We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sinbad Hostel

Hostel | Demirci Resit Sk., Ayasofya Mh., Sultanahmet Istanbul, Turkey 34400

62.9% Overall Rating

91 out of 123 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/02/2014)

Matthew Gibb thinks…

"If you are Korean perhaps this is the place to go, since the owner is Korean and also speaks Turkish. He has lived in Turkey for 8 years."

Read all Sinbad Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

City Guest House Istanbul
15.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 10 reviews
Golden Palace Istanbul
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Sultanahmet King Palace Hotel
30.36 USD

Hotel 90.9% 5 reviews
feyza apart
44.28 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Nova Roma Hotel Istanbul
26.33 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Antique House Istanbul
14.48 USD

Hotel 91.8% 8 reviews
Maritime Hotel Istanbul
107.53 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Deniz Houses
19.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.8% 53 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.9%

Overall Rating

91 out of 123 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sinbad Hostel'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
49.6%
Staff
68.0%
Value
60.0%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 85 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Matthew Gibb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 February 2014

Liked: If you are Korean perhaps this is the place to go, since the owner is Korean and also speaks Turkish. He has lived in Turkey for 8 years.

Disliked: The problems are too numerous to note here. Sheets seem like they have never been bleached. The toilet on the third floor was backed up for two days. The wireless service worked only sometimes. I saw a homeless person sleeping on a bench nearby. My experience at about 15 dollars a night wasn't much better than having slept on a park bench. I can say I understand what it is like to live in a Turkish slum after this. There are signs telling you not to eat in the lobby, but the upstairs dining area, which has a great view of the Sea of Marmara is only open for a few hours to host the free Mediterranean style breakfast with cups of weak tea. There are signs telling us to be clean and think of things like our face. Meanwhile you are looking into the black bottom of a toilet that perhaps hasn't been cleaned in ages.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013

Liked: they have breakfast ? haha

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Matej Sussi

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Matej would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, only 6 minutes from the Sultanahmet (Blue Mosque)

Disliked: The building is old and seems dirty, expecially the shared bathrooms are a mess.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, not to far from where I wanted to be, rooms where okay (the cleaning of the room isn't like at a five star hotel, but I didn't expect anything else - it was cheap).

Disliked: Bad cleaning. The sheets were to small for the beds which resulted in me and my freinds slept directly on the matresses (it is actually quite annoying). We had some problems with the shower as well.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011

Liked: staff are friendly except korean staff.

Disliked: too dirty .

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and do-able, friendly staff

Disliked: bathrooms were gross, not even worth showering in, old and small place, but cheap

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Location!

Disliked: All was quite alright!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location...nice view from the roof during the breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Claire Dupree

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010

Liked: Location was the only good thing about this hostel and there are plenty around the area. Room had peeling plaster, bugs, dirty sheets, was tiny for two single beds. Showers and toilets dirty. We did not want to spend time here at all

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

giulia lonardi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2010

Liked: in comoda posizione a due passi dalla moschea blu e santa sofia

Disliked: niente di piacevole durante il nostro soggiorno all'ostello che era sporco, spazi sacrificati, buio e caldo. il titolare poi era veramente maleducato e indisponente

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot water, balcony, nice staff, view from the rooftop. Location next to weekly market.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Andrew Mullinger

29 April 2010

Liked: Location.However it is very noisy.. Reception staff talk on the phone all night long (24 hour reception) Tour groups turn up at all hours and yell at the top of their voices along with staff!Would not reccomend if its a good nights sleep that you want.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tudor Totoescu

06 April 2010 Tudor would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in SultanAhmet around all the great locations, very clean showers and toilets.

Disliked: Tudor left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Parisen

22 March 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I'd recommend Sinbad Hostel, located IMHO in the best part of Istanbul (Sultanahmet), walking distance easy to Blue Mosque, Topkapi palace, etc. Friendly staff, English speaking and lots of international travelers.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johan Samuel Himmelstrup

23 February 2010 Johan Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The prices, the rooms, the people working there, the owner, especially the location and the noise level that was allowed! When I go to Istanbul again I will definetly check in at Sinbad again, and I will also like to recommend this to everyone!

Disliked: Johan Samuel left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 January 2010

Liked: if i saw well than every floor just only 2shower 1 toilet so morning traffic jam at bathroom. you can use internet free ,have got 2 computer there. at roof floor good panorama view to sea and there get a breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 January 2010

Liked: one of cheapest hostel and get free breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

agustinus sugiharto

28 September 2009 agustinus would recommend this property

Liked: Price is fair. Easy to reach from airport using bus/tram/metro. The location is very near to Blue Mosque n Hagia Sophia (one of the most popular tourist sites in the city). Very nice roof cafe which usually used for the breakfast.

Disliked: agustinus left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Chiara Sandoni

16 September 2009 Chiara would recommend this property

Liked: I expecially like friendliness of the staff and location of the hostel

Disliked: Chiara left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 September 2009

Liked: The boss was really unfriendly. He didn't let us use the kitchen, nor the fridge, not even overnight and suggested rudely i hang my stuff which needs to be cooled on the window cause the breeze might cool it!!! plus he charged me roughly 4 euros more in total for 3 nights just because i wanted to pay in the local currency and not in euros. the hostel was pretty dirty too.if you ignore the boss though the remaining staff was really friendly, even teaching me some phrases in turkish, telling me which bus lines to take to get to my desired destination, playing backgammon with us and teaching us other typical turkish games on the terrace. the internet was free and you didn't have to wait long to use it. in general it is a nice place to be, but with 2 really unfriendly people who are in charge. if you avoid them life will be perfect:)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not good enough breakfast, location is quite good, but 10 min walk to key attractions

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 August 2009

Liked: the guy at the reception who is always tired is very nice very good location and easy to find if you don't have a map like us and if you ask your way, turkish people will help you

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Dora Csics

14 August 2009 Dora would recommend this property

Liked: The toilet and a shower wasn't clean beetwen 9-11. Maybe they should clean more often on the morning.

Disliked: Dora left no negative feedback.