We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Anzac Woodenhouse

Hostel | Akbiyik Degirmeni Cad. Konuk S, Sok 17, Istanbul, Turkey 34122

80.2% Overall Rating

64 out of 79 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

Sejn Husejnefendic thinks…

"I liked staff - they are really really great! Price is excellent if you are planning to walk entire day without staying longer in the rooms (because of the temperature). Location is also great, you…"

Read all Anzac Woodenhouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 21.94

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Hotel El Blanco
22.77 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Nakkas Apart
31.63 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Nobel Hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 82.6% 147 reviews
Lamp Guesthouse
37.30 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 4 reviews
Apex Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Avicenna Hotel
84.76 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Oceans 7 Hotel
28.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 5 reviews
Sumengen Hotel
109.70 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.2%

Overall Rating

64 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Anzac Woodenhouse'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 57 of 75 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Very good location.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sejn Husejnefendic

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Sejn would recommend this property

Liked: I liked staff - they are really really great! Price is excellent if you are planning to walk entire day without staying longer in the rooms (because of the temperature). Location is also great, you have Haiga Sofia and SultanAhmet Mosque very close.

Disliked: It was too hot in the room until midnight. Even with air condition on it was too hot in there. Maybe other rooms aren't so hot by our was.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Shevtsova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway

24 July 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, the big room, bigger, than we expected, and we could do anything there, even smoking, it's allowed inside the room. The staff is friendly but not annoying, very good! Breakfast is good!

Disliked: Bathroom looked a bit dirty, but it's acceptable)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good close to all the main attractions 10 to 20 minutes walk, the service was good, staff and Owner was friendly,

Disliked: Looks quite dated. Shower facilities were broken. Heating was broken, however staff offered replacement heater.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ciaran McHale

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 March 2014 Ciaran would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff (Thanks Omar) Great location. Great breakfast. Excellent value for money. There was certainly ware and tear around the property but it was clean.

Disliked: Wear and tare.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rafal Jurasi?ski

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Rafal would recommend this property

Liked: Location is verry good just behind the Blue Mosque. Nice breakfast and very kind staff. TV in a room and comfrtable beds.

Disliked: Nothing made me angry and unhappy

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013

Liked: I hate it

Disliked: Everythingi had to go to police even.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very friendly and helped us out with excellent information and had good english. The location was great right next to the 2 mosques and close to bars/resturants. Very tidy and modern room. I would recomend this! And amazing value for money!

Disliked: n/a

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

ziya sarper ekim

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2013 ziya sarper would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and good atmosphere with breakfast

Disliked: rooma werent clean and so small, bathroom and toilet are together and has no window. there was just one hub for electricity in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simona Bucurenciu

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 April 2013 Simona would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very close to city's atractions. The staff was cheerful and helpful. The place was clean, the breakfast was good and we even had a TV in our room.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great and our room was ready for us when we arrıved at 10am. The hostel ıs a 5-10mın walk to all the maın sıghts and close enough to a metro stop or traın statıon.

Disliked: The map they gave us must have been at least 5 - 10 years out of date as ıt was mıssıng one of the maın brıdges ın the cıty. The room was very small wıth a makeshıft bathroom and the 'common' area upstaırs also doubled for the staff area and was constantly loud wıth theır phone calls and conversatıons/arguments. Although I am startıng to thınk thıs ıs common ın hostels ın Turkey

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is great at Anzac Wooden House! The rooms are clean, the staff helpful, the location right near the Blue Mosque in the centre of town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mario Nicolas Castellon Machado

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2013 Mario Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very kind, the breakfast and dinner options are good, the location is great.This hostel is located 10 minutes away from the Blue mosque, 20 from the Bazaar, and 20 from the Spice Market. I would recommend this hostel to anyone going to Istanbul.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feel like home, friendly and helpfull staff. Love the breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HuiChen Chu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 HuiChen would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very small terrace/lounge to sit

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

benjamin guffens

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

17 November 2012 benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly place, good located, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms

Disliked: benjamin left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is 5 minutes walking from the main touristic atractions in Sultanahmet and not far from a tram station. The staff is helpful and made our first days in Istambul more comfortable. The breakfast was very good and place very comfortable.

Disliked: The room had no more than the basic (even for square meters) and the bed was quite old. If you are interested in a place to sleep, this is the place. Don't expect though to spend your day in the hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012

Liked: The breakfast and the kindness.

Disliked: Loud, noisy, we could sleep well after 2:00.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Beatriz Souza Leal

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012

Liked: the staff are friendly, the location is great, the breakfast is nice and you choose what you need with no limit.

Disliked: the internet doesn't work in every room, the rooms could be better clean before the customers arrive and would be nice to have at least one day of general cleaning (changing towels, remove the toilet rubbish and light hoovering and arranging of beds) every two days of stay at least...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping

19 January 2012

Liked: breakfasts only, cleaning 1 time. week - patology ! really weak and slow internet, in winter really cold inside, air conditioning was turn on all the time 24 h per hour and believe me, it was not perfect, bath terrible, small room nor enough shelfs wardrobes, i don't recommend

Disliked: ...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: It showed available 2 nights on the website, but at the spot I was told it was only available for 1 night. The shower-toilet was so small, we had to leave without taking a shower.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

pawel kudzia

As a family with children

City break

10 November 2011 pawel would recommend this property

Liked: so.. i've got mixed feelings.. price was great, stuff was very friendly and helpful, great breakfast but...

Disliked: facilities on the bottom floor sucked - very small toilet combined with the shower; when there were no other guest we could use those on upper floors which were much better. internet connection - wifi did not reach my room, it was going up and down a lot.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kasper Soegaard

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 October 2011 Kasper would recommend this property

Liked: central, easy going staff, lots of freedom, nice but small rooms

Disliked: rooms could be 1-2 m2 bigger to imo.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011

Liked: none

Disliked: the lighting at corridor wasnt work. hot shower wasnt work. the window couldnt lock.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011

Liked: Cheap, good location in the middle of Sultanahmed, close to the most important places

Disliked: Poor English communication with staff, very small, stuffy room, hot water finishes very fast, poor breakfasts