HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Route 39

Hostel | Mebusan Yokusu 39, Istanbul, Turkey 34433

78.4% Overall Rating

31 out of 36 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/05/2013)

"Breakfast was great but only avaliable from 9-10am. It's close to Taksim Square so easy transport from the Airport however to get to Taksim Square it's up a very steep walk uphill. It's close to public transport, but…"

Read all Route 39 reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Stray Cat Hostel
24.88 USD

Hostel 91.3% 63 reviews
Oneapartistanbul
55.91 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Levanten Hostel
16.57 USD

Hostel 93.1% 164 reviews
Hotel Grand Star
89.83 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Arch-ist Hostel
18.64 USD

Hostel 97.9% 4 reviews
Taksim Butik Star Hotel
55.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
citycenter hotel
96.74 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Taksim Lounge
19.35 USD

Hostel 89.9% 116 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

31 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Route 39'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 36 reviews
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013

Liked: Breakfast was great but only avaliable from 9-10am. It's close to Taksim Square so easy transport from the Airport however to get to Taksim Square it's up a very steep walk uphill. It's close to public transport, but you either need to walk 30min or to take public transport to see most of the sights (which are around Saltanamet). Lockers big enough for luggage (own lock required).

Disliked: Worker turned on the light in the dorm at 2am when showing in guests. When asking advice for a Hamam, I was directed at one of the most expensive in the city.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2013

Liked: Christopher and Angelo are legends!! Wife's choclate brittle was spot on!

Disliked: Showers were a bit ropey, stunk a bit too

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Natalia Sanchez Vazquez

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 April 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: There is a big list of things I dislike from the hostal, first of all they charge you more than what they say on the web, rudeness from one of the members of the hostal who seemed to be one of the owner, toilets kitchens and bedrooms were far from dirty, internet worked every now and then and matress might be there for ages and they have not realised that it is the time to change them, I have travelled a lot visiting different hostals and with no doubts this hostel doesn' t diserve having more than a 20%

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast on the terrace

Disliked: A bit noisy but, of course, it is in the city centre

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danique van der Burg

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012 Danique would recommend this property

Liked: The roof terrace is very nice and nice food and drinks are served there. The staff is very friendly and the location is perfect for those who like to go out in the evening to catch a terrace or club.

Disliked: It's not allowed to bring your own drinks and food up on the roof terrace, that would be nice.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was cheap, easy to reach and close to Taksim. The bathrooms were clean as well. If you don't expect too much, good for the cheap price.

Disliked: The windows are so thin that you can hear all the noise of outside. We were in 4th floor and mornings were pretty noisy because of cars. I'd recommend having earplugs if you are easily disturbed with noise.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - close to Taksim Square but also to the river. Cheap double room (for Istanbul!)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central position

Disliked: A bit messy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to tramway station, easy to find, room was clean, enough showers, you could open the windows in the room so it was airy we booked a twin room at first, but none was free (because hostelbookers is only their "second site" whatever that means), but we got a double with a big bed which was quite OK

Disliked: no complaints about the room. as described, we did not get the twin we booked, but for us, it was no problem to take a double. however, we had no chance to test the rooftop-breakfast as it starts from 8:30 and we had to leave early, but on the screen of the surveillance camera at the reception it looked quite good :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

simon legendre

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2012 simon would recommend this property

Liked: good location, close to Taksim square. Nice and helpful staff, they've outclassed us when we came (we came twice and were outclassed twice).

Disliked: a guy sleeping on a bed in the breakfast room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a comfortable and cheap hostel, it's nothing very special, but for the price you get a clean and nice room, a quite clean bathroom and a nice breakfast on the rooftop. The staff is really friendly, especially steve and burak.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012

Liked: The staff was fairly friendly, except the annoing manager, bullying around.

Disliked: The vibe is like a funeral, perhaps because of this pumped bossy type running around spreading his aggression towards the staff, who actually are quite nice and helpful! No, you better avoid this hostel that has none of this the atmosphere normally found at this place. Besides that their internet connection sucks in the whole building. You to be at one certain table at the rooftoop hang out, where it’s prohibited to bring your beers. Istanbul is great and there are too many great spots, so listen to me and surf on from this Route 39 site!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brittany Newby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2012 Brittany would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent and has a great roof patio and bar to unwind in

Disliked: Tge kitchen is more of a hot plate so do not expect to cook much

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katharina Germo

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2012 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Beautiful roof terrace with good beer and tasty köfte. Near to the Bosporus and to nice cafés and bars in Beyoglu.

Disliked: Sometimes it's difficult to get a good temperature while taking a shower. There's no wardrobe in the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, staff was really friendly. really great price

Disliked: the door locked at night so that you had to get it unlocked to get out. Not a very big deal, though

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, tons of International travelers, friendly staff.

Disliked: Beds could be comfier, but not a big deal, especially for the price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the view from the rooftop

Disliked: I didn't like that it was fairly hard to find from the bus.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly stuff, clean rooms and bathroom, nice terasse and meals

Disliked: the stuff and guests smoke inside

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amy Dewar

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop terrace was great and the breakfast was simple, only fresh fruit, bread, yogurt, ect, but it was delicious.

Disliked: You can't bring your own food and drink to the rooftop terrace. While I understand that they are running a business it is nice to have the option of bringing your own stuff to the roof. It's the first time I encountered such a thing at a hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mark Stewart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the terrace was pretty good. A nice place to have breakfast. We were given a free upgrade to a room with an ensuite.

Disliked: The doona (duvee) seemed a bıt dodgy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Richard Causero

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Chris from Greece is very helpful and man in restaurant is always ready to help too, great staff. Proximity to cheap public transport, reasonable walk to restaurants/cafes. Nice modern shared bathrooms.Good free breakfast.

Disliked: Hostel is on a noisy road above a Dominoes Pizza outlet which has motorbike couriers going all night till late. Bring your earplugs!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Bergmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: The people! The team that run this place are so much fun. They were the best part of staying here. They are always so happy to help and enjoy chatting with you. The hostel is in a nice quiet area but close to everything. It is also really easy to meet other travellers and the new terrace cafe is great. Thanks Kristos Kristina and Athanoniosos!

Disliked: Cannot think of anything