HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Stray Cat Hostel Istanbul Hostel

Mebusan Yokusu SK. NO 35 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 85%

Location 90%

Safety 92%

Staff 97%

Value 95%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Important Information

* We have 3 kittens in Stray Cat, they just live in common areas and courtyard , so please take note if it is something not proper for u.


* We do not tolerate any kind of behaviour that consists of racial, religious,ethnic and sexual discrimination and we reserve the right to refuse service to anyone who falls under these categories.


* We are sorry not to be able to accommodate groups more than 21 guests.

“Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to charge your card for the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“Sale Non Refundable”]

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 85%

Location 90%

Safety 92%

Staff 97%

Value 95%

Showing 1-10 of 38 reviews

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: -

Disliked: Dirty shower and toilet, noisy location


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your stay in our hostel for one night was not satisfactory enough and we could not meet your expectaions. Happy new travels.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Such a lovely place to stay, like a home away from home you feel so welcome and comfortable here, everybody spends time talking to and learning about each other. It's so warm and friendly, plus lovely cats to snuggle with. The room was great no bunk beds.

Disliked: No kitchen only tea and coffee

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We thank yopu for your nice feedback. Happy to know you enjoyed the vibe in the hostel . Safe and happy new travels.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff were really great!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff was super friendly and helpful. Also, if you are a cat lover you will love to see all the kittens in the garden! So adorable! The room was spacious and I love the fact that I didn't have to climb a bunk bed. Shower and bathroom were both clean which is very important to me. I also really loved the art covering the walls. The other people I ran into were all really great people, traveling, working, or studying in Istanbul. It was a bonus to make new friends here.

Disliked: I only wish the wifi worked in the rooms, other than that no problems for me.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for this nice feedback. It was nice to have you and your friend here. Thanks for your nice words for location, staff, vibe . Happy new travels.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly and incredibly helpful staff, cuddly cats, beautiful art on the walls, free tea and coffee 24/7, comfortable beds, nice rooms.

Disliked: The hill it was located in.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Stray Cat Hostel was decorated beautifully, had a friendly staff, and was located near the metro line and Taksim Square.

Disliked: There were some cooking utensils, but I would not describe the kitchen as "fully-equipped."

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for this nice feedback. Happy to know you enjoyed to be in Istanbul with us.Happy new travels.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere is so welcoming. Everyday when I got back, the staff were asking how my day was, what I got up to, how I was doing - I felt like family. They would also ask about my plans and then were ready with some really awesome advice. The first day there, one of them sat down with a pocket map and explained the three major areas to me, going beyond the typical tourist sites and making sure I knew about hidden gems, good eating areas, bars, etc. I love the common space lounge. It's perfect for meeting people in, which was a huge bonus as a solo traveller. I felt really safe there and the location is really convenient. I could get to the three main areas really easily from the hostel.

Disliked: The bathrooms smelled kind of old but they were clean. I was surprised not to have a blanket the first night but it was just the style to initially provide only a sheet. The staff got me a blanket as soon as I asked. I had such a positive experience here that I'm having trouble thinking of any negatives.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

It was nice to accomodate you here, we are thankful for your nice feedback. It is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed our staff , vibe . Happy to know we are going to be your choice again in your next Istanbul visit. Happy and safe travels..

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really cool art all over the walls, clean rooms, bathrooms and comfortable beds. Great Breakfast and drinking water arr provided and friendly staff know the area and are super helpful

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for all these nice words. We enjoy to know your holiday in Istanbul was a memorable one in Stray Cat Hostel.. Happy new travels.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: They have very Good energy! Have Good Location,

Disliked: Many cat inside

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for this nice feedback. It was nice to have you and your friend here. Thanks for your nice words for location, staff, vibe . Happy new travels.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Picked this hostel because it seemed cheap and cheerful and close to taksim where a friend was staying. There was also a free breakfast. Was sharing a room with three other girls, no bunkbeds. Absolutely chuffed with how brilliant it was. Friendly staff, resolved a payment issue with no problem. Recommended.

Disliked: No issues, its a little bit shabby in the shower room but the shower is new, good supply of hot water and its all kept clean.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for all these nice words. We enjoy to know your holiday in Istanbul was a memorable one in Stray Cat Hostel . Happy new travels.

Check Availability