We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Best Island Hostel

Hostel | Kutlugun sokak 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey 34144

65.9% Overall Rating

123 out of 198 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/12/2014)

sunny lee thinks…

"the first thing that comes into my mind would be the surprising view we had from our dormitory. best island hostel is located right between the blue mosque and aniya sophia and the smallest sea in…"

Read all Best Island Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.19

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Credit cards not accepted. Balance to be paid in cash on arrival. Cancellation Policy 1. Cancellations must be made 48 hours prior to arrival. Late cancellations or no-shows will be charged for the first night’s stay. No penalty for cancellations up to 48 hours. 2. Cancellations made after 48 hours destination time will be assessed a 1 night room rate. 3. If the customer does not arrive at the hotel or check out early, the customer will be liable to pay full charges.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Antique Hostel - Guest House
15.18 USD

Hostel 88.7% 449 reviews
Orient Hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 88.8% 413 reviews
Metropolis Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 95.8% 1977 reviews
New backpackers
15.18 USD

Hostel 75.7% 61 reviews
Sultan Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 86.9% 554 reviews
Star Hotel Istanbul
24.67 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mavi Guesthouse
13.38 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 99 reviews
Alaaddin Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.4% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

123 out of 198 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Best Island Hostel'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
55.2%
Staff
64.8%
Value
72.8%
Safety
63.2%
Refine your results Showing 146 of 185 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sunny lee

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2014 sunny would recommend this property

Liked: the first thing that comes into my mind would be the surprising view we had from our dormitory. best island hostel is located right between the blue mosque and aniya sophia and the smallest sea in the world. and we enjoyed night walking a lot in the garden where between the blue mosque and aniya sophia(there are beautiful fountain). there are no better view to have if you visit Istanbul! in a couple of steps you end up at the tram station which will take you to almost anywhere you need to go in Istanbul. The proximity of the seashore (very close from hostel) can provide the sports lovers an amazing jogging course as well as a cool place to swim with local people like hassan . All the other basic facilities like Hot water,breakfast, good speed WiFi,drinks selling machine,laundry and travel agency as well are pretty satisfying! but the most important thing I've felt over here is, i felt at home. The staff as well as the managers are very friendly and always ready to help you out if they can! so we came back here again to go Bulgaria after ismir, salchuk, pamukcale, capadokia*^^* Istanbul would simply not have been the same if we didn't stay over here.... thanks to the best island team.....

Disliked: well i don't have much to say about what i have disliked here....except that you do have to clime up the stairs to reach the dormitory but its actually a very good exercise,sorry for the elevator's lovers! lol cheers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

DACE SAULITE

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2014 DACE would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the historic center.

Disliked: Lack of order toilets and showers, in need of repair.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Manuel Royo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2014

Liked: Just the location

Disliked: I booked the cheapest dorm because I was traveling in a budget and once I arrived they told me they don't have that space at the moment (even if I booked the same day) so they offer me another more expensive and I said I couldn't take it. Also I had another cheap option, so I said it was not my fault. They spoken to me in a very unpolite way because I didn't want to pay more. Finally they gave me the dorm, but I can't recommend them at all

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Roberto Canadillas

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014

Liked: Location.95%of Istanbul hostels are in the same area though

Disliked: No kitchen or self catering as advertised,also not currency exchange,hot water,common areas,lounge,as advertised too Wifi not working.Filthy rooms,smell of damp,unbreathable,rude staff,dirty terrace,really bad breakfast.no window in the room. The worst hostel i have even seen

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

ANA Alvarado

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014

Liked: We stayed in the terrace and it was nice.

Disliked: If it is august it s better not to go to shared room, so hot you can't sleep. Just 4 showers and 2 wc in all the hostel! 2 showers don't have anything at all to place your things , just the floor , very unconfortable People sleeping in the corridors!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Seyyed Davood Moosavifard

Alone

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2014 Seyyed Davood would recommend this property

Liked: the terrace

Disliked: very close beds

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emeric Renard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2014 Emeric would recommend this property

Liked: The people that worked their and that I could meet.

Disliked: Once again, the showers...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and view

Disliked: Staff was rather slow with queries and we got moved a lot, a little disorganized

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, really good Turkish breakfast. Super friendly helpful staff.

Disliked: Not really enough showers for the number of people especially as lights were completely broken in 2 of the 4. We booked a bus ticket through the advertised service here + when we got on the bus we could see the ticket price was 40 but we'd paid 75 each so go to the bus stop yourself instead of booking at the hostel for sure!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014

Liked: The location and (when I actually received a dry mattress) the balcony to sleep on.

Disliked: When I arrived, the receptionist was more interested in half naked wandering females than the task at hand, didn't give me any information at all, only told me to walk up to the top of the building. Very unhelpful. But the other worker I met was alot more helpful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Bethany Bilston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014 Bethany would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great and the staff are so friendly and helpful. Showed us somewhere to grab dinner and answered all our questions. Wifi is great too.

Disliked: Shower on the ground floor is pretty disgusting. Kitchen is very bad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Realy enjoyed stay, would visit again

Disliked: Lack of hygiene,

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing, and the big dorm and terrace have amazing views! The staff are lovely and super helpful.

Disliked: There's not much security.. no keys, doors or lockers for the dorm, and you have to hold the shower head when you shower.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucy Curl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2014 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, view from the dorm looks directly at the Sofia. The hostel is right in the heart of Istanbul with easy access to all the main tourist spots. Free breakfast and incredible helpful staff.

Disliked: Shower facilities were mostly broken.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cicely Barnett

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Cicely would recommend this property

Liked: the staff, especially Alex, were super friendly, chatty and very very funny, made us laugh a lot :) great value for money, great location with a view on the Aya Sofia from our room and from the rooftop terrace, and a lovely free breakfast outside every morning.

Disliked: loved it

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was obviously amazing and the guys that work at the Best Island are really helpfull and a lot of fun. I would definitely recomend it to anyone who has traveled on a budged before. If you ask me you get more than what you pay for location wise and admosphere wise.

Disliked: the facilitys were not clean a lot of the time (mostly the tiolets)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is AMAZING. I had a view of the Hagia Sofia from the dorm and it's walking distance to all of the tourist attractions and the tram. Breakfast is good but if you're accustomed to huge portions, you may be dissatisfied. There was hot water for showers, even on a Friday night. The cat and dog are cute and friendly. Can't beat it for the price.

Disliked: The directions are Terrible. They don't take credit cards. No secure lockers, although there is a safe at reception. There is a fine ($25 USD) for doing any clothes washing in the sink or shower.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014

Liked: friendly people

Disliked: I booked a double with bathroom. It turned out to NOT have a window. I switched into another room WITH window but NO bathroom.For that way too expensiv. There was no door between hallway and the shared washbowl! No light and no window at the washbowl. No wall holder for the shower. In the ad they proudly mention a Terrace Café which not exists. Breakfast and lounge is on the sidewalk.. He said it would bother the neighbors to use the terrace!? We had to pay on arrival but it took 4 days to get the receipt

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalia Prokofyeva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2014 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and price, nice and helpfull staff

Disliked: Natalia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Polina Slavyanskaya

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014 Polina would recommend this property

Liked: helpfull staff

Disliked: Polina left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 May 2014

Liked: location is perfect for touristy sultanahmet. main manager guy is really friendly and helpful. seems like they've really improved the cleanliness since some earlier reviews, too.

Disliked: terrace/tent is ridiculous when it rains. totally uncovered so they moved us all into the hallways of the hostel. i was right next to several rooms of vivacious dutch youngsters that arrived after midnight and proceeded to spend the next half hour talking and laughing loudly in the hallway. the light was clicking on and off above me everytime i turned over because it's motion sensitive. they were having such a fun, exciting vacation. i told them to shut up and that seemed to help. oh yeah, and they didn't even give me a matress. i got a couple thicknesses of cheap blanket between me and a hard floor. am i a cheapskate or an f ing refugee?

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014

Liked: The location and the staff..

Disliked: The facilities,the cleanliness.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

MATHIS Véronique

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014

Liked: we liked the geographic position nearby Hagia Sophia We appreciated a lot the staff (reception), specially Alexander

Disliked: The tiny room(7m2 maxi) in one under ground, without chair, table, carries(wears) coat! nothing but a bed The improbable toilets between the kitchen and the reception, a floor above