HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cheers Hostel

Hostel | Alemdar Mahallesi Zeynep Sulta, Camii Sokak No 21, Sultanahmet Istanbul, Turkey 34126

95.1% Overall Rating

61 out of 63 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

Daniel Carson thinks…

"The staff are fantastic, and incredibly helpful. Cheers has one of the most friendly communal atmosphere's of any hostel I've stayed in, aided by the terrace bar. Breakfast is great, rooms are great,…"

Read all Cheers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 41.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Dongyang Hotel Istanbul
34.58 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Anadolu Hotel
42.22 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.0% 5 reviews
Yesil Ev Hotel
1,383.32 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Istanbul Violet Apart
21.38 USD

Apartment 85.7% 3 reviews
AAE Istanbul Aquarium Hotel
22.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 68.7% 24 reviews
Star Holiday Hotel
41.49 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.5% 138 reviews
Akdeniz hotel
23.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.4% 11 reviews
Cem Sultan Hotel
16.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.6% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

61 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cheers Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 57 of 63 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Carson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are fantastic, and incredibly helpful. Cheers has one of the most friendly communal atmosphere's of any hostel I've stayed in, aided by the terrace bar. Breakfast is great, rooms are great, location is great, the jazz playing all day and night is great. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff. Bar has an amazing view of the Hagia Sofia and is very sociable.

Disliked: Nothing. All was really good.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect, near all the attractions. Friendly and helpful staff. Great place for solo travellers to meet others.

Disliked: No locks on the doors, but still felt safe. The water pressure in the bathroom taps could be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vladimir Gombar

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 November 2013 Vladimir would recommend this property

Liked: Everything...This hostel is really good at all

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sabrina Vande Cotte

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing. I was traveling by myself and they always made sure everything was fine and often chit chatted. The location is also really good if you want to see the main attractions.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Debra Beacham

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Debra would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff Nice relaxing outdoor seating for breakfast Central to mosques, grand bazaar, restaurants and tram.

Disliked: Takes cash only. They said this was stated on website and booking but it wasn't.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, breakfast, light airy rooms, staff, vibe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Localization

Disliked: Hard to find

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good breakfast, always a staff member to help.

Disliked: My locker key opened every locker in the room and vice versa. Not very secure. Rooms always unlocked and no key provided.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ossie Nwokedi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Ossie would recommend this property

Liked: It was VERY close to all the main attractions especially the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia. Located in a safe and clean touristy area with so much character. The hostel was clean and all staff sooo friendly and helpful, which made my stay worth while. I'll definitely be coming back to Cheers when I'm back in Istanbul soon!

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and the 10 bed dorm room I was in was huge. Great spot outside to have a drink and a chat with other travellers at the end of the day. Property clean. Staff very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the top three hostels I've stayed in. The bar upstairs (with a beautiful view) was popular but I was also pleased that with the door closed in my dorm room (the girl's one) I couldn't hear the music at night. Super quiet - slept soundly. The lockers they provide (right next to the beds) are big - could fit a stuffed day pack and more. Plus there is someone at the reception 24 hours. It felt very safe. There was really a ecclectic mix of people staying there from young first time backpackers to families (who probably rented the private rooms across the road, but were around in the morning for buffet breakfast). Breakfast was great - As much peynir, fresh veggies and fruit, bread (with butter, jam, etc.), dried fruit, eggs and olives as you can eat. And coffee (or tea). The best part of the hostel, though, was the staff - SUPER friendly. They make such an effort to make everyone feel welcome. Samed especially. I felt more like a guest staying at their home than a customer staying at a hostel. Examples: After checking out late (which they said nothing about!), they were having lunch on the patio and invited me to join. They don't mind me loitering around and using the computer for the day, even though I've already checked out. Also, they are letting me keep a bag in their baggage area for the 10 days that I'll be treking around Turkey. Make a reservation (really!), seems they fill up nightly.

Disliked: Trying but I can't think of anything to complain about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorenz Geng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2013 Lorenz would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed for one night. Extremely helpful staff, a good cheap clean hostel!

Disliked: Lorenz left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly staff, breakfast included, amazing view from the room top bar and perfect location to the main sights and train.

Disliked: Shower head didnt work well and was a bit dirty. Only one shower for two dorms. Bar was just above our dorm so was nosy the night we stayed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: character, location, staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ali (Farrokh) Movahed

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

05 April 2013 Ali (Farrokh) would recommend this property

Liked: amazing hostel/good location/nice staff/clean rooms and great atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Winter

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Cheers on the recommendation of a friend and it did not disappoint. We stayed in a private double room with ensure and it was better than most hotels we have stayed at in Europe. Tarik and the team were awesome to deal with and gave us a lot of great ideas for our time in Istanbul. Breakfast is included each morning and was very good. The bar upstairs has a great view of Hagia Sofia and the tunes are sweet. Cheers has a perfect location right in the heart of the old town. It is an easy walk to the Grand Bazaar and the waterfront where you can get quick ferries to Asia. It is also very easy to reach Taksim. We went to Gallipoli one morning and even though it was a 6.30 departure, the night receptionist prepared us breakfast before we went. We will definitely stay at Cheers on our next visit to Istanbul and encourage others to stay there also. Thanks Tarik for an awesome holiday. See you again.

Disliked: Na

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, fantastic friendly and very helpful staff made us feel most welcome and helped us with directions, bookings and advice. Good breakfast and lovely roof top bar for the evenings.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lilli grünfeld

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 March 2013 lilli would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the super friendly and helpfull staff, especially the owner of the place is a really nice guy! all of them try to make the stay for every traveller perfect. whenever i came and asked for help or tips on dining or shopping, they helped me out and gave good recomondations. the ambiance is relaxed and funny. you can sit with other travellers downstairs in the 'lobby', drink a beer and play 'tavla', i got in contact with the others quite quickly. dont miss the rooftop-bar!! the view of the bar on hagia sophia by night is gorgeous and worth seeing!!!! a centrally located familiar and nice hostel. the food is good, you can reach every site in old istanbul in few minutes. worth staying!!

Disliked: that i couldn't stay longer :(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best location. Good breakfast. Great rooftop lounge, best view of Hagia Sophia in Istanbul.

Disliked: The New Year's Eve party, albeit with a delicious dinner, was supremely overpriced ($60!). The promised "free entry to clubs" didn't even work out (we had to pay anyway). And no free transport as promised either. Drinks barely had alcohol in it. Total rip-off, felt like staff was trying to get all the money out of our wallets. Didn't even take us to a good place to watch fireworks/countdown.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great. The view from the rooftop bar is incredible.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renee Bowling

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: great vibe and friendly, helpful staff, perfect location for sightseeing on a stopover

Disliked: Renee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Conaghan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2013 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Liked: Location, friendly and always helpful staff from the owner,mgr.,to the night clerk, clean, good breakfast for a hostel, great bar and view, just about everthing you look for in great hostel is here. I plan to be back twice more before heading home. Patrick

Disliked: Directions on Hostelsbookers could be better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location to the majority of the areas, all within walking distance including the tram station. The view from the top floor of the hostel was outstanding. The staff was very warm and friendly which always helps a lot when traveling on your own and really contributes to a better experience. I had an amazing time.

Disliked: The only suggestion would be to have organized group outings.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located near the attraction!

Disliked: it might be a little inconvenient for me to walk from the sultanamet tram station as i had 25kg of baggage to carry. 10mins walk