HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cheers Midtown

Hostel | Firuzaga Mah. Bogazkesen Cd, No : 68 Cheers Apt, Tophane - Beyoglu Istanbul, Turkey 000

86.4% Overall Rating

39 out of 47 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/08/2014)

Tayfun Ince thinks…

"friendly staff-clean room-great location and very social common area highly recommended.."

Read all Cheers Midtown reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Turkis Hostel
24.04 USD

Hostel 79.0% 3 reviews
Sabiha hanim Hostel - Beyoglu branch
12.65 USD

Hostel 76.6% 11 reviews
My Flat
74.16 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Saba Hotel
61.43 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Taksim Pera Suite Apartments
27.83 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
EastWest Guesthouse
12.65 USD

Hostel 90.5% 127 reviews
Galata Cosmic Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 84.3% 6 reviews
Noah's Hostel
13.92 USD

Hostel 79.8% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

39 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cheers Midtown'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 35 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dan Jiang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2014

Liked: A good budget hostel. Mostly a comfy bed to sleep in.

Disliked: Not really a common area for the hostel. And wifi was hard to connect to on Mac.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELNARA NAGHIYEVA

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 ELNARA would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable hostel.

Disliked: ELNARA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tayfun Ince

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 August 2014 Tayfun would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff-clean room-great location and very social common area highly recommended..

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hasan Nebio?lu

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

31 July 2014 Hasan would recommend this property

Liked: It was great to stay in this hostel!! Staff serdar and tutay were so kind and helpful. Our room was clean, also bathroom too. You can go Sultanahmet within 5 minutes by train near the hostel and 2 minutes to Taksim Istiklal Street by walking. Cafe under the hostel has delicious cakes and ofcourse turkish coffee :) one of the best hostels in this area, and the cheapest one i think. I really recommend this place!

Disliked: Hasan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Cole

Alone

City break

10 July 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Cheers midtown was a realy nice hostel.locaion of the hostel great that is very near to cafes-bars-nightclups and sultanahmet (museums &historical places). My room was clean and tidy and there was a cafe at the downstairs..common area was there it. Staff was excellent and friendly..recomended!!

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claudia Doratti

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 July 2014 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: Location is the best.Facilities and owner also good

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosie Baxendale

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Rosie would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, brilliant staff and very comfy beds- excellent value for money too!

Disliked: There was no common area but there is a cafe next door that a lot of people hang out in!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dimitri Alexis

Alone

City break

07 June 2014 Dimitri would recommend this property

Liked: cheers midtown was a great place to stay in takxim and the location was excellent that a few minutes bars-nigthtclubs-restaurants .also tramp station . Sultanahmet faraway 5 minutes by tramp. Staff was so welcoming, gave great recommenditions for where to dancing ,where to eat,where to visit museums etc. Moreover rooms were clean and cozy and probably the most comfortable ı’ve stayed in out of any hostel especially fort he more than reasonable prices. thanks a lot.. Recommended..cheers..

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014

Liked: Location is awesome- very close to the trendier, less touristy area of town with lots to see and many bars! But still not far from the tourist attractions (maybe 15min on the tram or a 45min walk).

Disliked: The owner was very rude at times. The wifi was really bad- it would work for about five minutes and then stop working. When we told the owner about it he just said we were wrong and that it was working. We also got 'invited' downstairs to the cafe to sort our payment/passport details at the beginning of our stay. We ordered two drinks which we got charged through the roof for (compared to everywhere else we went!). Also there are no self-catering facilities or kitchen that we were aware of!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great! street was not noisy or crowded (apart from the mosk sounds at 5am but you'll get that all over istanbul) but still super close to great restaurants and bars, taksim and going out area. tram is just 2min down the road, which takes you right into the old part of the city with all the sights (only a few stops away). i would recommend staying in this area, because here you have great things to do in the evening (shopping until 10pm, restaurants, bars, clubs) and can do the sights (almost all located in the old part oft the town) during the day. because in the old part of the town you have rather touristy, overprized restaurants and not many bars and not too much to do in the evening because of earlier closure. also, going out around taksim is way more "local" and you get local prices in restaurants and local people etc. property is ok. does the job and the price is good for what you get. its a hostel. keep that in mind. we had the biggest room (luxury double its called i think, with provate bathroom) and it was extremely big and nice and ok. only thing that was a bit annoying was the water pressure in the shower, which was not great. staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: our neighbours across the hall (a group of asians) were very noisy. so you certainly hear whats going on on your floor. but i think its normal in those buildings and i doubt that it would be much different in other places.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can only recommend this hostel. Located in a very nice area 10 min walking from sultanahmet (old town), it offers nice, tidy rooms and clean bathrooms like in ur own house. Especially, the two guys who run the hostel are among the best people I've ever met. Being robbed just the second day in Istanbul, I lost everything: passport, visa, visa card, money. These guys did every they can to help me: offered me food when I didn't have any money, went with me to the bank since i didn't have an ID, made hundreds phone calls for me to the embassies, agencies 'cause the only turkish word I know ist cay (tee) and didn't know anyone in the whole country. Without them I would not know how to go further and now am maybe sitting on Istanbul streets asking for money :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simone beer

Alone

Partying / nightlife

13 March 2014 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: unfortunatly I stayed only one night but all stuff was so kind and room was clean, location is perfect... just 5min walk to entertainment center of İstanbul. and the crew was so polite, they help me about whatever I need... by the way there is very cute cafe down of the hostel and they have very nice coffe and you sould try their breakfast too... I found more than I expected in cheersmidtown...

