We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cheers Hostel

Hostel | Alemdar Mahallesi Zeynep Sulta, Camii Sokak No 21, Sultanahmet Istanbul, Turkey 34126

98.9% Overall Rating

105 out of 109 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2015)

"This is one of the best hostels that I have ever stayed at. It has a perfect location, I mean you can see the Hagia Sofia from the bar upstairs. It can be a party hostel if you want as there is a bar on the roof, or a…"

Read all Cheers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.92

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Anadolu Hotel
49.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 7 reviews
Yesil Ev Hotel
1,097.45 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Istanbul Violet Apart
16.39 USD

Apartment 85.7% 3 reviews
Akdeniz hotel
17.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.4% 14 reviews
Cem Sultan Hotel
14.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.2% 18 reviews
Istanbul Hostel
13.17 USD

Hostel 79.0% 374 reviews
Boutiqu Dedem Hotel
98.77 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Erbil Hotel
32.81 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.9%

Overall Rating

105 out of 109 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cheers Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 94 of 108 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels that I have ever stayed at. It has a perfect location, I mean you can see the Hagia Sofia from the bar upstairs. It can be a party hostel if you want as there is a bar on the roof, or a chill an relaxed hostel as there is a cafe at the bottom. The staff goes out of their way to make sure everyone has an enjoyable experience. Ahmet made sure everyone had a good time every night, and led one of the best bar crawls I have been on. As a solo traveller I never felt alone at this hostel, and I highly recommend it to anyone traveling solo, or in a group.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Gallagher

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2015 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This is hands down the absolute best hostel I have ever stayed in. From the moment you arrive the staff treat you like family, some of the kindest people I have ever met. A special mention to Sinan and Olga who I got to know very well and have become lifelong friends. They made my time in Istanbul an absolute pleasure. The location is incredible and the facilities are top notch, clean and comfortable. Such great value for money, I cannot recommend this place enough. If you are in Istanbul you MUST stay here!

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lee Johnstone

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2015 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: My wife and I stayed at Cheers Hostel for four nights and really enjoyed it. We stayed in one of the annexe rooms, Cheers Exclusive which is a fourth floor room about 5-10 minutes walk from the main hostel building. It is more for couples who don’t want to sleep in the main dorms but can still enjoy the company of others in the main hostel. The annexe is in a quiet location 5 minutes from Sultanahmet Square and the tram stop so the location is perfect plus it is quiet. Back in the main Cheers building, also a few minutes walk from Sultanahmet Square, you have the lovely Turkish buffet breakfast in the morning and can call in at any time to sit in the rooftop bar overlooking Aya Sofia. Check-in was simple and efficient and the walk up to the annexe is not too bad. All the staff were great, friendly and helpful and made our stay very relaxing and enjoyable. The dorms looked fantastic and if we were 20 years younger we would have enjoyed the experience of the dorms where students and travellers were all meeting each other. However, the annexe is better for us older types. We would thoroughly recommend Cheers – both the annexe and the dorms and if we return to Istanbul, this would be our only choice. Cheers, Lee and Jayne, Sheffield, UK

Disliked: All was OK. Our only concern was that our toilet kept breaking (flush not working). This was fixed twice but there was a definite leak from the cistern. Hopefully this is fixed now and will not be a problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Kochar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2015 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and breakfast was great! Zaman (the dog) was an added bonus. It was super close to most major sites, making getting around a dream.

Disliked: The music from the terrace was occasionally too loud at night (not terribly conducive to sleep).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location (with rooftop bar), comfortable rooms, great breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: No problems with Cheers Hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location couldn't be beat and the staff was friendly and knew me by name even though I only stayed a short time. They let me know about how to take public transport and always made me feel welcome. This hostel has set a new high against which all other hostels will be judged. Amazing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leigh Hamilton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2015 Leigh would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. I honestly cannot recommend this hostel enough. Incredible location, clean, safe and great value for money (the free breakfast is awesome). But the best part is the staff--not only are they friendly, but they go out of their way to make sure you have the best time in Istanbul possible. One brought my boyfriend to his personal barber to get his beard shaped. When enough of you wants to go out at night, one of the staff with go with you and take you to local spots. And they have a totally awesome dog.

Disliked: Nothing...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

danielle startin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2015 danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Cheers has a really friendly atmosphere, which is mostly down to the staff. Special shout outs to Zaman the golden retriever and Sinan who made Cheers a home from home.

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

benita adam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 May 2015 benita would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here are super friendly and really helpful. I originally booked to stay only 3 days and more to a different part of the city, but the staff and the bar helped change my mind.

Disliked: benita left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bill Levene

Alone

City break

02 May 2015 Bill would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Friendly staff, easy to meet people, good atmosphere, exceptionally clean, excellent location, nice breakfast, nice dog, etc. Stayed twice as long as planned, would have stayed longer if I could.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Blake Field

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2015 Blake would recommend this property

Liked: The crew here are incredibly friendly, helpful and easy-going. They have a dog who was almost my favourite part of Istanbul and he wanders around making everyone feel at home. Can't say I've had that at a hostel before. Their laid-back approach makes you feel like you've been welcomed as a guest into a home, not just as a customer in a place of rest. By comparison to some of the other people I have met in surrounding hostels, this place is by far a standout and their common areas usually have other people from outside the hostel looking to soak up the cheers vibe (probably with envy)

Disliked: Blake left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alyson moffat

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2015 alyson would recommend this property

Liked: great location. service second to none. large bed with lockers and bathrooms on each floor. top floor bar with fantastic views of Sophia

Disliked: alyson left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewis Warlow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2015 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: Cheers Hostel is undoubtedly the best hostel I have stayed in following 6 months of European travel. I have stayed in 4 other hostels in Istanbul alone and this was top, so much so that I extended my stay, and missed an ongoing flight to Bodrum. The place itself is perfectly located in the old town, within 5 minutes walk of numerous beautiful sights, shops, cafes and restaurants. It is also well serviced by public transport. Cheap transfers and tours can be arranged to both airports and other parts of Turkey should you need them. Rooms are spacious, bright, airy and clean, with quick WiFi throughout, large secure lockers and sufficient power points. There are enough bathrooms so I never had to queue, with good hot showers and even automatic wall mounted air fresheners for nasal pleasure. The rooftop terrace bar is a dream. Great views of the mosque, especially at night. A mixture of low comfy cushioned corners or tables and bar stools closer to the stereo. Flat screen TV as well for sports or other entertainment. Have a polite word with the bartender and he'll let you choose any song under the sun from his laptop. Extensive range of spirits, cocktails and Turkish beer available, all for agreeable prices. Open until the early hours every night, it's a perfect place to meet other travellers and start the evening before heading out on the town. Free coffee and Turkish tea available on the ground floor all day long which can be best enjoyed on the front terrace watching the world go by. Breakfast is fresh, healthy and tasty consisting of an array of fruit, vegetables, bread, spreads, cheese, meat and eggs. Two computers also available for communal internet surfing and printing. But I have saved the best for last. What makes this place unforgettable is the staff. I spent hours chatting and joking around with every single member until they felt like my brothers and sisters. They are always happy, always helpful, and always willing to go the extra mile. They are dedicated to giving you the best possible time in Istanbul. They know all the best places to eat, smoke, drink, shop, relax, party, whatever you want. I arrived soaking wet from the rain and was immediately given towels to dry myself. I was invited to dine privately with them, relax with them, and go out with them. Olga I thank you for your delicious Russian chocolates, cute dimples, good strong daily handshakes and entertaining piercing and tattoo talks. Ahmed I thank you for our supermarket adventure, and generally being a great fellow ginger wingman. Tarik I thank you for your life and dating advice and seeing I got to keep my favourite bed. Nori I thank you for slicing so many lemons and keeping the party going all night. To everyone else, Onur, Inga(sorry but I met so many new people I keep forgetting names)thanks to you too. And of course Zaman. The most beautiful, friendly, happy, fun dog of all time. You kept everyone's spirits up with your antics. This place is what travelling is about. See you guys again sometime.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Gröber

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2015 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice place, centrally located, cool staff, international atmosphere and the price is unbeatable .

