We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chillout Cengo

Hostel | Hüseyin Ağa Mah, Atıf Yılmaz Cad, Halas Sok. No 3, Istanbul, Turkey -

83.4% Overall Rating

68 out of 75 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/01/2015)

"There is tea available in the kitchen which is nice. The staff is super friendly."

Read all Chillout Cengo reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Chill Out Lya
15.12 USD

Hostel 78.9% 44 reviews
ExIstanbul House
7.79 USD

Guesthouse 72.5% 27 reviews
Fendo Hostel
24.47 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Simurg Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 82.3% 43 reviews
Oneapart-galatasaray
48.45 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Ash Otel Hostel
66.73 USD

Hotel 99.0% 3 reviews
Jumba Hostel
27.81 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
BellaVista Hostel
11.63 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

68 out of 75 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chillout Cengo'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 57 of 72 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mustafa GÜLDÜR

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

08 April 2015 Mustafa would recommend this property

Liked: Good Music

Disliked: Only ane balcoon for smooke

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is tea available in the kitchen which is nice. The staff is super friendly.

Disliked: There are only very few bathrooms but surprisingly there were never problems or too much waiting. The bathrooms are always clean. For one of the rooms, where we stayed, there was no WC/bathroom on the floor so we had to go upstairs every time. The rooms are only cleaned when you check out, not regularly. The place is well-located but not very visible and a bit hard to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elshad Yusif

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2015 Elshad would recommend this property

Liked: It is very nice and very comfortable place, very central of Istanbul. Right by the Istiklal street and by all the bars and clubs neighbourhood. Always lively atmosphere around. The staff were very very kind. very friendly, I felt myself at home! They would help with all my questions and even because we forgot the key of locker, they cut the whole lock for us! VERY VERY NICE STAFF!!!!

Disliked: There was nothing I didnt like :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey Costa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: The place was really neat and in a great area of Istanbul! Would definitely go back

Disliked: The room we were in did not have air conditioning which made it really hot!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location and also the common parts where you can meet other people from everywhere in the world.

Disliked: The shower is upstair

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Andrew Muir

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014

Liked: Friendly people and staff, great location

Disliked: cleanliness, lack of bathrooms for the amount of people, loud, no working air con and no fans in the room, rickety old building and rotting floorboards under the carpet. I thought on numerous occasions there was a chance I would fall through the floor

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Joyce Zhang

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014

Liked: Pros: Great location. Common area is good for meeting people. Luggage storage (unsecured, though). Staff tried to be helpful, even if they actually were not.

Disliked: Cons: Security is a bit iffy because the dorm room doors are never locked. While you you do need a code to get inside the hostel itself, there are constantly locals sitting and smoking on the front step of the hostel, which made it feel less secure. There are lockers that will fit a backpack, but not a suitcase. It’s also pretty dirty, musty-smelling, and mosquito infested. I got a ton of mosquito bites, and because it’s kind of a party hostel, people weren’t very quiet when coming in and out at all hours of the night. The bathroom garbage cans are often overflowing with garbage. It wasn’t the cleanest, but the showers and toilets were still decent. Laundry is expensive at 15 Turkish Lira.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ruby Sinclair

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 March 2014 Ruby would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice hostel. VERY small rooms but had a nice balcony. Three flights of stairs up to our room but we didn't mind. Also this place was really hard to find when checking in, because there's basically no sign outside, so make sure you know exactly how to get there.

Disliked: nothing was that bad.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sonja Hyytiainen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, cozy atmosphere, perfect location

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was located just off of Istiklal in Taksim area so it was great for nightlife.

Disliked: Being so close to a busy area, the noise of traffic and music from the clubs could keep you up half of the night. The hostel was also strangely laid out; it was inconvenient to have to go up a floor just to use the bathroom.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Shane Langmaid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: Basically the chilled our vibe excuse the pun but we had a good group of people staying here- it's very intimate.

Disliked: The place is not the most clean so if you're particular about your level of cleanliness stay awAy from here. One of the girls at the front desk had a really bad attitude I don't recall her name but anywhere people will clash so I would recommend this hostel with these caveats.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: "chill out" State of mind

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was realy nice, cozy and lots of interesting people. rooms were good, staff was reay nice and helpful

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a lot

Disliked: showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andreas Kauth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic atmosphere, nice people, best location, I would recommend this hostel to everyone!!

Disliked: Andreas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matija Rencelj

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012 Matija would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is amazing, i met some amazing people at cengo and had an amazing time. Everyone is really helpful and friendly and i really really reccommend the hostel to anyone who is coming to istanbul.

Disliked: Matija left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chillout Cengo is one of the best hostels I ever stayed in. Nice and familial atmosphere in a busy neighborhood. If you want to get to know many kind people and have fun 24/7, this is the place to be.... Thank you guys! We'll be back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good place to meet other travellers, good locatıon.

Disliked: We paıd for a 6 bed dorm and ın fact ıts a 6 bed dorm plus 3 beds ın the roof above us. No chance of sleepıng early.. people comıng ın and out all nıght. We trıed to cook but kıtchen was way too full and staff fılled half the frıdge wıth theır shıt.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kaan Bülte

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2012 Kaan would recommend this property

Liked: chillt!

Disliked: nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012

Liked: The common area is always busy and full of friendly people. The artwork on the walls is also really cool.

Disliked: The place is filthy. The showers are absolutely repulsive...if you could even call them showers. I walked around looking in all the WCs but didn't see one, then realized that the "showers" were just these nasty shower heads above the toilets. The place smells pretty funky on top of it. Also, it's entirely carpeted and that's not clean either. Gross.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great common spaces, fantastic location.

Disliked: Bathrooms broke, very thin walls. Good place to come home and pass out in after a late night, not so good if you actually want to sleep.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mathilde Delattre

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

13 August 2012 Mathilde would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: It's a little bit noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Finnegan Boyle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 June 2012 Finnegan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing very helpful and friendly and just generally cool and interesting people. On weekends everyone from the hostel would go out in a big group pub crawl. Which was a lot of fun. I met a lot of great people here and have some amazing memories of Istanbul due to the fun and quirky character of this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing in particular. The bathrooms were a bit small and hard to keep your clothes dry in. But it's a hostel who cares if you get a little dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Kania

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2012 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, good atmosphere, nice rooms

Disliked: the bed in doubleroom could be a bit wider

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaili Kappler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Kaili would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was great - awesome kitchen and communal area and would have nothing to complain about. Ph maybe the snoring from others in the dorm room but you cant do anything about that - not the hostels fault!! Great location with everything around it and they are always friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Was rather difficult to find but that could just be us backpackers after a long night in Anzac Cove with no sleep!!