 97%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 18-24

Staff were amazing, friendly, and always happy. Breakfast was simply delicious. Bed was comfortable. Excellent location. Overall just a fabulous place to stay.

would recommend this property

Read all Istiklal Hostel reviews
Ilya Pera Hotel 95%

4. Ilya Pera Hotel

Hotel
Nane sokak no. 22, Şehit Muhtar Mahallesi Beyoğlu Istanbul

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 85%

Location 100%

Safety 98%

Staff 100%

Value 98%

8 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ilya Pera Hotel

05 Jul 2015 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Romantic getaway Sightseeing & culture

The staff was extremely inviting and friendly! The room was very clean as well as the bathroom. I recommend getting a room with a balcony if you can, ours faced the city and it was such a great view! The location is great as well, walking distance to Istikal, Taksim, and the metro. Also, the breakfast is really good and a huge plus!

would recommend this property

05 May 2015 91%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family

Friendly staff! Breakfast!!!!!

would recommend this property

Read all Ilya Pera Hotel reviews
#bunk taksim 94%

5. #bunk taksim

Hostel
No: 34 Papa Roncalli Sokak, Elmadag

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 94%

Location 88%

Safety 98%

Staff 97%

Value 94%

35 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend #bunk taksim

20 Jun 2016 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Events / festivals Sightseeing & culture Visiting friends or family
Age Range: 18-24

I really like the staff there. They were so helpfull and made sure that we have everything.

would recommend this property

07 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Good beds, friendly staff, secure lockers, clean, great meeting space on the roof, excellent breakfast for 5 euro. An all round great hostel that should be the standard for other properties on hostelbookers.

would recommend this property

Read all #bunk taksim reviews
The Hub Hostel 94%

6. The Hub Hostel

Hostel
Sinanpaşa Mah. Aşık Garip Sok. No:14 Beşiktaş

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 91%

Safety 100%

Staff 100%

Value 100%

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Hub Hostel

19 Aug 2015 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Nice location, good people, great price

would recommend this property

20 Mar 2015 86%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

The staff was really nice and the rooms were clean. A really nice place.

would recommend this property

Read all The Hub Hostel reviews
Saruhan Hotel 94%

7. Saruhan Hotel

Hotel
Kucuk Ayasofya Mahallesi Cinci Meydani Sokak, No:33 Sultanahmet

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 95%

Location 89%

Safety 96%

Staff 97%

Value 94%

38 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Saruhan Hotel

13 Jul 2015 80%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities Visiting friends or family

.

would recommend this property

13 Mar 2015 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Romantic getaway

it was nice and clean. very friendly and helpufl staff. our room was very spacious and nicethe breakfast was very good and abundatthe hotel was very close from the main attractions and located in a quiet area

would recommend this property

Read all Saruhan Hotel reviews
Portus House Istanbul 94%

8. Portus House Istanbul

Hostel
Mumhane Cad, 31, Kemankes Mah. Karakoy

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 90%

Location 93%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

53 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Portus House Istanbul

10 Jun 2016 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Partying / nightlife Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Preisleistung hat einfach gepasst.

would recommend this property

25 Aug 2015 86%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Romantic getaway

Cosy atmosphere smiling faces

would recommend this property

Read all Portus House Istanbul reviews
Agora Hostel and Guesthouse 94%

9. Agora Hostel and Guesthouse

Hostel
Akbiyik cad (street) Amiral Tafdil sk. no.6, Sultanahmet / Istanbul

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 97%

Value 94%

160 out of 164 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Agora Hostel and Guesthouse

29 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone

If this is your first time in Istanbul and you are on a budget, I cannot recommend Agora Guesthouse more highly. The reception staff are welcoming and helped with my enquiries, it is warm, always hot showers with good privacy and ample basin space, quiet, relaxing and seems to attract a very friendly traveller. The hostel has an excellent location for the tourist areas of Sultanahmet with the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar just a few streets away. The breakfast is consistently good - I particularly liked the homemade lentil and potato spring rolls, but with plenty of meats, cheese, cucumber, tomato, eggs, olives and fresh fruit on offer as well as cereals, juice and bread, I ate well each morning. The communal area was well serviced with tea available all day, and a couple of guidebooks and English novels. There were far more Japanese books, if that is of interest to you! The shared dorms were a good size, with huge lockers underneath the bed. It felt so safe though, that whilst the lockers remained locked, we left the door open, and I had no worries about anything that was left on my bed. The beds themselves were comfortable, and while I didn't sleep well every night (more to do with my sleeping pattern than anything about the room) the pillows and blankets provided were cosy. I moved from Agora for a change of scenery and I wish I was back there now as my new place is nowhere near as good.

would recommend this property

22 Oct 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

Fantastic hostel. Staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Bathrooms are really clean with high pressure showers. Rooms are great, nice and comfortable bunks. Wifi is strong throughout and the terrace breakfast, view, and location is awesome!

would recommend this property

Read all Agora Hostel and Guesthouse reviews
Metropolis Hostel 94%

10. Metropolis Hostel

Hostel
Akbiyik cad. Terbiyik sok. No:24, Sultanahmet

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 87%

Location 99%

Safety 98%

Staff 94%

Value 94%

700 out of 769 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Metropolis Hostel

01 Apr 2016 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 31-40

Walking distance to all the main tourist sights and easy to catch public transport for longer journeys. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was cleaned every day and the shared bathroom was always clean too. Great breakfast included in the price.

would recommend this property

29 Mar 2016 94%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break Romantic getaway Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

Breakfast, location, clean, rooftop bar, helpful manager.

would recommend this property

Read all Metropolis Hostel reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Istanbul hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Istanbul. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Istanbul

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Istanbul. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!