HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of piya hostel

Hostel | Sultanahmet Mah.Akbiyik Cami S, No:22, Istanbul, Turkey .

88.8% Overall Rating

55 out of 60 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2013)

muhamad el hadi thinks…

"The manger of the hostel misster hosen very handsome very politly and full help the kitchin very very clean feel like home"

Read all piya hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 6.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Naz Wooden House Inn
52.81 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 12 reviews
Blue Tuana Hotel
45.59 USD

Hotel 2 star 95.4% 8 reviews
Oceans 7 Hotel
35.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 5 reviews
Nakkas Apart
34.54 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Anzac Woodenhouse
22.54 USD

Hostel 80.3% 74 reviews
Hotel Tashkonak
69.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.5% 31 reviews
Apex Hotel
124.33 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Sultan Tughra Hotel
185.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.8%

Overall Rating

55 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'piya hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 60 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great expeirience with this hostel. Would reccomend to anyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

muhamad el hadi

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013 muhamad would recommend this property

Liked: The manger of the hostel misster hosen very handsome very politly and full help the kitchin very very clean feel like home

Disliked: muhamad left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lee Jia Law

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2013 Lee Jia would recommend this property

Liked: Piya hostel has a great location where it is just 10-15 minutes walk to the main attraction in Istanbul, Turkey such as the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar etc. The reception is friendly and willing to help in answering our question regarding the tourist attractions in Istanbul.

Disliked: Lee Jia left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, Clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved not only the location of Piya Hostel but the people running the place. They cared about their guests, their rooms and bathrooms as well as the food that was served for breakfast. If I ever return, I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Nothing -- not a single thing!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emma Hughes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013

Liked: It was clean and the staff were very hospitable.

Disliked: It was hard to find, had to ask a lot of locals for help. Its not very sociable, the common area isn't very nice. Only had one key for the room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013

Liked: The beds were very comfortable. The location was good. Less than a five minute walk from Sultanahmet Square. (ie. Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia)

Disliked: This hostel was not at all what I was expecting. I went with my friend hoping to find a fun and welcoming atmosphere. Other than the dorm room situation, it felt more like an impersonal hotel experience. The staff did not speak very good English. They also were horrible at giving directions. I expect the staff at hostels and hotels to have a basic tour guide knowledge of their city. The staff here definitely did not. Very unhelpful. To get advice we ended up visitng the travel information center down the way. It's located in a residential area so at night when the children are playing in the streets it gets very loud. Bring earplugs. One of the reasons I booked this hostel was for the breakfast. Looking back I regret my choice. Breakfast was served up to you on a plate and consisted of: one egg (either fried or hard boiled), a quarter of a tomato, 3 olives. a small piece of cheese, 2 small pieces of meat (salami?), and a few tiny slices of cucumber. The rest of the meal is a huge basket of bread with jam and chocolate spread. My friend and I started buying our own food to eat in addition to the hostel breakfast. It was in no way filling.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

claudine de caunes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 claudine would recommend this property

Liked: An old wooden house in a quiet street, just near the touristic center of Istanbul. The rooms are extremely well kept and clean. Lockers in the rooms to locks your valuables. I was impressed by the cleaness of the place! Wifi availble, lovely breakfast, nice travelers met there...I had a lovely time!

Disliked: NOTHING!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean sheets, bathroom cleaned twice a day and smelled clean, built in hair dryers, free towels, wifi in the rooms, free breakfast of boiled egg, bread, spreads, olives, tomato, cucumber and tea. Lovely place. Nice social area upstairs and dining area downstairs.

Disliked: I would not let them book ANYTHING for you- Although friendly, they were very unreliable! The first guy was extremely confusing! He booked tickets for us to see a show but got the prices all wrong (even though he had specifically called them up to ask the price). We also let him book an airport shuttle to Sabiha Gökçen. He didn't give us tickets or any receipt so we felt a bit uneasy. Then he would periodically ask us which airport it was again, and what day (just when we thought we had straightened it all out).This happened 3 or 4 times. The next day a different guy came on shift. He had no record of our shuttle booking and although we constantly reminded and confirmed that we needed a shuttle, he didn't book it until a few minutes before we wanted to leave. Very stressful. And don't believe their calm 'the shuttle only takes 1 hour' spiel. It arrived 15 minutes late, drove around town for another 20 minutes picking up others, then got stuck in two traffic jams. It took 2 hours to get to Sabiha Gökçen. Be forewarned!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martina Bitarovska

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: staff is very very nice and helpful, breakfast was delicious and room was very clean

Disliked: during my stay there was problem with credit card payment and internet sometimes doesnt work

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taner Karakoc

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

29 March 2013 Taner would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly and helpful staff. The wooden building itself is a charm.

Disliked: Taner left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

OKSU KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2013 OKSU would recommend this property

Liked: this place is value for money. it's cheap price, but very nice location and nice staff. but if you like a party, this place is not good for you. bcoz it's very calmful and peaceful. If you want to take a rest, this place is the best place for you! And they offer nice breakfast to you!

Disliked: OKSU left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Asel Lubbers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2013 Asel would recommend this property

Liked: AWESOME place to stay in a really cool city. Hostel is perfectly situated and one of the cleanest I have ever stayed in and It was quiet, and secure; felt more like a hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, thanks for all. Would not hesitate to return, or recommend it to any potential visitors.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lot of çay

Disliked: They should rewrite the "How to get there" information

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice personnel and a great breakfast.

Disliked: There was now kitchen you can use and they don't change the bedding every time new people were coming. No hostel for people who want's to party or come home late (door is closed around 1 pm).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, tasty breakfast with good coffee, very good mattresses.

Disliked: No negative comments to add. :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are friendly and helpful. İ learnt some basic Turkish from a man who also works in there erveryday. Very close to the attractions like Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Hippodrome.. Good breakfast. i like the neihgrhood that is not crowded lıke Taksim. Wii come back agaın ;)

Disliked: No

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was qued good location, just wrong information on web site. nice breakfast. small, basic everything.

Disliked: Staff no english at al. was inposible to ask about city, buses or other information. on last evening come guy who said im new in istambul and i cant explain where is bus station

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast is big, tasty and free !

Disliked: its not a party-like hostel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

gianni muratore

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 gianni would recommend this property

Liked: the location was good.

Disliked: one of the staff member was chicking me out of the kitchen area by midnight...!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful. I went there with my family. The staff was kind. I think the price of the hostel suites the service they offer. The hostel is small and nice.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean bed sheet and very comfortable bed!!! Share toilet and shower room is small but clean. If you are not looking party hostel, PIYA is good choise. you could hear train sound however it was not big deal.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly the owner was extremely welcoming and friendly throughout my stay. The location was also pretty good - very close to all of the major attractions in the city. The dorm was comfortable and spacious, with good beds and large lockers. Would definitely stay here again if I come back to Istanbul

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ka Yan Kwok

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012 Ka Yan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was nice and clean, beds and pillows were snow white. Hosea and other staff were really nice though his English wasnt too good, we got by using notes and body language (well and google translate). A big breakfast is served every morning, freshly made, don't miss it! I enjoyed having breakfast and looking out the window...it was an interesting neighbourhood.

Disliked: It could be pretty hard to find at first, my friend and I got lost looking for it, but once you're there, you will know how to navigate yourself through the alleys the next time. And I lived on the first floor, when people living on the second floor came back, you could hear every single step they take, especially at late night.. be considerate if you're staying here..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Clean room.

Disliked: Initially it is a little difficult to find but once you find it is great.