HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Agora Guesthouse

Hostel | Akbiyik Caddesi ( street ), Amiral Tafdil Sokak No.6, Sultanahmet Istanbul, Turkey 34122

93.9% Overall Rating

366 out of 373 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/08/2013)

kyung sun seo thinks…

"the view at the rooftop was amazing. The breakfast was really nice. We stayed in a double room. It was like a hotel; he room with shower was nice they provided towels as well."

Read all Agora Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Bonjour Guesthouse
34.55 USD

Guesthouse 75.0% 4 reviews
Sultan's Eye Comfort Hotel
48.38 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Avicenna Hotel
100.62 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Eski Konak Hotel
41.47 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 64 reviews
Villa Pasha Hotel
138.22 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kaftan Hotel
52.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Sumengen Hotel
116.99 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
26.26 USD

Hostel 95.5% 299 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

366 out of 373 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Agora Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 344 of 367 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was very delicious and employess were kind in my tour.

Disliked: nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hasan Elias

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Hasan would recommend this property

Liked: It is near to main tourist attraction area.Peoples are good and friendly.

Disliked: None

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Very clean. Great lounge will terrace.

Disliked: Strangely, it lacked some personality. The other guests did not seem interested in interacting in any way. Slightly impersonal? For some, this might be a good thing.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hin Lung Tang

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Hin Lung would recommend this property

Liked: Nice sea view on roof

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

MIJIN GWAK

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 MIJIN would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: good

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kyung sun seo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 kyung sun would recommend this property

Liked: the view at the rooftop was amazing. The breakfast was really nice. We stayed in a double room. It was like a hotel; he room with shower was nice they provided towels as well.

Disliked: kyung sun left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were great and good location to the major sites, no need for public transport. They also had shuttle options to get there from the airport. The breakfast on the terrace was fantastic (as was the terrace) and the dorms had massive lockers under the bottom bunks to fit all your stuff. I also saw the staff cleaning the place a few times, it was definitely a clean hostel.

Disliked: Nothing major. The bathrooms/showers were great but the shower cubicles could have a shelf or something as well as the hooks to put your stuff. Also it was more a hotel atmosphere than a hostel if you are there specifically to meet people, otherwise it was absolutely fine.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is amazing. Rooftop terrace is great. Big lockers.

Disliked: Dorm Rooms are very clinical. Like a hospital. No room keys so always open. Roof terrace and common area close too early.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the guesthouse are fantastically helpful and made us feel extremely welcome. Agora is in the perfect location in the Old City - a two minute walk from the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia and a 10 minute walk from Sultanahmet tram stop. The room was very clean and we got fresh sheets and towels every day. The breakfast is great, and the roof terrace has lovely views over the Bosphorous. The guesthouse isn't licensed, so you can't a drink in the evening - however there are plenty of hotels on the same street that do, so it's really not a drawback. Can't recommend this place enough - stayed here as a couple on our first holiday and we had a brilliant time.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely one of the best hostels I've been to. Located right in the heart of Istanbul's main sightseeing area, big roof-terrace with an amazing view. You can also learn to play tavla there. They have a great all-you-can-nosh-buffet for breakfast. Also, staff is friendly and helpful and the cleanliness is above average.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely rooftop terrace for breakfast. Clean at all times. Staff very informative, helpful and friendly. Beds were comfortable. Great central location. Nice ambience and decor.

Disliked: Curtains didn't cover whole of window in room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Stone

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly & helpful staff. Fantastic location and beautiful rooftop terrace.

Disliked: Kate left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Manuel Rodriguez Porta

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Juan Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly clean. Best breafast EVER. Super friendly staff. (SUPER) Nice atmosphere. Not oriented to hard partying backpackers.

Disliked: Nothing at all. It was perfect. I would definitely recommend this property to someone.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Hung Lee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Ian Hung would recommend this property

Liked: Love the breakfast!!!!!!! Location is great just walk away from restaurant and the tourist points.

Disliked: Not this one

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruchit Kumbhani

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Ruchit would recommend this property

Liked: Agora Guesthouse was an amazing experience. I have traveled all around Europe, Africa, and Asia and stayed at various hostels/hotels and this ranks at the top. The staff is so friendly and had excelllent restaurant recommendations. In addition, the bathrooms, bedrooms, and lounge were always clean! WiFi connection was also very strong. I enjoyed my 10 days here very much and hope to return soon!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Douglas Koop

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Douglas would recommend this property

Liked: Everythin--great!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in a tourist area. Many main attractions are an easy walk. Big lockers provided. Everything was clean and comfortable. Good common room with nice view and good breakfast.mstaff were friendly and happy to help.

Disliked: We found that the recommendations given by staff (especially for food) were not that good. The hostel didn't really have an atmosphere where you could meet new people. Our room was right near reception and on the first night a staff member had his tv on super loud past midnight and on the second night a staff member engaged in a very loud conversation with a guest past midnight. You were not allowed to use the kitchen.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Baranee Kumar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012 Baranee would recommend this property

Liked: big rooms with opportunity to meet many others

Disliked: difficult to find for the first time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandra Grizas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The views of Istanbul and the Bosphorus were wonderful. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were very friendly and helfup. In fact, I stayed here 3x during my total trip to Turkey while I was traveling through Istanbul. I love the upstairs patio. I do wish it were open a bit later than midnight though. The rooms were pretty clean and quiet during sleeping hours. It is definitely better to stay elsewhere than the basement though as it does get hot down there. The location is perfect and it was relatively easy to find. Perfectly close to the train and the metro, as well as all of the major sites around Sultanahmet. I will absolutely go back!!

Disliked: I wish they had more clean blankets so I would know that someone else hadn't *just* used the same blanket right before me. I realize laundry is expensive, but 1x / week isn't enough to prevent others from getting bed bugs (if there every was an outbreak) or sick.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and kindly staff,good location,clean room and shower,good breakfast

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is spotless clean. Comfortable bed, best breakfast, wi-fi works well. Staffs are super friendly and helpful. The roof terrace has amazing view. Great atmosphere for meeting other travellers. And the location can't be better - less than 5 minutes walk to the blue mosque/Ayasofia and tram line. This is the best hostel in Istanbul, don't hesitate to book!

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JUAN MANUEL SOTOS RUBIO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012 JUAN MANUEL would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place, very good staff, very good breakfast.

Disliked: JUAN MANUEL left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonneke van der Voort

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 Leonneke would recommend this property

Liked: - It was incredibly clean, all times of day - Location is good, close to Blue Mosque, however I would prefer stay in a less touristic area. But if you want to stay in Sultanahmet, this location is excellent! - Breakfast is very good, and the view is amazing. - Beds are very good! (I didn't even notice the person above me climbing in the bed and slept perfectly)

Disliked: - Lot of Americans and Japanese people stayed here, there is no good mix in travelers, but that's not the hostels fault. - Personnel is okay, but not extremely friendly, not what you could expect in Turkey. However, I think for Sultanahmet's standards they were very friendly ;) - Dorms are not really fresh, since there's only one small window. And with 8 people sleeping there, it is not really fresh.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, helpful staff

Disliked: None