HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Piya Hotel/Hostel Istanbul Hostel

Sultanahmet Mah.Akbiyik Cami Sok.No:22, Istanbul, Turkey

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 91%

Safety 89%

Staff 92%

Value 93%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 91%

Safety 89%

Staff 92%

Value 93%

Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nothing

Disliked: I stayed in a mixed dorm room and the other guests were smoking cigarettes in the room and when I asked the front desk to change rooms, they simply came up and made them promise not to do it again but they continued to smoke cigarettes until late at night and I was forced to sleep in a smoky room.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel was not a party hostel by any means, but it was in a comfortable, nice, and touristy part of town, and I mean all those words in the most positive way possible. It's in a quiet and historic neighborhood, very close to Sultanahmet Camii (Blue Mosque). The rooms are comfortable and the staff are incredibly nice and welcoming. They serve a slightly scaled down traditional Turkish breakfast for FREE, and rent out towels for 2TL (basically nothing). The big room (the only one I saw) has lockers in it that have locks and are big enough to fit a good amount of luggage.

Disliked: This probably isn't the hostel for you if you want to party as it is far from most of the young party scenes, but it is perfect if you are in Istanbul to look at sights on the Golden Horn and go for some beautiful walks in calm areas. The hostel is also a little hard to find for those who are bad at directions, but if you're more than a Tenderfoot it will be no problem (if you're not bad at directions it's not hard to find).

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The Pia Hostel is in a quiet and funky part of the old part of Istanbul, and away from the tourist crowds, but only a 10-minute walk from the centre of Sultanahmet and the T1 metro tram line. The manager of the hostel was very helpful, and kept trying to teach my wife and I Turkish. We had a good-sized en-suite room with a good shower and lots of hot water. The room was bright and clean and had plenty of storage space for our clothes. It had a good-sized fridge and tea/coffee-making equipment. The breakfasts were standard Turkish hotel fare: mystery meat, egg, cheese, tomato, lots of cucumber and plenty of fresh bread, butter, jam and Turkish tea. All in all the Pia Hostel was very good value for money.

Disliked: My only minor quibble was a leaking shower stall that left the bathroom floor wet after a shower.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly family business.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to wverywhere and staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Sounded like rats in the ceiling and was a little dirty

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Nice, simple, cheap, good food, appropriate location, indipendant entrance etc.

Disliked: Small room.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I loved this hostel the moment I stepped inside. The staff were extremely friendly and made sure that I had everything that I needed. There is tea and coffee available 24/7, and a delightful "breakfast room" where guests can sit at any time. The dorm room that I stayed in was immaculately clean and the white bedsheets and duvet smelled nice and clean. The showers and toilets also were very clean. The hostel also is only 5-10 minutes walk away from Hagia Sofya and the Blue Mosque. I was very glad I chose this hostel.

Disliked: On the website, it mentions that they provide transfers to and from the airport. In reality, they only supply transfers from the airport. However, they are happy to book a taxi for you for your return trip to the airport. And, if your flight is not at an unearthly hour like mine was, you also can take the tram + metro to the airport - if you are flying out of Ataturk Airport. The Sultanahmet tram stop is very near the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Öncelikle hostel personeli son derece yardım sever ve samimi idi. Hostel ve şehir hakkındaki ihtiyaclarınıza pratik çözümler sunmaktaydılar. ilk bakışta hostelin yeri biraz farklı gelse de, eski bir Osmanlı mahallesi olduğunu anlamanız uzun sürmüyor. fiyat olarak sunulan imkanlar gayet iyi bir seviyede. Ayrıca hostel sahibi Hüseyin beye ve çalışanlarına samimi teşekkürlerimi sunuyorum.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really nice rooms and comfy beds. Good included breakfast and nice and quiet. I had to move hostels during my stay in istanbul due to noise and a generally dingy hostel and this hostel was a welcome relief. Would definitely stay here again. VERY close to Sultam Ahmed Mosque and Grand Bazaar but still very quiet.

Disliked: Perhaps slightly to expensive and there was no kitchen available for guests to use. Although clean, there was only one bathroom for the whole floor which was problematic at times. Also not enough lockers for everyone in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Had a great stay at Piya. The location is excellent. It is walking distance to Sultanahmet park, the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Grand Bizarre and the Basilica cistern. Also walking distance to the tram which also connects to trains and ferries. Good breakfast, nice common areas and helpful staff. No air con but the rooms are cool enough to sleep at night time and there is a sea breeze.Would definitely recommend staying here.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability