HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Red River Hostel

Hostel | Sahkulu Mah., Kumbaracı Yokusu No:35, Beyoglu Istanbul, Turkey 34421

85.3% Overall Rating

23 out of 25 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/08/2013)

"Clean, large, bright room, good beds. Helpful & friendly staff, owner spoke good English"

Read all Red River Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Breakfast

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Little Wing Hostel
14.07 USD

Hostel 76.5% 19 reviews
Hotel Bristol
41.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Monopol
41.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
World House Hostel
19.37 USD

Hostel 90.3% 91 reviews
Galata Cosmic Hostel
16.60 USD

Hostel 84.3% 6 reviews
ChillOut Hostel and Cafe
19.37 USD

Hostel 75.1% 134 reviews
Noah's Hostel
16.60 USD

Hostel 78.3% 40 reviews
Galata West
13.83 USD

Hostel 83.1% 89 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

23 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Red River Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013

Liked: 可以近距離接觸當地人民的生活。

Disliked: 位置不佳, 需要走很長的一段上坡路, 早餐非常簡單。 同樣的價格, 在伊斯坦布爾可以有更多更好的選擇。

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, large, bright room, good beds. Helpful & friendly staff, owner spoke good English

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013

Liked: This is a simple hostel, for the dorm room. $11 was the right price. Do not expect A/C or steady wi-fi. It is in a good area and the host is super nice and knows about tourist information.

Disliked: The heat! And the lack of maps.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lotje Siffels

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Lotje would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice. The terras room is incredible, with a view over the whole city. The location is perfect, you can walk to the old city and the neighbourhood is great. It is save to walk home at night.

Disliked: Lotje left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mustafa ender

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 mustafa would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: mustafa left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

xinjing xu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 xinjing would recommend this property

Liked: owner is friendly

Disliked: xinjing left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Nichols

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very clean

Disliked: Christine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tayfun Evcil

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Tayfun would recommend this property

Liked: The location of hostel is awesome. It is so close heart of the Istanbul. Also the manager of hostel is so friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I strongly recommended this place to stay in. :)

Disliked: There is nothing about dislike.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location just off one of the most lively streets in Istanbul with tons of shops, restaurants, bars, and clubs. The owners are the kindest and most welcoming people! Our room was very large and clean. Would definitely recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. Good Location. Definately the best thing about the place is the staff!

Disliked: A little unclean at some points. Common toilets for too many visitors.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. Great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nor Alzolmin

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Nor would recommend this property

Liked: The staff service and the cleanliness.

Disliked: Last minute change on rooms sevice.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Thomas Järvstrand

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and really great value for money. The staff is really nice and helpful

Disliked: The dorm I stayed in got really hot and stuffy. I didn't really mind but might disturb som people. The wifi was a little patchy and it would have been nice if they sold some cookies or something in the common area and not only drinks.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the design of the room and how amazing the staff were.

Disliked: There really wasn't a hostel environment when we were there. We were expecting to be able to meet other travelers to go out with but everyone kept to themselves.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Red River were very accomodating and helpful, we were in a pinch and needed a place to stay for a couple of extra nights and they did everything they could to help us out. Overall a good place to stay for the money and great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family who own the hostel are so friendly and go out of their way to welcome you. The breakfast was delicious and it's included in the price. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spotless.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heba Elbarbary

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Heba would recommend this property

Liked: Hi, I want to share with you my experience at Red river hostel on points, I was a solo female traveler & it was my first visit to Turkey 1. Welcoming: From the first time i entered the red river hostel i felt how warm is it, the owner of the hostel Fevzi is really a very nice man he welcome you and politely requesting you to wait to your check in time 1 p.m. to insure the cleaning of rooms finished. 2. Rooms & cleanliness: Same photos i saw on the website are real, they didn't cheat me with amazing pic and when i arrived i found different situation , in the contrary each photo is true. The 8 beds dorms are very clean, sheets changes from day to day, no bed bugs, they clean the bathroom everyday, hair dryer inside the bathroom. 3. Food: Breakfast provided everyday, it is nice "reasonable against the little money you pay" 1 boiled egg, piece of cheese, 2 slices of tomato, 2 slices of cucumber, 1 jam, 1 butter, bread & tea or coffee 4. Friendly staff: The hostel hasn't big staff, the owner 'Fevzi" , his brother 'Ali bek" & the lady who clean the rooms Fevzi: is the super duper man, speaking and understanding English "which is a privilege in a country its people just speak and understand Turkish" very nice, care on each one, helping as much as he can, providing info about the main attractions in Istanbul & how to reach it, if any guest have an early flight like 4 or 5 in the morning he wake up and make sure that the guest waked up and ready, even when i get confused because of time difference between my country & Turkey immediately Fevzi called the taxi cap to pick me up quickly to catch my bus on time. If you want to start a conversation, feel free to talk on any subject with him If you faced any problem, just let him know & he will do the utmost to solve it & if you have any complain inside the hostel just go and tell him and you will see that everything solved with a warm smile. Ali bek: the older brother which make you feel that you are inside your home, always smile , can't speak or understand English but you will understand him from his body language The lady who clean: also can't speak or understand English but also smiling to you when you smile to her 5. Hot water inside bathroom: Hot water is available all the day 6. WiFi: Excellent WiFi signal which is reach your room even if it's on the 3rd floor Available all the day with no problems or cuts. 7. Location & Quietness: Located on a narrow street off Istiklak street a very famous and crowded street with all restaurants, coffee shops, night clubs & shops Very quite location as they don't have any disco tech inside the hostel or beside, so you will sleep deeply with no noises Generally, if you are a traveler with limited budget & want to stay on a perfect place with little money and good service, i highly recommending you the Red river hostel.

Disliked: The Roof of the hostel isn't available with its amazing view at the Bosporus strait as the suite property includes the roof, so the guests who take that property are the only who can enjoy staying on that roof not all guests

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriel Walford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: They are in an awesome location but on a quiet street, great rooms, and everyone there was a joy to be around. The rooms are great - lots of space and while we were there they put in air conditioning units, which was a huge help. They had so many recommendations for us, and are in a position where it's super easy to walk to them all or to the tram (like 2 blocks away), or the ferry ( nearly inbetween two of the major stops). Also a block off of Istikal, so lots of restaurants, shops and galleries and all the trendy side streets. All in all it was relieving to come back to this hostel at the end of the day, they're the nicest people.

Disliked: Compared to some of the other places we've stayed in Istanbul, this is by far the best, so really couldn't think of a complaint.