We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Portus House Istanbul

Hostel | Mumhane Cad. 31, Kemankes Mah., Karakoy Istanbul, Turkey 34425

93.7% Overall Rating

49 out of 49 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/06/2013)

"It was a really nice stay. Great Location!!! And the staff is awesome! They help you with everything! Also everything was really clean."

Read all Portus House Istanbul reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 44.28

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 4 days before arrival

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Rapunzel
17.71 USD

Hostel 93.0% 120 reviews
Bada Bing Hostel
8.86 USD

Hostel 87.4% 204 reviews
Noah's Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 79.8% 41 reviews
World House Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 89.8% 94 reviews
Galata Cosmic Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 84.3% 6 reviews
Galata West
10.12 USD

Hostel 87.4% 103 reviews
Manon Hostel Galata
6.33 USD

Hostel 70.6% 10 reviews
New Red River Hostel
12.02 USD

Hostel 83.5% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

49 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Portus House Istanbul'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
98.4%
Value
91.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 49 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Donovan

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: A really, really nice place! Friendly and helpful staff, a very homely place.

Disliked: Jamie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice stay. Great Location!!! And the staff is awesome! They help you with everything! Also everything was really clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff and clean rooms!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just perfect....TRY IT!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Bathroom was also clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly front of house staff and housekeeping staff. Great breakfast and AMAZING location. This location is on the European Side of Istanbul. The Asian side (where the Blue Mosque is) is a walk over the bridge. The walk is great with lots of fantastic shops, restaurants, and the fishmarket. The location is also close to the best baklava house in Istanbul, gorgeous Galata Tower, the bridge to the Iztiklal pedestrian walkway with awesome shopping. Couldn't be happier.

Disliked: If you are a light sleeper, the walls are not that insulated, but from my experience in most places in Istanbul, this is typical. Other than that, highly enjoyable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, amazing stuff, good breakfast, quiet and close to everything.

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

valerie meurs

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 September 2012 valerie would recommend this property

Liked: staff extremely friendly! Small room but pretty and clean. Delicious breakfast. Cosy atmosphere.

Disliked: Bathroom too tiny!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bill & Judy Southworth

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 September 2012 Bill & Judy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Excellent facilities and a great breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice and clean.

Disliked: Older people may like to specify a lower floor. There are five floors and no lift.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very good. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Air conditioning works perfectly. Wifi worked even in our guest room. The guests are mainly couples. Housekeeping is excellent.

Disliked: There is not much to say about what we didn't like. The showers could be a bit bigger but they are still ok for being in a hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Murphy

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: good location, very close to Karakoy station and the galata bridge/tower. friendly/helpful staff, clean place, room was nice, daily free cleaning services of your room if you want, they arranged a taxi service to Ataturk airport for 30 euro which was good because just getting in a regular taxi you'll probably be ripped off as a tourist.

Disliked: the shower was decidedly average, also quite a few staircases so if you're not too nimble on your feet, maybe this isn't the place for you!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tiffany Lee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, spacious room and friendly and helpful owner.

Disliked: Location is close to Galata Bridge and other sights, but very deserted at night and thus felt a little unsafe when returning home.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Janks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful. All the rooms were beautifully decorated and clean. The shared facilities were also very clean. The location of the hostel is good in that it's out of the tourist trap of sultanamet and taksim but close enough to enjoy the activities these areas offer. We had a lovely stay and will definitely return. The hostel is also much better value for money than the other hostels I saw and heard about. Well done to management for creating a travelers delight.

Disliked: At night the street was a bit dark and isolated.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Longmuir

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Liked everything here, staff were amazing, breakfast good, security great, location fantasticc

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

claude st pierre

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 claude would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect in this hostel: very clean, good atmosphere, the decoration of the kitchen and the room was impressing, big and sophisticated breakfeast in the morning (eggs, marmelade, cheese, ham, olives) served by a very kind lady, the location was perfect (5 minute-walk to the bosphore, 20 minute walk from Taksim square, tram station in 4 minute walk). We actually added 4 extra nights in this hostel. We felt like we were at the hotel, but with the atmosphere of a hostel!

Disliked: No computer available, but the staff actually landed us his own laptop so I could look at my emails! Very nice of him!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet and away from the busy district

Disliked: not enough general toilet services...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Desi Prianti

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Desi would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanness, the staff and food :) also the room service were perfect

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful stay at Portus House. The staff were very friendly and obliging, and served up delicious breakfasts every morning. The location was fantastic, the free wi-fi so helpful, and the rooms very clean and pretty. Watch out for the long flight of stairs if you have a large or heavy suitcase!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alina Dan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Alina would recommend this property

Liked: It is a warm place, with friendly and funny stuff and it is really is very, very clean place; my expectations weren't deceived at all at this chapter (cleaning is made daily in the room and bathroom, sheets are changed daily although in my case this is not a must as long as I am the only one who used them). The bad was awesome: it is large and the mattress is worth every penny. It is a perfect place for someone who likes to discover the surroundings by walk, it is close to the sea and to major attractions of Istanbul. We used the metro and tram only for arrival and departure from/to Istanbul. Internet access is free either you use Wi-Fi or the internet outlet from your room. If you need to print your check-in boarder tickets, you can use the stuff printer. There were no problem in getting information using English language. Our main criteria was to find a clean and nice place, with nice people, close to the tourist area, in a safe area and within a decent budget. The reviews and hotel pictures match the reality.

Disliked: The garbage on the street where the hotel was located. I was a little disappointed first when I didn't recognized the hall from the pictures but this is only because they renew the house.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice breakfast, nice staff!

Disliked: nothing at all!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, thoughtfully furnished. has a radio with music device docking station in room.

Disliked: breakfast not always complete. buffett system would be recommendable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dejan Djordjevic

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Dejan would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, neat room, tasty breakfast, nice facilities.

Disliked: The shower is a bit outdated, but gets the job done. Otherwise no complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's one of the cleanest hostels we have stayed in. The staff was very friendly and even printed our boarding passes for us, suggested good placed to go out, and the shuttle to the airport for a red-eye flight was right on time. Also, the breakfast was really nice.

Disliked: The location is great. The street it's on isn't anything spectacular, but it's centrally located and we walked everywhere from the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leslie Otto

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Leslie would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities - Very clean, nice individual rooms and kitchen. Every day the cleaning lady made our beds, cleaned the room and supplied us with fresh towels. The breakfast is very yummie, plenty and all included. Staff - Very friendly, helpful and fun to hang out with. Location - Superb location, in walking distance to all major sites and Taksim Square/ nightlife. Even if one wants to hop on the Asian site, one simply can take the ferry very close by. Price - Very good value for money. Would definitely return and recommend.

Disliked: Leslie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Style, Nice Staff, Perfect Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.