HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of New backpackers

Hostel | Akbiyik Cad. No:20/1, Cankurtaran, Istanbul, Turkey Sultanahmet

77.6% Overall Rating

34 out of 53 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/09/2013)

"Very good location in a tourusty but cosy street close to many tourist attractions in Sultanahmet (Old town)"

Read all New backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Orient Hostel
15.20 USD

Hostel 93.4% 394 reviews
Mavi Guesthouse
11.20 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 90 reviews
Best Island Hostel
9.33 USD

Hostel 73.5% 163 reviews
Metropolis Hostel
22.11 USD

Hostel 95.2% 1925 reviews
Antique Hostel - Guest House
17.97 USD

Hostel 88.7% 449 reviews
Chora Guest House
20.73 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 32 reviews
Star Hotel Istanbul
49.72 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Sultan Hostel
16.59 USD

Hostel 87.9% 531 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.6%

Overall Rating

34 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'New backpackers'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
75.2%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Arun Prasath

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Arun would recommend this property

Liked: Food at the Area

Disliked: Smell from the bath room

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location in a tourusty but cosy street close to many tourist attractions in Sultanahmet (Old town)

Disliked: Walls are like paper and you can hear your neighbours very well. The guy who worked there was a little weird to communicate with

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic and the room was a good size.

Disliked: The shower and had to buy toilet paper.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013

Liked: The hostel is situated in vicinity of Topkapi palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Yerebatan cistern. The room was quite clean and well designed.

Disliked: The noise and cigarette smoke comming from the cafe below was real problem. I'm not talking about vague noise, I'm talking about loud party music that ends at 3 AM. I would recommend the hostel to somebody, who came just to party, definitely not to those, who came to enjoy sightseeings and want to go to bed before 3 AM. When we arrived to the hostel, we were told that one of our rooms was not ready because of double booking. One of us had to go sleep (one night) to "friend's place" as Hakim (staff) called it. The room was disaster - mould on the bed sheet and in the bathroom, blood stain on the wall, dirt everywhere you look. At night temperature dropped to approximately 3 degrees above absolute zero. Try to have a shower there:) At the end of our stay Hakim asked full price for the "room of wonders". Nice try. Subsequently he gave us discount of 20€ meaning that we paid 20€ for the dirty room.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Tanya Novakova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 April 2013

Liked: .

Disliked: staff

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel owner was awesome! very friendly and super helpful, so too was the restaurant manager and the restaurant team. made you feel welcome and went out of their way to make sure you had a good time

Disliked: we waited over 30 min for a staff member to appear in the restaurant for breakfast. (place was left unattended) bathroom in dorm room not that great...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The host was very nice and helpfull, the rooms were good and the location was awesome,,

Disliked: Nothing..

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was situated very in the center

Disliked: It is hard to find as it is located in a very life restaurant and bar street and does not have a proper building but rooms upstairs of the restaurants.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

rani cheema

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 August 2012

Liked: Staff was very nice, brekfast was great (turkish breakfast), location was pretty damn perfect, there was air con

Disliked: 90% of what they say/advertise is directed to their hotel guests. The hostel is in a stank, muggy, gross 10 bed basement. I get it basements are humid, ok but the bathroom was beyond gross. they gave you slippers to use because it gets flooded with mirky or murky or merky (i cant spell) water. the beds were really squeeky, I can sleep through anything but my friend had to jump off the top bunk (no ladder) and made so much noise that everyone would wake up. They say towels are free.. this is true but i had to ask for one and they said "only for hotel guests" i told them well i thought they were free thats why i didn't bring one so they gave me one saying "we never do this" the staff was beyond friendly! and thats why it makes it difficult to give them a crap review. they get 100% from people based on the hotel upstairs.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Samuel Alonso Herrero

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012

Liked: La Ubicación es excepcional: en 2 minutos andando te plantas en medio del parque que está rodeado por los principales monumentos de Estambul (zona de Sultanamenht), tiendas y restaurantes; además de la parada de Tranvía que te puede llevar al resto de puntos principales en 10 minutos (cuerno de oro, Galata, Bósforo,...). Todo queda a mano. Muy buen precio: aunque la calidad del establecimiento es acorde al precio, yo no encontré nada a mejor precio que este hostal, es perfecto para gastar lo menos posible en el hospedaje. Amabilidad del personal del café-restaurante: el equipo de camareros del café-restaurante anexo al hostal siempre te reciben con una sonrisa antes de subir a la habitación, se preocupan por tu experiencia en Estambul, y están dispuestos para darte cualquier información o recomendación que necesites. Su calidad profesional está muy por encima del establecimiento en el que trabajan. Un trato excelente.

