We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Stray Cat Hostel

Hostel | Mebusan Yokusu No 35, Taksim Findikli Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey 34433

93.7% Overall Rating

75 out of 84 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2015)

Lilly Lago thinks…

"Friendly and incredibly helpful staff, cuddly cats, beautiful art on the walls, free tea and coffee 24/7, comfortable beds, nice rooms."

Read all Stray Cat Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

* We have 3 kittens in Stray Cat, they just live in common areas and courtyard , so please take note if it is something not proper for u. * We do not tolerate any kind of behaviour that consists of racial, religious,ethnic and sexual discrimination and we reserve the right to refuse service to anyone who falls under these categories. * We are sorry not to be able to accommodate groups more than 21 guests.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Route 39
9.86 USD

Hostel 75.2% 37 reviews
Oneapartistanbul
50.41 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Levanten Hostel
13.14 USD

Hostel 93.3% 242 reviews
Hotel Grand Star
97.48 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Arch-ist Hostel
14.23 USD

Hostel 85.4% 16 reviews
Taksim Butik Star Hotel
100.77 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
citycenter hotel
54.40 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
InnJoy
13.14 USD

Hostel 90.7% 137 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

75 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Stray Cat Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 84 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lilly Lago

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2015 Lilly would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and incredibly helpful staff, cuddly cats, beautiful art on the walls, free tea and coffee 24/7, comfortable beds, nice rooms.

Disliked: The hill it was located in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bethea Shute

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2015 Bethea would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is so welcoming. Everyday when I got back, the staff were asking how my day was, what I got up to, how I was doing - I felt like family. They would also ask about my plans and then were ready with some really awesome advice. The first day there, one of them sat down with a pocket map and explained the three major areas to me, going beyond the typical tourist sites and making sure I knew about hidden gems, good eating areas, bars, etc. I love the common space lounge. It's perfect for meeting people in, which was a huge bonus as a solo traveller. I felt really safe there and the location is really convenient. I could get to the three main areas really easily from the hostel.

Disliked: The bathrooms smelled kind of old but they were clean. I was surprised not to have a blanket the first night but it was just the style to initially provide only a sheet. The staff got me a blanket as soon as I asked. I had such a positive experience here that I'm having trouble thinking of any negatives.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool art all over the walls, clean rooms, bathrooms and comfortable beds. Great Breakfast and drinking water arr provided and friendly staff know the area and are super helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have very Good energy! Have Good Location,

Disliked: Many cat inside

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Nowakowski

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2015 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Picked this hostel because it seemed cheap and cheerful and close to taksim where a friend was staying. There was also a free breakfast. Was sharing a room with three other girls, no bunkbeds. Absolutely chuffed with how brilliant it was. Friendly staff, resolved a payment issue with no problem. Recommended.

Disliked: No issues, its a little bit shabby in the shower room but the shower is new, good supply of hot water and its all kept clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff really stood out. Super friendly and incredibly helpful. You can tell they put a lot of work and effort into creating good quality customer service. Very impressive service wise and the hostel is pretty cool too!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff was second to none; they provided all sorts of information about Istanbul and frequently asked if everything was O.K. and whether they could help in any other way at all. Simple, but nice buffet style breakfast provided. Note: being a fan of cats is strongly recommended to get the most out of your stay!

Disliked: The hostel is not very clearly marked, so it took a while finding the place in the dark.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Geneva Chu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2014 Geneva would recommend this property

Liked: The art on the walls is fantastic! And the staff are so friendly and helpful. Great location, delicious breakfast included, very welcoming atmosphere with a great common room for meeting travellers and funny playful cats.

Disliked: Nothing, but since wonderful cats visit often don't go into the common room if you're allergic to cats. Maybe don't go to Istanbul if you can't do cats.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff make your feel home and welcome

Disliked: The bed was not the best, and the toilet had some difficult with the flush, but nothing major

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is nice, the rooms are fairly clean and cheap. Staff members are super helpful and polite.

Disliked: Bathroom could have been cleaner, a slight "off" smell on the floors.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sumin park

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 sumin would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: sumin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really helpful. They ask always about your plans for giving some good tips or places to have a meal for low prices. Very close to Taksim.

Disliked: Istanbul has many hills. To go from the hostel to Taksim you have to climb a hill, it can be exhausting. But that's not a problem of the hostel, all the city is like that. It has got cats in the living room. They move freely, even over you. Make sure you don't mind that. But don't worry, they are clean and caring.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Carrington

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Stray Cat Hostel is perfectly located in the European side of Istanbul - close enough to the restaurants and nightlife with the advantages of a quiet nights sleep. The sights are easily reachable as the hostel is in the ideal location for accessing transport; including ferries to the Asian side. The main plus of this hostel is the staff - the are amazingly helpful and friendly and are the reason that I will most definitely be returning to Istanbul and Stray Cat Hostel. Hostel was beautifully decorated and whilst the rooms were simple they held all you need.

Disliked: Having either a locker or safety deposit box in the shared rooms would be nice. These may be provided in the dorms.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people were lovely and the breakfast was amazing.

Disliked: There were something wrong with the pressure of the water.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -Location was quite good, very close to Taksim square and metro -Good breakfast -Super friendly staff -Clean towel and bed sheet -Highly recommend for money saver

Disliked: -Wifi was not working well in higher floors

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the very friendly and charming staff, the cats and the pictures on the walls

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting quirky place in good location in new town. Best thing is the staff all of whom extremely helpful, nice and funny. Very easy access to the old city Y and great places to visit on this side of the water. Good breakfast and some cute kittens when we were there.

Disliked: The only thing I can think of saying here is that the instructions from the airport bus drop off referred to west instead of east

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jing Sun

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Jing would recommend this property

Liked: First of all, it is definitely a colorful hotel and it's interior decoration is totally free style! All the paintings on the wall (cats! A cats lovers must go place!) is worked by the guests in different styles. The reason why I chose it is Istanbul is my last stop of my vacation and I wanna find somewhere interesting to live in, and this lovely place never disappointed me:) The staff are very nice and helpful and they have a good taste of dinning places! Remember to ask them for recommendations!

Disliked: Jing left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

yuki abe

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014 yuki would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, helpful and easygoing staff, cute cats, comfy bed room(4bed female dorm). I enjoyed 4night stay in istanbul. People offer you recommendation what to see, how to get the places, places to eat.

Disliked: Shower can be improved(no changing space, very weak water pressure, ants on the wall). Breakfast time starts a bit late, from 9am. There is no proper kitchen you can cook by yourself. and importamtly Its better paying when you leave. Because they would forget even if you paied in advance. Its just not nice to be followed for paying after good farewell...they are good people but maybe a bit too relaxed as professionals.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere and friendliness

Disliked: There were a lot of cats, I like them, but there was a really bad smell coming from the first floor. The cats could eat your breakfast with you.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Shoesmith

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, really helpful staff who happily answer all questions, friendly guests and kittens.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Philipp Busch

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Breakfast! Friendly staff. The location is quite good a little down the hill from Taksim square and close to a tram station that brings you in a few minutes to the heart of the touristic center ... Good place to meet other travellers ...

Disliked: Bathroom and toilette are clean, but a little old and could use a makeover ... there are a few cats around that stay downstairs in the common area, the cats are nice but leave a bit of that typical cat-smell around ... but you ll get used to that quite fast ... no kitchen facilities.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location: Near to clubs, bars, restaurants, ... Train Station to the Old Part of Istanbul can be reached in 5 minutes by feet. Super helpfull staff.

Disliked: Bad Wi-Fi connection inside the rooms ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Caron

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2014 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was super friendly and inviting. The staff were very informative and fun. I would defiantly stay here again. Number one hostel in Istanbul!!!

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.