Disliked: The breakfast could be better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastien Meslage

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2015 Sebastien would recommend this property

Liked: Obvıously the staff make thıs hostel probably one of the best hostel a traveller can go! I went to really clean and hı tech facılıtıes but humanly speakıng Cheers hostel beat them all just because of the atmosphere

Disliked: I have not clearly complaınt for thıs hostel despite the low pressure of the shower =). But who cares.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rudi van der Molen

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2015 Rudi would recommend this property

Liked: What I loved most, even more than the perfect location, the in-hostel bar, the great breakfast and generally the great atmosphere of the hostel, is the staff. Very enthusiastic, kind, helpful and cool people! They really seem to enjoy doing what they do, and they do so with a smile. Also: Zaman is awesome (you'll just have to meet him to know what I mean).

Disliked: Nothing really!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nanita Palencia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2014 Nanita would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone at Cheers Hostel was absolutely wonderful. They gave me the warmest welcome and made me feel at home! Everyone made sure I had everything I needed along with information on where to go, directions etc. They even brought guests out on a pub crawl one night! I had to leave quite early as I had a flight, and they made sure I got into a taxi safely. The location is perfect, close to Aya Sofya, Blue Mosque, Basilica & the Grand Bazaar. And the view from the rooftop bar is out of this world! I loved it there, and can't stress the hospitality enough.

Disliked: Nanita left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Limited travel experience, but this was easily the best hostel I've stayed in. Everything is clean, breakfast is better than average, but most important, the staff is incredible. Helpful and extremely friendly. From making me feel like family in the (beautiful) rooftop bar, to facilitating a social environment amount other travelers at the bar, to even helping me buy a rug. Like, full on "let's go to this shop I know together." Amazing people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Jiang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2014 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this place was unbeatable. You can see the Hagia Sophia from the check in desk. And the staff was really friendly and there were many service to choose from. We stayed in the private rooms and that facility was really modern.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Travis Kishel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Location. Location. You are right off of the tram with Aya Sofya, Blue Mosque and the Basilica Cistern right there

Disliked: Travis left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Podosky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: 10/10 hostel would recommend to anyone staying in Istanbul. Great staff, atmosphere, cleanliness, and location. From the moment you walk through the door you're made to feel at home and the culture within the hostel makes meeting people extremely easy.

Disliked: Nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Max Levitt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014 Max would recommend this property

Liked: There were a lot of things that set this hostel apart from others I had visited in Europe. 1-the staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped me adjust to the culture shock with care and genuine concern. Thanks guys! 2-breakfast was fantastic! The best I've ever had at a hostel outside the USA 3-the rooms were clean, the bathroom was clean, and the common area was clean 4-the location was unbeatable. The bar looked out over Sophia (I think)

Disliked: I have no complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Mountford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This is my favourite hostel I have stayed in. Everything was perfect in our stay. We stayed in a 5 person room and it was very clean, spacious and comfortably fit all of us. The staff were extremely helpful in helping us plan our time in Istanbul as well as recommending us to a great travel agent to book the rest of our Turkey trip. They were very friendly always happy to chat and genuinely interested in what we had to say. We loved the hostel dog as well. This place made us feel at home in a foreign country. THANK YOU CHEERS HOSTEL!!!! We will be back!

Disliked: Not a thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the staff and the view from the bar. The breakfast was nice as well.

Disliked: The lounge area in the bar was pretty smokey, but what else would you expect? No serious negative feedback.