We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Istanbul Harmony Hostel

Hostel | Hoca pasa Mah. Hudavendigar, Cad. No Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey 34400

86.1% Overall Rating

260 out of 311 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/02/2015)

"It's a nice hostel!Clean and cheep and kindly staff.And then breakfast is so tasty!"

Read all Istanbul Harmony Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: 3 day before arrival. Payment on arrival: credit cards, cash. Taxes are included. Breakfast is included.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Erbil Hotel
33.68 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kafkas Hotel Istanbul
29.29 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
BEST NOBEL HOTEL
47.95 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Agan
24.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.9% 118 reviews
Sultan Hotel
36.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 103 reviews
Hotel Esen
49.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.6% 39 reviews
Ipek Palace Hotel
63.42 USD

Hotel 4 star 78.2% 13 reviews
Second Home hostel
14.64 USD

Hostel 93.6% 621 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.1%

Overall Rating

260 out of 311 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Istanbul Harmony Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 280 of 295 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Peter Brazil

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2015 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and atmosphere, great value

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2015

Liked: Great location: this place has nothing else going for it

Disliked: No lockers: I had to carry around my laptop, money and passport all day every day as there is nowhere to store it. I ONlY ever book hostels with lockers: this is extreme deception by the hostel on their HostelBookers profile. Also said free towel: so I didn't bring one: then got told "not everything I read on the Internet is right" No maps of the city, I had to go to a neighbour using hostel. Wifi doesn't work. Worked for about 5 mins every 24 hours. Staff barely speak English. Kept telling me I was beautiful lady:how about you stop telling me I'm beautiful and actually do your job. No locks on front door or even on bedrooms: anyone could walk in from the street. I honestly don't understand how this place has such a high rating.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice hostel!Clean and cheep and kindly staff.And then breakfast is so tasty!

Disliked: nothing special

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The terrace is perfect to hang out, you can have very nice food there and drinks and enjoy the view. I liked the breakfast. Very friendly staff. Comfortalble beds where you can store your stuff inside. Great location for visiting the Sultanahmet area.

Disliked: There were some problems with wi-fi in the rooms but they are working on it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

joe agnew

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

17 October 2014 joe would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location and comfy proper beds, where you could store your bags. Good Breakfast. Good Wifi. Excellent roof terrace for breakfast and evening chat with beer. Big Credit to Ihab who ran the bar and catering upstairs. If you are lucky he will cook for you for a few lira, had a great Turkish meal. Please get yourself here, ideal location and all great staff!.....we even stopped an extra night...10/10!!

Disliked: Toilet door had no lock on it. Apart from that....nothing else!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tea Habazin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 October 2013 Tea would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely LOVED the beds in dorms which you can lift and have a storage underneath - the best idea ever!! I've stayed in many hostels, but this one was the best in terms of being comfortable with storing my belongings and being able to access them easily! And that's usually always a problem when staying in dorms... here I had a whole under-the-bed surface to use as my closet, and putting the bed down, everything looked nice and tidy :) The guys working at the hostel are really nice and friendly, breakfast is very good, and the dinner they make if enough people sign up are good too. Location is great for tourism, a few minutes walk from all the main cultural locations. If you are more into partying, then the location is not the best, but for me it was a good central spot to be close to touristic stuff everyday, and the tram stop and ferry stop to cross to the asian side are a few minutes walking distance so it's great overall. Bathroom is in the room, clean and nice!

Disliked: There were very few plug ins in the room to charge cameras/phones. maybe they put some more until now.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The roof-top terrace, it was the reason I booked and it didn't disappoint. the staff were excellent.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pablo Fernandez Castellanos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone in the staff were really friendly (and are good players of backgammon and chess if you want to play with them) and very nice to meet. The room where we stayed had a sofa and two armchairs, which made a friendly atmosphere to talk with the roommates. The location is just great.

Disliked: There are too many stairs, but that's sort of a good point if you want to do some exercise.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice. The hostel has a terrace which is a nice place to get to know new people. The location in the old part of Istanbul is also great to discover the city on foot.

