We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tulip Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Akbiyik St.Cankurtaran Mah., Terbiyik Sok. No:15/2, Istanbul, Turkey 34400

89.0% Overall Rating

367 out of 380 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/05/2014)

Sebastien Baillargeon thinks…

"Staff was helpful even though we arrived late and were stressed about getting to the airport the next morning. They sold water, wich was helpful and the rooms were very clean."

Read all Tulip Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Newspapers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please be advised that as soon has you receive your confirmation email you will be required to email the property directly with the three digit security code or CCV number from the back of your card. Failure to do so will result in the cancellation of your booking and no refund of the deposit will be given. You will be provided with the properties contact email address on your booking confirmation email. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 4 days before arrival (local time). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Marmara Guesthouse
17.71 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 205 reviews
Chora Guest House
15.18 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 32 reviews
Star Hotel Istanbul
26.57 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Sultan Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 85.1% 553 reviews
Villa Pasha Hotel
52.30 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
18.98 USD

Hostel 95.3% 309 reviews
Orient Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 88.8% 413 reviews
New backpackers
7.59 USD

Hostel 75.7% 61 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

367 out of 380 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tulip Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 336 of 367 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is good enough as a guesthouse.

Disliked: Everything is okay only except the hostelbookers. I had a trouble in contact with the guesthouse. but through a another site with same guesthouse, it never made any problem.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sebastien Baillargeon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 Sebastien would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was helpful even though we arrived late and were stressed about getting to the airport the next morning. They sold water, wich was helpful and the rooms were very clean.

Disliked: Rooms were quite small but it's pretty common. There was an old guy which had his door open and seemed naked beneath his sheets. He was looking at people when they passed in front of his room, wich was kind of scary...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel has absolutely fantastic location in quiet street only 5mins walk from the main sightseeings. The lady who runs it was very nice and helpful. Along with everyone else in the city always smiling. Room and bathroom was very clean, every day new towels and shampoos with soaps. Big and very tasty breakfasts every morning on top floor with view of the sea (although there are some buildings partly blocking the view). Amazing value for the money. I would love to go back there and I can recommend it to everyone.

Disliked: Kitchen with tea and dining room on the very (2nd) top floor with steep steps. Not good for less less ppl. Mobile ppl wont have a problem.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff clean and tidy rooms

Disliked: a choice of fruit juices at breakfast time would have made the breakfasts even better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location friendly staffs

Disliked: Coul be bigger bathroom ed

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christie Petersen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2014 Christie would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly nature of Esin and support satff could not be faulted.

Disliked: Rooms are smaller than we typically expect coming from Australia.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mihai Dobre

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Mihai would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my friends had a wonderful stay at Tulip Guesthouse. There was really nothing to dislike: the staff was very friendly, the rooms were tidy and clean, the shower was completely functional, the breakfast was good (it didn't include meat, but that didn't bother anyone) and the view from the terrace was great. Also, it is placed really well, next to the historical attractions (Hagia Sofia, Sultanahmet Mosque, Topkapi Palace). All in all, it's a great place to stay during your visit to Istanbul.

Disliked: Mihai left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rinta Adita

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

08 March 2013 Rinta would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, near the sultanahmet mosque, many cafes and restos around

Disliked: the breakfast room (terrace) was too small :D

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Horn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Tulip Guesthouse is so helpful and kind. We loved it there and plan to go back at the end of our journey throughout Turkey. The breakfast was good and the prices for a room with a private bath were great. It was also quiet at night as this is not a party hostel. We especially liked that as we still got a chance to meet other travelers and mingle at breakfast. They also held our bags on the last day after we checked out which was so nice!

Disliked: Nothing not to like!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Hamed Tavalla

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 November 2012 Hamed would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: the bathroom is tooooooo small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean. The breakfast excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly staff and excellent location. Around 5-10 mins walk to the Sultanamet, blue mosque, hagia sofia and all the main attractions in the old town. The guesthouse also has a lovely breakfast included. Staff were very knowledgeable about surroundings and gave great recommendations for my family and I. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, cleanliness, breakfast, friendly and competent staff.

Disliked: Facilities could give somewhat a better price-quality ratio. This mainly refers to room size (very small, you can barely turn around) and bathroom, which is to be honest, cleaned frequently enough, but does not have a separated shower cabin or a bath tub. This makes it a bit unconvenient to use on a more frequent basis. Consequently, we would highely recomend this guesthouse for a shorter stay, whereas room size and bedroom issues strongly come to play after a few days.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was staying in Tulip Guesthouse with my friend for a week. We relly liked it. It was really hot outside so the air conditioner was deffinitely our favourite thing :). The Staff was great and the breakfast was really good! Location was really nice too. Close to everything but quiet area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maik Okrey

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Maik would recommend this property

Liked: we had a very relaxed stay and the staff was very helpful and kind.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location! The street the guesthouse is one runs parallel to the main street in Sultanahmet where most of the restaurants are located which at night becomes more active but because the guesthouse is not on the main street you can also get a good nights sleep. Literally just a few minutes walk from the main tourist hub of Sultanahmet Square, The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and Cankurtaran train station. About a 20 minute or so walk from the Grand Bazaar and Spice Bazaar or 5 minutes via the tram from Sultanahmet Square. Also close to a laundry as well!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff - always willing to take the time to answer questions and be fully helpful to their guests. Ennis and Faridye had ready smiles and were so welcoming. Despite being within blocks of the central historic and cultural sites in Sultanahmet as well as a restaurant row, the guesthouse was a quiet haven. Thanks for making my initial days in Turkey a wonderful experience.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and safe.

Disliked: No atmosphere, no way to meet other travellers, no tourist info or local knowledge

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wai Yi Cheng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Wai Yi would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very pleasant stay in this guesthouse. Enes and Batu were welcoming and friendly and provide with us many useful information for traveling. The location was excellent as well: a 5 min walk from the Sultanahmet tram station and tourist sights such as Aya Sofya, the Blue Mosque etc. I couldn't have enjoyed this place more!

Disliked: Wai Yi left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was handy, breakfast was really good and the room was well kept.

Disliked: We didn't dislike this hostel, but due to Tulip being full on our other nights in Istanbul we had to stay somewhere else which was very close by, cost less and had an amazing roof top terrace (which Tulip did not have). So although Tulip is nice and we enjoyed it, there is better out there for less money.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Douw Steyn

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2012 Douw would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012

Liked: It was a pretty cool hostel but not if you like to stay out late. No keys are given out and you pretty much wake someone up with the bell to get the door for you. If you're up for partying late, then this guesthouse is not for you. The people working there are really cool and friendly and helpful with information, and the free breakfast is the bomb!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sophie Varnier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2012 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff. very willing to help you with infomation and things to do.

Disliked: had booked on hostelbookers, but because i dıdnt reply to an email they sent they didnt confirm our booking and had to pay extra to stay in a private room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The excellent breakfast, the staff was wonderful, location, wifi worked great and was fast. Also, good view from the top floor.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff

Disliked: nothing