We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Metropolis Hostel

Hostel | Akbiyik cad. Terbiyik sok, No:24, Sultanahmet Istanbul, Turkey 34110

94.1% Overall Rating

1892 out of 2002 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2015)

Adam Silver thinks…

"The rooftop terrace has one of the best views in the old city. The rooms were cleaned everyday and the value for money was very good. Would reccend to other travellers every time."

Read all Metropolis Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation policy : 72hrs Please note: We welcome travelers of all ages. We ask, however, that travelers over 40 years old can book only into private rooms, and not shared dorm rooms.We are travellers hostel therefore local people can not book with us ‘’

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Chora Guest House
13.29 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 34 reviews
Marmara Guesthouse
19.38 USD

Guesthouse 92.0% 206 reviews
Tulip Guesthouse
19.38 USD

Guesthouse 89.0% 380 reviews
Star Hotel Istanbul
24.91 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
New backpackers
21.04 USD

Hostel 76.6% 63 reviews
Orient Hostel
9.96 USD

Hostel 90.7% 425 reviews
Sultan Hostel
11.07 USD

Hostel 86.1% 559 reviews
Villa Pasha Hotel
40.22 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.1%

Overall Rating

1892 out of 2002 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Metropolis Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 1689 of 1850 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 67 | 68   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Silver

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2015 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop terrace has one of the best views in the old city. The rooms were cleaned everyday and the value for money was very good. Would reccend to other travellers every time.

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tahnee Cowie

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2015 Tahnee would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms/bathroom, powerpoints/light at every bed, good breakfast, lovely rooftop terrace and walking distance or quick tram ride to attractions.

Disliked: Using Google maps to get there from Sultanahmet tram stop was much more difficult than described - took a lot longer than the suggested 9 minutes! Other than that, hostel was great and would definitely recommend to other travellers!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything I loved the property! The rooms were clean and amazing for a hostel. The roof bar area was very inclusive, it was so easy to meet new people!

Disliked: I had no complaints abort Metropolis hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marine Menier

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 June 2015 Marine would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop, and the friendliness of staff :)

Disliked: The loo and shower in the same room, not really convenient, and the humidity smell in them!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Torda

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 April 2015 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is located 5 minutes from Hagia Sophia. Almost all touristic attractions are in walking distance but if you don't want to walk, tram stop is as well 10 min from hostel. Guy at the reception was helpful. In the room every person has a locker and the room is locked with a card key. Next to each bed is one electrical outlet. Breakfast was very good and you can eat as much as you want. Bathroom was clean. Free luggage room.

Disliked: Room is to small for six people. Just one bathroom on floor. It's a bit difficult to find a hostel for the first time, a lot of tinny streets.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff and the rooms and facilities were all very clean. Great location too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MINJU PARK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2015 MINJU would recommend this property

Liked: View

Disliked: No,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cute hostel located in old town just couple minutes walking distance from blue mosque and many other monuments, attractions.Most importantly is really clean and cozy.Buffet breakfast serving on their roof top terrace restaurant overlooking boshphorus and asia.The view is amazing.Breakfast they serve; tea, coffee, cheese , bread, eggs,butter , honey , jam ,nutella,olives, fruits,tomato, cocumber,cake ,halva, yoghurt and cereals .Typical turkish breakfast and is great.Cool staff , friendly and informative, orginised night out was great too.All in all I think is a wonderful place to be in Istambul. I had a great time here..