Disliked: I stayed in a 12 bed room which was equipped only with one shower and one toilet. That's too few for all the people. Furthermore, the rooms are looked by an electronic system. Unfortunately, in our room the system didn't work. But nothing was stolen. Moreover, a kitchen to cook would be nice.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mark Enrieu

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 July 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Very Centrally located

Disliked: Getting up and down the floors was a bit of a hassle - particulary when the lift did not go to the top floor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizaveta Suprun

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Elizaveta would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, very knowledgable staff, gıve you many advıce and ıdeas of places to see

Disliked: nothing eveything was perfect except AC was too noısy at nıght

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marius David

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Marius would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good atmosphere and the best people, which all make the best experience in Istanbul.

Disliked: Nothing worth mentioning.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean modern rooms with seperate Shower and bathroom very clean and well equipped Nice friendly informative staff

Disliked: nothing :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Bent

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2013 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were the BEST! I ended up staying for another 3 nights. Breakfast was brilliant, the rooftop terrace always had a lot happening. Even a BBQ was organised most nights by the staff, which included local Fish, veggies and bread. It was a cheap meal, but absolutely amazing! I can not speak any more highly of this Hostel. After many trips around the world this Hostel is my favourite!

Disliked: Impossible to Dislike Anything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff that are always willing to help you out, Great food, They had a fish barbecue every other night that was awesome. Good location, close to all the main tourist attractions. The rooftop Bar/common room had a great atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location handy for tram -arrived late at night easily via metro and tram to Gulhane -enter through the carpet shop! Easy access by foot to main sights and ferries. Travelling as family with teenage children we weren't too involved with BBQ/party etc but would be more sociable if travelling alone and appreciate those activities offered more. Enjoyed breakfast on the roof.

Disliked: Would not be great if you are nervous about health and safety as distinctly dodgy looking wiring , wobbly bannisters etc still make you choose the numerous stairs rather than take the lift

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Petchareeporn Tiemchaibutr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 Petchareeporn would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs there are very helpful. Even give me 1 TYR to pay the token to get to Ataturk airport Thanks

Disliked: The terrace is too small and the seat on the floors seem not so clean. The electricity plug at room not enough for everybody and fix location. Have to go to other people's bed to charge my phone

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The terrace on the top floor is really cool. The staff are very friendly. They organised a fish BBQ for us and it was one of the nicest meals I've had! The location is great; walking distance from the Blue Mosque and the Grand Bazaar. Very easy to get to from the airport aswell.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was really great choice! Staff was brilliant. They were helping as friends not just like workers. Location is wonderful - Hagia Sophia is seen from the terrase. Just great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Das Hostel hatte eine sehr gute Lage in der Naehe vom Bahnhof und zu den Hauptsehenswuerdigkeiten. Es gab freien Tee, der sogar lecker war.

Disliked: Das Hostel war mitten in den Umbauarbeiten und die Handwerker sind waehrend wir da waren und auch bei Verlassen des Hostels in unser Zimmer gekommmen, um weiter zu renovieren. Die Dachterasse, die eigentlich schoen seien haette koenen war vollkommen zugemuellt.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: no wi-fi in the rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is pretty good, just about 50m from the Gulhane station on the tram line. You can also just walk to the tourist sites or Eminonu since either way only takes about 10 minutes. Staff are nice; they'd love to help solve problems as there are really some facilities issues. Restaurants, gift shops and bufes are just everywhere cuz it's almost on the center of tourist area; although, respectively, price of everything is much higher.

Disliked: No wifi in the dorm but they have it downstairs in the lobby and also in the terrace. No heating either, so it may quite cold during severe winter, especially those snowy days. However, that would be not a problem if you travel before the middle of December. Guess any day before that would be ok to stay in Istanbul. I just got a bad luck :( The very last thing, why does the laundry service nearby cost such a lot, 8 lira per kilogram?! (Sorry that is not the problem of this hostel; in fact, the staff really glad to help you find the laundry)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Harmony Haft

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Harmony would recommend this property

Liked: The location could not have been better. It is a few minutes walk away from the Aya Sophia, Palace and Blue Mosque. There is also a street close-by with tons of good Turkish restaurants. The hostel is the cheapest you can get and pretty clean with an awesome relaxation area on the roof. WiFi was good and free breakfasts and sometimes dinner was awesome. The staff was really friendly as well. I would stay there again.

Disliked: It could be cleaner and they do not give out locks like other hostels do. Other than that, it's great.