HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Istanbul Hostel

Hostel | 35 Kutlu Gun Sokak, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey 34410

79.0% Overall Rating

319 out of 370 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2014)

Aswath Abhijit Konanur thinks…

"This was my first visit to Turkey/istanbul and truly the stay in the hostel made it extremely enjoyable. The location is perfect, right in the heart of sultanahmet and walking distance from most of…"

Read all Istanbul Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • BBQ area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Boutiqu Dedem Hotel
113.85 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Akdeniz hotel
21.94 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.2% 13 reviews
Old City Hostel
18.98 USD

Hostel 89.3% 15 reviews
Star Holiday Hotel
36.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.5% 138 reviews
istiklal hostel
15.36 USD

Hostel 96.0% 196 reviews
Istanbul Violet Apart
20.00 USD

Apartment 85.7% 3 reviews
Meddusa Hotel
20.06 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.3% 42 reviews
AAE Istanbul Aquarium Hotel
21.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.0% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

319 out of 370 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Istanbul Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
77.6%
Value
75.2%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 258 of 267 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aswath Abhijit Konanur

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Aswath Abhijit would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first visit to Turkey/istanbul and truly the stay in the hostel made it extremely enjoyable. The location is perfect, right in the heart of sultanahmet and walking distance from most of the attractions. If you plan to go further the trams are very easily available as well. The staff was very helpful and patient. The people visiting this hostel are very friendly. I made a lot of friends. Hope you do so too. I am definitely gonna stay here again when i come. Turkish coffee here is out of this world

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at Istanbul Hostel. The people running the place were very friendly and hospitable, the location as well as the views were wonderful. I really felt at home here and ended up coming back to stay an additional five days. I suppose that kind of says it all. They have a couple of nice tables near the street that were great for an evening drink and people-watching. The rooms were clean as well as the bathrooms and I felt very safe. Hayda!

Disliked: -none

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vincent Bacalan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: It's the close proximity to transportation, attractions, and the water.

Disliked: None that I can think of.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to everything

Disliked: I dident like that it was a super turist area but that is not the hostels pb, that is mine

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

François DEBAIN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2012 François would recommend this property

Liked: Great location I arrived at 7h45 am (before the Check in at 11am) and it was okay

Disliked: No personnal light in the room (no place to read) Only one electrical plug in thé room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

oancea ionut

Alone

Shopping

19 October 2012 oancea would recommend this property

Liked: everything was very good, the food was very good on the terrace, very nice guy

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not bad for the price. I probably wouldn't recommend it if you're travelling alone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012

Liked: the views from the balcony and the breakfast

Disliked: the staff

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were welcoming and helpful as they booked a Turkish bath and a shuttle to the airport in the early hours of the morning, both for reasonable prices. Perfect location a 2 min walk to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Plenty of bars and restaurants the next street over.

Disliked: Nothing, a great hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2012

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The bathroom was quite dirty and one night the water in the shower was cold! It was winter, so this definitely wasn't nice, although they have fixed it after our advice.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jenniina Siira

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 Jenniina would recommend this property

Liked: It was located in an excellent place and the room was good enough.

Disliked: Toilets and the shower were a little bit untidy, but it wasn't bad at all.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 November 2011

Liked: It is close to all the interesting points in Ist.

Disliked: To many people for one bathroom. The consequences are broken toilets, water on the floor, lack of toilet paper...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had great aircon, Very central.

Disliked: The beds and pillows were extremely hard (uncomfortable). Had to share the shower with others, was small, water splashes everywhere had to clean it up with the mop that is present in the bathroom (for obvious reasons). The the sliding door of the shower kept coming loose. No toilet paper, had to ask for it.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011

Liked: Just the location...

Disliked: We booked 2 beds in a 10 bed dorm. When we arrived there was'nt any bed availiable and they put us into a 21 bed dorm. There were 23 persons sleeping there, and we could'nt sleep at all until 5.30 am because of drunk adolescent singing and screaming. Unfriendly staff + 23 bed dorm = we felt like animals there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Lots of things to do and also there is the terrace which is a great place to unwind at the end of the day.

Disliked: There was a lot of mold in our room so our allergies were reacting pretty badly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is te best hostel I have ever seen: clean, good located, kindly staff, restaurant and bar on the roof, amazing view to the see... perfect and cheap as well, I loved it!!!!

Disliked: nothing, it is perfect! :D

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Humza Javed

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2011 Humza would recommend this property

Liked: Unbeatable location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nıce and ı recommend to come and stay here

Disliked: nice

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Ostalska

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent! it's just 3 minutes walk from the Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque. hostel is also close to the tram. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bed linen was clean and breakfast was ok, just a typical Turkish breakfast: hard-boiled egg, white salty cheese, tomatoes, cucumbers, olives, jam, butter, bread, tea or coffee.

Disliked: actually there was no hot water in the shower which was very unpleasant during cold weather. room was small, but it wasn't a problem for us. the real problem was a huge black mold on the ceiling and walls - it was almost everywhere around the room. pity that the room has no closet, it colud be a problem, if you are staying more than few days.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tsang Ching Han

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011 Tsang would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a private ensuite, but dont know why they offered us an apartment (different building from istanbul hostel) with kitchen for us, so nice! And we cooked at the last night. Bedroom, open kitchen are good.

Disliked: One staff is nice but the other is not so nice.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location very close to Aya Sophia and Blue Mosque, quite good price of the room, small silent hostel

Disliked: the only thing was black mold on most of walls in our double room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Livia Moreira

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011 Livia would recommend this property

Liked: The hosts at reception, the restaurant, the location.

Disliked: Bathrooms could be cleaner and they need to be rebuild.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Burke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly, always offering helpful advice and would go the extra mile for you. roof top terrace restaurant is wonderful/

Disliked: Bathrooms could be a bit cleaner but weren't the worst I have seen.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ebony Wood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Ebony would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location and very helpful lovely staff

Disliked: Its not the hostel's fault but unfortunately in our apartment we ended up sharing with an extremely intoxicated man who left the door to outside open during the night, includingg his bedroom door while he snored and also the bathroom door when he woke up to pee (without flushing or washing his hands!) Again not the hostels fault but it did effect our stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Katiforis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, helpful, fun and friendly from the moment we took our first steps in the door. Never have I been to a hostel where they treated their guests likes Kings and Queens! :) Even with some of the staff not speaking a lot of English, we could sit around the bar for hours laughing and joking with them. And the staff that could speak English, would help us out in anyway they could, they went above and beyond to make our stay a happy one! CHEERS MATE!!! ;)

Disliked: That we didnt have more time there!