We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cordial House Hostel

Hostel | Divanyolu Caddesi Peykane, Sokak No:29, Çemberlitas Istanbul, Turkey .

78.7% Overall Rating

463 out of 534 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/06/2015)

Jonathan Lo thinks…

"Cheap for location. Central to many Sultanahmet sites and a couple of metro stops from Taksim."

Read all Cordial House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 26.65
  • Breakfast USD 3.33
  • Towel USD 1.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Golden Crown Hotel
44.42 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
istiklal hostel
14.48 USD

Hostel 94.5% 273 reviews
Hotel The New House
24.06 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Istanbul Paris Hostel
15.33 USD

Hostel 79.7% 318 reviews
Santa Sophia
60.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
ISTANBUL COMFORT HOTEL
22.21 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kupeli Hotel
296.95 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Blue Istanbul Hotel
76.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

463 out of 534 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cordial House Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
70.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 364 of 409 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jonathan Lo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2015

Liked: Cheap for location. Central to many Sultanahmet sites and a couple of metro stops from Taksim.

Disliked: Room: no AC. Carpeted room is stuffy. Shared bathroom. Dim lighting. Motion sensored light made it hard to shower bc I was showering in the dark unless I ran outside the shower stall for the lights to turn back on. Despite daily cleaning. It looked disgusting. Social. Have to book walking tour through a company, but language barrier between the staff and I prevented it; should've booked it online. No pub crawl. Many people here were older with their children. Location: Far from the Asian district.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Natalia Tatarchuk

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2015

Liked: Location. Cheap, created for those, who are looking for the bed.

Disliked: Staff behaved as if I owe them something. The WiFi is only in the lobby and next to the stairs. The double bed is actually 2 beds put together (((. In the double room we actually had 3 single beds that left almost no room for anything else. The kitchen situation is not suitable for city that lives 24/7. The price for breakfast is 4 EUR and they forgot to say that kitchen is closed starting from 10.00 p.m. till 7 a.m. and even then you cannot cook as they hold the breakfast there. Plus, the 4 floors dorm doesn't even have one average size fridge (more a hotel bar option). Doors to the bathroom on 1st and 2nd floors cannot be closed, so even there you don't have a privacy, always looking at those walking along the corridor.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Natalia Tatarchuk

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2015

Liked: Location is great. Cheap comparing to the closest location but you get what you pay for(((

Disliked: Staff behaved as if I owe them something. On top of that there is a mistake in directions, so if you actually count the stops on the tram as they suggest, you will miss yours. The kitchen situation is not suitable for city that lives 24/7. The price for breakfast is 4 EUR and they forgot to say that kitchen is closed starting from 10.00 p.m. till 7 a.m. and even then you cannot cook as they hold the breakfast there. Plus, the 4 floors dorm doesn't even have one average size fridge (more a hotel bar option). Doors to the bathroom on 1st and 2nd floors cannot be closed, so even there you don't have a privacy, always looking at those walking along the corridor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katerina Oplova

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2015 Katerina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, staff is very kind and helpful. The place has very nice atmosphere.

Disliked: The room got pretty cold at night as the heater went off around 11pm and the blanket provided was not enough. If you plan your stay during winter months, just bring an extra blanket and you'll be just fine! :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guadalupe Moles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2015 Guadalupe would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location, you are close to the most important historic spots.

Disliked: Guadalupe left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and helpful staff, great location. Definitely recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lazar gjorgevski

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 September 2014 lazar would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, cheap...

Disliked: There was not enough electricity connections i the rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good. 2 blocks away from grand bazar and 3 from blue mezquite. Also tram and metro near the main street. I extended my stay once there because the location of the hostel gives you easy chance to see a lot of places

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Thomas Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014

Liked: Great location and price.

Disliked: Weird key situation. Only one per room! And the wifi is only in the common area which sucks.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room I stayed in was very good and cleaned in the morning,better than i thought

Disliked: Nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Asta Pramuditya

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014 Asta would recommend this property

Liked: Its location which is near to the cemberlitas tramvay station and grand bazaar (5 mins walking), and blue mosque & hagia sophia (10 mins walking).

Disliked: No wifi in the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Run Gan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014 Run would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and modern hostel. The location is great, close to the main interest place (the blue mosque, train station, etc). It is also really close to the public train stop (two minutes walking). There are 2 supermarket right next to the hostel and some fast food store near by.

Disliked: The only problem is u can only use the wifi at the lobby. Also u have to leave the room key when u r going out.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Gibb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to public transport and major sites like Sultanhamet and Aya Sophia. Lots of friendly young people on holiday from Arabic studies abroad. Spacious common area with a few outlets for charging.

