HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of World House Hostel

Hostel | Galipdede Caddesi No:85, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey 000

87.2% Overall Rating

90 out of 95 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2014)

Ryan Henry thinks…

"Ease of access to main features of Istanbul, close to Galata tower and the main bar areas/ restaurants. The staff especially Dennis were very helpful to myself and my friends (who werent even…"

Read all World House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Rapunzel
21.11 USD

Hostel 93.0% 120 reviews
Galata Cosmic Hostel
15.83 USD

Hostel 84.3% 6 reviews
Noah's Hostel
17.15 USD

Hostel 79.8% 41 reviews
New Red River Hostel
13.19 USD

Hostel 83.5% 33 reviews
Galata West
13.19 USD

Hostel 88.1% 99 reviews
Little Wing Hostel
20.83 USD

Hostel 77.1% 22 reviews
Manon Hostel Galata
11.21 USD

Hostel 69.5% 9 reviews
Bada Bing Hostel
14.51 USD

Hostel 87.7% 198 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

90 out of 95 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'World House Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 94 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ryan Henry

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 August 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Ease of access to main features of Istanbul, close to Galata tower and the main bar areas/ restaurants. The staff especially Dennis were very helpful to myself and my friends (who werent even guests) great coffee and free breakfast!!! Did i mention Dennis was a legend!! :)

Disliked: showers are quite small if you are a large person. it was summer although the rooms were quite hot. the wifi is a bit inconsistent.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

David Sayed

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014

Liked: Secure, wifi, coffee shop

Disliked: Overpriced shuttle service, terrible tour booking service that is both way overpriced and not informative(they refused to give me itinerary of of trip to capodocia and Ephesus even after I paid and I had to get the info from istanbulwalking tour, not helpful with tips of where to go and what to do within istanbul, terrible communication, pub crawls during week were delayed up to 4 hours, location was falsely advertised as central to nightlife, no bar area, no elevator w 5 stories, have to ask for towels, lazy staff. I've traveled extensively over last 10 years and used hostels quite often, this was one of the worst based off the staffs inability to provide any value .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacobo Basurto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Jacobo would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great!

Disliked: Jacobo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ideal hostel. great location. right by the galata tower. staff is incredibly helpful -- especially goktug & deniz, and all the others, but i don't remember their names. always willing & eager to answer my never ending list of questions. really warm & inviting atmosphere. as a solo female traveler, i felt incredibly safe. feels like you're staying with friends. showers are also really warm. always a plus.

Disliked: honestly, nothing. one of the best hostel experiences!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marko Uskokovic

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 Marko would recommend this property

Liked: The first thought of World House is friendly and warm guys at the reception desk, specially “Mustafa” :). We felt like among the friends, and this is precious. We stayed in room on the top floor and it had a small balcony with great view on Galata tower and the neighborhood. The room and the bathroom were clean and well equipped, and it was warm on those rainy days in March. Some mentioned the noise from outside, but we didn't hear it. A call for service from the next door mosque at about 6 in the morning was like a reminder “we are still in Istanbul”, and then went back to sleep. The breakfast was basic but delicious, including fresh tomato and cucumber, and olives mmm. Location is very good, close to the public transportation (T1, ferries, metro and tunnel) and Galata Bridge, numerous pubs and pastry shops which are just few minutes by walk. Although filled with tourist, the street still holds local charm. Thank you guys for wonderful experience and all the advice you gave us. If some day went to Istanbul again, we will definitely stay here! Dalija and Marko

Disliked: There was poor WiFi at our room, but it was no problem since common area is cozy for spending time and surfing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nada mansour

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2014 nada would recommend this property

Liked: i like everything about world house hostel starting the location: Just few steps away from Galata Tower, only few minutes to Istiklal street, walking distance to taksim square and to Sultanahmet area. 5 minute walk to all Istanbul's nightlife, & this is all what i needed 2nd the environment is so calm & relaxing, so clean, the staff are so helpful, and i met very friendly people from all countries so its just perfect

Disliked: nada left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Liza Melms

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Liza would recommend this property

Liked: I love the location in beyoglu, nice to get away from the tourist center of sultanahmet. The staff is also so helpful and nice!

Disliked: The beds in the big dorm are quite terrible. If one person moves the whole bunk shakes!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anca chircu

Alone

City break

16 February 2014 anca would recommend this property

Liked: i l love the fact that it was next to the Galata tower and in a great location and the staff was great and the people i have spent the greatest birthday ever

Disliked: i absolutly love it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise kjaer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very good. it was in the center of everything. and within walking distance of most of the tourist attractions. and i felt very at home when being at the hostel. always sorrounded by kind and loving people and the staff is very very friendly(especially Deniz). nothing wrong with the facillities either. everything was impecable.

