HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Agora Hostel and Guesthouse Istanbul Hostel

Akbiyik cad (street) Amiral Tafdil sk. no.6, Sultanahmet / Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 97%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 90%

Location 98%

Safety 95%

Staff 97%

Value 94%

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: If this is your first time in Istanbul and you are on a budget, I cannot recommend Agora Guesthouse more highly. The reception staff are welcoming and helped with my enquiries, it is warm, always hot showers with good privacy and ample basin space, quiet, relaxing and seems to attract a very friendly traveller. The hostel has an excellent location for the tourist areas of Sultanahmet with the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar just a few streets away. The breakfast is consistently good - I particularly liked the homemade lentil and potato spring rolls, but with plenty of meats, cheese, cucumber, tomato, eggs, olives and fresh fruit on offer as well as cereals, juice and bread, I ate well each morning. The communal area was well serviced with tea available all day, and a couple of guidebooks and English novels. There were far more Japanese books, if that is of interest to you! The shared dorms were a good size, with huge lockers underneath the bed. It felt so safe though, that whilst the lockers remained locked, we left the door open, and I had no worries about anything that was left on my bed. The beds themselves were comfortable, and while I didn't sleep well every night (more to do with my sleeping pattern than anything about the room) the pillows and blankets provided were cosy. I moved from Agora for a change of scenery and I wish I was back there now as my new place is nowhere near as good.

Disliked: Nothing major. There was a leaking ceiling in the shared bathroom the whole time I was there, but it wasn't a problem, and I would think getting a plumber to fix it in the middle of winter would not be easy. Other than that I can't fault it. Excellent!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic hostel. Staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Bathrooms are really clean with high pressure showers. Rooms are great, nice and comfortable bunks. Wifi is strong throughout and the terrace breakfast, view, and location is awesome!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great view from rooftop. , friendly staff and good breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Couldnt ask for anything more for a hostel to explore istanbul. The roof terrace has commanding views over tbe bospherous to asia. Great facilities. Incredible location just 5 min walk from main sights: blue mosque, aya sofya and right next to good restaurants and bars.

Disliked: Hostel is not for the party crowd. It had a lot of travellers from south east asia who kept to themselves.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location. Friendly staff.Belongings felt secure with the lockers under the beds.

Disliked: Our dorm had one big bright light which can get annoying when people wake up early. Would also be nice is powerpoints were accessible at each bed.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: 10인 도미토리를 이용하였는데 매트리스 상태도 괜찮고 공간이 넓어서 불편함이없었습니다. 샤워시설은 언제든지 핫샤워와 만족스러운 수압을 가지고 있고. 아침은 깔끔하고 맛있게 먹을수 있음. 테라스 뷰는 다른곳에서도 비슷하게 볼수 있는 정도임. 난방시설은 잘갖추어져 있어서 덥다고 느낄정도였는데 만약 조절이 필요하면 리셉션으로 연락.

Disliked: 사물함은 미니 다이얼락을 사용하면 잠기지가 않음,(헛도는경우 발생)다이소나 철물점에서 파는 약간 두꺼운 일반 자물쇠를 사용해야 잠김.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

귀하의 의견 주셔서 감사합니다 :) 우리는 당신이 즐거운 여행을했고 다시 당신을보고 기대 듣고 다행입니다. 그것은 당신을 만나서 반갑습니다 다시 한 번 :) Vahap 수메르 아고라 관리자 우리에게 평가를 제공하려면 시간을 내 주셔서 감사합니다

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location in the heart of Sultanahmet; excellent breakfast; helpful staff

Disliked: Slow Internet connection and no complimentary tea/coffee service.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

There is no fiber-optic internet service available in Sultanahmet. So occasionally our internet service will slow down but we have the maximum speed we could purchase from TTNET. I would also like to mention that we have 3 cleaning crew, 2 people just for breakfast, 1 person for taking care of the terrace and 3 receptions. We do our best with cleaning. We never said we offer complementary tea/coffee service. We often times don't charge for tea and coffee and padlocks and even towels!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I only stayed here one night with two friends before a tour. The staff were helpful at checkin, giving us a lot of tips, directions. We stayed in female only dorm room. Standard bathrooms were unisex and communal, individual showers though so no problem with privacy. Good location, easy walk to Blue Mosque and other sights. Strong WiFi in all areas. Fantastic included breakfast with a lot of variety!

Disliked: Not a dislike, but some people might be worried by the setup in which rooms aren't locked nor do you get a key so you come and go as you please with staff at the front desk 24/7. A good size lock for the under bed lockers was a must for us to lock passport, valuables etc simply as a precaution for us.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The views are amazing. It's nice and quiet-very relaxing atmosphere.

Disliked: The dorm was noisy in the morning

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Atmosphere and location

Disliked: security

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability