HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Best Island Hostel

Hostel | Kutlugun sokak 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey 34144

73.5% Overall Rating

102 out of 163 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

MATHIS Véronique thinks…

"we liked the geographic position nearby Hagia Sophia We appreciated a lot the staff (reception), specially Alexander"

Read all Best Island Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Credit cards not accepted. Balance to be paid in cash on arrival. Cancellation Policy 1. Cancellations must be made 48 hours prior to arrival. Late cancellations or no-shows will be charged for the first night’s stay. No penalty for cancellations up to 48 hours. 2. Cancellations made after 48 hours destination time will be assessed a 1 night room rate. 3. If the customer does not arrive at the hotel or check out early, the customer will be liable to pay full charges.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Antique Hostel - Guest House
17.97 USD

Hostel 88.7% 449 reviews
Orient Hostel
15.20 USD

Hostel 93.4% 394 reviews
Metropolis Hostel
19.35 USD

Hostel 95.2% 1925 reviews
New backpackers
16.59 USD

Hostel 77.6% 53 reviews
Sultan Hostel
15.20 USD

Hostel 87.9% 531 reviews
Star Hotel Istanbul
49.72 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mavi Guesthouse
11.20 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 90 reviews
Bahaus Hostel
20.73 USD

Hostel 88.5% 131 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.5%

Overall Rating

102 out of 163 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Best Island Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
73.6%
Value
75.2%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 123 of 154 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

MATHIS Véronique

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014

Liked: we liked the geographic position nearby Hagia Sophia We appreciated a lot the staff (reception), specially Alexander

Disliked: The tiny room(7m2 maxi) in one under ground, without chair, table, carries(wears) coat! nothing but a bed The improbable toilets between the kitchen and the reception, a floor above

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 January 2014

Liked: location is the best, it's five minutes distance from the Old Town.

Disliked: There was only one bathroom on each floor, and there were not clean enough. The beds were small and one couldn't sit on the first floor-bed. There was a terrible smell in the hole building.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best price for this location - everything in a walking distance, metro not far away. cheapest hostel but even breakfast :)

Disliked: rundown and facilities partly broken - but for this excellent price it was okay - perfect budget traveller hostel

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2013

Liked: The location is pretty good.

Disliked: Freezing cold rooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tony Hardiyanto

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013

Liked: perfect location

Disliked: no kitchen,the staff is rude

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very-very close to the Aya Sofya, Sultanahmet mosque and Topkapi Palace. Staff are friendly and helpful. One of the cheapest hostel in the area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013

Liked: Very central. Breakfasts good (breakfast ladies very pleasant).

Disliked: Too few toilets & showers. Too much crowding in dorms & quite noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andre Frois

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Volcan, was very forthcoming and hospitable to us. He introduced us to a frıend who helped us book a fantastic, memorabie package trip around Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ephesus, which all took place without a hıtch.

Disliked: Andre left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Carlos Camelo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was good.

Disliked: The facilities were not that clean, the shower wasn't working and the staff wasn't very nice.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

SHOTA KUROSAWA

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 August 2013 SHOTA would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location in spite of the low price. The owner and his wife were ready to help and they helped me solve a problem I had with another guest. Also we had our laundry done for cheap.

Disliked: Just a tip, if You are staying on the terrace think of taking a sleeping bag with You, it gets pretty chilly.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jonathan Machuca

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The different offers to go around the city.

Disliked: The receptionist (woman) wasn't kind at all.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jessica Marulanda

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: The room that we had reserved wasn't ready in which was a private since we were traveling with kids. Then, there was a group of children that were slamming the doors and were being really loud.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lewis Johnston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: Some good facilities such as free wi-fi and a computer to use for free. There is also a printer to use. Breakfast, rooms and bathroom facilities were adaquate.

Disliked: Not quite as described on the website and as a result could get cheaper accomodation

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was as described, much cleaner than I was expecting, in an excellent location, the staff helped me with bus booking etc, good wifi. I stayed on the roof terrace (note the bar is now a dorm, which you walk through to get to the Terrace) and was provided with blankets/pillows. This is a good spot to stay if you want to meet people. I didn't go into the rooms, but they looked quite nice from walking past. The upper dorm and obviously the Terrace don't have locks/lockers, but you can leave valuables in the safe at reception. Toilets/showers on all the indoor levels and had hot water. Free computers too, in the basement. All in all, I was pleasantly surprised and I think any experienced traveller will appreciate this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Padley

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: well located, fairly quiet by istanbul standards but easy for main sights

Disliked: room a bit small but it is value for money they say on here they have a rooftop bar but when we were there is was a dorm not a bar so we couldn't access the rooftop

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013

Liked: The only positive things to say is the location is excellent and the staff are friendly otherwise this is probably the worst hostel we've ever stayed in.

Disliked: We are not fussy people. We arrived and checked in at 1130- midnight initially into someone else's room as there was underwear on the bed and a bag of gear. Luckily the occupants weren't there and we were able to change rooms. Unfortunately it was into a very small room with no window or terrace even though we had booked a deluxe room. The shared bathroom resembled what I expect a prison shower might look like - dark room where the light turns off every few mins until you move again. The shower head was broken so we essentially had to Take turns hosing each other down with frigid water in what better resembled a scene from the shawshank redemption rather than a 40+ euro per night double room. The hostel including our room and bathroom was pretty disgusting - there was a constant puddle in the bathroom and our room didnt appear very clean. The walls are also paper thin so you can hear every word of conversations taking place in the corridor. The great location is certainly not worth the experience of staying in this hostel

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

20 May 2013

Liked: To be honest nothing.

Disliked: Not enough space, breakfast, mattress was uncomfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ahmet guner

Alone

Partying / nightlife

20 May 2013 ahmet would recommend this property

Liked: location was perfect

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013

Liked: great location, top floor - an open terrace where nice to sleep in the heat

Disliked: we are faced with a queue in the shower and the toilet :) would separate shower and toilet, the problem would be solved (imho)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 April 2013

Liked: Location, friendliness of some of the staff contrasting the rudeness of the landlord

Disliked: bathroom doors that would not shut, bedbugs

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kal Bakash

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Kal would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good for me.

Disliked: Good location in the heart of the tourist area. Nice rooftop where you can smoke a cigarette and enjoy a view of Istanbul. The showers are not too bad as ohers have described it. I had no problem with it. Good hot water showers. Free towels and free breakfast is definitely a plus. They got me a van at 250am to go to the airport for only 5 Euros. The van made about 4 other stops to nearby hotels to pick up others passengers. That only took about 10 minutes. The price of a dorm room is good compared to other hostels in Istanbul.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

STEPHEN GYAMBIBI

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013

Liked: About the location. is really easy to locate

Disliked: About the services on break fast. Room or dorm services. Shower & toilet services.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2013

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Everything. The disorganised staff, the filthiest rooms I have ever seen in a hostel, it was freezing cold ( I got sick because of the cold), they provided one thin blanket in the middle of Winter, breakfast was terrible and held in a tiny windowless basement and worst of all there was water dripping on to my bed from the cieling all night. I would seriously consider sleeping in the street before staying here again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Kuedtava

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: wery good prıce thank you best ısland hostel

Disliked: Olga left no negative feedback.