Disliked: Louise left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ali Jameel

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Ali would recommend this property

Liked: When I fırst I arrived wıth my sısters to Istanbul ıt was 3 am ın the mornnıng and my bookıng was for the next day, the hostel was full but the guys here could manage to fınd me an other room close to the hostel. They guys who works here were very frıendly, helpfull and very respectful wıth us. Mustafa, Kadır, Pelın, Samane, and Denız are just awsome people who works here and they made my vacatıon much more precious.

Disliked: There was only one small thıng ... there was not mıror ın the bathroom to see myself when I went for washıng and shavıng but there was a very bıg one ın the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Maessen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, nice food, great room and clean facilities! We had a wonderful time!

Disliked: everything was good!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect, very clean bathrooms, nice common rooms.

Disliked: İt is extremely noisy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: b

Disliked: a

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Khurram Shahzad

Alone

Business / conference

07 July 2013

Liked: if you are blue-eyed with white skin, this is the place for you. But if you have got Asian look, be careful staff is not much cooperative and less caring about Muslims.......... unfortunately!!

Disliked: Security and safety is problem here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. It's so close to Istiklal and Taksim, but also really close to the ferries to other parts of the city, as well as the Galata Bridge. The bathrooms are very clean -- cleaned several times a day. The water is always hot and has great pressure. Lots of friendly, respectful travelers stay there. The staff is really helpful if you need to get somewhere or have any other problems. They also want to make sure you pay as little as possible. They recommend booking on HostelBookers instead of their website because the prices are cheaper on Hostel Bookers. They also didn't push their airport transfer service on me, and instead called a taxi because it's cheaper. My flight was very early, before the Havas Shuttle starts running from Taksim. But they do recommend that shuttle if you are leaving after 4AM for the airport.

Disliked: Though the location is great, that does mean that it can often be a bit noisy on the streets at night. There aren't so many cars, as it's a narrow street. But there are a lot of people walking, music playing, etc. So depending what room you stay in, you might hear some street noise late at night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013

Liked: Good typical Turkish breakfast. You can stay downstairs in the common area as late as you want, the staff don't seem to mind either way. Good location right next to the Galata tower and on an interesting street.

Disliked: Staff were generally quite rude, unhelpful and hands-off. They're also very strict about no check-ins before 1 pm, regardless of if there are free beds or if you've been traveling all night. I arrived in the morning and was ignored until that time. The common area is a public restaurant by day, so it doesn't feel very comfortable. There were lots of boxes in the hallways upstairs (around the dorms) and it had a strange unlived in, under construction kind of feeling. The hostel was mostly occupied by two separate large groups.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, friendly and funny! Good breakfeast. Nice and cheap homemade tukish lunch

Disliked: A litte busy when we were there but everything solved out just fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yoann lanoe

Alone

City break

25 March 2013 yoann would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, great staff, cool location, safe and really cheap ! they also provided towels, which is cool. the location really is ideal, right next to Galata tower, close to so many bars, and crossing the galata bridge everyday to go to sultanahmet and else is a pleasure. turkish breakfast included

Disliked: yoann left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Wallace

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed at World House on three occasions in the past 2 years and it is one of the best hostels I have visited. The location is incredible and offers easy access to the best historic sites as well as great nightlife. The staff is helpful, friendly and always available.

Disliked: Currently, there is construction taking place next door to the hostel and the noise prevents anyone from sleeping during the day and well into the evening. The noise began around 8:00 am and continued until after 11:00 pm on several nights.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

HAYRIYE SAHIKA ARIKAN

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 February 2013 HAYRIYE SAHIKA would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good and the staff is friendly.

Disliked: Rooms are tiny

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was good for us, right in the night-life, artsy and shopping district. To get to the district with the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque there is public transportation or a really nice walk across the bridge and through the Spice Bazaar and lots of old streets (which we made daily). The hostel has a pretty good, varied breakfast, is very clean and in an area that seems very safe. They also have a cute cafe and offer lunch for a good price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant place to stay. Very central, very clean, incredible staff and wonderful food and coffee. I highly recommend staying here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mehdi is probably one of the nicest and most helpful hostel manager I've ever met. He gave us graet recommendations on where to go, good restaurants and always had a smile and a nice word. The hostel has a perfect location, is clean and good facilities. I totally recommend it !

Disliked: Nothing ! Everything was great!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Kennedy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, walking distance from the main attractions and ideal for nightlife. Very clean hostel with good breakfast in the morning too. By far the best thing about this hostel for me was the fellow travellers I met while there, good common area with sociable atmosphere.

Disliked: Staff are friendly but not all are helpful...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eduardo Ballestin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Its a good hostel. The guy in the reception dek is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Eduardo left no negative feedback.