HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chill Out Lya

Hostel | Hüseyin Aga Mah., Toprak Lüle Sok. No.1, Beyoglu Istanbul, Turkey 34435

78.7% Overall Rating

30 out of 40 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/10/2013)

NATHALIA PICON thinks…

"The location is the best thing about this place. The breakfast is also nice, but there are a LOT of stairs and no one is never there to help with the luggage. We booked a room with bathroom inside…"

Read all Chill Out Lya reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Chillout Cengo
12.68 USD

Hostel 84.8% 61 reviews
ExIstanbul House
15.19 USD

Guesthouse 72.6% 24 reviews
Simurg Hostel
12.43 USD

Hostel 78.3% 27 reviews
Oneapart-galatasaray
58.69 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Jumba Hostel
34.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Magic Bus Istanbul
9.65 USD

Hostel 70.2% 7 reviews
Odda apart house
56.34 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Taksim Sopha Hostel
11.74 USD

Hostel 73.8% 154 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

30 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chill Out Lya'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
75.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 38 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Neville Waisbrod

Alone

Business / conference

14 April 2014 Neville would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful far beyond what they needed to be.

Disliked: Could be cleaner

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simon camisik

Alone

Business / conference

18 March 2014 simon would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff

Disliked: simon left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2014

Liked: Breakfasts are good.

Disliked: On photos it looks much better...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

NATHALIA PICON

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013

Liked: The location is the best thing about this place. The breakfast is also nice, but there are a LOT of stairs and no one is never there to help with the luggage. We booked a room with bathroom inside and the bathroom walls had some hair on it. Another REALLY bad thing is the noise on the streets.

Disliked: Stairs, cleaness and the excessive noise. We booked a room with bathroom inside and the bathroom walls had some hair on it. Another REALLY bad thing is the noise on the streets.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

laura chaibat

Alone

Business / conference

17 October 2013 laura would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: laura left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

catherine clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013

Liked: When we arrived we were shown to our room and then immediately taken to another room and told we can stay there 1 night then move back to the 1st room for the other 2 nights. I asked if we could just stay in that room as I didn't want to un-pack and pack again and the guy said ok. Turned out this room had a private bathroom so we got a better room for the same price. We ended up staying here for 12 days as we were waiting for an India visa so we obviously liked it. The room was spacious enough with a balcony, good wifi, nice breakfast, access to fridge, freezer & kettle. Also there was a computer with a colour printer attached which came in really handy. Location is excellent right in the middle of Taksim near some really good bars. I recommend Dorock, Rock n Rolla, Haydar & Papillon. 1 minute walk from hostel is a street with loads of street food vendors - nice chicken kebabs for 2 lira & also try the cig kofte from the man with a blue stall at the end of the street - even if you're not veggie they are delicious!

Disliked: Taksim is really noisy, even on the 4th floor i needed ear plugs to sleep but as I say it's Taksim - all the hostels & hotels will have the same problem. Don't let this put you off Taksim though as Taksim is excellent place if you like a good night out - just take ear plugs. The steps are really steep and have no hand rails, my husband fell down them & up them (not even drunk when he fell down)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013

Liked: Our room had a patio with a nice view.

Disliked: Extremely noisy until 3-4am even with ear plugs. Cleanliness was very bad, bathroom was not cleaned for the duration of our stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tahir Imran Mian

Alone

City break

04 August 2013 Tahir Imran would recommend this property

Liked: Its location was good and was also nicely built. Rooms were good.

Disliked: Nothing really but it was a bit hot and they had just one fan and there were not enough sockets in my room. With one socket I could either charge my phone or keep the fan on.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

andrea lela

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

07 May 2013 andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice position, excellent breakfast buffet, clean and safe.

Disliked: The chair and table on the balcony were old and falling little apart, and just one table with 2 chairs for everyone to have breakfast it is not enough.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erina Starkey

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

07 May 2013 Erina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great except the noise. Breakfast was amazing, location was great in Taksim and staff were great. Room was totally fine and clean. Very adequate.

Disliked: The noise - as per everyone's comments. We are a very relaxed, easy-going couple with no problems sleeping under all conditions. We liked this hostel, but even we were kept awake at night and woke sporadically during the night on account of the thrashing music. Such a shame. We got back to sleep always pretty quickly, but I think i would have booked somewhere else on hindsight as we generally awoke 3-4 times each per night, which made us sleep in in the mornings. It's a shame because it's not the hostel's fault and they were nice and friendly, all services were good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Silvia Crocitta

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

22 April 2013 Silvia would recommend this property

Liked: Liked

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

serpil ayyürek

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

05 April 2013 serpil would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff ,

Disliked: serpil left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The colors of the rooms, the chill out room full of carpets and couscions, the huge windows in our room

Disliked: Way to many steps to reach our room! But nothing in particular

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, breakfast buffet included (very good and fresh)

Disliked: not so clean

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

On Kei Chan

Alone

City break

13 November 2012 On Kei would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were friendly and helpful

Disliked: Toilet and internet access

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Sille Thuesen

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 November 2012

Liked: God location and nice staff

Disliked: The room was nice, but not clean and there was bed bugs! :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erica Altieri

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: The position was vital if yoj looking for the busiest area of Istanbul and the heart of night life. Also the staff is very kind and helpful.

Disliked: 5 floors of stairs to keep in consideration if you end up at last one...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 October 2012

Liked: Only the Pub you can find at the enter of the Hostel.

Disliked: The room and expecially that it doesn't corrispondes to the image of the internet site

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher Thomas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good location

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kristine Casciari

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Kristine would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great.. a 2 minute walk off of Istaklal Street.. there are always people around at all times so you never feel alone and unsafe. You check in at the bar and then they show you up to your room. The atmosphere is great. You feel adventurous

Disliked: There's no elevator and we were on the top floor.. it was fine for us but for people who couldn't make the trek, it's something to note

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elina Saarivaara

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Elina would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location! I'm really glad we booked a hostel next to Istiklal street, as it was full of life every day of the week and especially in the evenings! Pretty much my favourite area in Istanbul, and I actually really enjoyed walking to Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar etc. every day because there's so much to see on the way from Beyoglu. Even though the hostel is only a minute away from the Istiklal, it's still located in a nice, quiet alleyway. The hostel staff was really nice and helpful. We had a room with two beds and a private bathroom/shower. The room had air condition and was overall very clean. Breakfast was good and the place also offered wifi for customers. Also, the shuttle bus from Ataturk airport stops at the Taksim square which is only a short walk from the hostel, so getting to the hostel & back to the airport was easy & cheap as well. I would definitely recommend this place for people travelling to Istanbul who are looking to stay in a simple hostel rather than at a hotel - great value for such a cheap price.

Disliked: The nightclub next to the hostel was a bit noisy on friday and saturday night, but nothing too bad really. Overall, I really have no complains about this place.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice and we had our own air-conditioning unit. We also had a balcony overlooking the city which was cool.

Disliked: There were many flights of stairs which were tough on weary legs.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2012

Liked: Great staff, very friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Facilities were average and the atmosphere was also lacking.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Mona Passler

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 August 2012 Mona would recommend this property

Liked: best breakfast and really nice stuff.

Disliked: bathrooms arent really clean

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nadine Udtke

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012

Liked: Das Personal ist sehr freund.ich. Wir kamen am ersten Tag schon eher an und konnten trotzdem unser Zimmer direkt beziehen. Das Hostel ist mit den bunten Farben an Wänden und Türen um eine angenehme Atmosphäre bemüht.

Disliked: Problematisch ist wirklich die Lautstärke. Da die Fenster praktisch jedes Geräusch ins Zimmer lassen, ist es schwierig einzuschlafen, da die Musik der umliegenden Clubs bis in den frühen Morgen ins Zimmer dröhnt.