HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Route 39 Istanbul Hostel

Mebusan Yokusu 39, Istanbul, Turkey

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 67%

Location 86%

Safety 77%

Staff 74%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.63USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 09:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 67%

Facilities 67%

Location 86%

Safety 77%

Staff 74%

Value 77%

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: It has a fantastic location--easy walking distance of Taksim, the tramway, and the metro. Close also to Istiklal Caddesi. The hostel is really clean and warm, with good kitchen and common room facilities!'

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I've booked 4 nights in this hostel through Hostelbookers. The management cancelled it per email, and asked for my bank data to proceed to the refund, as they said. Since then, and after many requests from my side, they still haven't refunded me of my deposit for nights THEY had cancelled. DO NOT trust them.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Christopher and Angelo are legends!! Wife's choclate brittle was spot on!

Disliked: Showers were a bit ropey, stunk a bit too

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Location

Disliked: There is a big list of things I dislike from the hostal, first of all they charge you more than what they say on the web, rudeness from one of the members of the hostal who seemed to be one of the owner, toilets kitchens and bedrooms were far from dirty, internet worked every now and then and matress might be there for ages and they have not realised that it is the time to change them, I have travelled a lot visiting different hostals and with no doubts this hostel doesn' t diserve having more than a 20%

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Breakfast was great but only avaliable from 9-10am. It's close to Taksim Square so easy transport from the Airport however to get to Taksim Square it's up a very steep walk uphill. It's close to public transport, but you either need to walk 30min or to take public transport to see most of the sights (which are around Saltanamet). Lockers big enough for luggage (own lock required).

Disliked: Worker turned on the light in the dorm at 2am when showing in guests. When asking advice for a Hamam, I was directed at one of the most expensive in the city.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Breakfast on the terrace

Disliked: A bit noisy but, of course, it is in the city centre

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was cheap, easy to reach and close to Taksim. The bathrooms were clean as well. If you don't expect too much, good for the cheap price.

Disliked: The windows are so thin that you can hear all the noise of outside. We were in 4th floor and mornings were pretty noisy because of cars. I'd recommend having earplugs if you are easily disturbed with noise.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Central position

Disliked: A bit messy

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location - close to Taksim Square but also to the river. Cheap double room (for Istanbul!)

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: close to tramway station, easy to find, room was clean, enough showers, you could open the windows in the room so it was airywe booked a twin room at first, but none was free (because hostelbookers is only their "second site" whatever that means), but we got a double with a big bed which was quite OK

Disliked: no complaints about the room. as described, we did not get the twin we booked, but for us, it was no problem to take a double. however, we had no chance to test the rooftop-breakfast as it starts from 8:30 and we had to leave early, but on the screen of the surveillance camera at the reception it looked quite good :)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability