HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Green House - Taksim

Hostel | Cumhuriyet Caddesi, Paparoncalli sokak.no:15, Taksim Istanbul, Turkey 34373

83.7% Overall Rating

91 out of 99 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/04/2014)

Horia Bugner thinks…

"Awesome staff, very helpful manager. Super close to Tahrir. Cleaner that the 5* hotel I was in after flying to Buenos Aires. Super good wifi. Awesome cat as well :)"

Read all Green House - Taksim reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.35

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Istanbul Suites
37.60 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
#bunk taksim
18.94 USD

Hostel 100.0% 3 reviews
Golden Age 1 Hotel
89.68 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Elite World Hotel
155.55 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Park City Hotel
85.68 USD

Hotel 78.2% 8 reviews
Emerald Hotel
33.14 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Midtown Hotel
64.25 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
50.72 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

91 out of 99 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Green House - Taksim'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 87 of 97 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, cleaness, stuff

Disliked: Small rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Horia Bugner

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 April 2014 Horia would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, very helpful manager. Super close to Tahrir. Cleaner that the 5* hotel I was in after flying to Buenos Aires. Super good wifi. Awesome cat as well :)

Disliked: Breakfast a bit cheapish. But just cause I was used to expensive hotels. Honestly, good for a hostel. You could take as much as you wanted.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Malcolm Gill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014

Liked: Close to airport bus

Disliked: Common area not used by the other guests so impossible to meet anyone, other guests doing business deals on cell phone in dorm room past midnight.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2013

Liked: Hospitable staff, quiet, located very close to Taksim Square and the Havatas shuttle stop

Disliked: I was shocked by how dirty this hostel was. The bathrooms and hallways were not properly cleaned the entire time we were there, and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in weeks. There was grime and dust all over the floors, and the toilet bowl was brown. The hallways were similarly grimy. The hostel is older and we had trouble working the door lock in the almost-rotted door frame. There is a kitchen, but we didn't feel comfortable cooking there because there was always a pile of dirty dishes in the sink. Our room (double) did not come with access to a proper shower. Instead, we had to shower with the water wand attached to a bidet toilet. It was quite unpleasant. And when we asked for out luggage to be placed in the luggage room, we returned from a day of sightseeing to find it left out in the open, completely unsecured.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Males

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 October 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The quiteness of the evenings in such a noisy city is a relief. Even in the day, you can sit outside with some tea and just not feel the rushing of the city.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

magdalena jedlinski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and owner were extremely helpful, kind and knowledgeable. They made suggestions based on descriptions i gave them of my specific interests. They personalized their suggestions and offered me ideas off the beaten path. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated and my room even had a balcony. The hostel location is central to many neighborhoods for exploring, walking distance to the ferry, and the property itself is really cute too.

Disliked: Nothing negative, only positive!!! Thank u greenhouse for such a lovely stay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked its location as well as its access to metroes, resturants, shopping malls, and etc...

Disliked: They did not give me enough information about the robbers that exist everywhere in istanbul until I got robbed by four men in taksim on my third day. Although I was provided a private locker it did not seem to be secure enough for me to leave my passport and money inside it as it was made of wood and the lock did not seem to be strong.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Green House - Taksim has a great location, just 2 short blocks off of Cumhuriyet Caddesi and close to Taksim Square and the Istanbul Hilton. The staff were very helpful - for example when my luggage didn't make it to Istanbul they phoned the airline and arranged to have it dropped off at the hostel. The breakfast, which was included, was excellent, with all you can eat of tomotoes, cucumbers, tahini, cheese, olives, cereal, milk, bread and spreads, etc. There is also a small family-run restaurant a few doors away serving very good turkish food. The hostel is clean and I received everything I expected at the stated price.

