HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Second Home hostel

Hostel | Hocapasa Mahallesi Ebussuud, Caddesi No : 19 Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey 34110

95.2% Overall Rating

554 out of 568 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

Gunay Dashdamirova thinks…

"Second home hostel is the best hostel I have ever been. You will find a very friendly atmosphere there. The staff is very helpful. You can get great tips about the places to see, if you are not…"

Read all Second Home hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Ipek Palace Hotel
75.43 USD

Hotel 4 star 78.2% 13 reviews
Sultan Hotel
22.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.7% 101 reviews
Hotel Esen
18.76 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.3% 34 reviews
Hotel Agan
29.03 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.6% 117 reviews
BEST NOBEL HOTEL
35.33 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kafkas Hotel Istanbul
34.83 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Erbil Hotel
47.03 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Akcinar
36.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.7% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.2%

Overall Rating

554 out of 568 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Second Home hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 486 of 551 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gunay Dashdamirova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Gunay would recommend this property

Liked: Second home hostel is the best hostel I have ever been. You will find a very friendly atmosphere there. The staff is very helpful. You can get great tips about the places to see, if you are not familiar to the city from them.Especiallly, I am really grateful to Can for his helpfulness and hospitability. . The hostel is very clean. There is barbecue party once a week, where you can meet new friends and enjoy your time at the terrace of the hostel. The breakfast is excellent. The hostel is located in Gulhane(near the tram station), where you can easily have an access to the most touristic parts of the city. I will definitely stay in this hostel in my next Istanbul trip.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything, especially friendliness of the staff

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wujoong Kim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Wujoong would recommend this property

Liked: First of all, people working here are very nice and friendly. I enjoyed talking with these friends in my break time. And there is free walking tour, you can buy some gift with trustable advice. Not booking in advance, It is comfortable to be able to book several tours or transportation to other city. It has clean room, large common room. And I liked rooftop most.

Disliked: There was nothing uncomfortable... Oh.. my room was 4th floor, it was little high but outside view in my room was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominique Gunnink

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: Great and helpful staff! FAntastic location, loved the roof top terrace.

Disliked: Dominique left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Taryn Gabbert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014 Taryn would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was so helpful and nice. The lounge area was great for socializing. They even gave us free dinner one night to break the fast for Ramadan with them. Wifi worked all over and the roof was awesome.

Disliked: In the 8 bed dorm there's a lack of plugs so it's kind of hard to get an open one. Also there's traffic that's kind of loud especially in the morning, it wasn't a problem for me but it did bother one other person.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Grey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, dorm rooms were roomy and clean, good breakfast. They gave us a free dinner one night! Good wifi and cool roof top terrace

Disliked: Our light was broken above our beds and despite asking it wasn't fixed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff always happy to give suggestions

Disliked: No lockers in the dorm room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff of incredibly accommodating and friendly! They all instantly befriend each guest and take a genuine interest in each individual. This place had a nice common area with great music and a good vibes atmosphere. Will definitely recommend this place to all friends traveling to istanbul

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Felix Legare

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel to meet people

Disliked: the dorms was not very clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay if you don't know what you want to se in Istanbul. The staff were very helpful. It had a good community atmosphere. It was very easy to meet fellow travellers. The staff are very motivated to help. I was so surprised at how welcoming this place was! I really did feel at home.

Disliked: They have a wonderful female staff member who does a fabulous job but she doesn't seem to get much time to sleep or rest... poor girl. If they want her to work there long-term I think the management will have to learn to respect her need for rest! Also, one girl arrived during the night and couldn't get in because they had locked the door (only for a few mins but she didn't know that). When she ended up having to stay in another hotel, they would not refund her hostel payment for that night even though they say they are open 24hrs. How can a girl be expected to wait alone on a street in a foreign town in the middle of the night? I really liked this place but the manager could be a bit more understanding.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect. Among different positive facts of second home hostel I would like to mention the staff, really helpful to plan visits, transports or explain different routes out of the most commercials and provides a great atmosphere (specially on saturday night). I specially recommend this hostel, it is very conveninet due to location, value for money and staff.

Disliked: I had a very good time there, so nothing bad for me.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, once you can find it. I arrived at the airport on the Asian side, and it took me a long, long time to get to the hostel, in part due to Istanbul traffic, but also because the directions are not easy to follow, in fact they are probably some of the worst I've ever been sent for a hostel. However, once I arrived the place was good. The 9 bed dorm has loads of space and I had an entire section of it to myself. Good shower, fantastic to sit down in when you're hungover or tired, haha. Staff are great - especially Asma, she took us to the Asian side for a bit of a walk around and showed us stuff we never would have seen otherwise. I ended up staying here for 6 nights, the longest I've ever stayed in a hostel, and enjoyed it alot.

Disliked: The roof terrace needs something doing with it, it's a fantastic space but at the moment nobody really uses it, because it is just used as a bit of a storage space. Some nice lighting and plants would really make it amazing, but I guess this is something they are working on. We had a turkish dinner on the first night, it cost five euro, but we only got a very small amount of food, which left us anticipating more, that was a bit disappointing. I felt they could arrange more events to get people to socialise, it kind of felt like the Saturday night pub crawl was the only one and a lot of people didn't socialise, not great when you're travelling alone! Finally, I bought a bus ticket to Greece with them, mainly due to the fact that I couldn't work out how to do it at the central bus station as nobody spoke any English. The ticket said it was 95 lira, but I paid 135 (or something around that) considering they said that they didn't take any commission this was a bit annoying - it wasn't explained and it was too late to do anything about it by the time I got to the coach station as I only had 30 minutes to leave. Overall though, this is a good place to stay,.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Second Home was the highlight for us in Istanbul. The staffs were very friendly and helpful. Memo is awesome and helped us with our booking to Cappadocia and also with other activities around Istanbul. We arrived on a Sat, just in time for their weekly dinner and bar crawl to Taksim. We all had such a good time, we couldnt stop talking about it the next day. The hostel is located on a good location and the rooms were just fine for the 2 of us. I highly recommend this hostel to all travelers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annette de Wet

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Annette would recommend this property

Liked: Good location to interesting places.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect! Comfortable beds. Best WIFi that I've had in Turkey (I have bee here travelling around Turkey for two weeks and most hotels have incredibly slow connections!) The staff were very friendly and ready and willing to help, especially Omah who sat with me for an hour trying to help us book transport.

Disliked: They have little bed side tables which you can put a padlock on. The only problem with these is that they seem easily portable...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the staff was just the BEST. Not only are they very accommodating and kind, but they are also so personable and I absolutely enjoyed hanging out with them. The bedding was comfortable and clean. The hostel's atmosphere makes you really feel at home and the common room is a great open space for dancing, dinners, and games. They do a lot of activities as a hostel so it's easy to get to know everyone and have a good time making new friends. Wonderful hostel and I highly recommend for anyone staying in Istanbul.

Disliked: They have motion detector lights on every floor in the halls so sometimes that can be inconvenient when you're trying to talk to someone or hang out in the halls. Breakfast options were slim, but they have hostel dinners that you can pay for and they're deliciously cooked by the staff :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great location, affordable private rooms, good kitchen and common spaces. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: A little from street noise, nothing crazy though

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Huiseo Jeong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2014 Huiseo would recommend this property

Liked: I was stay in twin room. I really enjoy the days at secondhomehostel. Good location (near the tram) , great breakfast and especially really friendly staff made my trip special They are really helpful about everything. And atmosphere was also good. I met so many good friends at the hostel. If you go to the first floor at evening you can make more friends. :) Oh and price was also good

Disliked: Huiseo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandra Ross

Alone

Business / conference
City break

17 December 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly staff. So helpful and will go out of their way to make sure you get the most out of your stay in Istanbul. Location is superb. A home from home indeed!

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most of staff were friendly and rooms/bathrooms were clean. Internet good for wifi.

Disliked: Roof top wasn't really utilised much but possibly due to off season, wasn't particularly made to feel welcome initially but this changed… I think just off season didn't do the hostel justice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

john doyle

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 john would recommend this property

Liked: great location and warm friendly yet profesional staff

Disliked: Dorm room might feel a little small id fully booked with nine occupants

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pavlína Štruncová

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Pavlína would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good value for money, free breakfast, staff,wifi.

Disliked: No lift. Wedidn´t mind, but if you have big luggage, it might be difficult.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

DAVID YAMADA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2013 DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: near all major attractions and public transport

Disliked: na

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kiara Mucci

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2013 Kiara would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Second Home Hostel on my first two visits to Istanbul and was so happy that I had chosen it as my base from which to explore the city. The rooms are simple yet clean, but the best thing about this hostel is the feeling of welcome and hospitality that the staff have created. It really does feel like a "second home" as the staff are so friendly and warm. The location is also great, very close to the wonderful tram system in Istanbul so it is very easy to get around, yet it is also situated in a relatively quiet street (which is nice to come back to after the chaos of the city)! Memo and Jon have done a great job of creating a welcoming, happy place for travellers to hang out and soak in the wonderful culture of Istanbul. I would definitely recommend Second Home Hostel to anyone looking for a place to stay in this great city.

Disliked: Kiara left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Haseeb Hassan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

16 October 2013 Haseeb would recommend this property

Liked: hostel atmosphere and friendliness

Disliked: Haseeb left no negative feedback.