We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cordial House Hostel

Hostel | Divanyolu Caddesi Peykane, Sokak No:29, Çemberlitas Istanbul, Turkey .

80.9% Overall Rating

457 out of 524 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

"The location is really good. 2 blocks away from grand bazar and 3 from blue mezquite. Also tram and metro near the main street. I extended my stay once there because the location of the hostel gives you easy chance…"

Read all Cordial House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.36
  • Breakfast USD 3.80
  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Golden Crown Hotel
36.69 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
istiklal hostel
10.97 USD

Hostel 96.6% 202 reviews
Hotel The New House
25.30 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Istanbul Paris Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 81.8% 316 reviews
Santa Sophia
35.93 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
ISTANBUL COMFORT HOTEL
18.34 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kupeli Hotel
351.03 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Blue Istanbul Hotel
87.29 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.9%

Overall Rating

457 out of 524 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cordial House Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
76.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 358 of 399 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lazar gjorgevski

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 September 2014 lazar would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, cheap...

Disliked: There was not enough electricity connections i the rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good. 2 blocks away from grand bazar and 3 from blue mezquite. Also tram and metro near the main street. I extended my stay once there because the location of the hostel gives you easy chance to see a lot of places

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Thomas Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014

Liked: Great location and price.

Disliked: Weird key situation. Only one per room! And the wifi is only in the common area which sucks.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room I stayed in was very good and cleaned in the morning,better than i thought

Disliked: Nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Asta Pramuditya

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2014 Asta would recommend this property

Liked: Its location which is near to the cemberlitas tramvay station and grand bazaar (5 mins walking), and blue mosque & hagia sophia (10 mins walking).

Disliked: No wifi in the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Run Gan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014 Run would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and modern hostel. The location is great, close to the main interest place (the blue mosque, train station, etc). It is also really close to the public train stop (two minutes walking). There are 2 supermarket right next to the hostel and some fast food store near by.

Disliked: The only problem is u can only use the wifi at the lobby. Also u have to leave the room key when u r going out.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Gibb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to public transport and major sites like Sultanhamet and Aya Sophia. Lots of friendly young people on holiday from Arabic studies abroad. Spacious common area with a few outlets for charging.

Disliked: no lockers in dormitories. I had to lug my computer with me everywhere. Common area didn't have any soft places to sprawl out. Had to share one key with three other guys, so I was locked out of my room one day when I wanted to lay down. Lighting was kind of dim, so I didn't spot the downstairs kitchen which does have some couches. Laundry service cost me 18 lira for two pairs of pants, two shirts and two pairs of socks.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Astrid Seidel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 Astrid would recommend this property

Liked: The location is GREAT! All major tourist attractions (Blue Mosque, Cistern, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar etc.) are within walking distance. A taxi from Atatürk Airport costs about 35 Lira, but the hostel also offers a shuttle service (15 Lira per person and way). Right next to the hostel you can find a shisha bar, several cafes and restaurants, supermarkets and a general store. We -2 women- stayed in a private triple room (=we had a spare bed in our room and a private bathroom). The room was clean and we got clean towels every day. The staff is very, very, very friendly, helpful and knows several languages (English, German, French, Russian, ...). -I would book it again!

Disliked: The heating did not work properly during our stay (=our room was pretty cooold at night!!), the building itself is relatively modern but a little clairaudient. The view from our room was rather depressing, but the small balcony at least gave us a chance to air the room and to dry our clothes or towels outside. Sometimes the water pressure in the shower was poor or the water did not heat up properly... :-/ We did not have WIFI in our room, but only in the lobby. -Nevertheless it is an OK place to stay in Istanbul. I would book it again!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: See comments above

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here for a night in December and I must say it's simply one of the best hostels I've been to. The rooms were neat and cozy, and the shower area was really clean. The only problem was that wifi wasn't available in the rooms but wifi was free and available in the lobby & common rooms. There is an in-house travel agency that helps you organise tours in and out of Istanbul. They even offer extra discount for the hostel guests. The location was great as well, really near the main historical sights and shopping area, yet far enough to have a quiet night in the room. The price for a night wasn't ridiculously expensive as well, so it was all in all a very good place to stay at!

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013

Liked: Excellent location and staff

Disliked: Shared bathroom is a bit dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veaceslav Ovseannicov

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Veaceslav would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and value for money.