Disliked: There was nothing that I disliked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yvonne van Rossenberg

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Yvonne would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place to stay in Istanbul. It is clean (all rooms are cleaned every day, even your bed is made!). The staff is great, Anna does a great job and gives the place a safe feeling. All are friendly and helpful. It is in a great location. I was there for a conference and hoped it would not be too noisy, but it was fine. Good airco system, facilities are fine. I was traveling alone, no problem here. I got a great pick up from the airport 2 a.m. in the morning (1 hour delay), all felt really well organised and safe!

Disliked: The only thing I could think of are the stairs. the place has three (or four?) floors and the stairs are uneven. The staff helped me carrying my suitcases up, but you have to be careful with walking up en down. The breakfast being in the cellar. The breakfast place is good and you can also sit outside in front of the place. So I really recommend anyone to stay at this place, it is a good deal!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. I had quite a bit of luggage and they helped me get it in and out of the room. There were lockers in each room, the whole hostel was very clean, and the free breakfast was decent. The internet was pretty reliable, as well.

Disliked: It was really hot, and it was very uncomfortable in the rooms without air conditioning! The lower levels were cooler, though. The electricity went out once for an hour or two, but I'm not sure how common that it. It wasn't a big deal.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIE LIANG TANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 JIE LIANG would recommend this property

Liked: The place is clean, we got a locker to store our stuff so it is pretty safe. A few minutes walk from the taksim square.

Disliked: JIE LIANG left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Oleg Izyumenko

Alone

Business / conference

19 June 2013 Oleg would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was super-friendly and always greeted us with free beer / coffee / lemonade. The entire staff was also very friendly and nice, and supported the guests in so many more ways, than what you usually expect from a hostel staff. They were so warm, friendly and helpful, that they quickly became almost like a family to us. Breakfast was excellent and the WiFi Internet connection was strong and fast.

Disliked: Oleg left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tahir Imran Mian

Alone

City break

17 June 2013 Tahir Imran would recommend this property

Liked: Its location, its staff

Disliked: The room was very basic and from the pictures I was expecting more and also the toilet and shower were on the second and first floor while the double room is on third floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cassy Dove

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Cassy would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was excellent, the staff were very helpful and informative about Istanbul, especially the owner. Make sure you eat at the kepap trace 3 doors down, its delicious!!!

Disliked: It was a bit tricky to find in the dark when we arrived.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Thank you for a grest stay. Very friendly staff that went above and beyond to help me with my travel plans. I felt very at home there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For a hostel in Istanbul, it was pretty clean and the staff was willing to show you around the hostel and were really helpful. It's also a ten minute walk to Taksim square which is where you want to go (if you're young). Also, the hostel was cheap for the quality.

Disliked: Still, while better than other places, Turkish hostels don't seem to be up to the standard you see in other countries. Not much social space.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013

Liked: They send a taxi to pick you up from the hostel.

Disliked: Is not an apartment although it says that online. The bathroom is tiny and smells bad. Only one bed is good, the sofa is broken. The door is very easy to open, which makes the place unsafe.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpfull and friendly staff,quiet neighbourhood close to taxim sq.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zdenek Lipovsky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 Zdenek would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff + great breakfast

Disliked: None

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gavin Chen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2013 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: Location was nearby Taksim Square

Disliked: Small bathrooms and shower

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly and the prices are the lowest that I could find in Istanbul.

Disliked: The building is old and depressing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really great staff, perfect location, comfortable beds, not too crammed dorms. I had a really good sleep there! i will come back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mark Rizzo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The simple kitchen met my needs and the social atmosphere was decent.

Disliked: The manager had enter the incorrect price on Hostelbookers and wanted to charge me the actual rate instead of what I booked at. After 10 minutes of discussion he gave me the rate at which I booked.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Moritz Hambach

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 December 2012 Moritz would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff!

Disliked: Moritz left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location just north of taksim square and the airport bus, welcoming staff, very nice breakfast, nice common room downstairs, there's big lockers and the beds are comfy. the shower head in our shower was broken and the staff fixed it straight away and i would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: nothing, it suited me perfectly.