HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Metropolis Hostel Istanbul Hostel

Akbiyik cad. Terbiyik sok. No:24, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 88%

Location 99%

Safety 98%

Staff 94%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Cancellation policy : 72hrs
Please note: We welcome travelers of all ages. We ask, however, that travelers over 40 years old can book only into private rooms, and not shared dorm rooms.We are travellers hostel therefore local people can not book with us ‘’

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 88%

Location 99%

Safety 98%

Staff 94%

Value 94%

Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Location is one of the big advantages of this property. It is surrounded by Restaurants, Pubs and historical Structures. The rooms are big, clean and quite. The Staff is very helpful and friendly.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Walking distance to all the main tourist sights and easy to catch public transport for longer journeys. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was cleaned every day and the shared bathroom was always clean too. Great breakfast included in the price.

Disliked: N/a

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Breakfast, location, clean, rooftop bar, helpful manager.

Disliked: Bit quiet when we visited but no one's fault

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: See below.

Disliked: I booked for 3 nights, Nov 11-14, but stayed only 1 night and just checked out. I cancelled the other 2 nights. What happened, you ask? Oh where to begin!In all the hostels I've stayed at this probably was the worst experience.When I checked in I was not informed until after I paid for the 3 nights that there was no water and that I couldn't shower. I'll chalk it up to miscommunication but I thought it was only for about 3 hrs that evening from 7-10 pm due to a rolling shut down. That was fine, I could live with that. Since it wasn't 7pm yet, I tried to use the bathroom but there was no water. I talked to the staff and was told there was no water until between 7-10pm the next day! I was suggested to pay and to a hammam to wash myself! Shocked, I went for a walk and asked some random hotels to see if they had water, they did. The water shut down was true but other places actually stored up water for their guests. I paid to wash myself after a day of traveling at a hammam but whatever. When I got back to the hostel I asked for some water to brush my teeth and wash my face. I was given water in a dirty bucket.I moved to a different guest house the next day and they had water just fine.That whole water thing was unfortunate but I wasn't so upset about it. What happened next was unbelievable.I informed the staff that I would like to check out and cancel the remaining 2 nights as I can't stay in a place where you have concerns about going to the bathroom (especially doing number 2). And I wasn't sure when the water would come back despite being told a time.They agreed to refund me the 2 nights after I pointed it out that unfortunately the contract was broken and you can't expect someone to stay at a place with no water for washing and basic toilet needs.Then they tried to charge me for the deposit that hostelbookers already charged my credit card. It took me a while to convince them that I already paid for the deposit and not getting it back from hostelbookers either way!They initially tried to pay me in euro, I asked to be repaid in Turkish lira as that was the currency I paid in (with a terrible exchange rate that they used; seriously I am not trying to split hair but how can you charge your guests an exchange rate that is worse than the worst rate at an exchange office?! And there are many of them around the corner in old town Istanbul. Plus the "local currency" in Turkey is the Turkish lira, not the euro).So, they gave me euro (20 euros), I returned it asking for lira. They gave me lira (58 lira) but charging me the deposit that I already paid to hostelbookers, so I gave it back asking not to be charged twice for the same deposit. After much back and forth, they refunded me the full amount (68 lira).I walked out then was called back accused of not giving them back the initial 58 lira! I had to empty my pockets, showed them all the lira I had! Thanks god I was already running low on lira so didn't even have enough, thus there was no way for me to have kept the 58 lira then also took their 68 lira.They were not satisfied and decided to check their camera. Fine, as if I had something to hide. I should have asked for the police to be called if they thought I was a cheat or thief.As you can imagine I was quite upset by this point.Once they realized that I did not cheat them, the main guy (don't know if he's the owner) said "That's ok". Was there even an apology? No.I don't understand where the 95% rating from about 2000 guests came from. Are some of them phantom reviewers? May be I was incredibly unlucky? But very likely they are nice to you until they realize there's no money to be made from you then to hell with politeness and decency.There are lots of other equally nice hostels in the area.Please do not stay here as such behaviour should not be rewarded.


The property's response is

Dear Guest,
This is happen quite frequently that travelers cant pay enough attention to things when they check in hostels/hotels.Stress of long flights and trying finding accomodation etc.. We have informed you that there wont be water for 48 hours ( as city water network destroyed and that effected 90 % of the city, we had water in the water storage but its fnished by the time you checked in) and we have put a sign on the board as well that there is a water shortage. After you have moved in to your dorm you asked me again and Clearly I repeat that there WONT BE WATER TILL TOMORROW 7 PM. So misscominication I think its coming from your part althrough when you wanted check out next day we allowed you check out and refound your money.Sorry but any deposit you pay online is NON-REFOUNDABLE while we showed you on your confirmation mail.Asking to staff for efound first in liras than in euros than in dollars sorry but its big confussion after you keep changing your mind , puting money in your pocket and take it off and again again ..After all we even gave your deposit back and apologise for this situation ,I found your review not honest and fair. I wish you ll have a chance to experience our hostel another time and that would change your ideas absolutely better way..
Happy Travels with Peace..

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Atmosphere, location, cleanliness and the staff were the best part :)

Disliked: I wish I could have stayed longer.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location for me was the best thing about this hostel. It's pretty much close to all the major sights in Istanbul. You can walk to most of them. They also offer complimentary breakfast which is quiet good. Loved this place very clean and I thought our room was spacious (6bed dorm). There's also a rooftop which has a good view compared to other hostels and hotels around it and breakfast is quiet enjoyable in this place. If you looking for a place to stay in Istanbul this is the place and would definitely stay here again if I ever visit Istanbhl again :)

Disliked: Loved everythig about it my expectations were exceeded.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Metropolis was AMAZING! Room was spacious and was cleaned everyday. WiFi connection was superb everywhere in the hostel. The rooftop bar was the most amazing place to chill our of an afternoon. Had an incredible view and was nice and quiet. Staff was so helpful the whole time we were there. And great location to top it all off! Cannot recommend the place enough!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cute. Amaxing location to sights. Gorgeous roof deck. Yummy breakfast included.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean and tidy

Disliked: No

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability