We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Planet Paprika Hostel

Hostel | Taksim Akarcasi Sokak, Sehit Muhtar Mahallesi, Istanbul, Turkey -

93.0% Overall Rating

54 out of 58 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/09/2014)

"Owner is quite honestly the happiest most genuine man I have ever met. His resemblance of super Mario was pleasing. Great location,great atmosphere"

Read all Planet Paprika Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Ash Otel Hostel
29.10 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Economic Star Hotel
39.05 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
New Pera Suites
18.34 USD

Apartment 95.2% 3 reviews
Simal Taksim Guesthouse
27.64 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hot Suites @ Taksim Istanbul
261.23 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Little House Hotel
17.71 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Chambers of the Boheme
12.65 USD

Hostel 93.1% 407 reviews
Ilya Pera Hotel
30.72 USD

Hotel 96.6% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

54 out of 58 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Planet Paprika Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 53 of 58 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is quite honestly the happiest most genuine man I have ever met. His resemblance of super Mario was pleasing. Great location,great atmosphere

Disliked: No kitchen, communal area is a bit small. This said th staff are more than paid employees being some of the nicest people I have met on my trip always making people feel welcome and including them

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Clarke

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 January 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel Rocks ; so central , so friendly , cosy and peaceful. Especially Mr. Paprika is awesome. He is always ready to help. This makes you feel allright.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Casey

Alone

City break

27 January 2014

Liked: It was a great stay : Mr. Paprika is the man with a huge heart . So nice travellers and the best hoistel, I feel lucky. I will come back again :) Thanks for all...

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Clarke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wajd Khalil

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2014 Wajd would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is awesome.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oskar Bajor-Charewicz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Oskar would recommend this property

Liked: Super location. 2 minutes to Taksim square. 10 minutes walk to Havantas shuttle to both airport. Super friendly stuff. And the best cat i ever meet Poppy! Remember to donate food for Poppy

Disliked: wi fi on the 3rd floor is poor

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Pei Yee Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2013 Pei Yee would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the hostel were definitely very friendly and hospitable. There's a very hip and laidback vibe. They would be the reason why I would suggest someone stay at the hostel. However, I most definitely won't recommend it.

Disliked: The hostel is located near Taksim, yes. However, the directions given were not terribly useful. I had to ask several people at various points who pointed me in different directions until a kind stranger took pity on me and led me to the hostel's doorstep. Wifi is not available in the rooms, only on the first floor. I can't imagine why that would be the case when wifi is really such a travel essential. I've paid for cheaper hostels and gotten wifi perfectly fine from my bed. The beds are extremely creaky - not the best for light sleepers - and the night I was there, the room was hardly heated although Istanbul was well into winter.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mr Paprika and the 2 girls were awesome and welcoming!

Disliked: A bit noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Antonio Alvarez Ruiz

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2013 Jose Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time in this place. I met the friendliest hostel staff I have every seen. Moreover, it is located in an unbeatable place (you can reach taksim square by food within 3-5 minutes), Although the hostel is surrounded by bars, restaurants and discos, it is very quiet at night.

Disliked: Some mosquito nets at the windows would be great. That way, the windows could be left open for ventilation over night, without having mosquitos in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zofia Kotowska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Zofia would recommend this property

Liked: I really like vibe of this place, so cozy, friendly, and welcoming! And it is perfectly placed near Takisim, and close to Havatas buses from the airport, so everything is really handy. I need to go back there as soon as possible :) And Mr. Paprika is really great!

Disliked: non

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gregory Thomas

Alone

City break

13 March 2013 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great , the rooms are clean and lovely , time spent with Paprika team is great , for sure I will visit this hostel again , Thank you Mr Paprika , you are the man :)

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hose Silvestre

Alone

City break

03 March 2013 Hose would recommend this property

Liked: Paprika team , they are great :) Strongly recommended , central , friendly , clean , thank you for all

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catolina Watson

Alone

City break

22 December 2012 Catolina would recommend this property

Liked: So clean , so friendly and full of fun , I love Paprika team :) especially the way they partyyyyy....:)

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Parker

Alone

City break

14 December 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The best Hostel ever ; Thank You Paprika team , I will be back , your underground Bar is amazing :) love all

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, and very helpful too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shady Abdelgaliel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals

30 August 2012 Shady would recommend this property

Liked: the hosting & service

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012

Liked: 1. Location so close to Taksimn Square and direct bus transfer to airport. 2. Staff friendly and eagre to help.

Disliked: 1. Internet only available in reception on ground floor. Too bad if you are on any of the floors 1-4 where the signal does not reach. This is a hastle with no lift. 2. Very small kitchen in basement not conducive to use as it is used as the sleeping quarters (?) for the cleaning staff and their young children. 3.They do not accept credit or debit cards for payment of accounts. 4. Exceptionally NOISY on week ends as it is above a club/disco/karaoke bar. The noise from the music and loud patrons is something else. The Municipal cleaning trucks that clean the streets at 4 in the morning make more noise than a jumbo jet taking off.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luca Castelli

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Luca would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for nightlife and sightseeing, friendly and cozy staff. The best hostel I ever found in the world. The perfect Planet

Disliked: Luca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Felber

Alone

City break

15 November 2011 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect ; best hostel , best location , very friendly staffç Thanks Mr. Paprika cu soon

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Radomir Gluhovic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

10 November 2011 Radomir would recommend this property

Liked: Mr. Paprika is a guy you can talk to. We were 6 and wanted to stay together privately in a dorm which normaly is for 8. It was no problem. Reasonable price too. Very helpful saff. We had a great time. The location couldn't be bette. Very close by there is a cefé/club called Layla's Terrace where we hung out a lot. If you like gypsy music check it out. Cheers.

Disliked: No dislike.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing. Right next to Taksim. Friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: I read the reviews before I came and I expected the bathroom to be pretty small but yeah it was pretty small. You can make do with it. Also, if you were to sightsee on the Asian side of Istanbul I'd recommend staying somewhere on that side.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: people working there wer very friendly and nice! I felt like home

Disliked: well, just that I thought there were more showers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andre Bohn

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: The Planet Praprika Stuff are very friendly.

Disliked: nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011

Liked: Location was rather good, near taksim square, if that's what you want to see. But I would recommend staying in sultanhamet if you want to see the sights on the other side instead.

Disliked: We stayed on the first floor which did not feel safe at all, it felt like anyone could walk into our room. Even though we booked the accommodation online, they nearly did not have beds for us! It was also really noisy the first night we stayed as the hostel had a one year anniversary party - which I would have appreciated knowing that before booking the place which claimed to have a quiet atmosphere. Can definitely find better accommodation for the price you're paying for here.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place has a fabulous location - smack bang in the middle of taksim. Rooms are clean, spacıous and the bathrooms are quite new. Staff are extremely friendly, helpful and genuınely ınterested ın what you are upto. Kıtchen downstaırs ıs great wıth free tea, coffee and water. Thanks for the stay, I defınıtely recommend thıs hostel.

Disliked: nothıng