Disliked: Settling issue (described above)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The host is very friendly and welcoming. Place is being cleaned up everyday. People staying here are all very cool. Place is quiet but convenient, as there's tram is 50 meters away from Cordial House transportation is so easy. And most importantly, the price is very reasonable! Can't ask for more! :)

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Pelova

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 November 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: We got a room with private bathroom - the room and the bathroom were squeaky clean!!! Bed linens were also clean and the room was spacious and lovely decorated. The location of the place is great - it is next to the main attractions and close to some cheaper restaurants too. It has kitchen with some facilities to cook. It reminds me of a student hall a little bit with spacious common areas. We also got free WIFI in the room.

Disliked: You have to pay 4 EURO extra for breakfast. At other places for the same room cost you get free breakfast and this is what most travellers expect from a good hotel/hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Kaelin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location within walking distance of Old Town sights. It was very clean and looked recently remodeled.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms or anywhere else. Only one key per room no matter how many strangers are sharing the dorm together, so we felt like we couldn't leave anything valuable in the room. The room was chilly at night and they wouldn't turn the heat on. The downstairs kitchen area was locked from about midnight to 7am, so we couldn't get our breakfast from the fridge when we had to leave early in the morning. There were also no eating utensils in the kitchen. Some construction and street noise late at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good staff, much better than the tourist guide we met in the "Rose Tour". People in the "Rose tour" told us it's 25Lr for the airport shuttle bus and book an early bus for us and made we believe it's the last bus that night, after we heard about there's a bus later, they wouldn't change it for us and acted very rude, for this, I only mean our female guide. At last the staff in out hotel booked it for us for 20Lr each, he never tried to let us book anything from him, being so cool all the time.

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KAORI YOSHIHARA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2013 KAORI would recommend this property

Liked: スタッフの方の対応がとても親切で助かりました。 1階フロアの開放感が快適で過ごしやすかったです。

Disliked: とても対応は良いのですが、シャワールームに鍵がかからないのが気になりました。 一応、トイレとシャワールームは女子専用となっているのですが、 トイレの便器が上がっている事もあったので、シャワールームに入る時は周りを確認してから入る必要があるかと思いました。

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Looks newly renovated. Large comfortable rooms. With great common areas. Helpful staff. They even employ a tour/info person to provide info about things to do around istanbul/turkey

Disliked: No fans/air con

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location

Disliked: WiFi does not work in rooms, only on ground floor. On one key per room - doesn't matter how many occupants. In a 6 or8 bed dorm this is a security nightmare and unnacceptable. Door to dorm has to remain open all the time.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

DANIEL CUENDA FERNANDEZ

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2013 DANIEL would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff.

Disliked: Wifi signal only in the entrance. Kitchen opening hours were a bit restrictive.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, within walking distance of all the major sights. It was in the hustle and bustle of the city, we felt safe and staff were good. We had a basic room, we got value for money when travelling with a family.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicole roth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Was very satisfied with my stay. Hostel was fully booked according to the website but the staff was so kind to find a bed for me! Also during the whole stay staff was very helpful and friendly (e.g. tips what to do and where to go). Hostel also seemed to be brand new and facilities / rooms were very modern & clean! Rooms were also very big - especially for Istanbul Also the location at Sultanahmet area was great - some nice attractions and tram stations within walking distance! Would highly recommend this place!

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The commons space are cleans, toilets are old but cleans, there is phone and hot water all day.We had stayed in a private room for two but with 4 bed.There are so many supermarket near. We stayed at 1st floor and the wi-fi arrived perfectly in the room (the boss says that work only in the reception area but may by also at 1st floor).

Disliked: The street is trafficated during the day, during the night is possible that guys stay chatting in front the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cordial house is located in the heart of Istanbul, minutes away from Sultanahment blue mosque, hagia sophia and grand bazaar the location is just right. Also it surrounded by great bakery store, mini market, restaurant, baklava store, and turkish delight store, and hamam so if you dont have much time to explore istanbul, cordial house is the perfect accommodation to get all in one istanbul experience.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dmitry Zvorikin

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Dmitry would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly. Perfect location - at the very centre of the city, 100m from the tramway station, 300m from the main touristic sites. Wifi works only in public places, not in rooms. Very good and cheap breakfast. Kitchen available. The hotel is a bit crowded, but not so much Russians. It is calm and silent in the rooms.

Disliked: No wifi access in rooms. Shared bathrooms are a bit scary, but everything works. Somewhat hard to find for the first time - they could make a map on their site.