HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Anzac Woodenhouse

Hostel | Akbiyik Degirmeni Cad. Konuk S, Sok 17, Istanbul, Turkey 34122

80.3% Overall Rating

61 out of 76 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

Maria Shevtsova thinks…

"I liked the location, the big room, bigger, than we expected, and we could do anything there, even smoking, it's allowed inside the room. The staff is friendly but not annoying, very good! Breakfast…"

Read all Anzac Woodenhouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 23.87

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Hotel El Blanco
37.60 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Nakkas Apart
33.57 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Nobel Hostel
18.80 USD

Hostel 82.6% 147 reviews
Lamp Guesthouse
59.68 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 4 reviews
Apex Hotel
21.49 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Avicenna Hotel
80.57 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Oceans 7 Hotel
33.23 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 5 reviews
Sumengen Hotel
119.35 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

61 out of 76 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Anzac Woodenhouse'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 55 of 72 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Shevtsova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway

24 July 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, the big room, bigger, than we expected, and we could do anything there, even smoking, it's allowed inside the room. The staff is friendly but not annoying, very good! Breakfast is good!

Disliked: Bathroom looked a bit dirty, but it's acceptable)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good close to all the main attractions 10 to 20 minutes walk, the service was good, staff and Owner was friendly,

Disliked: Looks quite dated. Shower facilities were broken. Heating was broken, however staff offered replacement heater.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ciaran McHale

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 March 2014 Ciaran would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff (Thanks Omar) Great location. Great breakfast. Excellent value for money. There was certainly ware and tear around the property but it was clean.

Disliked: Wear and tare.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rafal Jurasi?ski

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Rafal would recommend this property

Liked: Location is verry good just behind the Blue Mosque. Nice breakfast and very kind staff. TV in a room and comfrtable beds.

Disliked: Nothing made me angry and unhappy

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013

Liked: I hate it

Disliked: Everythingi had to go to police even.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very friendly and helped us out with excellent information and had good english. The location was great right next to the 2 mosques and close to bars/resturants. Very tidy and modern room. I would recomend this! And amazing value for money!

Disliked: n/a

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

ziya sarper ekim

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2013 ziya sarper would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and good atmosphere with breakfast

Disliked: rooma werent clean and so small, bathroom and toilet are together and has no window. there was just one hub for electricity in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simona Bucurenciu

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 April 2013 Simona would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very close to city's atractions. The staff was cheerful and helpful. The place was clean, the breakfast was good and we even had a TV in our room.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great and our room was ready for us when we arrıved at 10am. The hostel ıs a 5-10mın walk to all the maın sıghts and close enough to a metro stop or traın statıon.

Disliked: The map they gave us must have been at least 5 - 10 years out of date as ıt was mıssıng one of the maın brıdges ın the cıty. The room was very small wıth a makeshıft bathroom and the 'common' area upstaırs also doubled for the staff area and was constantly loud wıth theır phone calls and conversatıons/arguments. Although I am startıng to thınk thıs ıs common ın hostels ın Turkey

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is great at Anzac Wooden House! The rooms are clean, the staff helpful, the location right near the Blue Mosque in the centre of town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mario Nicolas Castellon Machado

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2013 Mario Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very kind, the breakfast and dinner options are good, the location is great.This hostel is located 10 minutes away from the Blue mosque, 20 from the Bazaar, and 20 from the Spice Market. I would recommend this hostel to anyone going to Istanbul.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feel like home, friendly and helpfull staff. Love the breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HuiChen Chu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 HuiChen would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very small terrace/lounge to sit

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

benjamin guffens

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

17 November 2012 benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly place, good located, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms

Disliked: benjamin left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is 5 minutes walking from the main touristic atractions in Sultanahmet and not far from a tram station. The staff is helpful and made our first days in Istambul more comfortable. The breakfast was very good and place very comfortable.

Disliked: The room had no more than the basic (even for square meters) and the bed was quite old. If you are interested in a place to sleep, this is the place. Don't expect though to spend your day in the hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012

Liked: The breakfast and the kindness.

Disliked: Loud, noisy, we could sleep well after 2:00.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Beatriz Souza Leal

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012

Liked: the staff are friendly, the location is great, the breakfast is nice and you choose what you need with no limit.