Disliked: NO CONFÍES EN EL RESPONSABLE. El Responsable del hostal abusó de nuestro exceso de indulgencia y complacencia sin ningún pudor; prioriza su negocio al bienestar de sus huéspedes. Al llegar el primer día nos informa de que tenemos que hospedarnos 3 noches en otro hostal “próximo” (cercano pero en una zona muy distinta: con escombros, calles oscuras, zona no turística…) de algún “socio” porque nuestra habitación no está disponible; después de esas 3 noches entraríamos en nuestra habitación de New Backpackers durante las otras 4 noches. Como he dicho fuimos muy complacientes ya que nos limitamos a asegurarnos de que la nueva habitación fuese Doble y con Baño privado (nuestros requisitos mínimos); no preguntamos la razón verdadera por la que no pudimos instalarnos desde el primer día en nuestra habitación, pero tras la posterior experiencia sospecho de Overbooking (sobrepasa las reservas para sacar más dinero). La habitación en la que nos instalan está en un hostal a medio abrir, que está siendo reformado o en construcción para inaugurarse; de hecho, la habitación será en un futuro un apartamento porque tenía encimera preparada para instalar la cocina, fregadero,… Una habitación doble grande con baño privado enano, aire acondicionado… La habitación no estaba mal pero las personas encargadas de aquello no hablaban nada de inglés, las toallas eran de playa (con el dibujo de un coche) y viejísimas,… en realidad creo que era la lavandería del barrio… Hicieron algún tipo de reparación en las tuberías en este hostal y nos dejaron sin agua una tarde, fuimos a avisar al Responsable de New Backpackers para que encontrase a su “socio” y arreglasen nuestro problema antes del día siguiente para que pudiésemos ducharnos por la mañana, nos dijo el famoso “NO PROBLEM” y cuando volvimos de cenar a eso de las 23:00 seguíamos sin agua… cabreados reclamamos de nuevo que hiciesen algo y nos dio la impresión de que en ese momento fue cuando de verdad empezó a buscar la solución al problema, antes pasó olímpicamente de nosotros (DOS CLIENTES SUYOS A LOS QUE HABÍA METIDO EN OTRO HOSTAL Y SE HABÍAN QUEDADO SIN AGUA AL SEGUNDO DÍA). Por la mañana teníamos agua corriente y una invitación para cenar gratis en su restaurante que por supuesto aprovechamos dado todos los inconvenientes que se nos estaban planteando. Cuando nos fuimos a instalar al hostal New Backpackers la cosa fue a peor. Nos metieron en una habitación doble con baño privado pero que era diminuta. Ni siquiera sabíamos dónde dejar las maletas, se quedaron “aparcadas” entre la cama y el baño. La habitación tenía dos pequeñas ventanas que daban a una escombrera posterior al hostal, quedaban a la altura del suelo de este patio por lo que el baño estaba infectado por hormigas con alas que buscaban la luz de la bombilla… algunas conseguían entrar en la parte de la cama y las podías ver por encima de las almohadas. MI RESREVA ERA EN LA SUITE DELUXE (lógicamente no esperaba ningún lujo, pero había visto fotos de habitaciones mucho mejores). Cuando nos íbamos a dar una vuelta, decepcionados y sorprendidos por la pésima habitación que teníamos, vimos que la habitación de al lado estaba entreabierta… no dudé en entrar hasta dentro y ver con asombro que se trataba de MI SUITE DELUXE (sólo tienen una suite deluxe, ésta es mi habitación reservada), y estaba vacía. Bajamos con una cara de mala hostia espectacular y exigimos al Responsable que nos diera la llave de esa habitación. Nos la dio, eso si, mientras nos recordaba que esa habitación era la Suite Deluxe pero que nos la dejaba por las molestias ocasionadas al tener que ir a otro hostal… ¿será cretino? Es que ésa es la habitación que yo tengo reservada; ahora pretende que parezca que nos hace un favor, cuando realmente la cuestión es: ¿por qué nos ha dado la Doble teniendo libre la Suite Deluxe? ¿un error? ¿otra vez? Pienso que esta persona intenta arañar dinero de cualquier forma, y prefiere tener libre la Suite Deluxe por si alguien viene buscando una habitación, poder ofrecerle la mejor; aunque esto suponga meter a dos huéspedes a los que ya ha fastidiado bastante en una habitación mucho peor de la que ellos habían reservado desde un principio. NO RECOMIENDO ESTE HOSTAL PORQUE SU RESPONSABLE ES UN CRETINO SIN NINGUNA CONSIDERACIÓN POR EL CONTRATO (RESERVA) QUE TIENE HACÍA SUS CLIENTES, SI TIENE POSIBILIDAD TE ENGAÑA PARA PODER GANAR MÁS DINERO, NO TE PUEDES FIAR DE ÉL. El Desayuno es muy muy mediocre. El “buffet” consta de: aceitunas, tomates, pepino, tranchetes de queso, pan y mermelada. Puedes pedir café o té de beber, y, gracias a nuestra insistencia, ahora también puede que tengan leche. La mantequilla desapareció al segundo día y, pese a pedirla cada mañana, no la repusieron nunca… El Personal de la mañana es incompetente. Si se te acaba la mantequilla en tu cafetería, y un cliente de tu hostal te la pide, creo que lo más normal a parte de reponer al día siguiente, es ir a la tienda de al lado a comprar un envase de mantequilla. Si no hay leche, pues se compra al momento, no que tenga que intervenir el jefe de la cafetería para comunicar que a partir de mañana la tendrán… El personal que trabaja en el horario del desayuno es incompetente y roza lo absurdo ya que el chico sólo se dedicaba escuchar música en el portátil y sonreír cuando no entendía algo en inglés.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Spela Groselj

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 June 2012 Spela would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is at the very good location. Room was very nice, clean, like new. The staff was very friendly and nice.

Disliked: Spela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place ıs very safe and the staff are lovely. perfect locatıon!!!! excellent place to stay.

Disliked: Nothıng

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rudy wharton

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Work / volunteering

22 March 2012 Rudy would recommend this property

Liked: great place for me .. The friendly staff...Reception he is very good person..,Very good room..Thank you again

Disliked: Rudy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ridvan çelik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

22 March 2012 Ridvan would recommend this property

Liked: they are very good place..and amosfer exallent...very cleans room.. reception has been very helpful to me...coffee, apple tea is always free... Thank You Rudy For Everythnik

Disliked: Ridvan left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Erica Polini

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 March 2012

Liked: Good common room with nice atmosphere

Disliked: Dirty sheets, dirty towels, NO WATER FOR 3 DAYS

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mauro Calzone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Mauro would recommend this property

Liked: Price, staff

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elina Rudy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

21 February 2012 Elina would recommend this property

Liked: Exallent Place

Disliked: Elina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: vahap is the really good and helping boss of the place. Staff is also very helpful on demand. Location is great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a really nice place to stay

Disliked: ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pretty close to anywhere in my stay and the staff are interested in clean rooms, spacious enough and have a very good breakfast cafe and hookah dometes olive bread, eggs, honey, jam, everything fresh cucumber

Disliked: pretty close to anywhere in my stay and the staff are interested in clean rooms, spacious enough and have a very good breakfast cafe and hookah dometes olive bread, eggs, honey, jam, everything fresh cucumber

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011

Liked: I liked the friendliness and the honesty of the staff.

Disliked: The first night of my stay I was given a small and dirty room.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kate Lloydhope

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011

Liked: It was just a very short walk from the blue mosque

Disliked: This was just a mattress on the dirty floor with a door that barely locked and water that ran out in the middle of my shower. Also it is right near pubs where young backpackers party until 3am. Do not stay here!!!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011

Liked: includes a Shisha lounge

Disliked: The owner: He got more angry every day because we didn`t spent time and money at his place. We went out for dinner and drinks and had only once a shisha there - that seemed to make him unfriendly and angry. They didn`t change the towels not once in 7 days (although he said "tomorrow"), didn`t clean the room at all and didn' t serve breakfast any more (once 10 a.m. was too late, New Year the staff was still sleeping at 11:30 so that there was no one to talk to...). Staff is sleeping on the matresses inside the lounge... Staff seems to smoke not only shisha... - seems like some of the guys are addicted to drugs! Plus: The owner acts patronizing and treats his staff really bad. Be careful: The friendliness at the beginning is definately FALSE!!!!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2010

Liked: only the location

Disliked: Our booking had not been processed or received by the hostel. They put us in a room for one night, but the next day we moved to another room in the hostel, where there was no toilet paper, no bathroom light, only one towel and an intermittent shower. We received toilet paper on request. When we left early (7am) one morning, no breakfast was available, though we had asked if it would be possible to get something to take, such as bread. No refund was offered for this, and no apology. The hostel felt like a bar with rooms filled for extra money.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

04 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay if you don't look for something complicated... People from the hostel are friendly ! You can stay in the bar below, have some drink and eat.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.