We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Second Home hostel

Hostel | Hocapasa Mahallesi Ebussuud, Caddesi No : 19 Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey 34110

93.6% Overall Rating

607 out of 621 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2015)

Rebecca Wong thinks…

"I was travelling with a friend and we booked the 9 bed dorm room. The facilities are sufficient and the room is cleaned daily. They provided individual locked drawers to keep any valuables you may…"

Read all Second Home hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Ipek Palace Hotel
63.42 USD

Hotel 4 star 78.2% 13 reviews
Sultan Hotel
36.04 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 103 reviews
Hotel Esen
49.56 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.6% 39 reviews
Hotel Agan
24.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.9% 118 reviews
BEST NOBEL HOTEL
47.64 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Istanbul Central Hotel
30.98 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Kafkas Hotel Istanbul
29.29 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
11.26 USD

Hostel 86.1% 311 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.6%

Overall Rating

607 out of 621 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Second Home hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 531 of 604 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Wong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2015 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: I was travelling with a friend and we booked the 9 bed dorm room. The facilities are sufficient and the room is cleaned daily. They provided individual locked drawers to keep any valuables you may have. The rooftop bar provides a lovely view and is a great area to relax with fellow travellers - there's a whole stack of giant pillows available for you to lay on. Keep in mind that there is no bar at the hostel but everyone is more than welcome to bring their own, there is a store about 100 metres away. The hostel is clean and offers all services (airport shuttle, tours around Istanbul and Turkey, laundry service, etc) to ensure your stay is pleasant. There is free Wifi available throughout the hostel. Breakfast is included with your stay, and although it is simple, there is variety to accommodate for all travellers. It is located in the Sultanahmet, Fatih area and is a short walk to the main attractions such as the Sultan Ahmed/Blue Mosque, Topaki Palace and Spice Bazaar. The moment you walk in, you are greeted by a handshake and a big smile (and an impressive moustache if you're lucky enough to be greeted by Memo). The guys that work here go above and beyond the call to make you feel right at home. They are very knowledgeable and are keen to give tips of great places to see around Istanbul that you may not find in an average guide book. They honestly just want to showcase their city and make sure you have a good time. Thanks guys, we arrived hoping to see some sights, eat some great food and get some culture but we've also walked away with some amazing new friends!

Disliked: As we stayed during peak summer times, the 9 bed dorm room did not have air conditioning and the air in the room was still. However, management provided us with a floor fan for the room while helped immensely! You just need to keep this in mind while booking, most other rooms are equipped with air conditioning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Heck

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2015 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere and staff, great rooftop hangout, Saturday night dinner was AMAZING!! Beds were comfy and you cannot beat the location.

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location! Very close to markets, shops, restaurants, tourist attractions and public transport. Room was very large, incredibly spacious. Clean, new bathing area. AC for when it got hot. Double curtains to pull so room was dark at night. Safe and secure with double doors which were heavy steel. Good mix of local life and tourists. I had access to the hostel common area and kitchen. Helpful, english-speaking staff at reception.

Disliked: Breakfast was carb-heavy for my preferences, but seems to be in line with european hostel standards. Contact page on website didn't work (with multiple attempts) to arrange transport from airport to hotel so had to take a taxi which was way over-priced. Laundry service was expensive.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Some of the staff were friendly and the atmoshere was nice. The shower in the single room was excellent with a good pressure.

Disliked: The single room on the 4th floor stinks pretty bad. The room was also very dark because the window was almost sealed.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shangjun Chen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2015 Shangjun would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: rooms are too small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Christo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 June 2015 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: This place is perfect for everything a backbacking traveler would ever want or need. Super friendly, very convenient for both location and services. You'll have a great time as the staff help you settle in and point you in the right directions to have a great time in Istanbul.

Disliked: Was in single room and security on the lock was fine. There is only a storage area for bags during check out which doesn't have locks. However the staff are very helpful in watching over small valuables I didn't want to carry around Istanbul during the check out.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Toilets smelled and only 2 on the floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Allison Weibel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2015 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful- they carried my bag, made conversation- great water pressure- good breakfast- wifi connection was strong- good location near mosque/hagia sofia, but also near galata bridge to get to taksim and new Maramay subway to get to asain side- Great value!

Disliked: Dorm is in the basement, so really easy to hear street sounds all night and morning- website wasn't 100% clear that lockers didn't have a lock- no lock on dorm door, but still felt safe and secure.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people.

Disliked: Breakfast, which is normally really amazing in Turkey, was very basic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel King

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2015 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here are absolutely wonderful. They will help you out in any way possible to make sure you have a good time. I chose this hostel because of the positive reviews I saw posted and I am so thankful I did. This place really is like a second home and the staff makes sure that everyone is included. On Saturdays they have a Turkish dinner for everyone to share and apart from being delicious, it's also a great opportunity to socialize. The people here have been so helpful. I had a problem with a tour I had booked and Memo called three different tour companies until the problem was solved. The staff here will go out of their way to help you. You can't get this kind of service at other places. STAY HERE! You will fall in love with this place and the people who work here.

