HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bada Bing Hostel

Hostel | Kemeralti Ave., Arapoğlan Serçe Sokağı no 6, Karaköy-Beyoglu, Istanbul Istanbul, Turkey 34425

88.6% Overall Rating

190 out of 203 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/09/2014)

Mariano Damelio thinks…

"Really nice hostel. It´s very well located. Five minutes walking from the Galata Tower. teh Galata Bridge and 15 minutes from all the pubs. The hostel It´s clean and has good common areas. The…"

Read all Bada Bing Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 44.28
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Caupo
13.92 USD

Hostel 74.5% 11 reviews
Noah's Hostel
13.92 USD

Hostel 79.8% 41 reviews
Galata Cosmic Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 84.3% 6 reviews
Portus House Istanbul
24.88 USD

Hostel 93.7% 49 reviews
Sabiha hanim Hostel - Beyoglu branch
12.65 USD

Hostel 76.6% 11 reviews
World House Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 89.8% 94 reviews
Rapunzel
22.77 USD

Hostel 93.0% 120 reviews
Cheers Midtown
14.48 USD

Hostel 86.4% 47 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

190 out of 203 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bada Bing Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 163 of 194 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anirudh Choudhary

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2014 Anirudh would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and atmosphere, Very helpful staff

Disliked: Poor wifi signal inside rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariano Damelio

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2014 Mariano would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel. It´s very well located. Five minutes walking from the Galata Tower. teh Galata Bridge and 15 minutes from all the pubs. The hostel It´s clean and has good common areas. The terrace is a nice place to meet people and hang out. They also serve breakfast. Besides, the staff is very kind and helful (specially Alex ;)

Disliked: Mariano left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, walking distance from both the old city and taksim for the night life. The rooftop bar is a really cool area to have some beers and meet other travellers. Rooms are in good order and the bathrooms are pretty decent. The hostel staff are really friendly and can help you plan out your travel in Turkey. The prices they offer are very competitive especially for the hot air ballooning in Cappadocia (get some quotes from other agents first and then ask them, i found bada bing much cheaper)

Disliked: The staff are all super helpful but can be a little bit intense. Its not really a problem just be aware that you can say no, or you want more time to think. It is a very minor issue, its more of advice as to how to get the most out of your stay, i would definitely recommend this hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elliott Percival

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 September 2014 Elliott would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is so convenient. Easy walking distance from the tramline, walking distance from modern Taksim and the ancient city - but enough removed so you're not bothered by large crowds. The desk is 24 hours, a good bar on the roof and really helpful staff.

Disliked: They list a kitchen as facilities, and they do have this, but there are no pots and pans to cook with. Also, you can't buy your own alcohol so if you're drinking in the hostel it has to be their bar.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People staying were friendly, awesome roof terrace, very helpful in helping us plan the next part of our journey in Turkey - they even took us to the shuttle bus for us to get the coach which they'd booked for us.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere at this hostel

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, walking distance to pretty much everywhere. The staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The room was big, clean and warm. We had a great stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014

Liked: Decent location though the actually street is on is dark and off the main road so it wasn't the nicest walk back from the station.

Disliked: The fact that this is one of the highest rated hostels convinces me that all others must be literally rat infested. You get what you pay for. This place is cheap and it shows. Their photos are extremely staged. Everything is run down and not shiny and pristine as it appears. The shared bathrooms are really just 1 big room with have been taken 3 sinks and 5 stalls. 3 toilets, 2 showers. Rooms aren't cleaned daily. It took 3 days for the empty bed below me to be cleaned and remade. Bathroom was always dirty. Stains on toilet. Always a lack of TP, which is interesting since it was down season and only 1 floor was in use... How hard can it be to stock 3 toilets. rooms were freezing despite there being a heater. Motion sensor lights means you basically have to jump up and down in the shower to keep them on. One shower has a clear glass window and no curtain. no trash cans in rooms and bunk bed ladders are only attached at the top so if you're not careful you can easily smash your fingers or toes or worse... Fall off. This place isn't terrible but it's not nearly as nice as reviews and photos made it seem. I plan on returning to Istanbul (AMAZING CITY) I definitely will NOT be returning here... Ever.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Yang

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2014 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in an excellent location. It's not too close to Taksim so it's quiet at night but it's also really convenient to walk across the bridge to Cagaloglu. The staffs were really helpful and friendly. (We left our bag there for 3 days during our trip to Cappadocia with problem) the breakfast is great as well. They had big lockers under each bed which is really nice.

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Farnworth

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

14 January 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, extremely friendly and accommodating staff serving us lovely hot turkish tea on arrival. Breakfast served to our room, which was clean and spacious and very peaceful. Excellent value for money

Disliked: Nothing everything was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristin Ellermann

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Kristin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff went above and beyond to help us with everything, and was always available and very easy to find. The immediate neighborhood of the hostel is not very crowded or busy, but it's ever close to many main attractions and close to one of the major tram lines. It was also very clean. There was a plumbing issue one day, and as soon as I notified the front desk, it was fixed immediately. I would definitely go back!

Disliked: One of the bathrooms was supposed to be female only during a few hours every day, and there was a sign posted stating that, but their were still males coming in during those restricted times.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Dennie Byam

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013

Liked: I think you can meet people if you want to when traveling alone. I went in December, i.e. not the peak season, and I still met some cool friendly people. I loved that the lockers were big enough to fit a large suitcase in it. But bring your own lock.

Disliked: Dirty! I saw mixed comments about this place but decided to stay here any way. Mistake! When I first checked in, I went to my room and it smelled like feet. I thought it was people staying in the room. Then, I went to reach for my blanket and it was my blanket that smelled like feet! I asked for another one, which smelled better, but I suspected that the smell must have come from them not washing/replacing the blankets on a regular basis. This was confirmed when a girl left before I did; (idk if they changed the bed sheets), but the blankets were definitely the same. I even smelled it to be sure (didn't smell freshly washed and sweaty like someone had been sleeping in them for 5 days). I saw the cleaning lady; I'm not surprised that the place is dirty. She doesn't look like she knows how to clean properly. The showers were filthy; I HATED having to take a shower. Sometimes I take one twice a day, but had to keep it down to one since I did not feel clean getting out of the shower anyway. I am not that picky of a person when it comes to hostels. I don't have to stay in anything fancy, but if asking for clean sheets and a clean shower (i.e. no mildew) is too much, then call me fancy. Def. need shower shoes. Also, the staff is nice, but when I got there, the lock on my locker was broken and he offered to fix it the next day. I was too tired to argue when I got there due to a long flight, but I was pissed that I had to come find him the next day to fix it. If you want your money when I check in, I want everything I paid for, which includes a locker with a working lock on it! I really could go on, but I def would not stay here again. Spend the extra money.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very quiet street. Ali is awesome!

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast area upstairs was really cool, with rugs and cushions everywhere. The staff were super friendly and helpful and the hostel is in a great location. They have a computer for you to use for free and the wifi was working well. This was probably my favourite hostel that we stayed at in europe.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel and great location! Staff were friendly and there was good spaces to chill out. Only thing the rooms windows need screens to keep Mosquitos out. I left the hostel with at least 20 bites on my face from them biting me in my sleep

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful, there is an awesome upstairs terrace to hang out in. It's in a quiet location, walking distance to anything you want to see/public transport.

Disliked: There was some sort of accidental miscommunication with the staff...so our laundry didn't get done, and there were problems with others laundry as well. Minor, and not a deterrant.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I could use a big locker under the bed. And I could walk to Sultanamet and also to Tuksim square. The Location is fine.

Disliked: The breakfast. It was suck. Only flakes and yogurt and some dried fruits.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Olivia Mcclelland

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: This was an awesome hostel, the owner was brilliant and so kind. We wanted to do a cooking class in Istanbul but they were all too pricy for our budget so instead the owner got a group of us together took us to markets and we made an awesome Turkish feast together!

Disliked: Olivia left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Is a good choice if you want a cheap hostel in the center of Istanbul. Has internet, a small kitchen, and breakfast. . Staff were alsy very friendly. The rooftop is a nice place to hang around and drink coffee in the morning until your brain catches up with you.

Disliked: Potentially difficult to find - it was more by luck that I got there the first time without asking for directions. Internet was spotty in the room, but stable downstairs. The air felt grossly humid in the rooms by the time mornng came around. The sheets were changed, but still felt questionable - I'd recommend bringing a travel sheet.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super helpful and taught us some turkish words :) The location was in the middle of all of the main tourist sights, and very close to Istiklal street.

Disliked: The bathrooms were often out of toilet paper, but that was really the only complaint I could make.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samantha Boyle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly, helpful staff. Clean with great facilities, the roof top terrace was a great place to meet people, especially as a girl travelling alone. The travel agents attached were also fab at helping me with my ongoing journey.

Disliked: Stuggled a little to find the hostel, just watch out for the orange stickers on the walls approaching.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Becky Tsang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2013 Becky would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, in between old town and istikal candessi (convenient), luggage lockers, nice upstairs common space.

Disliked: The crowd when we were staying there were a little loud, but at least very friendly. So not much. The bathrooms could use more upkeep. TP was low usually, and one of the toilets didn't lock, and the other one was out of order.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Juan Sebastian Gomez

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 October 2013 Juan Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: It is well located and the rooms are nice although not very clean in some parts.

Disliked: The room was dirty underneath the bed, with dust and plastic bottles.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, location, vibe, rooftop terrace.

Disliked: Nothing.