HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of piya hotel/hostel

Hostel | Sultanahmet Mah.Akbiyik Cami S, No:22, Istanbul, Turkey .

90.7% Overall Rating

66 out of 71 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

"Really nice rooms and comfy beds. Good included breakfast and nice and quiet. I had to move hostels during my stay in istanbul due to noise and a generally dingy hostel and this hostel was a welcome relief. Would…"

Read all piya hotel/hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 6.57

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Naz Wooden House Inn
34.83 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.0% 14 reviews
Blue Tuana Hotel
47.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 94.0% 9 reviews
Oceans 7 Hotel
42.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 5 reviews
Nakkas Apart
32.83 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Anzac Woodenhouse
17.58 USD

Hostel 80.2% 79 reviews
Hotel Tashkonak
52.52 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.9% 32 reviews
Apex Hotel
39.39 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Sultan Tughra Hotel
129.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

66 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'piya hotel/hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 62 of 71 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice rooms and comfy beds. Good included breakfast and nice and quiet. I had to move hostels during my stay in istanbul due to noise and a generally dingy hostel and this hostel was a welcome relief. Would definitely stay here again. VERY close to Sultam Ahmed Mosque and Grand Bazaar but still very quiet.

Disliked: Perhaps slightly to expensive and there was no kitchen available for guests to use. Although clean, there was only one bathroom for the whole floor which was problematic at times. Also not enough lockers for everyone in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great stay at Piya. The location is excellent. It is walking distance to Sultanahmet park, the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Grand Bizarre and the Basilica cistern. Also walking distance to the tram which also connects to trains and ferries. Good breakfast, nice common areas and helpful staff. No air con but the rooms are cool enough to sleep at night time and there is a sea breeze. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice staff, fairly clean, free breakfast + wifi.

Disliked: "luggage room" I think was just the kitchen, dark location at night but not a big deal

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MUHAMAD ABED ELHADI

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 MUHAMAD would recommend this property

Liked: Location and stuff

Disliked: MUHAMAD left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to everything but still far out enough for a more authentic feel to your stay.

Disliked: Slightly dirty (but definitely doable) and breakfast does not vary much.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YU TZU CHEN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 YU TZU would recommend this property

Liked: the comfy bed and bright room. every morning has nice Turkish breakfast.

Disliked: YU TZU left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yunfei Bai

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Yunfei would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, quiet

Disliked: Yunfei left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Staffed well. Good breakfast. Very close to the sites, but down a quiet street of local people. Sites within walking distance. The water is a short walk away, with a walking path and benches.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nehal Patel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Nehal would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff, small, cosy and quiet hostel close to the bars and restaurants in Sultanahmet but far from the noise so you can actually sleep.

Disliked: Only one toilet and shower (one for men and women each) for the floor which were in the same room. Wifi could be temperamental. Some may find the location a bit too far out of the way and awkward to find

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus Krueppel

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent beds in all rooms

Disliked: Breakfast not as comprehensive as advertised but still good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed for 4 nights, in a shared 6 bedroom, Location was good, it was very close to everything which was convenient. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, the staff friendly. There was a heater available in the room which was good because it was cold at night. Good wifi, no curfew because there was always someone available at the front desk. The breakfast provided was basic but delicious, made every morning in front of us. It was some slices of cheese, tomatoes, cucumbers, with an egg, and bread and jam, and a piece of fruit.... it was more than enough to fuel us for the start of longs days of walking and sightseeing. Was well worth the money, glad to have stayed there.

Disliked: A little hard to find

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great expeirience with this hostel. Would reccomend to anyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

muhamad el hadi

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013 muhamad would recommend this property

Liked: The manger of the hostel misster hosen very handsome very politly and full help the kitchin very very clean feel like home

Disliked: muhamad left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lee Jia Law

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2013 Lee Jia would recommend this property

Liked: Piya hostel has a great location where it is just 10-15 minutes walk to the main attraction in Istanbul, Turkey such as the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar etc. The reception is friendly and willing to help in answering our question regarding the tourist attractions in Istanbul.

Disliked: Lee Jia left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, Clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved not only the location of Piya Hostel but the people running the place. They cared about their guests, their rooms and bathrooms as well as the food that was served for breakfast. If I ever return, I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Nothing -- not a single thing!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emma Hughes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013

Liked: It was clean and the staff were very hospitable.

Disliked: It was hard to find, had to ask a lot of locals for help. Its not very sociable, the common area isn't very nice. Only had one key for the room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013

Liked: The beds were very comfortable. The location was good. Less than a five minute walk from Sultanahmet Square. (ie. Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia)

Disliked: This hostel was not at all what I was expecting. I went with my friend hoping to find a fun and welcoming atmosphere. Other than the dorm room situation, it felt more like an impersonal hotel experience. The staff did not speak very good English. They also were horrible at giving directions. I expect the staff at hostels and hotels to have a basic tour guide knowledge of their city. The staff here definitely did not. Very unhelpful. To get advice we ended up visitng the travel information center down the way. It's located in a residential area so at night when the children are playing in the streets it gets very loud. Bring earplugs. One of the reasons I booked this hostel was for the breakfast. Looking back I regret my choice. Breakfast was served up to you on a plate and consisted of: one egg (either fried or hard boiled), a quarter of a tomato, 3 olives. a small piece of cheese, 2 small pieces of meat (salami?), and a few tiny slices of cucumber. The rest of the meal is a huge basket of bread with jam and chocolate spread. My friend and I started buying our own food to eat in addition to the hostel breakfast. It was in no way filling.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

claudine de caunes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 claudine would recommend this property

Liked: An old wooden house in a quiet street, just near the touristic center of Istanbul. The rooms are extremely well kept and clean. Lockers in the rooms to locks your valuables. I was impressed by the cleaness of the place! Wifi availble, lovely breakfast, nice travelers met there...I had a lovely time!

Disliked: NOTHING!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean sheets, bathroom cleaned twice a day and smelled clean, built in hair dryers, free towels, wifi in the rooms, free breakfast of boiled egg, bread, spreads, olives, tomato, cucumber and tea. Lovely place. Nice social area upstairs and dining area downstairs.

Disliked: I would not let them book ANYTHING for you- Although friendly, they were very unreliable! The first guy was extremely confusing! He booked tickets for us to see a show but got the prices all wrong (even though he had specifically called them up to ask the price). We also let him book an airport shuttle to Sabiha Gökçen. He didn't give us tickets or any receipt so we felt a bit uneasy. Then he would periodically ask us which airport it was again, and what day (just when we thought we had straightened it all out).This happened 3 or 4 times. The next day a different guy came on shift. He had no record of our shuttle booking and although we constantly reminded and confirmed that we needed a shuttle, he didn't book it until a few minutes before we wanted to leave. Very stressful. And don't believe their calm 'the shuttle only takes 1 hour' spiel. It arrived 15 minutes late, drove around town for another 20 minutes picking up others, then got stuck in two traffic jams. It took 2 hours to get to Sabiha Gökçen. Be forewarned!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martina Bitarovska

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: staff is very very nice and helpful, breakfast was delicious and room was very clean

Disliked: during my stay there was problem with credit card payment and internet sometimes doesnt work

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taner Karakoc

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

29 March 2013 Taner would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly and helpful staff. The wooden building itself is a charm.

Disliked: Taner left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

OKSU KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2013 OKSU would recommend this property

Liked: this place is value for money. it's cheap price, but very nice location and nice staff. but if you like a party, this place is not good for you. bcoz it's very calmful and peaceful. If you want to take a rest, this place is the best place for you! And they offer nice breakfast to you!

Disliked: OKSU left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Asel Lubbers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2013 Asel would recommend this property

Liked: AWESOME place to stay in a really cool city. Hostel is perfectly situated and one of the cleanest I have ever stayed in and It was quiet, and secure; felt more like a hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, thanks for all. Would not hesitate to return, or recommend it to any potential visitors.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lot of çay

Disliked: They should rewrite the "How to get there" information