We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Levanten Hostel

Hostel | Cihangir mahallesi, Purtelas sokak No:42, Taksim, Beyoglu Istanbul Istanbul, Turkey 34433

90.3% Overall Rating

206 out of 229 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/05/2015)

Shane Palmer thinks…

"Amazing location, super helpful staff, really comfortable facilities, and many activities to do in the area. Ask about the local Turkish baths!"

Read all Levanten Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 38.21
  • Breakfast USD 5.46

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Max pax for group bookings is 9 - anyone who books a group of 9 or more will not be accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Oneapartistanbul
45.23 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Route 39
12.01 USD

Hostel 75.2% 37 reviews
Hotel Grand Star
97.15 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Taksim Butik Star Hotel
89.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Stray Cat Hostel
19.65 USD

Hostel 91.0% 81 reviews
Arch-ist Hostel
13.10 USD

Hostel 85.4% 16 reviews
citycenter hotel
49.49 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
InnJoy
12.01 USD

Hostel 90.4% 134 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

206 out of 229 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Levanten Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 200 of 226 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

28 May 2015

Liked: good location - close to Taksim-place

Disliked: THE BATHROOM! the were old and muddy. I have been to many hostels and am used to a lot, but these baths I only used when I had to! Water in the shower was not constant - sometimes very hot, then almost no water....you had to be patient....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shane Palmer

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, super helpful staff, really comfortable facilities, and many activities to do in the area. Ask about the local Turkish baths!

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

KAYO Takeda

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2015 KAYO would recommend this property

Liked: I really satisfied with this hostel expect location. its closed to center (its really convenient!) but you should walk the steep hill when you go to Taksim square. i prefer you to take a cub when you have heavy luggage.

Disliked: KAYO left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located exactly between the city center and the bosphorus.Very cozy & welcoming! Great wifi, clean rooms and small kitchen is perfect for cooking meals.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, biggest dorm room I have every stayed.Great front desk service and well managed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping

12 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and helpful staff. I had pleasent stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

06 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Only 2 minutes to walk Taksim square and airport shuttle service, 5 minutes walk to most popular party street of the city. Large and clean room!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best thing about the hostel is the super friendly service. Staff was super hospitable, obliging and sympathic! The hostel is a little bit hard to find in the streets (description of how to get there could be more detailed) but the location is great: calm but close to metro that brings you to the city center (approx. 5min walk) and maybe 2min walk to taksim square.

Disliked: It can get a little bit loud when there are many people because of the really pretty, but old wooden doors and floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great. My flight was delayed and I arrived at like 3 am. They were there as promised and I was checked in promptly. Good clean hostel. I had the private room and it was good. Nothing fancy, but a good way to get over jet lag. Thanks again to the friendly staff.

Disliked: My only real complaint was the hot water, but the staff explaine that if I turned the water pressure down it would be hotter and it was. This is a quiet hostel, so if your looking for a party you may want to look elsewhere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great and HAPPY staff! :) Very good location, its about a 3-4 block walk (500 m) to the metro/subway and 3 blocks to the closest bus stop. Good experience overall!

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location near Taksim Square

Disliked: poorly signposted

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

03 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great for me! Staff was so friendly and we had good times in common area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

28 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Équipe très sympathique..La propreté de la chambre et etait tres bien.L'accueil parlait plusieurs langues comme l'anglais,le francais,l'espagnol,l'italien... par example je parlais pas bcp l'anglais donc c'etait tres bien pour moi. L'accueil qui parle tres bien francais nous a aide bcp...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly peoples and cosy place.Thanks for your hospitality!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, the staff gave us some useful information about the city.

Disliked: There was one bed missing in our room. When we pointed that out, they just put an additional matress on the floor. The room was not as advertised (no towels, no hair dryer, no secure lockers, no balcony). It was incredibly cold at night. Common area is very small, so there is not much chance to socialize with other travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Cole

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2015 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are friendly

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2015

Liked: The location in Taksim Square is good, but most of Istanbul's key attractions (Spice Market, Blue Mosque, Gulhane Park, etc) require about a 20-30min walk.

Disliked: The walls are paper thin, so when guests were loud late at night, it kept us awake. The showers had limited warm water. The rooms do not look as advertised. The value is not great here (but it seems most hostels in Istanbul are this way).

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2015

Liked: Near to Taksim city centre.

Disliked: The shower wasn't working properly, not enough plugs to charge stuff meaning that every night the heater would be off. Caught a cold because the room was kinda cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located very well. Its just a few minutes walk to the importaint places. The metro station you can reach within 5 minutes. The stuff is very friendly and open-minded. If you need help you can just ask them and they will help you. In the commen area is a TV which everyone can use and it has a nice atmosphere. I would really recommend these hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall, I was quite happy with my stay at Levantern! Typical big hostel, has all the facilities- chill out area, laundry, wifi everywhere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed for one night on a stop over... But I loved the bed set up, and amazing staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

18 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was perfect, large and comfortable room with big lockers,big and clean bathrooms including free towels. extremely helpful staff and available 24 hours!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

13 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had an excellent stay at Levanten.Great location near Taksim square just 5 mints on foot.Highly recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Emil Popov

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015

Liked: Only the location is somewhat nice however I would recommend to other travellers to go to Sultanahmet district.

Disliked: First you get not what you have expected just from seeing the photos and reading the descriptions in the sites and the rates. The hostel is situated in an old house with a very small rooms. The common room is not nice at all. Moreover there was not hot water for the showers and no heating in the rooms. It was provided one small heater but first it could not heat the room and secondly the electricity was going down every once in a while ( like 5-15-30 minutes) and somebody should turn the fuse on again until the next power off. Only one blanket per person and the sheets I believe were not clean at all. I would definitely not recommend this hostel to anyone and the price for the service is well above.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eman Baha

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2014 Eman would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Altug, as well as the staff are super friendly and kind. They speak English very well and I oftentimes found myself spending hours in the lobby conversing with them and learning about their lives. The staff at Levanten Hostel honestly felt like family at the end of my stay and I didn't wanna leave. It's also in a great location, close to metro lines and buses, eateries, nightlife, everything you could want, at a great price.

Disliked: I liked everything. The staff and hostel experience was superb.