We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cheers Hostel

Hostel | Alemdar Mahallesi Zeynep Sulta, Camii Sokak No 21, Sultanahmet Istanbul, Turkey 34126

97.7% Overall Rating

98 out of 102 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/05/2015)

danielle startin thinks…

"Cheers has a really friendly atmosphere, which is mostly down to the staff. Special shout outs to Zaman the golden retriever and Sinan who made Cheers a home from home."

Read all Cheers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.75

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Anadolu Hotel
30.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.7% 7 reviews
Yesil Ev Hotel
1,091.70 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Istanbul Violet Apart
17.34 USD

Apartment 85.7% 3 reviews
Akdeniz hotel
19.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.4% 14 reviews
Cem Sultan Hotel
15.22 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.2% 18 reviews
Istanbul Hostel
14.19 USD

Hostel 80.6% 372 reviews
Boutiqu Dedem Hotel
98.25 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Erbil Hotel
32.64 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.7%

Overall Rating

98 out of 102 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cheers Hostel'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
99.2%
Value
99.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 87 of 101 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

danielle startin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2015 danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Cheers has a really friendly atmosphere, which is mostly down to the staff. Special shout outs to Zaman the golden retriever and Sinan who made Cheers a home from home.

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

benita adam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 May 2015 benita would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here are super friendly and really helpful. I originally booked to stay only 3 days and more to a different part of the city, but the staff and the bar helped change my mind.

Disliked: benita left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bill Levene

Alone

City break

02 May 2015 Bill would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Friendly staff, easy to meet people, good atmosphere, exceptionally clean, excellent location, nice breakfast, nice dog, etc. Stayed twice as long as planned, would have stayed longer if I could.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Blake Field

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2015 Blake would recommend this property

Liked: The crew here are incredibly friendly, helpful and easy-going. They have a dog who was almost my favourite part of Istanbul and he wanders around making everyone feel at home. Can't say I've had that at a hostel before. Their laid-back approach makes you feel like you've been welcomed as a guest into a home, not just as a customer in a place of rest. By comparison to some of the other people I have met in surrounding hostels, this place is by far a standout and their common areas usually have other people from outside the hostel looking to soak up the cheers vibe (probably with envy)

Disliked: Blake left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alyson moffat

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2015 alyson would recommend this property

Liked: great location. service second to none. large bed with lockers and bathrooms on each floor. top floor bar with fantastic views of Sophia

Disliked: alyson left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewis Warlow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2015 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: Cheers Hostel is undoubtedly the best hostel I have stayed in following 6 months of European travel. I have stayed in 4 other hostels in Istanbul alone and this was top, so much so that I extended my stay, and missed an ongoing flight to Bodrum. The place itself is perfectly located in the old town, within 5 minutes walk of numerous beautiful sights, shops, cafes and restaurants. It is also well serviced by public transport. Cheap transfers and tours can be arranged to both airports and other parts of Turkey should you need them. Rooms are spacious, bright, airy and clean, with quick WiFi throughout, large secure lockers and sufficient power points. There are enough bathrooms so I never had to queue, with good hot showers and even automatic wall mounted air fresheners for nasal pleasure. The rooftop terrace bar is a dream. Great views of the mosque, especially at night. A mixture of low comfy cushioned corners or tables and bar stools closer to the stereo. Flat screen TV as well for sports or other entertainment. Have a polite word with the bartender and he'll let you choose any song under the sun from his laptop. Extensive range of spirits, cocktails and Turkish beer available, all for agreeable prices. Open until the early hours every night, it's a perfect place to meet other travellers and start the evening before heading out on the town. Free coffee and Turkish tea available on the ground floor all day long which can be best enjoyed on the front terrace watching the world go by. Breakfast is fresh, healthy and tasty consisting of an array of fruit, vegetables, bread, spreads, cheese, meat and eggs. Two computers also available for communal internet surfing and printing. But I have saved the best for last. What makes this place unforgettable is the staff. I spent hours chatting and joking around with every single member until they felt like my brothers and sisters. They are always happy, always helpful, and always willing to go the extra mile. They are dedicated to giving you the best possible time in Istanbul. They know all the best places to eat, smoke, drink, shop, relax, party, whatever you want. I arrived soaking wet from the rain and was immediately given towels to dry myself. I was invited to dine privately with them, relax with them, and go out with them. Olga I thank you for your delicious Russian chocolates, cute dimples, good strong daily handshakes and entertaining piercing and tattoo talks. Ahmed I thank you for our supermarket adventure, and generally being a great fellow ginger wingman. Tarik I thank you for your life and dating advice and seeing I got to keep my favourite bed. Nori I thank you for slicing so many lemons and keeping the party going all night. To everyone else, Onur, Inga(sorry but I met so many new people I keep forgetting names)thanks to you too. And of course Zaman. The most beautiful, friendly, happy, fun dog of all time. You kept everyone's spirits up with your antics. This place is what travelling is about. See you guys again sometime.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Gröber

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2015 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice place, centrally located, cool staff, international atmosphere and the price is unbeatable .

Disliked: The breakfast could be better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastien Meslage

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2015 Sebastien would recommend this property

Liked: Obvıously the staff make thıs hostel probably one of the best hostel a traveller can go! I went to really clean and hı tech facılıtıes but humanly speakıng Cheers hostel beat them all just because of the atmosphere

Disliked: I have not clearly complaınt for thıs hostel despite the low pressure of the shower =). But who cares.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rudi van der Molen

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2015 Rudi would recommend this property

Liked: What I loved most, even more than the perfect location, the in-hostel bar, the great breakfast and generally the great atmosphere of the hostel, is the staff. Very enthusiastic, kind, helpful and cool people! They really seem to enjoy doing what they do, and they do so with a smile. Also: Zaman is awesome (you'll just have to meet him to know what I mean).

Disliked: Nothing really!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nanita Palencia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2014 Nanita would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone at Cheers Hostel was absolutely wonderful. They gave me the warmest welcome and made me feel at home! Everyone made sure I had everything I needed along with information on where to go, directions etc. They even brought guests out on a pub crawl one night! I had to leave quite early as I had a flight, and they made sure I got into a taxi safely. The location is perfect, close to Aya Sofya, Blue Mosque, Basilica & the Grand Bazaar. And the view from the rooftop bar is out of this world! I loved it there, and can't stress the hospitality enough.

Disliked: Nanita left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Limited travel experience, but this was easily the best hostel I've stayed in. Everything is clean, breakfast is better than average, but most important, the staff is incredible. Helpful and extremely friendly. From making me feel like family in the (beautiful) rooftop bar, to facilitating a social environment amount other travelers at the bar, to even helping me buy a rug. Like, full on "let's go to this shop I know together." Amazing people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Jiang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2014 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this place was unbeatable. You can see the Hagia Sophia from the check in desk. And the staff was really friendly and there were many service to choose from. We stayed in the private rooms and that facility was really modern.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Travis Kishel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Location. Location. You are right off of the tram with Aya Sofya, Blue Mosque and the Basilica Cistern right there

Disliked: Travis left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Podosky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: 10/10 hostel would recommend to anyone staying in Istanbul. Great staff, atmosphere, cleanliness, and location. From the moment you walk through the door you're made to feel at home and the culture within the hostel makes meeting people extremely easy.

Disliked: Nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Max Levitt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014 Max would recommend this property

Liked: There were a lot of things that set this hostel apart from others I had visited in Europe. 1-the staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped me adjust to the culture shock with care and genuine concern. Thanks guys! 2-breakfast was fantastic! The best I've ever had at a hostel outside the USA 3-the rooms were clean, the bathroom was clean, and the common area was clean 4-the location was unbeatable. The bar looked out over Sophia (I think)

Disliked: I have no complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Mountford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This is my favourite hostel I have stayed in. Everything was perfect in our stay. We stayed in a 5 person room and it was very clean, spacious and comfortably fit all of us. The staff were extremely helpful in helping us plan our time in Istanbul as well as recommending us to a great travel agent to book the rest of our Turkey trip. They were very friendly always happy to chat and genuinely interested in what we had to say. We loved the hostel dog as well. This place made us feel at home in a foreign country. THANK YOU CHEERS HOSTEL!!!! We will be back!

Disliked: Not a thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the staff and the view from the bar. The breakfast was nice as well.

Disliked: The lounge area in the bar was pretty smokey, but what else would you expect? No serious negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Atsushi Kudo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Atsushi would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and reasonable price.

Disliked: There is no lock for the room door.(there is a lock for a safety box)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff.Friendly atmosphere. Best locación possible!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed for several days so got a good feel for each of the criteria addressed. This hostel ranks near the top in my hostel-ing experiences. The vibe is warm, friendly, and lively. The bar on top is a nice touch with a good view and music to a about midnight. From there, it's easy to make your way to your next adventure. Lots to get into close by. You'll be sure to meet, if not, be sure to ask for, Tony, an animated people person staff member. He's knowledgeable and hip with the goings on. Enjoy.

Disliked: Zet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MIGUEL RIVERA

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 MIGUEL would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely everything! It was completely amazing. The staff was friendly and attentive. The bedroom was always clean and tidy, as was the bathroom and shower. The terrace overlooks Hagia Sophia is unmatched and the breakfast is delicious. The location is excellent, you have Topkapi, the Grand Bazaar and the Blue Mosque minutes away. The neighborhood is safe and quiet. The best option to stay in Istanbul.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was perfect!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Caroline Woodhead

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Cheerful, friendly atmosphere. good breakfast included

Disliked: We had to shorten our stay and yet we had to pay the full booking fee. This felt unfair but not cheers fault but hostel bookers. Few basic faults. Shower not working properly, door lock unstable No soasp in dispenser

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is outstanding and the staff are extremely friendly. There isn't a better location within Istanbul if you want to see the recommended sights. Everything was within minutes of walking distance. The breakfast was great and overall, this is probably one of the best hostels available on the market.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Todd Fisher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2014 Todd would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great stay at Cheers, wished I could stay longer. Friendly Staff and a great bar with a stunning view to meet other travellers.

Disliked: Need more than one bathroom for dorms