We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Metropolis Hostel

Hostel | Akbiyik cad. Terbiyik sok, No:24, Sultanahmet Istanbul, Turkey 34110

95.9% Overall Rating

1899 out of 2009 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2015)

"Everything was amazing specially the staff.. they were so helpful .. breakfast was good."

Read all Metropolis Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation policy : 72hrs Please note: We welcome travelers of all ages. We ask, however, that travelers over 40 years old can book only into private rooms, and not shared dorm rooms.We are travellers hostel therefore local people can not book with us ‘’

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Chora Guest House
13.55 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 34 reviews
Marmara Guesthouse
29.64 USD

Guesthouse 92.0% 206 reviews
Tulip Guesthouse
21.46 USD

Guesthouse 89.0% 380 reviews
Star Hotel Istanbul
31.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.7% 3 reviews
New backpackers
14.68 USD

Hostel 77.4% 64 reviews
Orient Hostel
10.16 USD

Hostel 90.7% 427 reviews
Sultan Hostel
12.42 USD

Hostel 84.1% 565 reviews
Villa Pasha Hotel
56.47 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.9%

Overall Rating

1899 out of 2009 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Metropolis Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 1694 of 1857 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 67 | 68   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was amazing specially the staff.. they were so helpful .. breakfast was good.

Disliked: NOTHİNG

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cute. Amaxing location to sights. Gorgeous roof deck. Yummy breakfast included.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KIAN ANN NGAN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2015 KIAN ANN would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so nice and helpful, the room and bathroom clean, the breakfast was delicious! If you are looking for an excellent accommodation, the Metropolis hostel is the best choice!

Disliked: Nothing, excellent service.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renee Leth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2015 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is great and close to everything

Disliked: It is a very narrow property.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Silver

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2015 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop terrace has one of the best views in the old city. The rooms were cleaned everyday and the value for money was very good. Would reccend to other travellers every time.

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tahnee Cowie

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2015 Tahnee would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms/bathroom, powerpoints/light at every bed, good breakfast, lovely rooftop terrace and walking distance or quick tram ride to attractions.

Disliked: Using Google maps to get there from Sultanahmet tram stop was much more difficult than described - took a lot longer than the suggested 9 minutes! Other than that, hostel was great and would definitely recommend to other travellers!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything I loved the property! The rooms were clean and amazing for a hostel. The roof bar area was very inclusive, it was so easy to meet new people!

Disliked: I had no complaints abort Metropolis hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marine Menier

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 June 2015 Marine would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop, and the friendliness of staff :)

Disliked: The loo and shower in the same room, not really convenient, and the humidity smell in them!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Torda

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 April 2015 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is located 5 minutes from Hagia Sophia. Almost all touristic attractions are in walking distance but if you don't want to walk, tram stop is as well 10 min from hostel. Guy at the reception was helpful. In the room every person has a locker and the room is locked with a card key. Next to each bed is one electrical outlet. Breakfast was very good and you can eat as much as you want. Bathroom was clean. Free luggage room.

Disliked: Room is to small for six people. Just one bathroom on floor. It's a bit difficult to find a hostel for the first time, a lot of tinny streets.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff and the rooms and facilities were all very clean. Great location too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MINJU PARK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2015 MINJU would recommend this property

Liked: View

Disliked: No,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cute hostel located in old town just couple minutes walking distance from blue mosque and many other monuments, attractions.Most importantly is really clean and cozy.Buffet breakfast serving on their roof top terrace restaurant overlooking boshphorus and asia.The view is amazing.Breakfast they serve; tea, coffee, cheese , bread, eggs,butter , honey , jam ,nutella,olives, fruits,tomato, cocumber,cake ,halva, yoghurt and cereals .Typical turkish breakfast and is great.Cool staff , friendly and informative, orginised night out was great too.All in all I think is a wonderful place to be in Istambul. I had a great time here..

Disliked: nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! the buffet breakfast is amazing,the hostel staff are so helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I choosed this hostel becouse of location and roof top view.Having free breakfast each morning on the roof is just amazing.Very friendly staff always around to help you. Wifi available everywhere , room and bathroom is super clean, They do cheap transfer to airport which was just 6 euros, in short, it’s satisfied my expectations and I Will definetly reccomend my friends.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had very helpful staff, very clean and well maintained rooms, good location, WiFi in all areas, Free breakfast, good showers. I would definitely recommend.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, located in good position, short walking distance to major sites, breakfast served on the roof terrace is really good, there is no kitchen in the hostel but what I heard is there is no kitchen in 90 % of İstanbul hostels although you can find cheap restaurants all around old city, Wifi connection was ok and available in the room also in terrace,I must say is one of the most cleanest hostel I stayed, beds are comfortable too, reading light and plugs by the bed is very handy, Ask staff anything you need, they always have good ansevers with a smile. I would stay here again in this lovely little hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susanne Pieren

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2015 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about this hostel, staff made me feel at home,offering apple tea and telling stories about this great city. Breakfast was really cool , I could just sit on their terrace and enjoy the view all day long I wish I could stay longer..

Disliked: Nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Bettina Rossmann

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2015

Liked: location

Disliked: i am a frequent traveller and not picky with hostel, but i have absolutely no clue why this one got such a good rate. 1. the room was in the basement. super tiny, hardly space for a bigger suitcase. it was feezing cold in there because they put a hole(!) in the window for the hose of the aircondition - we stayed there in dec/jan. when we asked for a second blanket we were laughed down and called princesses. 2. breakfast is ok, but on the rooftop terrace it was again freezing cold because the glass doors were not stable. 3. you can't bring your own drinks and the bar is really expensive compared to other hostels (i stayed at 2 more) 4. once the window in the bathroom just fell off and hit me. when we told the stuff he didn't even apologize and laughed again 5. stuff: one guy was very friendly and helpful, but we saw him only once. the rest of the time there was another guy who was either unfriendly or teasing us instead of helping. the girl at the breakfast shift didn't even talk to us. no toiletpaper, not enough blankets, unfriendly stuff, no information, wlan didn't work properly why did this hostel get an award for "cleanliness" and the "stuff"?!? never again

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

23 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best part of the hostel was helpful , sympatetic staffand incredible view from roof bar. Handy location, easy to walk everywhere, breakfast was free and yummy, rooms are clean and well heated,it was definetly good choise and great value as well.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome stay, incredible location, comfy beds, delicious breakfast, helpful staff, amazing view from the roof terrace bar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marta Bartoszek

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2015 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: It's in Sultanahmet, close to all the main sites. The view from the rooftop bar is great but it's a little bit cold there in the winter. The drinks are also at similar price as everywhere in Sultanahmet (pricy). The staff was nice. Breakfast was really good as for hostel standards.

Disliked: There was mould next to my bed - and it has been mentioned in another review here, so apparently they are not doing anything about it! I asked if I could change the bed and I did, but the receptionist didn't seem particularly interested. No kitchen and no table in room, so it was really difficult to eat your own food. In Sultanahmet everything is overpriced and there are no normal shops or cheap restaurants. If I were to chose again I would stay in another neigbourhood and take the tram.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is well located and good value for money. The staff are helpful and the room comfortable with an excellent shower.

Disliked: NOTHİNG

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly and helpfull staff, Breakfast! Everything was just! great

Disliked: nothing