We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Big Apple Hostel & Hotel

Hostel | Akbiyik cad. Bayramfirin sok12, Sultanahmet / Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey 34410

95.3% Overall Rating

277 out of 307 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2014)

Michael Vetter thinks…

"The staff were extremely helpful and personable. They will try their best to answer any question you have, and they genuinely care about guests. I thought the rooms and beds were quite nice. Hostel…"

Read all Big Apple Hostel & Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 38.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Villa Pasha Hotel
60.53 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Sultan Hostel
16.74 USD

Hostel 83.7% 552 reviews
Bonjour Guesthouse
32.20 USD

Guesthouse 75.0% 4 reviews
Star Hotel Istanbul
42.07 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Agora Guesthouse
21.89 USD

Hostel 92.2% 381 reviews
Yakamoz Guesthouse
18.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Alaaddin Hotel
64.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.4% 4 reviews
Tulip Guesthouse
32.20 USD

Guesthouse 89.0% 380 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.3%

Overall Rating

277 out of 307 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Big Apple Hostel & Hotel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.8%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 238 of 250 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Envet and other staff made me feel very welcome. A solid hostel.

Disliked: Not much really. The coffee machine stopped working the morning I had breakfast unfortunately.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Vetter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful and personable. They will try their best to answer any question you have, and they genuinely care about guests. I thought the rooms and beds were quite nice. Hostel was frequently cleaned. The location is great if you want to see anything in Sultanahmet. Decent wifi. And the terrace with complimentary (and extensive) breakfast is fantastic.

Disliked: I only disliked that some rooms that are the same size and price have private bathrooms and showers while others don't. But it's a minor inconvenience. No serious complaints.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CAMILA SANTIAGO DE BRITO

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 CAMILA would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect and the staff is really friendly!

Disliked: The room was noisy, we could listen people walking at the corridor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vi Nguyen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Vi would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the blue mosque about a 10 mins walk and from the metro as well. The rooms were clean. Breakfast was nice, staff were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Vi left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything you want to see as a tourist in Istanbul. If l came back l would avoid the area as it is very much for the tourist but great for first time visit.

Disliked: I wanted to wash some clothes that couldn't be dried my machine, no area for this. My whole stay was in a female dorm and it was ruled by people who hated air con for some reason so l sweated out each night and felt crap in the morning, but that's dorm life hey Big apple is a great place to stay..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Neisham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff who were very helpful, friendly and remembered us when we came back this time after two weeks away. Great breaky. Good rooms (both dorms and private).

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff

Disliked: Location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

caitlin sweeney

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: One of my favorite hostels of all time. En was a fantastic host and him and everyone who works there makes sure you feel comfortable and happy. The hostel is very clean and in the perfect location. Rooms are spacious with lockers for your things. Delicious breakfast on top of the roof overlooking the ocean. I wholeheartedly recommend this hostel and would return in a minute!

Disliked: Zero complaints

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jihae hwang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 jihae would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is the most amazing one I have ever stayed. Mehmet is incredibly kind. Thank you all guys. I will definitely come back.

Disliked: jihae left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

mariangela massari

Alone

City break

08 April 2014 mariangela would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, quiet

Disliked: No restaurant inside. It cost more than others with same caractheristics. Some of the staff Know very little about the City.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff. Enjoyed my stay and met some awesome travellers!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kabilan Rajmano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014 Kabilan would recommend this property

Liked: A 5 minute walk from the Blue Mosque, plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Staff are excellent helping with all your needs. The rooftop bar provides a nice view of Istanbul

Disliked: Kabilan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. I was acknowledged every time I entered the building and referred to by my name. The location is awesome, and the staff could answer any questions or concerns that I had.

Disliked: One night, I had a 6 person single to myself, so it was difficult to meet people. However, I went during Dec. 22-25 period, so it was largely just the nature of the season.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erika Henderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great, the location was ideal for all sightseeing and the hostel was incredibly clean.

Disliked: Erika left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very hospitable, good free breakfast spread, good location. fun place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bradley Smith

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe feel to it and very frıendly staff..... superb location for all the historic sites Many thanks to ilkay and the team.....wıll stay here again next time in İstanbul. Many thanks

Disliked: Nothıng

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Cooke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, close to the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia, aswell as other restaurants ect. Reception staff were always helpful and went out of thier way to answer questions and help us find things! Bathrooms were clean and nice. Rooftop bar was cool and the breakfast was also really good!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuanyuan Zhao

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Yuanyuan would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: the space of the single room is limited but for one person it is ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sahail ahmed

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 sahail would recommend this property

Liked: Enver and ilkay were fantastıc and very helpful...

Disliked: only on the fırst day water was freezıng cold...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great, lovely rooms and a great view with a authentic Turkish breakfast .

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Mendoza

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Warm welcome and friendly and entertaining staff from arrival to departure. Excellent atmosphere, it feels like a home away from home. Staff will let you feel as if you are a family member. Once you checked in, you would think of not leaving this place, truly awesome.

Disliked: none that I can remember of!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ligor bunga

Alone

City break

17 November 2013 ligor would recommend this property

Liked: All was awesome.... I will definetly come back here... Very clean and wonderful staff...Thank you Ilkayy

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fabio orlando

As a family with children

Family Holiday

08 November 2013 fabio would recommend this property

Liked: STAFF=Location)Price) Breakfast/ wi fi.... everithink was good... but the best think of this Hostel is the STAFF that is very very friendly and funny/// Ikay antonio; Mehmet/ Enver/ Gokha/// all of them was nice i stayed in a double romm for 50 euro..so cheap/// and the room was very nice/// of course when i come back to istanbul i will stay in this hostel

Disliked: fabio left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jared nichols

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 jared would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel friendly staff .

Disliked: jared left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jared nichols

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 jared would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing is the hostel so clean everything is just great .we like to hang out at their terrace I would recommend this to other travelers people...

Disliked: jared left no negative feedback.