HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tulip Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Akbiyik St.Cankurtaran Mah., Terbiyik Sok. No:15/2, Istanbul, Turkey 34400

88.2% Overall Rating

363 out of 376 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/10/2013)

Mihai Dobre thinks…

"Me and my friends had a wonderful stay at Tulip Guesthouse. There was really nothing to dislike: the staff was very friendly, the rooms were tidy and clean, the shower was completely functional, the…"

Read all Tulip Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Newspapers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 34.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please be advised that as soon has you receive your confirmation email you will be required to email the property directly with the three digit security code or CCV number from the back of your card. Failure to do so will result in the cancellation of your booking and no refund of the deposit will be given. You will be provided with the properties contact email address on your booking confirmation email. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 4 days before arrival (local time). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Marmara Guesthouse
42.84 USD

Guesthouse 92.8% 202 reviews
Chora Guest House
20.73 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 32 reviews
Star Hotel Istanbul
49.71 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Sultan Hostel
16.58 USD

Hostel 87.9% 531 reviews
Villa Pasha Hotel
138.20 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
26.26 USD

Hostel 95.5% 299 reviews
Sultan's Eye Comfort Hotel
48.37 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Orient Hostel
15.20 USD

Hostel 93.4% 394 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

363 out of 376 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tulip Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
85.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 333 of 363 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff clean and tidy rooms

Disliked: a choice of fruit juices at breakfast time would have made the breakfasts even better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location friendly staffs

Disliked: Coul be bigger bathroom ed

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christie Petersen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2014 Christie would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly nature of Esin and support satff could not be faulted.

Disliked: Rooms are smaller than we typically expect coming from Australia.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mihai Dobre

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Mihai would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my friends had a wonderful stay at Tulip Guesthouse. There was really nothing to dislike: the staff was very friendly, the rooms were tidy and clean, the shower was completely functional, the breakfast was good (it didn't include meat, but that didn't bother anyone) and the view from the terrace was great. Also, it is placed really well, next to the historical attractions (Hagia Sofia, Sultanahmet Mosque, Topkapi Palace). All in all, it's a great place to stay during your visit to Istanbul.

Disliked: Mihai left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rinta Adita

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

08 March 2013 Rinta would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, near the sultanahmet mosque, many cafes and restos around

Disliked: the breakfast room (terrace) was too small :D

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Horn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Tulip Guesthouse is so helpful and kind. We loved it there and plan to go back at the end of our journey throughout Turkey. The breakfast was good and the prices for a room with a private bath were great. It was also quiet at night as this is not a party hostel. We especially liked that as we still got a chance to meet other travelers and mingle at breakfast. They also held our bags on the last day after we checked out which was so nice!

Disliked: Nothing not to like!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Hamed Tavalla

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 November 2012 Hamed would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: the bathroom is tooooooo small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean. The breakfast excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly staff and excellent location. Around 5-10 mins walk to the Sultanamet, blue mosque, hagia sofia and all the main attractions in the old town. The guesthouse also has a lovely breakfast included. Staff were very knowledgeable about surroundings and gave great recommendations for my family and I. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, cleanliness, breakfast, friendly and competent staff.

Disliked: Facilities could give somewhat a better price-quality ratio. This mainly refers to room size (very small, you can barely turn around) and bathroom, which is to be honest, cleaned frequently enough, but does not have a separated shower cabin or a bath tub. This makes it a bit unconvenient to use on a more frequent basis. Consequently, we would highely recomend this guesthouse for a shorter stay, whereas room size and bedroom issues strongly come to play after a few days.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was staying in Tulip Guesthouse with my friend for a week. We relly liked it. It was really hot outside so the air conditioner was deffinitely our favourite thing :). The Staff was great and the breakfast was really good! Location was really nice too. Close to everything but quiet area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maik Okrey

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Maik would recommend this property

Liked: we had a very relaxed stay and the staff was very helpful and kind.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location! The street the guesthouse is one runs parallel to the main street in Sultanahmet where most of the restaurants are located which at night becomes more active but because the guesthouse is not on the main street you can also get a good nights sleep. Literally just a few minutes walk from the main tourist hub of Sultanahmet Square, The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and Cankurtaran train station. About a 20 minute or so walk from the Grand Bazaar and Spice Bazaar or 5 minutes via the tram from Sultanahmet Square. Also close to a laundry as well!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff - always willing to take the time to answer questions and be fully helpful to their guests. Ennis and Faridye had ready smiles and were so welcoming. Despite being within blocks of the central historic and cultural sites in Sultanahmet as well as a restaurant row, the guesthouse was a quiet haven. Thanks for making my initial days in Turkey a wonderful experience.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and safe.

Disliked: No atmosphere, no way to meet other travellers, no tourist info or local knowledge

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wai Yi Cheng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Wai Yi would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very pleasant stay in this guesthouse. Enes and Batu were welcoming and friendly and provide with us many useful information for traveling. The location was excellent as well: a 5 min walk from the Sultanahmet tram station and tourist sights such as Aya Sofya, the Blue Mosque etc. I couldn't have enjoyed this place more!

Disliked: Wai Yi left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was handy, breakfast was really good and the room was well kept.

Disliked: We didn't dislike this hostel, but due to Tulip being full on our other nights in Istanbul we had to stay somewhere else which was very close by, cost less and had an amazing roof top terrace (which Tulip did not have). So although Tulip is nice and we enjoyed it, there is better out there for less money.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Douw Steyn

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2012 Douw would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012

Liked: It was a pretty cool hostel but not if you like to stay out late. No keys are given out and you pretty much wake someone up with the bell to get the door for you. If you're up for partying late, then this guesthouse is not for you. The people working there are really cool and friendly and helpful with information, and the free breakfast is the bomb!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sophie Varnier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2012 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff. very willing to help you with infomation and things to do.

Disliked: had booked on hostelbookers, but because i dıdnt reply to an email they sent they didnt confirm our booking and had to pay extra to stay in a private room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The excellent breakfast, the staff was wonderful, location, wifi worked great and was fast. Also, good view from the top floor.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful and flexibel staff! Location is very good, the street is not too busy but still there are lots of restaurants in the area and the biggest tourist sights are very close. Breakfast included in the price. The staff booked an airport shuffle bus for us and it came right outside to pick us up for only 10e.

Disliked: Rooms are a bit small and worn but considering the price it was ok. During breakfast it was sometimes not enough tables so we had to wait but it was not a big problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Neil Feder

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and owner are extremely friendly! It is centrally located in the old city, and the view from the top of the Bosporus is amazing! I left my computer there all week in the room, and I felt very safe and knew nothing would happen to it.

Disliked: The single room is a bit cramped, but still good value for money. I had to ask several times for the bathroom to be properly cleaned. The dining area should have more tables, as I had to wait awhile before having breakfast one morning.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was extremly friendly and helpful

Disliked: triple room is too small! doesn't have space for 3 suitcases...