HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Istanbul Taksim Green House Hostel Istanbul Hostel

Cumhuriyet Cad. Paproncalli sok NO:15 Elmadağ, Istanbul, Turkey

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 83%

Location 92%

Safety 84%

Staff 93%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.21USD

Important Information

Reservations can be cancelled or modified free of charge only up to 7 days before arrival date. After this time amount for whole reservation is charged.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 83%

Location 92%

Safety 84%

Staff 93%

Value 89%

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very good hostel, very attentive and helpful staff, excelent location, close to the main street and all public bus stops, but at the same time it was quiet. My room was perfect. I definately recommend the place.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice and helpful staffWLAN works exceptionally well for a hostelJust around the Havatas buses that go to Sabiha Gokcen Airport

Disliked: The building itself is pretty run-down, though the rooms are reasonably cleanIt will take you appr. 10 minutes to get to the beginning of Istiklal Street

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Perfect value for money, very cheap for its location. Friendly staff, who even offered us rakia, when or plane was delayed and we were waiting in the common area. Nice rooms.

Disliked: I kinda saw a cockroach in the basement - but still, it was basement and I think its normal.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good hostel with very good localization (close to Havatas bus stop, subway, Taxim square). Helpful, kind staff, clean room with bathroom, TV and air-condition (private triple room), tasty breakfast. Nothing more is needed to visit Istanbul. We will back there during next trip.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was fine

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and would visit us again when in Istanbul. Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, we really appreciate it.We are always striving to improve and your kind words make us work even harder. We look forward to continuing that, and providing a clean, comfortable stay for you again.
Talat

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, price, cleaness, stuff

Disliked: Small rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for leaving us a review. I am so pleased to hear that your recent stay with us was clean, comfortable, & the staff met your needs. It does sound like you reserved a budget room for your stay, this is the smallest room in the hostel. Next time, we would recommend one of our double rooms.We do appreciate your feedback, and hope that you would consider our hotel again in the future.
Thank you,
Ana

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Awesome staff, very helpful manager. Super close to Tahrir. Cleaner that the 5* hotel I was in after flying to Buenos Aires. Super good wifi. Awesome cat as well :)

Disliked: Breakfast a bit cheapish. But just cause I was used to expensive hotels. Honestly, good for a hostel. You could take as much as you wanted.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that the staff went above and beyond for you. This is the type of stay we try to create for all of our guests. Our guests' experiences are extremely important to us and we take pride in creating that experiece. We constantly work to improve our services therefore we increased the choice of our open buffet breakfast.
We hoper you will be returning to our hostel in the future!
Thank you for your positive response!
Ana

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to airport bus

Disliked: Common area not used by the other guests so impossible to meet anyone, other guests doing business deals on cell phone in dorm room past midnight.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hospitable staff, quiet, located very close to Taksim Square and the Havatas shuttle stop

Disliked: I was shocked by how dirty this hostel was. The bathrooms and hallways were not properly cleaned the entire time we were there, and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in weeks. There was grime and dust all over the floors, and the toilet bowl was brown. The hallways were similarly grimy. The hostel is older and we had trouble working the door lock in the almost-rotted door frame. There is a kitchen, but we didn't feel comfortable cooking there because there was always a pile of dirty dishes in the sink. Our room (double) did not come with access to a proper shower. Instead, we had to shower with the water wand attached to a bidet toilet. It was quite unpleasant. And when we asked for out luggage to be placed in the luggage room, we returned from a day of sightseeing to find it left out in the open, completely unsecured.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff and owner were extremely helpful, kind and knowledgeable. They made suggestions based on descriptions i gave them of my specific interests. They personalized their suggestions and offered me ideas off the beaten path. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated and my room even had a balcony. The hostel location is central to many neighborhoods for exploring, walking distance to the ferry, and the property itself is really cute too.

Disliked: Nothing negative, only positive!!! Thank u greenhouse for such a lovely stay.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked its location as well as its access to metroes, resturants, shopping malls, and etc...

Disliked: They did not give me enough information about the robbers that exist everywhere in istanbul until I got robbed by four men in taksim on my third day. Although I was provided a private locker it did not seem to be secure enough for me to leave my passport and money inside it as it was made of wood and the lock did not seem to be strong.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability