We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Second Home hostel

Hostel | Hocapasa Mahallesi Ebussuud, Caddesi No : 19 Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey 34110

97.0% Overall Rating

571 out of 585 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/10/2014)

Cheryl Noronha thinks…

"Everyone that worked at the hostel were very friendly and welcoming, which made it easy to talk to others especially when travelling alone. They also offered Turkish dinner on some nights, which were…"

Read all Second Home hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Ipek Palace Hotel
71.22 USD

Hotel 4 star 78.2% 13 reviews
Sultan Hotel
22.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.5% 102 reviews
Hotel Esen
74.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 73.4% 37 reviews
Hotel Agan
23.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.6% 117 reviews
BEST NOBEL HOTEL
37.30 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kafkas Hotel Istanbul
32.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 86.2% 304 reviews
Erbil Hotel
35.17 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.0%

Overall Rating

571 out of 585 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Second Home hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 500 of 568 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cheryl Noronha

Ensam resenär

Kultur / sightseeing

07 October 2014 Cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone that worked at the hostel were very friendly and welcoming, which made it easy to talk to others especially when travelling alone. They also offered Turkish dinner on some nights, which were very delicious! The breakfast was also nice, and they offered Turkish tea and coffee throughout the day for a reasonable price. It was a good relaxed friendly atmosphere which made you feel like it really was your second home!

Disliked: Cheryl left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sandra Lee

Med vänner

Kultur / sightseeing

03 October 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, close to all main tourist attractions within walking distance! Nice and helpful staffs. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Would be better if there's an air- conditioner in the dorm room and a separated common bathroom for male and female.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Med vänner

Cityresa
Avkoppling/spa
Shopping
Kultur / sightseeing

03 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, roof terrace, staff friendliness and easyness

Disliked: twin room (with shared bathroom) was very small, shower room with mould on ceiling and not very cosy, poor wi-fi signal in room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ensam resenär

Resa som backpacker

01 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Second home hostel is very conveniently located in the Sultunamet district in Istabul close to many attractions with a supermarket down the street. I arrived late in the evening and was immediately made to feel welcome. The staff helped me to plan a trip to Cappadocia which I throughly enjoyed and was great value for money. They even stored my luggage for me for a couple of days while I went to Cappadocia and gave me breakfast when I came back before check in. The staff are really friendly and the reception come dining area does have a homely feel and the choice of music played is excellent. Different moods for different times of the day. I would reccommend second home hostel to other travellers.

Disliked: The only minor issues I had with the hostel is that with the dorm rooms there is only one key so when I arrived late at night we had to wake up the people sleeping to let me in. A very minor issue. The property also has stairs between the floors (no lift) which I didnt mind (the staff will carry your luggage for you) however if you have mobility problems this is something to consider.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brad Stephenson

Med vänner

Resa som backpacker

21 September 2014 Brad would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, felt right at home! The guys are very friendly and always happy to help with whatever you need! Will be back :)

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mirja Laepple

Med vänner

Resa som backpacker

18 September 2014 Mirja would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at Second Home Hostel. The location is great and safe, the staff is very friendly. They always try to help you and like to have a chat. The best about the hostel is it's atmosphere, you can meet a lot of people, have great conversation or you may join them for a day trip. And also I liked the dorms, you have enough place to arrange your stuff and you can get a towel :) - so you feel like home very fast.

Disliked: Mirja left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WU CHUN HIN

Med partner

Avkoppling/spa

16 September 2014 WU would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff!!!!!

Disliked: WU left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ensam resenär

Resa som backpacker

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everythng! It is in a great location, very close to all the main sites as well as bars, restaurants and supermarkets. The staff are amazing, very friendly and helpful. They organised my whole trip to Cappadocia which was excellent. It is clean and well looked after with a great view from the rooftop terrace. Would highly recommend, thank you Second Home!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Forliano

Ensam resenär

Cityresa
Kultur / sightseeing

28 August 2014 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: ALL

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kerri Harvey

Med partner

Sol och bad
Romantik
Shopping
Kultur / sightseeing
Sport, äventyr eller utomhus aktivitet
Träffa vänner eller familj

25 August 2014 Kerri would recommend this property

Liked: We immediately felt at home here, the name really does reflect how friendly and welcoming this hostel is. The staff are so kind and helpful, Asthma always smiling and making yummy food and Memo was fantastic, he booked our entire stay in Turkey! Our room was lovely, spacious and clean with everything we needed. And the rooftop terrace is fantastic! BYO drinks and the most beautiful view over Istanbul!

Disliked: Kerri left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ensam resenär

Resa som backpacker

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is incredibly kind and cool, lots of actives and the common area downstairs lets you be social and meet other travelers.

Disliked: The directions on how to get to the property might be a little bit better, its a little tough to find.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Edward Wood

Med partner

Kultur / sightseeing

20 August 2014 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Location is terrific, great staff

Disliked: Edward left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Med partner

Resa som backpacker

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, very friendly and great location, so close to tram, train and ferries.

Disliked: one day no hot water, one day no water. wasn't a huge problem and we were always told of when it would be fixed which wasn't long.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHERIF MORSY

Med vänner

Resa som backpacker

01 August 2014 SHERIF would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in the world! I travel a lot a has stayed in a lot of hostels but man this place is awesome. Amazing location, great rooms, excellent wi-fi connection in rooms and the lobby. And the staff are just awesome, I enjoyed hanging out with them in the lobby so much. BTW I booked a private twin room so I am not sure about the dorm but I am sure they r Amazing too. Highly recommended for anyone, and the location is.just perfect

Disliked: I would have liked more varieties in the breakfast :))

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gunay Dashdamirova

Ensam resenär

Kultur / sightseeing

30 July 2014 Gunay would recommend this property

Liked: Second home hostel is the best hostel I have ever been. You will find a very friendly atmosphere there. The staff is very helpful. You can get great tips about the places to see, if you are not familiar to the city from them.Especiallly, I am really grateful to Can for his helpfulness and hospitability. . The hostel is very clean. There is barbecue party once a week, where you can meet new friends and enjoy your time at the terrace of the hostel. The breakfast is excellent. The hostel is located in Gulhane(near the tram station), where you can easily have an access to the most touristic parts of the city. I will definitely stay in this hostel in my next Istanbul trip.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ensam resenär

Kultur / sightseeing

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything, especially friendliness of the staff

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wujoong Kim

Ensam resenär

Resa som backpacker
Familjeresa
Avkoppling/spa
Kultur / sightseeing

14 July 2014 Wujoong would recommend this property

Liked: First of all, people working here are very nice and friendly. I enjoyed talking with these friends in my break time. And there is free walking tour, you can buy some gift with trustable advice. Not booking in advance, It is comfortable to be able to book several tours or transportation to other city. It has clean room, large common room. And I liked rooftop most.

Disliked: There was nothing uncomfortable... Oh.. my room was 4th floor, it was little high but outside view in my room was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominique Gunnink

Med vänner

Kultur / sightseeing

10 July 2014 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: Great and helpful staff! FAntastic location, loved the roof top terrace.

Disliked: Dominique left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Taryn Gabbert

Ensam resenär

Resa som backpacker

05 July 2014 Taryn would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was so helpful and nice. The lounge area was great for socializing. They even gave us free dinner one night to break the fast for Ramadan with them. Wifi worked all over and the roof was awesome.

Disliked: In the 8 bed dorm there's a lack of plugs so it's kind of hard to get an open one. Also there's traffic that's kind of loud especially in the morning, it wasn't a problem for me but it did bother one other person.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Grey

Med vänner

Resa som backpacker

05 July 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, dorm rooms were roomy and clean, good breakfast. They gave us a free dinner one night! Good wifi and cool roof top terrace

Disliked: Our light was broken above our beds and despite asking it wasn't fixed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ensam resenär

Kultur / sightseeing

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff always happy to give suggestions

Disliked: No lockers in the dorm room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ensam resenär

Nattliv
Kultur / sightseeing

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff of incredibly accommodating and friendly! They all instantly befriend each guest and take a genuine interest in each individual. This place had a nice common area with great music and a good vibes atmosphere. Will definitely recommend this place to all friends traveling to istanbul

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Felix Legare

Ensam resenär

Resa som backpacker

29 June 2014 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel to meet people

Disliked: the dorms was not very clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Med vänner

Kultur / sightseeing

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay if you don't know what you want to se in Istanbul. The staff were very helpful. It had a good community atmosphere. It was very easy to meet fellow travellers. The staff are very motivated to help. I was so surprised at how welcoming this place was! I really did feel at home.

Disliked: They have a wonderful female staff member who does a fabulous job but she doesn't seem to get much time to sleep or rest... poor girl. If they want her to work there long-term I think the management will have to learn to respect her need for rest! Also, one girl arrived during the night and couldn't get in because they had locked the door (only for a few mins but she didn't know that). When she ended up having to stay in another hotel, they would not refund her hostel payment for that night even though they say they are open 24hrs. How can a girl be expected to wait alone on a street in a foreign town in the middle of the night? I really liked this place but the manager could be a bit more understanding.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ensam resenär

Affärsmöte / Konferens
Nattliv
Kultur / sightseeing

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect. Among different positive facts of second home hostel I would like to mention the staff, really helpful to plan visits, transports or explain different routes out of the most commercials and provides a great atmosphere (specially on saturday night). I specially recommend this hostel, it is very conveninet due to location, value for money and staff.

Disliked: I had a very good time there, so nothing bad for me.