HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of EastWest Guesthouse

Hostel | Eski Cicekci Alley, N:20 Istiklal Avenue, Beyoglu Istanbul, Turkey 34437

91.4% Overall Rating

116 out of 124 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/05/2014)

RAYAN ALJUNDI thinks…

"Super nice & helpful staff. It is centrally located and very comfortable. The Hostel team keeps trying to improve and develop the quality of services they offer. The breakfast is not only good for…"

Read all EastWest Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.11

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Taksim Pera Suite Apartments
25.51 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Taksim Apart Melita
261.82 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Jumba Hostel
33.57 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
My Flat
113.49 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Simurg Hostel
10.74 USD

Hostel 78.5% 33 reviews
Oneapart-galatasaray
59.35 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Turkis Hostel
25.51 USD

Hostel 79.0% 3 reviews
ExIstanbul House
13.43 USD

Guesthouse 73.9% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

116 out of 124 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'EastWest Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 107 of 122 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RAYAN ALJUNDI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 May 2014 RAYAN would recommend this property

Liked: Super nice & helpful staff. It is centrally located and very comfortable. The Hostel team keeps trying to improve and develop the quality of services they offer. The breakfast is not only good for the stomach, it is also a big oppurtunity to meet other international guets. One thing I also loved was, that there is always someone in the reception (24/7). I will definitely come again to the hostel.

Disliked: The only negative and sad thing is, saying good bye to the friendly and amazing staff. They are young, funny, respectful, polite and very Helpful. I will miss them.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kariel Parian

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Kariel would recommend this property

Liked: The place felt very safe and clean. We stayed in a four bed hostel and had plenty of room to ourselves which is always nice when staying in a hostel.

Disliked: The hostel is extremely difficult to find! This isn't their fault as apparently there is a law in Turkey where they can't advertise, but we checked in at night and it was so hard to find. The only other issue we had was that the shower was quite clogged and overflowed after a few minutes. We told reception, but it didn't get cleaned while we were still there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ECE ERTEZ

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 ECE would recommend this property

Liked: staff was great. the place is in the center of istanbul. near to historical places, shops and cafes.it was very clean.

Disliked: ECE left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013

Liked: Location, friendly staff

Disliked: Where do I start? Firstly, they placed us on the 5th floor - spiral staircase that were very steep. We slept in the attic - literally! There was a strange vibration sound that occurs every 2-3 min; possibly the water heater/pump. How annoying!There was a large structural concrete beam next to my bed. Even though it was in the middle of winter, we would wake up sweating, sleeping with the window open wasn't enough. There were no electricity sockets, reading lamps, shelves for our belongings. The lockers provided were barely adequate (size) and the lockers were weak and could easily be opened. The toilets were designed for dwarfs (Soo small) and the sliding bathroom door was difficult to lock. Check in's at 2pm, but if you get there earlier, there's no one to open the door for you with a greeting and smile ( we travelled from Australia and were exhausted) - we had to wait at the cafe and ensured the cafe owner to enquire about early check in. The common room is a bunker again designed for dwarves (4 people max). Not worth the money... Lastly, there was no water running at all for a few hours, no shower/toilet - they told us there was a problem with the whole area (which was bs because a friend was staying around the corner and had running water)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Llewellyn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was in the perfect location! Close to shops,bars and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful! I definitely would stay here again

Disliked: Could have better kitchen facilities

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast and cozy common area.

Disliked: Stairs could be tiring sometimes but it's not a problem if it's compared with the prices.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 November 2013

Liked: solid wifi on all floors, good breakfast, free tea/coffee all day, very close to the main central shopping and bars area. It was perfectly clean and safe with keycard access, lockers and 24 hour staff.

Disliked: I don't understand how this hostel has such high ratings in the "atmosphere and character" category. The common room was hidden downstairs and aside from breakfast, there was never anyone in there. Also, the staff didn't seem overly keen to help me with simple questions such as "where is a supermarket?" etc and actually gave me completely wrong directions on one occassion.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lara schmidt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2013 lara would recommend this property

Liked: I had limited time between my flight and the train and I'm really happy to spend that time to get some rest in Eastwest. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean.

Disliked: lara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rachel steinberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, clean rooms, excellent extra services.

Disliked: Breakfast could be served until 11:30 especially for the people like to sleep like me. On second thought, it's easier to manage my own sleeping session I guess :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, close to place taksim and the main street istiklal caddessi They kept our luguages while we went to visit other cities in turkey

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean-Marie Schlömer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Jean-Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean and spacious rooms with lockers, breakfast included

Disliked: Nothing - been here twice already and it will be my first choice for future visits too.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maria Carlota Cambournac Roque Martins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 September 2013 Maria Carlota would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location and the staff was friendly

Disliked: I was in the 5th floor with no lift

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, very close to istiklal caddesi

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan McDonald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2013 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible location, generous free breakfast (eggs, toast, cheese, tomatoes/cucumbers, olives), helpful staff

Disliked: Jordan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rene Wayand

Alone

Relaxation/spa

24 July 2013 Rene would recommend this property

Liked: There could not be a better location for this guesthouse. It has to come as a surprise that a place this reasonably priced (and high quality), would be just a small side street away from one of the best parts of Istanbul.

Disliked: Rene left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marcus yakhnis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 marcus would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating to all of our needs.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very central , literally 100 meter up a couple of stair and you are on Istaklal street (the main street in taksim). you can walk to Sultanamet very easily. we had a computer but i though it was handy they had a computer with internet for anyone to use in the common area. the wifi was really good and easy. they even done our washing for us for about 15 lira which is cheap. The owner and his son who man the front desk were alwasy very helpful and friendly. they had a quaint little common room with basic boiled eggs, breads and spreads for breakfast for free however when in istanbul you will eat like a horse so we decided not too fill up unecessarily and trip advised awesome little breakfast cafes instead.

Disliked: Staying on the 3rd floor the stairs were a little tricky after a big dinner and day out exploring but in Istanbul it seems everything has stairs evenr the shops and restaurants etc so nothing to be too concerned about.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ismael fabregas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013

Liked: Nice breakfast, although basic, friendly staff, they even let me pay at the end of the visit. I would recommend this place for night out and shopping, not for tourist.

Disliked: Tourist : location is not that good, all the major attractions are a 20 min ride by tram and across a river, the golden horn. For night life , dinner out and shopping is very good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a prime location, close to the metro, tram and tunnel, and it is very easy to travel around Istanbul from here. The rooms are very clean, there are private bathrooms in each room, the people (staff and travelers) are friendly - there is free breakfast and wifi, and every person receives a lock for their belongings during their stay.

Disliked: The rooms were pretty small and cramped, though this is expected from a backpackers hostel. Also, it may be a bit sketchy traveling down the alley late at night by yourself to get back to the hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tiago Marcaneiro

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Tiago would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly. Very good location. Safe!!!

Disliked: Tiago left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

caroline backer

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 March 2013 caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Cool designed rooms and great breakfast. Especially the marmelades were great!

Disliked: caroline left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fabian bauer

Alone

Events / festivals

13 March 2013 fabian would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, kind staff.

Disliked: fabian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah karlberg

Alone

Events / festivals

05 March 2013 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, especially the cleanliness of the room, was great!

Disliked: sarah left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gavin Chen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2013 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service, very clean!

Disliked: Far from roads, but right next to pedestrian street

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mikael almlöf

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2013 mikael would recommend this property

Liked: verry nice stay.The location is the best.Not far to txim or down to galata bridge.It i the middle of everything!

Disliked: The only thing is that if you are going to live at east west for the first time it cuod be hard to find,There is no sign at istiklal or outside the hostal