Disliked: Streets are somewhat noisy at night but the location here is great so it's worth it despite the traffic at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marina Grant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2015 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: It is with great pleasure, that I submit this review of Second Home Hostel. Two of the biggest qualities that I hold close to me with regards to hostels are the location and level of cleanliness. Second Home Hostel is seven minutes walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, the Cistern and Topkapi Palace. There are also numerous eating establishments within 2 minutes walk of the hostel as well. The toilets and main areas were maintained to a very high level as well. The most special thing about the place are the staff though. Memo helped me make the most of my 5 days in Istanbul by booking me tours to areas such as Bursa and the Prince Islands. Tugba was a sweetie who spend a great deal of time talking about her fantastic city and keeping me company during breakfast (delicious by the way). I would highly recommend this place. Plus their house cats are adorable!!!

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Callum Snell

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 May 2015 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: Really decent location; just a minute walk from a tramline stop and only 5-10 minutes on foot to all the main sights like Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar and Blue Mosque. The staff at the hostel are all helpful and happy to assist. Plenty of information is provided on tours, sights etc. Taxi services to and from airport are both cost effective and efficient.

Disliked: Not an awful lot to be honest, though the room was a bit too humid at times. The early mosque calls are loud and can distract sleep, though I'm mindful of other cultures and faith so that's not really a criticism!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriela Elizabeth Fioriti Teruel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2015 Gabriela Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far the best hostel I stayed in during my trip, it's really like a second home. The people working there and frequent travellers are great, they make you feel like being among old friends and promote socialization between travellers, one time they even cooked for us and organized a disco night out. :) So if you want to have a good time in a friendly relaxed place, this is it. The breakfast is good (they had my favourite cereal!) and the location perfect, you can walk to every turistic attraction or take the ferry to the european/asian sides. It was also really warm in winter (outside was snowing) and I felt very safe even travelling by myself. There are lockers in the room, and bathrooms are clean. Loved it!

Disliked: Gabriela Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Dorn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2015 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, location and common area

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time at Second Home Hostel. Chon, Rabia and Memo were able to help me out with everything I needed, from recommending cheap places to eat, to organising a 6 day trip around Turkey for me. They were also extremely talkative and give the hostel a really friendly and welcoming atmosphere. The hostel is unbeatably located within 10 minutes walk to all the major tourist sites in Istanbul as well. I would definitely recommend Second Home Hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location (in Sirkeci, near almost all the important landmarks), friendly staff, availability of clean and well equipped private rooms (good for solo or small groups), warm atmosphere (opportunity to mingle with hostel-mates on weekend nights).

Disliked: During my stay there were two blackouts, one for more almost a full day and there was no running water for a few more hours after electricity came back. Probably not the hostel's fault, but if this matters to you better stay at a hotel - most of them seem to be equipped with backup generators.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yulika Harniza Julizir

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2015 Yulika would recommend this property

Liked: the staff, john-memo-yusuf were very friendly & helpful. the location is very nice. and not noisy.

Disliked: sometimes, the plumbing emitted stink gas. but only for one or two time. and the stink were not too stink

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Location very good; easy to get there from airport by metro and tram

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The name Second Home is perfect for this hostel. The rooms are comfortable. The lobby is great for socializing or working. The staff work hard to ensure you have what you need--such as helping with travel arrangements, airport shuttles, recommendations, and advice. Memo is a treasure. He's kind and funny, and he genuinely wants you to enjoy your stay. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Feven Tesfamariam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2015 Feven would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, close to the metro, easy to arrive/leave to the airport but they also have a shuttle service they provide. The communal area is also very inviting, the staff are warm and friendly and highly exemplary of the Turkish hospitality in istanbul. The rooms are clean, the washrooms as well and the hot water never ran out. The breakfast is also pretty damn good. Most importantly to me in any hostel is the staff and they were great. It felt like a family, you could really call it your second home. Many positives but if you choose this hostel for any reason at all, it should be to live and breathe in the vicinity of the most GLORIOUS MUSTACHE belonging to the most lovely staff member, MEMO! ask nicely, he might let you touch it ;)

Disliked: nothing, A+

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katrin Kurz

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 February 2015 Katrin would recommend this property

Liked: The second home hostel ıs good located and has a nıce breakfast but the best about the hostel ıs that ıt really feels lıke our second home now and we enjoyed our stay a lot! The staff ıs so great and wıll defınıtely make your stay specıal. They help you all the tıme, gıve you tıpps for sıghtseeing and also gıve you insight ınto the turkısh culture (tea, waterpıpe and turkısh food) We would lıke to say thank you for the great tıme we had here!

Disliked: Katrin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Brosch

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2015 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The Second Home Hostel is by far the nicest and best Hostel I have been to! It was already my second time and it felt very much like home! The location is perfect to explore Istanbul and the staff are the most friendliest people you have met and they won´t hesitate to give you great tips on where to go, what to do and how to have a wonderful time and enjoy your stay! The hostel has very compfotable beds, a very familiar atmosphere and with the breakfast you`ll have a good start into a perfect day in Istanbul!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Within walking distance of all the major sites.

Disliked: I would not recommend staying in the basement dorm (big room). It was noisy when people walked above as he dorm was right below the lobby. The lockers are small. You can fit documents and small articles in them, but not a backpack.