Disliked: the internet doesn't work in every room, the rooms could be better clean before the customers arrive and would be nice to have at least one day of general cleaning (changing towels, remove the toilet rubbish and light hoovering and arranging of beds) every two days of stay at least...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping

19 January 2012

Liked: breakfasts only, cleaning 1 time. week - patology ! really weak and slow internet, in winter really cold inside, air conditioning was turn on all the time 24 h per hour and believe me, it was not perfect, bath terrible, small room nor enough shelfs wardrobes, i don't recommend

Disliked: ...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: It showed available 2 nights on the website, but at the spot I was told it was only available for 1 night. The shower-toilet was so small, we had to leave without taking a shower.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

pawel kudzia

As a family with children

City break

10 November 2011 pawel would recommend this property

Liked: so.. i've got mixed feelings.. price was great, stuff was very friendly and helpful, great breakfast but...

Disliked: facilities on the bottom floor sucked - very small toilet combined with the shower; when there were no other guest we could use those on upper floors which were much better. internet connection - wifi did not reach my room, it was going up and down a lot.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kasper Soegaard

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 October 2011 Kasper would recommend this property

Liked: central, easy going staff, lots of freedom, nice but small rooms

Disliked: rooms could be 1-2 m2 bigger to imo.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011

Liked: none

Disliked: the lighting at corridor wasnt work. hot shower wasnt work. the window couldnt lock.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011

Liked: Cheap, good location in the middle of Sultanahmed, close to the most important places

Disliked: Poor English communication with staff, very small, stuffy room, hot water finishes very fast, poor breakfasts

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Trotter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 August 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic - our room was nice and spacious, the location was very handy to all the attractions in the old city and bars, restaurants, shopping etc, and most importantly the hostel manager/owner Rashid was an incredible source of information and smilingly came to our rescue at 2am when we left our camera in a taxi.

Disliked: Nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

allan dransfield

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011

Liked: Honestly nothıng..ıt left a bıtter aftertaste ın our mouths for the next 3 weeks..

Disliked: Fırstly, don't fall ınto the same trap that we dıd. We booked our fırst 3 days ın Instnbul here due to theır acceptance our our 1am arrıval tıme. In realıty all of the hostels\hotels are pretty much 24hour so the arrıval tıme would not have been an ıssue anywhere. Neıther avaılabılıty would have been a problem as all of the hostels ın thıs area had vacancıes despıte us beıng there mıd august (we eventually ended up changıng hostel). Our fırst bad ımpressıon was (5mınuts after arrıvıng there) Rashıd's persıstance ın tryıng to sell the turkısh nıght and turkısh baths trıp. Then later tryıng to convınce us that ıf we dıdn't book our onward trıp to the Cappadocıa (through hıs frıends travel agency ofcourse) complete wıth all tours, hotels etc. all prepaıd, that we'd fınd ourselves completely stranded when we arrıve ın the Cappadocıa. Thıs ofcourse wasn't the case. We just dıdn,t lıke the fact of hım tryıng to profıt off of the ınsecurıty of travellers who don,t know the country and avaılabılıty etc. More specıfıc to our stay, our room was ın the 'new' adress 2 doors away whıch was the maın problem of our stay. Don,t get me wrong, ı saw some of the rooms ın the maın buıldıng whıch really dıd seem ok, however half of Anzac's 14 rooms or so are now ın the other structure whıch ıs really a completely dıfferent experıence. Fırstly our door wouldn't lock and secondly there was no lıght on the landıng (3rd floor) and when you left the room at nıght ıt was pıtch black, wıth no banıster to cover the starıcase. Our bathroom smelt badly of damp draıns. There was no aır con as stated and ıf you opened the wındow ıt swung open to occupy half of the bed. It was lıtterally lıke a sauna ın there. Plus the room was very small and the floor was covered ın paınt. The buıuldıng ın general felt lıke work ın progress. We reported the problems to Rashıd and he seemed concerned but stıll by the second day no actıon had been taken. After payıng our bıll, forget ıt..he made no more efforts to fıx the door or lıght. We decıded to stay 2 more days ın Instnbul ın a dıfferent place and ı must stay that for the same money, we were far far happıer. The locatıon ıs not bad but thıs place ıs on the outskırts of the area compared to all the other hostels so ıve marked ıt as average. We would tend to advıse on fındıng somethıng else Anzac set our ıstanbul experıence off on completely the wrong foot.

The property's response is...