Disliked: no lockers in dormitories. I had to lug my computer with me everywhere. Common area didn't have any soft places to sprawl out. Had to share one key with three other guys, so I was locked out of my room one day when I wanted to lay down. Lighting was kind of dim, so I didn't spot the downstairs kitchen which does have some couches. Laundry service cost me 18 lira for two pairs of pants, two shirts and two pairs of socks.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Astrid Seidel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 Astrid would recommend this property

Liked: The location is GREAT! All major tourist attractions (Blue Mosque, Cistern, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar etc.) are within walking distance. A taxi from Atatürk Airport costs about 35 Lira, but the hostel also offers a shuttle service (15 Lira per person and way). Right next to the hostel you can find a shisha bar, several cafes and restaurants, supermarkets and a general store. We -2 women- stayed in a private triple room (=we had a spare bed in our room and a private bathroom). The room was clean and we got clean towels every day. The staff is very, very, very friendly, helpful and knows several languages (English, German, French, Russian, ...). -I would book it again!

Disliked: The heating did not work properly during our stay (=our room was pretty cooold at night!!), the building itself is relatively modern but a little clairaudient. The view from our room was rather depressing, but the small balcony at least gave us a chance to air the room and to dry our clothes or towels outside. Sometimes the water pressure in the shower was poor or the water did not heat up properly... :-/ We did not have WIFI in our room, but only in the lobby. -Nevertheless it is an OK place to stay in Istanbul. I would book it again!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: See comments above

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here for a night in December and I must say it's simply one of the best hostels I've been to. The rooms were neat and cozy, and the shower area was really clean. The only problem was that wifi wasn't available in the rooms but wifi was free and available in the lobby & common rooms. There is an in-house travel agency that helps you organise tours in and out of Istanbul. They even offer extra discount for the hostel guests. The location was great as well, really near the main historical sights and shopping area, yet far enough to have a quiet night in the room. The price for a night wasn't ridiculously expensive as well, so it was all in all a very good place to stay at!

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013

Liked: Excellent location and staff

Disliked: Shared bathroom is a bit dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veaceslav Ovseannicov

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Veaceslav would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and value for money.

Disliked: Settling issue (described above)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The host is very friendly and welcoming. Place is being cleaned up everyday. People staying here are all very cool. Place is quiet but convenient, as there's tram is 50 meters away from Cordial House transportation is so easy. And most importantly, the price is very reasonable! Can't ask for more! :)

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Pelova

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 November 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: We got a room with private bathroom - the room and the bathroom were squeaky clean!!! Bed linens were also clean and the room was spacious and lovely decorated. The location of the place is great - it is next to the main attractions and close to some cheaper restaurants too. It has kitchen with some facilities to cook. It reminds me of a student hall a little bit with spacious common areas. We also got free WIFI in the room.

Disliked: You have to pay 4 EURO extra for breakfast. At other places for the same room cost you get free breakfast and this is what most travellers expect from a good hotel/hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Kaelin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location within walking distance of Old Town sights. It was very clean and looked recently remodeled.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms or anywhere else. Only one key per room no matter how many strangers are sharing the dorm together, so we felt like we couldn't leave anything valuable in the room. The room was chilly at night and they wouldn't turn the heat on. The downstairs kitchen area was locked from about midnight to 7am, so we couldn't get our breakfast from the fridge when we had to leave early in the morning. There were also no eating utensils in the kitchen. Some construction and street noise late at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good staff, much better than the tourist guide we met in the "Rose Tour". People in the "Rose tour" told us it's 25Lr for the airport shuttle bus and book an early bus for us and made we believe it's the last bus that night, after we heard about there's a bus later, they wouldn't change it for us and acted very rude, for this, I only mean our female guide. At last the staff in out hotel booked it for us for 20Lr each, he never tried to let us book anything from him, being so cool all the time.

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KAORI YOSHIHARA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2013 KAORI would recommend this property

Liked: スタッフの方の対応がとても親切で助かりました。 1階フロアの開放感が快適で過ごしやすかったです。

Disliked: とても対応は良いのですが、シャワールームに鍵がかからないのが気になりました。 一応、トイレとシャワールームは女子専用となっているのですが、 トイレの便器が上がっている事もあったので、シャワールームに入る時は周りを確認してから入る必要があるかと思いました。

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Looks newly renovated. Large comfortable rooms. With great common areas. Helpful staff. They even employ a tour/info person to provide info about things to do around istanbul/turkey

Disliked: No fans/air con

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location

Disliked: WiFi does not work in rooms, only on ground floor. On one key per room - doesn't matter how many occupants. In a 6 or8 bed dorm this is a security nightmare and unnacceptable. Door to dorm has to remain open all the time.