Disliked: nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! the buffet breakfast is amazing,the hostel staff are so helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I choosed this hostel becouse of location and roof top view.Having free breakfast each morning on the roof is just amazing.Very friendly staff always around to help you. Wifi available everywhere , room and bathroom is super clean, They do cheap transfer to airport which was just 6 euros, in short, it’s satisfied my expectations and I Will definetly reccomend my friends.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had very helpful staff, very clean and well maintained rooms, good location, WiFi in all areas, Free breakfast, good showers. I would definitely recommend.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, located in good position, short walking distance to major sites, breakfast served on the roof terrace is really good, there is no kitchen in the hostel but what I heard is there is no kitchen in 90 % of İstanbul hostels although you can find cheap restaurants all around old city, Wifi connection was ok and available in the room also in terrace,I must say is one of the most cleanest hostel I stayed, beds are comfortable too, reading light and plugs by the bed is very handy, Ask staff anything you need, they always have good ansevers with a smile. I would stay here again in this lovely little hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susanne Pieren

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2015 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about this hostel, staff made me feel at home,offering apple tea and telling stories about this great city. Breakfast was really cool , I could just sit on their terrace and enjoy the view all day long I wish I could stay longer..

Disliked: Nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Bettina Rossmann

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2015

Liked: location

Disliked: i am a frequent traveller and not picky with hostel, but i have absolutely no clue why this one got such a good rate. 1. the room was in the basement. super tiny, hardly space for a bigger suitcase. it was feezing cold in there because they put a hole(!) in the window for the hose of the aircondition - we stayed there in dec/jan. when we asked for a second blanket we were laughed down and called princesses. 2. breakfast is ok, but on the rooftop terrace it was again freezing cold because the glass doors were not stable. 3. you can't bring your own drinks and the bar is really expensive compared to other hostels (i stayed at 2 more) 4. once the window in the bathroom just fell off and hit me. when we told the stuff he didn't even apologize and laughed again 5. stuff: one guy was very friendly and helpful, but we saw him only once. the rest of the time there was another guy who was either unfriendly or teasing us instead of helping. the girl at the breakfast shift didn't even talk to us. no toiletpaper, not enough blankets, unfriendly stuff, no information, wlan didn't work properly why did this hostel get an award for "cleanliness" and the "stuff"?!? never again

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

23 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best part of the hostel was helpful , sympatetic staffand incredible view from roof bar. Handy location, easy to walk everywhere, breakfast was free and yummy, rooms are clean and well heated,it was definetly good choise and great value as well.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome stay, incredible location, comfy beds, delicious breakfast, helpful staff, amazing view from the roof terrace bar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marta Bartoszek

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2015 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: It's in Sultanahmet, close to all the main sites. The view from the rooftop bar is great but it's a little bit cold there in the winter. The drinks are also at similar price as everywhere in Sultanahmet (pricy). The staff was nice. Breakfast was really good as for hostel standards.

Disliked: There was mould next to my bed - and it has been mentioned in another review here, so apparently they are not doing anything about it! I asked if I could change the bed and I did, but the receptionist didn't seem particularly interested. No kitchen and no table in room, so it was really difficult to eat your own food. In Sultanahmet everything is overpriced and there are no normal shops or cheap restaurants. If I were to chose again I would stay in another neigbourhood and take the tram.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is well located and good value for money. The staff are helpful and the room comfortable with an excellent shower.

Disliked: NOTHİNG

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly and helpfull staff, Breakfast! Everything was just! great

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HITALO SILVA

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2014 HITALO would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, safe lockers and reading light for each bed.

Disliked: HITALO left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for Money. Service of the staff and excellent breakfast.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laszlo Partos

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2014 Laszlo would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is close to the centre, friendly and clean. We had a room, which overlooked to the sea and to the street as well. :) We loved it! The bathroom was next to our room and it was very clean. The roof terrace is amazing. The staff is friendly and helps when you need some info. After we had left the room, they could store our luggages while we went to buy the last presents. We highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: With heavy baggage it's quite hard to climb upstairs, the staircase is very narrow and steep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was near many of the famous sights and not that far away from the metro so travelling around Istanbul was no problem. The roof terrace was amazing and it was great to spend an evening there after being out all day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elisea De Somma

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014 elisea would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic friendly staff who are always helpful - Comfortable, quiet and clean rooms - Great location - Relaxed atmosphere - Great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing