HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cheers Hostel

Hostel | Alemdar Mahallesi Zeynep Sulta, Camii Sokak No 21, Sultanahmet Istanbul, Turkey 34126

90.6% Overall Rating

75 out of 79 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2014)

"I stayed for several days so got a good feel for each of the criteria addressed. This hostel ranks near the top in my hostel-ing experiences. The vibe is warm, friendly, and lively. The bar on top is a nice touch with a…"

Read all Cheers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 40.28

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Dongyang Hotel Istanbul
33.57 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Anadolu Hotel
38.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.0% 5 reviews
Yesil Ev Hotel
1,342.82 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Istanbul Violet Apart
21.76 USD

Apartment 85.7% 3 reviews
AAE Istanbul Aquarium Hotel
23.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.7% 28 reviews
Star Holiday Hotel
36.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.5% 138 reviews
Akdeniz hotel
23.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.2% 13 reviews
Cem Sultan Hotel
19.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.1% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

75 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cheers Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 69 of 79 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Atsushi Kudo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Atsushi would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and reasonable price.

Disliked: There is no lock for the room door.(there is a lock for a safety box)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff.Friendly atmosphere. Best locación possible!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed for several days so got a good feel for each of the criteria addressed. This hostel ranks near the top in my hostel-ing experiences. The vibe is warm, friendly, and lively. The bar on top is a nice touch with a good view and music to a about midnight. From there, it's easy to make your way to your next adventure. Lots to get into close by. You'll be sure to meet, if not, be sure to ask for, Tony, an animated people person staff member. He's knowledgeable and hip with the goings on. Enjoy.

Disliked: Zet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MIGUEL RIVERA

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 MIGUEL would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely everything! It was completely amazing. The staff was friendly and attentive. The bedroom was always clean and tidy, as was the bathroom and shower. The terrace overlooks Hagia Sophia is unmatched and the breakfast is delicious. The location is excellent, you have Topkapi, the Grand Bazaar and the Blue Mosque minutes away. The neighborhood is safe and quiet. The best option to stay in Istanbul.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was perfect!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Caroline Woodhead

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Cheerful, friendly atmosphere. good breakfast included

Disliked: We had to shorten our stay and yet we had to pay the full booking fee. This felt unfair but not cheers fault but hostel bookers. Few basic faults. Shower not working properly, door lock unstable No soasp in dispenser

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is outstanding and the staff are extremely friendly. There isn't a better location within Istanbul if you want to see the recommended sights. Everything was within minutes of walking distance. The breakfast was great and overall, this is probably one of the best hostels available on the market.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Todd Fisher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2014 Todd would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great stay at Cheers, wished I could stay longer. Friendly Staff and a great bar with a stunning view to meet other travellers.

Disliked: Need more than one bathroom for dorms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, warm atmosphere, areas to chill are very nice

Disliked: nothing really

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kate Chenoweth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibes! Staff were willing to assist with anything and everything. Awesome location!

Disliked: Kate left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Kattan

Alone

Romantic getaway
Work / volunteering

09 May 2014 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to stay! super friendly staff and very well located, just few steps away from Istanbul's best spots!

Disliked: Juan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janice Toh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Janice would recommend this property

Liked: Hasan and Tariko were extremely friendly and helpful, they made us feel welcome from the start. This hostel felt like a home away from home to us, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend it to anyone intending to stay around the Old City!

Disliked: Janice left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viktoriia Malysheva

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Viktoriia would recommend this property

Liked: We felt like home! This place has a very convenient central location with a fantastic view on Aya Sofia and outstanding staff, friendly and welcoming. Good continental breakfast is included. And dog Zaman adds 500% to the atmosphere - we'll miss it so much!

Disliked: Our room was overbooked so we were offered a different one. The door of a 10-bed dorm on the ground floor is never locked (however we didn't have anything stolen).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Carson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are fantastic, and incredibly helpful. Cheers has one of the most friendly communal atmosphere's of any hostel I've stayed in, aided by the terrace bar. Breakfast is great, rooms are great, location is great, the jazz playing all day and night is great. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff. Bar has an amazing view of the Hagia Sofia and is very sociable.

Disliked: Nothing. All was really good.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect, near all the attractions. Friendly and helpful staff. Great place for solo travellers to meet others.

Disliked: No locks on the doors, but still felt safe. The water pressure in the bathroom taps could be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vladimir Gombar

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 November 2013 Vladimir would recommend this property

Liked: Everything...This hostel is really good at all

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sabrina Vande Cotte

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing. I was traveling by myself and they always made sure everything was fine and often chit chatted. The location is also really good if you want to see the main attractions.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Debra Beacham

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Debra would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff Nice relaxing outdoor seating for breakfast Central to mosques, grand bazaar, restaurants and tram.

Disliked: Takes cash only. They said this was stated on website and booking but it wasn't.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, breakfast, light airy rooms, staff, vibe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Localization

Disliked: Hard to find

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good breakfast, always a staff member to help.

Disliked: My locker key opened every locker in the room and vice versa. Not very secure. Rooms always unlocked and no key provided.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ossie Nwokedi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Ossie would recommend this property

Liked: It was VERY close to all the main attractions especially the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia. Located in a safe and clean touristy area with so much character. The hostel was clean and all staff sooo friendly and helpful, which made my stay worth while. I'll definitely be coming back to Cheers when I'm back in Istanbul soon!

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and the 10 bed dorm room I was in was huge. Great spot outside to have a drink and a chat with other travellers at the end of the day. Property clean. Staff very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the top three hostels I've stayed in. The bar upstairs (with a beautiful view) was popular but I was also pleased that with the door closed in my dorm room (the girl's one) I couldn't hear the music at night. Super quiet - slept soundly. The lockers they provide (right next to the beds) are big - could fit a stuffed day pack and more. Plus there is someone at the reception 24 hours. It felt very safe. There was really a ecclectic mix of people staying there from young first time backpackers to families (who probably rented the private rooms across the road, but were around in the morning for buffet breakfast). Breakfast was great - As much peynir, fresh veggies and fruit, bread (with butter, jam, etc.), dried fruit, eggs and olives as you can eat. And coffee (or tea). The best part of the hostel, though, was the staff - SUPER friendly. They make such an effort to make everyone feel welcome. Samed especially. I felt more like a guest staying at their home than a customer staying at a hostel. Examples: After checking out late (which they said nothing about!), they were having lunch on the patio and invited me to join. They don't mind me loitering around and using the computer for the day, even though I've already checked out. Also, they are letting me keep a bag in their baggage area for the 10 days that I'll be treking around Turkey. Make a reservation (really!), seems they fill up nightly.

Disliked: Trying but I can't think of anything to complain about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorenz Geng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2013 Lorenz would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed for one night. Extremely helpful staff, a good cheap clean hostel!

Disliked: Lorenz left no negative feedback.