HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Best Island Hostel

Hostel | Kutlugun sokak 5 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey 34144

72.0% Overall Rating

120 out of 190 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2014)

"The location and (when I actually received a dry mattress) the balcony to sleep on."

Read all Best Island Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Credit cards not accepted. Balance to be paid in cash on arrival. Cancellation Policy 1. Cancellations must be made 48 hours prior to arrival. Late cancellations or no-shows will be charged for the first night’s stay. No penalty for cancellations up to 48 hours. 2. Cancellations made after 48 hours destination time will be assessed a 1 night room rate. 3. If the customer does not arrive at the hotel or check out early, the customer will be liable to pay full charges.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Antique Hostel - Guest House
18.38 USD

Hostel 88.7% 449 reviews
Orient Hostel
13.13 USD

Hostel 88.7% 412 reviews
Metropolis Hostel
21.01 USD

Hostel 95.3% 1964 reviews
New backpackers
15.76 USD

Hostel 74.6% 59 reviews
Sultan Hostel
17.07 USD

Hostel 83.7% 552 reviews
Star Hotel Istanbul
25.61 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mavi Guesthouse
9.18 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 98 reviews
Bahaus Hostel
19.70 USD

Hostel 88.5% 131 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.0%

Overall Rating

120 out of 190 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Best Island Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
74.4%
Value
77.6%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 141 of 178 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Seyyed Davood Moosavifard

Alone

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2014 Seyyed Davood would recommend this property

Liked: the terrace

Disliked: very close beds

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emeric Renard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2014 Emeric would recommend this property

Liked: The people that worked their and that I could meet.

Disliked: Once again, the showers...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and view

Disliked: Staff was rather slow with queries and we got moved a lot, a little disorganized

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, really good Turkish breakfast. Super friendly helpful staff.

Disliked: Not really enough showers for the number of people especially as lights were completely broken in 2 of the 4. We booked a bus ticket through the advertised service here + when we got on the bus we could see the ticket price was 40 but we'd paid 75 each so go to the bus stop yourself instead of booking at the hostel for sure!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014

Liked: The location and (when I actually received a dry mattress) the balcony to sleep on.

Disliked: When I arrived, the receptionist was more interested in half naked wandering females than the task at hand, didn't give me any information at all, only told me to walk up to the top of the building. Very unhelpful. But the other worker I met was alot more helpful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Bethany Bilston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014 Bethany would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great and the staff are so friendly and helpful. Showed us somewhere to grab dinner and answered all our questions. Wifi is great too.

Disliked: Shower on the ground floor is pretty disgusting. Kitchen is very bad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Realy enjoyed stay, would visit again

Disliked: Lack of hygiene,

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing, and the big dorm and terrace have amazing views! The staff are lovely and super helpful.

Disliked: There's not much security.. no keys, doors or lockers for the dorm, and you have to hold the shower head when you shower.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucy Curl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2014 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, view from the dorm looks directly at the Sofia. The hostel is right in the heart of Istanbul with easy access to all the main tourist spots. Free breakfast and incredible helpful staff.

Disliked: Shower facilities were mostly broken.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cicely Barnett

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Cicely would recommend this property

Liked: the staff, especially Alex, were super friendly, chatty and very very funny, made us laugh a lot :) great value for money, great location with a view on the Aya Sofia from our room and from the rooftop terrace, and a lovely free breakfast outside every morning.

Disliked: loved it

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was obviously amazing and the guys that work at the Best Island are really helpfull and a lot of fun. I would definitely recomend it to anyone who has traveled on a budged before. If you ask me you get more than what you pay for location wise and admosphere wise.

Disliked: the facilitys were not clean a lot of the time (mostly the tiolets)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is AMAZING. I had a view of the Hagia Sofia from the dorm and it's walking distance to all of the tourist attractions and the tram. Breakfast is good but if you're accustomed to huge portions, you may be dissatisfied. There was hot water for showers, even on a Friday night. The cat and dog are cute and friendly. Can't beat it for the price.

Disliked: The directions are Terrible. They don't take credit cards. No secure lockers, although there is a safe at reception. There is a fine ($25 USD) for doing any clothes washing in the sink or shower.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014

Liked: friendly people

Disliked: I booked a double with bathroom. It turned out to NOT have a window. I switched into another room WITH window but NO bathroom.For that way too expensiv. There was no door between hallway and the shared washbowl! No light and no window at the washbowl. No wall holder for the shower. In the ad they proudly mention a Terrace Café which not exists. Breakfast and lounge is on the sidewalk.. He said it would bother the neighbors to use the terrace!? We had to pay on arrival but it took 4 days to get the receipt

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalia Prokofyeva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2014 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and price, nice and helpfull staff

Disliked: Natalia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Polina Slavyanskaya

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014 Polina would recommend this property

Liked: helpfull staff

Disliked: Polina left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 May 2014

Liked: location is perfect for touristy sultanahmet. main manager guy is really friendly and helpful. seems like they've really improved the cleanliness since some earlier reviews, too.

Disliked: terrace/tent is ridiculous when it rains. totally uncovered so they moved us all into the hallways of the hostel. i was right next to several rooms of vivacious dutch youngsters that arrived after midnight and proceeded to spend the next half hour talking and laughing loudly in the hallway. the light was clicking on and off above me everytime i turned over because it's motion sensitive. they were having such a fun, exciting vacation. i told them to shut up and that seemed to help. oh yeah, and they didn't even give me a matress. i got a couple thicknesses of cheap blanket between me and a hard floor. am i a cheapskate or an f ing refugee?

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014

Liked: The location and the staff..

Disliked: The facilities,the cleanliness.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

MATHIS Véronique

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014

Liked: we liked the geographic position nearby Hagia Sophia We appreciated a lot the staff (reception), specially Alexander

Disliked: The tiny room(7m2 maxi) in one under ground, without chair, table, carries(wears) coat! nothing but a bed The improbable toilets between the kitchen and the reception, a floor above

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 January 2014

Liked: location is the best, it's five minutes distance from the Old Town.

Disliked: There was only one bathroom on each floor, and there were not clean enough. The beds were small and one couldn't sit on the first floor-bed. There was a terrible smell in the hole building.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best price for this location - everything in a walking distance, metro not far away. cheapest hostel but even breakfast :)

Disliked: rundown and facilities partly broken - but for this excellent price it was okay - perfect budget traveller hostel

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2013

Liked: The location is pretty good.

Disliked: Freezing cold rooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tony Hardiyanto

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013

Liked: perfect location

Disliked: no kitchen,the staff is rude

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very-very close to the Aya Sofya, Sultanahmet mosque and Topkapi Palace. Staff are friendly and helpful. One of the cheapest hostel in the area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.