HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Bahaus Hostel Istanbul Hostel

Akbiyik Cadessi, Bayramfirin Sokak No 7, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 85%

Location 90%

Safety 85%

Staff 90%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 36.07USD
  • Towel 1.20USD

Important Information

All rooms are fully air-conditioned, free Wi Fi, 24 hours heating and hot water!

Bahaus Hostel is the first and only hostel in Turkey to be voted number one worldwide by Hostels.com for Sept 2005.

Also voted in the top 10 hostels worldwide by Hostelworld for May 2006, Jan 2006, April 2006, June 2006, July 2006, Aug 2006, Feb 2010.

The only hostel in Turkey to be chosen in the top 12 good hostels for big-city stays worldwide by several international newspapers, including the Washington Post, Salt Lake Tribune, Deseret News and Ottowa Citizens (Aug 2006). Bahaus is currently recommended by Lonely Planet, Let's Go, The Rough Guide, Routard, Trotamundos and Trotter guidebooks.

All our rooms are fully air- conditioned; rooms also have overhead ceiling fans for guests who don’t like air-conditioning.

We have charming dorm rooms, equipped for a comfortable sleep with privacy curtains, bedding, orthopedic mattresses,central heating, free large security lockers (bring your own padlock). Our comfortable double (ensuite/ shared bathroom) and twin rooms (ensuite/shared) have their own LCD TVS and security boxes. Room rates include clean sheets, duvet, duvet covers and pillow.

The all new bathrooms have24 hour hot water, large waterfall shower heads, foam dispensers, hygienic toilet seat covers, hair driers.

Safety is a priority. We have security cameras at key locations and 24-hour reception, while our dorm rooms have security card password locks.

Ideally located in the most historical part of Istanbul, we are just round the corner from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, and within walking distance of all major attractions in the Old City and close to bus, train, ferry and tram links.

Travelling alone or in a group, there are plenty of opportunities to socialize. Enjoy a delicious barbecue on our spectacular roof top terrace. Play backgammon, poker, smoke a hookah, listen to music or just admire the breathtaking view over the Marmara Sea and Asian side of Istanbul.

We are a sociable and party-loving hostel- we hope you are social too!

We have free internet access on several computers as well as free Wi Fi throughout our hostel.

Our staff are genuinely friendly and want to help. We have a free travel advisory and know just what you need to have the best holiday ever! We offer an airport pick up and drop off service as well as a 24 hour wake-up service. We are waiting to give you the warmest welcome to Istanbul.

Every day we have a delicious, free breakfast which includes cheese, olives, salami, eggs, jams, butter, bread, chocolate spread, tomato, cucumber, yoghurt, milk, cornflakes, dried fruits and on certain days we also serve special Turkish omelette, pies and cake.

On some nights, we have free movies, karaoke, belly dance shows and pub crawls (free entrance only). In fact, we have loads of free facilities including free local phone calls (landlines only), security lockers, car and bike parking, city maps and a book exchange.

Bahaus Hostel also has opened a unique resort hostel in DALYAN, located on the Mediterranean coast in an environmentally protected area - chosen the Best Open Space in Europe (The Times), in the Top 10 Best Beaches in Europe (The Independent), the Best Beach in Europe (Dutch media). With an adjacent organic farm, swimming pool, jacuzzi, fully-equipped sports salon, pool tables and so much more. All types of tours can easily be arranged (Blue Cruise, white water rafting, jeep safari, historical etc) as well as to nearby Pamukkale, Fethiye, Mamaris, Ephesus as well as Blue Cruise. Ask at reception for more details.

There is no curfew and no lockout!
CHECK IN: 13:30
CHECK OUT: 10:30

Please note that we only accept guests between the ages of 14 and 40 years old.
We reserve the right of admittance.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 85%

Location 90%

Safety 85%

Staff 90%

Value 80%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Amazing location! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Beautiful views from the rooftop bar and terrace. Our rooms were trendy and always clean, all in all the atmosphere was excellent and I highly recommend this hostel!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here, from the best location, to the comfortable beds and the fantastic staff. The hostel runs a range of events from pub crawls to walking tours to my personal favourite the rooftop BBQ. Whatever you need, this place has the answers, they helped me arrange the best deals for my trips around Turkey, Cappadoccia is a MUST. Thanks again to the whole team, Alim, Laura, Tugi, Dusty and Jr.

Disliked: I couldn't stay longer.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: This place embodies everything you want a Hostel to be. Clean, secure and comfortable rooms, a bar that never shys away from a party and the most incredible staff. Thanks again for making my Istanbul experience great!

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location for joining our tour the next day. the saving grace for this experience was the friendliness of the front desk staff.

Disliked: On arrival the desk clerk had no record of our booking, they charged us more for the room than what was agreed upon with this site, we were later told that they do not use Hostelbookers.com as a booking agency.

Check Availability