Disliked: Simone left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kadir yorulmaz

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 kadir would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location in Taksim area.The location is ideal as it is only 5 minutes away from the Metro. Nightlife is about 5 minutes from Istiklal street which is where a busy part of shopping, food, and discotheques are. Facilities were good. Lockers in dorms.Hot water in bathroom. there's free wi-fi. Also there is a sweet cafe down stairs where you can taste delicious cakes with coffee. highly recommended!!

Disliked: Good central location in Taksim area.The location is ideal as it is only 5 minutes away from the Metro. Nightlife is about 5 minutes from Istiklal street which is where a busy part of shopping, food, and discotheques are. Facilities were good. Lockers in dorms.Hot water in bathroom. there's free wi-fi. Also there is a sweet cafe down stairs where you can taste delicious cakes with coffee. highly recommended!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The double bed in our room was broken so we used the 2 single beds which wasn't ideal. There was also a bad smell of drains in the bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We actually stayed at three different locations - Midtown, Old City and Lighthouse. Lighthouse has the best rooms, Old City has the best atmosphere and serves breakfast, Midtown is currently (September 2013) undergoing renovations so it should be up to par by the time you stay there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the is the nicest man that I've come across in a hostel. He cooked dinner for me and even helped me when I got food poisoning from street vendor.

Disliked: there was no kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Antonella Salvato

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Laura Antonella would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in Cheers Midtown Hostel for 6 nights and enjoyed it so much. Honestly, this hostel is perfect: very well situated, a friendly atmosphere and excellent staff. The owner is the nicest person you can imagine and his cat with the two kitten is the sweetest cat in town. It was a clean room with working air condition and hot water. Nothing to complain about, we were just happy to be in such a friendly and welcoming neighbourhood. Check out the coffee next to the hostel!

Disliked: Laura Antonella left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was extremely helpful, and gave us excellent directions to everywhere we needed to go. And since it is located relatively close to Taksim Square, he also made sure we knew where not to go in order to feel safe during the demonstrations/police response. The hostel is very conveniently located, with lots of great restaurants around, and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

Disliked: The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner, but given that it is shared by an entire floor, it was pretty clean nonetheless.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013

Liked: The location is perfect. The room and the bathroom was clean. Fast and free Wifi access. Comfortable bed/mattress.

Disliked: NO access to a kitchen. NO free coffee and tea as stated on the website. Noisy from the road (at least on the first floor). No common area. The owner asked us twice if we had already paid for our room even though we paid upon arrival.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

abraham storm

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 abraham would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are extremely helpfull and kind; help with translation, drinks on the house, any questions are answered with detailed explanation. The rooms are quite spacious, clean and home feeling. There is hot water 24 hours and ac in the rooms.The location is on the opposite side of the river to Sultanhamet, the 'Old Town' and the tram, 2 stops away! and 5 minutes away to night life by walking

Disliked: abraham left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ibrahim görgöz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2012 ibrahim would recommend this property

Liked: good location. easy access to Taksim and Galata . near the tram routes. very friendly and helpful staff,

Disliked: there should be a common room where people can meet and get to know each other

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david waters

Alone

Partying / nightlife

28 November 2012 david would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff - very helpful and friendly! Nice common area with good music always playing. Beautiful and clean rooms with some nice views of Galata Tower, very close to Istiklal Caddesi (the main street in Istanbul!) and the tram that takes you into Sultanahmet - the absolute perfect location. I will definitely be back..the owner was travelled to me bars and nightclubs as well. thank you so much emre.

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

enes yilmaz

Alone

City break

28 November 2012 enes would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms... cafe downstairs also have great atmosphere and breakfast.

Disliked: enes left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central located,very nice and helpful staff,Serdar the hostel guy and Pelin,who runs the nice cafe in the hostel are both great people.Especially the food at the cafe is great and homemade

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ersin yildizbas

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 ersin would recommend this property

Liked: It was more than a hostel.. The location was great, i was able to find whatever i looked for; historical places, bosphorus, Shopping Area and cafe-bars (a very nice one was just downstairs where i sipped one of the most delicious coffee ever). The manager Serdar was very helpful and friendly, and the cafe owner gave us local tips with which we were very pleased. Thank you guys, U r the one. Cheers!!

Disliked: ersin left no negative feedback.