HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Second Home hostel

Hostel | Hocapasa Mahallesi Ebussuud, Caddesi No : 19 Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey 34110

93.7% Overall Rating

535 out of 548 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

"Great location and the staff was just the BEST. Not only are they very accommodating and kind, but they are also so personable and I absolutely enjoyed hanging out with them. The bedding was comfortable and clean. The…"

Read all Second Home hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Ipek Palace Hotel
77.75 USD

Hotel 4 star 78.2% 13 reviews
Sultan Hotel
34.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.7% 101 reviews
Hotel Esen
19.33 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.4% 30 reviews
Hotel Agan
45.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 116 reviews
BEST NOBEL HOTEL
42.25 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kafkas Hotel Istanbul
35.91 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Erbil Hotel
48.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Akcinar
37.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.3% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

535 out of 548 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Second Home hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
95.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 471 of 531 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the staff was just the BEST. Not only are they very accommodating and kind, but they are also so personable and I absolutely enjoyed hanging out with them. The bedding was comfortable and clean. The hostel's atmosphere makes you really feel at home and the common room is a great open space for dancing, dinners, and games. They do a lot of activities as a hostel so it's easy to get to know everyone and have a good time making new friends. Wonderful hostel and I highly recommend for anyone staying in Istanbul.

Disliked: They have motion detector lights on every floor in the halls so sometimes that can be inconvenient when you're trying to talk to someone or hang out in the halls. Breakfast options were slim, but they have hostel dinners that you can pay for and they're deliciously cooked by the staff :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great location, affordable private rooms, good kitchen and common spaces. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: A little from street noise, nothing crazy though

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Huiseo Jeong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2014 Huiseo would recommend this property

Liked: I was stay in twin room. I really enjoy the days at secondhomehostel. Good location (near the tram) , great breakfast and especially really friendly staff made my trip special They are really helpful about everything. And atmosphere was also good. I met so many good friends at the hostel. If you go to the first floor at evening you can make more friends. :) Oh and price was also good

Disliked: Huiseo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandra Ross

Alone

Business / conference
City break

17 December 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly staff. So helpful and will go out of their way to make sure you get the most out of your stay in Istanbul. Location is superb. A home from home indeed!

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most of staff were friendly and rooms/bathrooms were clean. Internet good for wifi.

Disliked: Roof top wasn't really utilised much but possibly due to off season, wasn't particularly made to feel welcome initially but this changed… I think just off season didn't do the hostel justice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

john doyle

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 john would recommend this property

Liked: great location and warm friendly yet profesional staff

Disliked: Dorm room might feel a little small id fully booked with nine occupants

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pavlína Štruncová

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Pavlína would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good value for money, free breakfast, staff,wifi.

Disliked: No lift. Wedidn´t mind, but if you have big luggage, it might be difficult.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

DAVID YAMADA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2013 DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: near all major attractions and public transport

Disliked: na

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kiara Mucci

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2013 Kiara would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Second Home Hostel on my first two visits to Istanbul and was so happy that I had chosen it as my base from which to explore the city. The rooms are simple yet clean, but the best thing about this hostel is the feeling of welcome and hospitality that the staff have created. It really does feel like a "second home" as the staff are so friendly and warm. The location is also great, very close to the wonderful tram system in Istanbul so it is very easy to get around, yet it is also situated in a relatively quiet street (which is nice to come back to after the chaos of the city)! Memo and Jon have done a great job of creating a welcoming, happy place for travellers to hang out and soak in the wonderful culture of Istanbul. I would definitely recommend Second Home Hostel to anyone looking for a place to stay in this great city.

Disliked: Kiara left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Haseeb Hassan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

16 October 2013 Haseeb would recommend this property

Liked: hostel atmosphere and friendliness

Disliked: Haseeb left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location to main tourist attractions, nice breakfast!

Disliked: the room in the basement wasn't nice at all, very noisy because it was close to the pavement and the bathrooms downstairs didn't smell that good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so nice. One night a group of us traveled to a staff members hometown and he showed us around. I traveled to Istanbul as a solo woman and felt completely safe here. Locations is only steps away from everything, I could walk everywhere. The breakfast was one of the best in town. I will definitely stay here again if I make my way back to Istanbul

Disliked: I

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taejoong Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Taejoong would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were very friendly and helpful. Especially, Omer helped my project very well. I will choose Second Home Hostel when I go to Istanbul again.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luke Armour

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great, really helpful and very friendly. The location is perfect and the free breakfast is a major plus. Can't fault this place at all!

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good accomodation and kind staff.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Flavio Tobias

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2013 Flavio would recommend this property

Liked: There we found the true Second Home. Amazing Place.

Disliked: Flavio left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Arnold

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff - always there, always helpful and friendly and the location is awesome

Disliked: Dorm rooms can be small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachel Belinfante

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Meeting friendly people, nice staff, relaxing on the roof terrace, the proximity to everything. Warm welcome with map and guidance 24-7. They were so lovely when my boyfriend was sick, always offering their help and tea. Good breakfast and yummy basic dinner. Cheap and very cheerful!

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people at the hostel were very friendly and helpful. The rooms and toilets are clean and spacious.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the old city, walking distance to lots of sights. The owners are increldibly helpful. They helped us plan our onwards trip from istanbul and book other activities. They serve a delicious breakfast and the dinners they also offer are excellent and good value for money. Would definitely reccommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff who are super friendly and helpful and have a good sense of humour. Located super close to Topkapi Park and a short walking distance from Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. Awesome Turkish breakfast. Very clean sheets.

Disliked: The landing was a bit cluttered and the light system on such a short timer that the lihght would go on and off constantly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rebecca harvey

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really fun and helpful, it was in a brilliant location to see all of the sights, the roof terrace was a lovely place to spend an evening with other travellers.

Disliked: rebecca left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is exceptional with access to the tramway and the sights of Sultanahmet. Breakfast was a plus.

Disliked: Staff could be a bit friendlier and less stand-offish. If you stay in the basement, be ready for plenty of ants who are coming in off the street scouting for food.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located, affordable private rooms, and felt secure

Disliked: The staff didn't really seem that helpful/knowledgeable about things to do around Istanbul. Often it felt like they were only recommending things that would pay them money, and their advice contradicted a lot of what we found online.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tarah rodda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 June 2013 tarah would recommend this property

Liked: The customer service was outstanding! The location! The price! Everything! The boys really take care of you. I was amazed at how lovely and considerate the staff where, they go above and beyond any other hostel staff I've stayed at and have made my trip to the city memorable. Yusef the shish master is a great tour guide, showing me the city and the non touristy hot spots, and swimming sites. Hazret has your back if you need anything or any information. It's clean, safe, social and fun. I can't recommend it enough- exactly what you want if your traveling alone.

Disliked: Nothing!