We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chora Guest House

Guesthouse | Akbıyık Cad.Terbıyık Sokak No:, 22 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey 34122

87.7% Overall Rating

30 out of 32 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2013)

"Good value for money. Wonderfull view from the breakfast room. The room (for 3) was really tiny with an odd decoration but everything was clean and I think it was impossible to find a better bargain in the neighbourhood."

Read all Chora Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Marmara Guesthouse
24.27 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 205 reviews
Tulip Guesthouse
32.36 USD

Guesthouse 89.0% 380 reviews
Star Hotel Istanbul
42.07 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
New backpackers
15.53 USD

Hostel 75.7% 61 reviews
Orient Hostel
14.24 USD

Hostel 88.8% 413 reviews
Sultan Hostel
16.83 USD

Hostel 81.9% 553 reviews
Villa Pasha Hotel
60.84 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
31.07 USD

Hostel 95.3% 307 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

30 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chora Guest House'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 31 reviews
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Yana Yout

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013

Liked: Location. Cleanliness.

Disliked: Actually I was lucky and got a better room for the same price. But the single room - is very small with no windows. There is an AC above the bed, it means that you get sick if you use it during the night , and you must use it - no windows. , And it's private shower is in the corridor. So didn't stay at this room after all, because a better room was empty, but just let you know. The twin room was okay.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Wonderfull view from the breakfast room. The room (for 3) was really tiny with an odd decoration but everything was clean and I think it was impossible to find a better bargain in the neighbourhood.

Disliked: The staff was really unfriendly. Nothing to complain about but they never replied to our "merhabas" and were unfriendly when they talked to us. The common parts smelled quite musty.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location meters away from a street filled with bars and restaurants, walking distance to all main attractions. Very spacious room, the breakfast room had a beautiful view overlooking the water. Staff were very helpful and informative.

Disliked: The shower was either hot with no pressure or cold with a lot of pressure.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Metin Miran, the proprietor, is a very nice man, and runs a good shop downstairs as well as the guest house. The turkish breakfast he serves is quite nice. Great time overall.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: view from breakfast lounge, convenient locations, breakfast was really nice, in a small court so not much noise from outside, shop at the bottom to buy drinks and snacks

Disliked: host tried hard but wasn't the happiest chap, not unpleasant, just not a high energy kind of guy, we were warned about the news in the top floor room but we were surprise on out first night to find out that noise was made by the host and his mates having a late night chat luckily they were polite enough to leave when we asked them to be quiet.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, great helpful staff, the cleanliness of the guesthouse (it was cleaned daily and was splotless). The breakfast was also first class

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was friendly and helpful, the view from the dining area was gorgeous, breakfast was large and filling.

Disliked: We stayed in a deluxe private room that was supposed to have a view of the water, but the room actually had a view into the dining area which had a view of the water (the room itself had no outside windows). This was awkward if there was anybody in the dining room, and we felt that we often had to keep the blinds drawn. Also, there was no fire escape from the third floor (where we were staying).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David CAIN

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly welcome and help with parking our car! Clean and very well furnished room. Very good English spoken by the owner Metin Miran. Right in the middle of Sultanahmed.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was decent, but it doesn't start until 8am and only last for 2 hours. So if you're traveling early or get up late, you won't get any. The location is great. You can walk to everything.

Disliked: They should mention that the single "room" is really a closet size space (with no window to the outside) there is not even room for a suitcase. If you have a suitcase, don't plan on getting dressed in there. Also, the bathroom is across the hall, not in your room. Plus, the rooms are inside the owners house, which is above his store. The owner and his wife got into a screaming match while I was there. Guess they didn't realize their "guest" could hear every word they yelled. If your desperate for a place, I would only book one night there, then you can walk around and find about a 1000 other place available for you to stay. They just may not be online like this place is.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mariola mourelo

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 mariola would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the location, good breakfast, staff very helpful and safe and clean

Disliked: everything was fine

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Owner, Mr Miran very friendly and helpful. While we were there weather was not good but always a warm and cosy welcome at the Guesthouse with tea and coffee always available and a good breakfast to start each day.

Disliked: nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ARIF JAMAL AZMI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012 ARIF JAMAL would recommend this property

Liked: I like chora guest house as the price that i pay for staying for one night is affordable and i can say that it is cheap and in addition with the good service and warm welcome from owner of the guest house and there's also free Wifi..

Disliked: i like everything here..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chora Guest House was simple and pleasant. The owner, Mr. Miran, made sure İ was comfortable. The place was absolutely spotless and the breakfast, while not luxurious, was filling enough for a day of sightseeing. İt helps to have the balance of your room fees in exact change, if possible. Also, be warned that the budget single ıs very small and the bathroom ıs across the hall.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to sights. Owner was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast were good. We had to leave early and the owner had breakfast for us. The eating area had a very nice view. Price was good. Clean. Very quiet area, but close to a lot of restaurants.

Disliked: We had a room on the third floor and the last flight of stairs were a bit steep. The room on the third floor is interesting. One of its walls is a window looking into the breakfast eating area. If there is no one in the eating area, it is a wonderful view. But if you don't have the curtain closed, the other guests have a nice view of your room. It's a bit difficult to find. Directions on web site are good from the airport, but once we got into the Sultanahmet area, we had a bit of difficulty getting there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

irene muiños pereira

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011 irene would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is very close of main sightseeing. The rooms and bathrooms are cleaned up and tidied up everyday. You have a western and a turkish breakfast everyday too. the owner is friendly and he helped us with what places we could visit and how we could find them. a quiet and a warm place.

Disliked: irene left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean rooms, good breakfasts, helpful staff and in a quiet area for good sleeping. We felt safe walking around this area at night. In fact, we even stayed a second time for several days. The Sea views from the breakfast room and the deluxe room below it are the BEST!

Disliked: We can't think of anything we disliked, the place was clean, quiet and good value.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly manager, good breakfast and nice hot shower.

Disliked: It was a little bit difficult to find.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2011

Liked: the room is tidy and clean

Disliked: the staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Evitts

Alone

City break

30 September 2011 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the staff were very frıendly and the breakfast was made wıth love!

Disliked: My sıngle room had no external wındow but the guest house ıs ın the heart of the old cıty and cost only 30 euros a nıght. It was very good value for money. The other rooms are more spacıous and have nıce vıews. I would stay there agaın wıth my partner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small, intimate & cosy. Family run. Clean with hotel like room amenities. Great views from terrace.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In Chora Guesthouse we really had an enjoyable stay: great location -close to main attractions in Sultanahmet, but quiet at night- clean rooms and generous breakfast included, with a great view on the terrace. Miran, the owner is really a kind and helpful person. My friends and I definitely recommend the place! Good price-quality!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALEXANDRU GURGULESCU

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 ALEXANDRU would recommend this property

Liked: Miran's Chora Guest House is the best place we could have stayed in in Istanbul. It is in the middle of Istanbul's "most wanted" sightseeing attractions, at 3 minutes walking distance from Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and maybe 5 minutes away from the Blue Mosque. The place has a very "turkish" feeling in the way it is decorated, yet making you feel cozy and homey from the first moment you step in. It has a lovely terrace with a great (GREAT!) view of the Bosphorus where we had our turkish breakfast (on the house) every day and where we enjoyed just sitting at a glass of turkish wine or Efes Beer late in the evening. The room (a king-size-bed room at the last floor) was quite spacey, clean and with everything you may desire for a young couple, including a private small bathroom . A lovely lady cleaned every day and our goods were kept safe for the whole period. Miran, the host, always tended to our needs, having very good advice regarding the city, the places to visit, places to eat and recommended us a great turkish bath (Hamam), designed especially for couples. Besides that, Miran owns a small shop at the ground floor, where you will probably find all the goods you might need, including food, snacks, beverages, postcards, suncream etc etc. We came to Turkey by car and there was an available (tight) spot for parking right next to the guesthouse. We recommend traveling with a small car because the streets in the Sultanahmet area can be very narrow. All in all, we highly recommend Miran's Chora Guesthouse, it was a great experience staying there ! :)

Disliked: The fact that we could not enjoy it for a longer period of time. :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: HOT water and PRESSURE!!!!! It was very very clean compare to a few other places we stayed at in Turkey. Location was awesome. You're right in the middle of Sultanahmet. 5 minute walking distance from Ayasofya, blue mosque and tram station. 15 minute taxi ride from Attaturk airport.

Disliked: It was still low season so breakfast wasn't as ''fresh'' as we'd hoped for but that's it!