We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cheers Hostel

Hostel | Alemdar Mahallesi Zeynep Sulta, Camii Sokak No 21, Sultanahmet Istanbul, Turkey 34126

97.7% Overall Rating

112 out of 116 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2015)

Youssef bellamine thinks…

"I liked the terrace in the front of the main door. The location was great as well. The staff is friendly and very helpful. And the room is big enough for everyone"

Read all Cheers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 33.65

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Anadolu Hotel
50.48 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 7 reviews
Yesil Ev Hotel
1,121.83 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Istanbul Violet Apart
15.62 USD

Apartment 85.7% 3 reviews
Akdeniz hotel
17.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.4% 14 reviews
Cem Sultan Hotel
13.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.2% 19 reviews
Istanbul Hostel
13.46 USD

Hostel 78.9% 376 reviews
Boutiqu Dedem Hotel
100.96 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Erbil Hotel
33.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.7%

Overall Rating

112 out of 116 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cheers Hostel'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
100.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 101 of 115 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Youssef bellamine

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2015 Youssef would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the terrace in the front of the main door. The location was great as well. The staff is friendly and very helpful. And the room is big enough for everyone

Disliked: There's no individual light for every bed. The WC has nothing to dry your hands with. No lift for the rooftop terrace and expensive prices up there. The stairs were kind of dangerous.... Not a good idea to get there !!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I fell in love with Turkey when I visited, and mainly thanks to this hostel. As a first time female solo traveller, this hostel was absolutely amazing. 100% always felt safe and secure, with such friendly and happy staff, who remembered everyone by name! They always went that extra mile to make you comfortable and happy, with heaps of solid recommendations on day trips and information about the city! Big beds, clean bathrooms and a really good free breakfast! Rooftop bar also has an amazing view! This hostel was so friendly and sociable, an extremely fun atmosphere! Literally cannot rave on enough about Istanbul and Cheers Hostel!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, always chatting and helpful, let me shower on arrival before check in time and have breakfast too, great atmosphere, hostel dog, good breakfast, cool rooftop bar, close to everything

Disliked: Only issue was the air conditioner didn't work very well and turned itself off every half hour

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jason Sandeman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2015 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Staff where very friendly and where happy to help with everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warning: If you stay here you may never want to leave! Cheers is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed at. The staff are absolutely fantastic! They know all the guests by name and greet you enthusiastically every time you walk in the door. Great suggestions on activities, places to eat, travel logistics, etc. The hostel is clean, well organized, and very close to all the major sites. Breakfast is delicious. Fantastic views and wonderful atmosphere at the terrace bar. Easy to meet other travelers. At Cheers, you truly feel at home. Tariq, Ahmet, Olga, Sinan and everyone - thank you for everything! I miss you already!

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, locat

Disliked: Noise from rooftop bar

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

agueda deponte

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2015 agueda would recommend this property

Liked: I loved 3 guys working behind the desk Sinan, and the other 2 guys. Lovely, and really helpful. I think they actually care too, and took an interest in where you had been and where you were going. 6 bedroom female dorm, was spacious. Good size lockers. While I was there, the shower head broke, I reported it, and within an hour, it was fixed.

Disliked: Not enough power points for all the guests in the room. I recommend each bed be fitted with a reading light, as people came and went at all hours, disturbing the other sleeping guests.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels that I have ever stayed at. It has a perfect location, I mean you can see the Hagia Sofia from the bar upstairs. It can be a party hostel if you want as there is a bar on the roof, or a chill an relaxed hostel as there is a cafe at the bottom. The staff goes out of their way to make sure everyone has an enjoyable experience. Ahmet made sure everyone had a good time every night, and led one of the best bar crawls I have been on. As a solo traveller I never felt alone at this hostel, and I highly recommend it to anyone traveling solo, or in a group.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Gallagher

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2015 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This is hands down the absolute best hostel I have ever stayed in. From the moment you arrive the staff treat you like family, some of the kindest people I have ever met. A special mention to Sinan and Olga who I got to know very well and have become lifelong friends. They made my time in Istanbul an absolute pleasure. The location is incredible and the facilities are top notch, clean and comfortable. Such great value for money, I cannot recommend this place enough. If you are in Istanbul you MUST stay here!

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lee Johnstone

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2015 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: My wife and I stayed at Cheers Hostel for four nights and really enjoyed it. We stayed in one of the annexe rooms, Cheers Exclusive which is a fourth floor room about 5-10 minutes walk from the main hostel building. It is more for couples who don’t want to sleep in the main dorms but can still enjoy the company of others in the main hostel. The annexe is in a quiet location 5 minutes from Sultanahmet Square and the tram stop so the location is perfect plus it is quiet. Back in the main Cheers building, also a few minutes walk from Sultanahmet Square, you have the lovely Turkish buffet breakfast in the morning and can call in at any time to sit in the rooftop bar overlooking Aya Sofia. Check-in was simple and efficient and the walk up to the annexe is not too bad. All the staff were great, friendly and helpful and made our stay very relaxing and enjoyable. The dorms looked fantastic and if we were 20 years younger we would have enjoyed the experience of the dorms where students and travellers were all meeting each other. However, the annexe is better for us older types. We would thoroughly recommend Cheers – both the annexe and the dorms and if we return to Istanbul, this would be our only choice. Cheers, Lee and Jayne, Sheffield, UK

Disliked: All was OK. Our only concern was that our toilet kept breaking (flush not working). This was fixed twice but there was a definite leak from the cistern. Hopefully this is fixed now and will not be a problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Kochar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2015 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and breakfast was great! Zaman (the dog) was an added bonus. It was super close to most major sites, making getting around a dream.

Disliked: The music from the terrace was occasionally too loud at night (not terribly conducive to sleep).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location (with rooftop bar), comfortable rooms, great breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: No problems with Cheers Hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location couldn't be beat and the staff was friendly and knew me by name even though I only stayed a short time. They let me know about how to take public transport and always made me feel welcome. This hostel has set a new high against which all other hostels will be judged. Amazing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leigh Hamilton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2015 Leigh would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. I honestly cannot recommend this hostel enough. Incredible location, clean, safe and great value for money (the free breakfast is awesome). But the best part is the staff--not only are they friendly, but they go out of their way to make sure you have the best time in Istanbul possible. One brought my boyfriend to his personal barber to get his beard shaped. When enough of you wants to go out at night, one of the staff with go with you and take you to local spots. And they have a totally awesome dog.

Disliked: Nothing...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

danielle startin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2015 danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Cheers has a really friendly atmosphere, which is mostly down to the staff. Special shout outs to Zaman the golden retriever and Sinan who made Cheers a home from home.

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

benita adam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 May 2015 benita would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here are super friendly and really helpful. I originally booked to stay only 3 days and more to a different part of the city, but the staff and the bar helped change my mind.

Disliked: benita left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bill Levene

Alone

City break

02 May 2015 Bill would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Friendly staff, easy to meet people, good atmosphere, exceptionally clean, excellent location, nice breakfast, nice dog, etc. Stayed twice as long as planned, would have stayed longer if I could.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Blake Field

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2015 Blake would recommend this property

Liked: The crew here are incredibly friendly, helpful and easy-going. They have a dog who was almost my favourite part of Istanbul and he wanders around making everyone feel at home. Can't say I've had that at a hostel before. Their laid-back approach makes you feel like you've been welcomed as a guest into a home, not just as a customer in a place of rest. By comparison to some of the other people I have met in surrounding hostels, this place is by far a standout and their common areas usually have other people from outside the hostel looking to soak up the cheers vibe (probably with envy)

Disliked: Blake left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alyson moffat

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2015 alyson would recommend this property

Liked: great location. service second to none. large bed with lockers and bathrooms on each floor. top floor bar with fantastic views of Sophia

Disliked: alyson left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewis Warlow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2015 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: Cheers Hostel is undoubtedly the best hostel I have stayed in following 6 months of European travel. I have stayed in 4 other hostels in Istanbul alone and this was top, so much so that I extended my stay, and missed an ongoing flight to Bodrum. The place itself is perfectly located in the old town, within 5 minutes walk of numerous beautiful sights, shops, cafes and restaurants. It is also well serviced by public transport. Cheap transfers and tours can be arranged to both airports and other parts of Turkey should you need them. Rooms are spacious, bright, airy and clean, with quick WiFi throughout, large secure lockers and sufficient power points. There are enough bathrooms so I never had to queue, with good hot showers and even automatic wall mounted air fresheners for nasal pleasure. The rooftop terrace bar is a dream. Great views of the mosque, especially at night. A mixture of low comfy cushioned corners or tables and bar stools closer to the stereo. Flat screen TV as well for sports or other entertainment. Have a polite word with the bartender and he'll let you choose any song under the sun from his laptop. Extensive range of spirits, cocktails and Turkish beer available, all for agreeable prices. Open until the early hours every night, it's a perfect place to meet other travellers and start the evening before heading out on the town. Free coffee and Turkish tea available on the ground floor all day long which can be best enjoyed on the front terrace watching the world go by. Breakfast is fresh, healthy and tasty consisting of an array of fruit, vegetables, bread, spreads, cheese, meat and eggs. Two computers also available for communal internet surfing and printing. But I have saved the best for last. What makes this place unforgettable is the staff. I spent hours chatting and joking around with every single member until they felt like my brothers and sisters. They are always happy, always helpful, and always willing to go the extra mile. They are dedicated to giving you the best possible time in Istanbul. They know all the best places to eat, smoke, drink, shop, relax, party, whatever you want. I arrived soaking wet from the rain and was immediately given towels to dry myself. I was invited to dine privately with them, relax with them, and go out with them. Olga I thank you for your delicious Russian chocolates, cute dimples, good strong daily handshakes and entertaining piercing and tattoo talks. Ahmed I thank you for our supermarket adventure, and generally being a great fellow ginger wingman. Tarik I thank you for your life and dating advice and seeing I got to keep my favourite bed. Nori I thank you for slicing so many lemons and keeping the party going all night. To everyone else, Onur, Inga(sorry but I met so many new people I keep forgetting names)thanks to you too. And of course Zaman. The most beautiful, friendly, happy, fun dog of all time. You kept everyone's spirits up with your antics. This place is what travelling is about. See you guys again sometime.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Gröber

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2015 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice place, centrally located, cool staff, international atmosphere and the price is unbeatable .

Disliked: The breakfast could be better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastien Meslage

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2015 Sebastien would recommend this property

Liked: Obvıously the staff make thıs hostel probably one of the best hostel a traveller can go! I went to really clean and hı tech facılıtıes but humanly speakıng Cheers hostel beat them all just because of the atmosphere

Disliked: I have not clearly complaınt for thıs hostel despite the low pressure of the shower =). But who cares.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rudi van der Molen

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2015 Rudi would recommend this property

Liked: What I loved most, even more than the perfect location, the in-hostel bar, the great breakfast and generally the great atmosphere of the hostel, is the staff. Very enthusiastic, kind, helpful and cool people! They really seem to enjoy doing what they do, and they do so with a smile. Also: Zaman is awesome (you'll just have to meet him to know what I mean).

Disliked: Nothing really!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nanita Palencia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2014 Nanita would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone at Cheers Hostel was absolutely wonderful. They gave me the warmest welcome and made me feel at home! Everyone made sure I had everything I needed along with information on where to go, directions etc. They even brought guests out on a pub crawl one night! I had to leave quite early as I had a flight, and they made sure I got into a taxi safely. The location is perfect, close to Aya Sofya, Blue Mosque, Basilica & the Grand Bazaar. And the view from the rooftop bar is out of this world! I loved it there, and can't stress the hospitality enough.

Disliked: Nanita left no negative feedback.