HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Mavi Onur Guesthouse Guesthouse

Kucuk ayasofya mah. Aksakal sok. No:28 sultanahmet, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 80%

Location 97%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 80%

Location 97%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Good staff and location

Disliked: Older shower

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very close to all tourist attractions

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the price was rather reasonablewifiluggage roomwater dispenser in receptionprivate room-towels,hair dryer provided.

Disliked: booked here because the good review and good price.i travelled extensively throughout turkiye for more than 2 weeks before, this is my third time and third hotel/hostel in istanbul, 1.the turkish breakfast here is the worst. 2. the building is old. 3. dont know about dormitory(maybe good because the rating was quite high) but my private room was very disappointing.the bathroom was unclean, the floor was wet most of the time due to some leaking, old carpet and aircond. it smells damp every time i entered the room. small room and no cupboard ,just 2 hooks on the wall to hang our clothes.4.winding stairs.not ideal for those with big heavy luggage or having mobility difficulty.if you need comfort and value for money in private room,until they improve this hotel, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE. there are hundreds of other hotels in the area.seriously hundreds of them, u can just walk in and shop around.to mavi onur guesthouse-please improve.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: First of all, I was glad that I was offered a pick-up from the airport that would take me directly to the hostel. The staff was really friendly and helpful throughout the whole stay; they helped me with whatever I needed to know and also offered valuable information on where to go or how to bargain at the bazaar :-) The rooftop terrace is amazing, as well as the location near the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. I felt completely safe during the stay, the common area has video surveillance and I could store my valuables (e.g. passport) in the safe. It's a great hostel!

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay at the Mavi Onur Guesthouse! We ended up extending our stay from 2 days to 5 days! The staff is extremely helpful and friendly - always enjoyed talking to them and they were always willing to help us anyway they can! They'd bring us tea and coffee if we were just hanging out in the reception, help us prep our hookha, etc. Really fantastic staff! The free breakfast was really good and filling! Tomatoes, cucumbers, olives, eggs, and all the bread you can eat - and obviously tea & coffee. Clean rooms and a fantastic view from the terreace! There are cameras in the dorm room, so although it may be considered a somewhat lack of privacy, I think it's a great safey precaution and I never worried about anyone stealing my stuff. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone!

Disliked: There are only two bathrooms, which makes it a little difficult in the mornings, but it wasn't too much trouble. There are a lot of stairs to climb to get to the shared dorm, but the staff helped bring our bags up and were very helpful - wasn't too bad after you got used to it. The wifi only works in the reception area, but it's a great way to meet other travelers! All in all it was a great stay!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is excellent, just a few minutes walking from the blue mosque and the center. Our room had a view of the sea, the bed was big enough and comfortable. The breakfast was good, the staff is really nice and friendly, helped us with kind suggestions, map and they offer also airport shuttle, laundry etc (even though we didn't need them). I would definitely recommend the guesthouse!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: small, family-run hostel; only a few rooms, therefore quiet during the night; good traditional turkish breakfast

Disliked: traffic noise (I guess everywhere in the city); old uncomfortable beds; the rooms are what you can expect for the small price

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We stayed in the dorm room at the top of the guesthouse which has lovely views of the Bosphorus and is great for morning sunbathing. We were travelling in a big group and they even brought a table and chairs up so we could eat breakfast there together in the mornings. The location is one of the best you'll find - five minutes walk from the Blue Mosque and right in the heart of Old Istanbul.

Disliked: The cameras in the dorm room. I didn't feel comfortable changing in there as you could see the footage on a TV screen in reception below...

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff, good food

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Helpfulness of staff (the most helpful/friendly I experienced in the whole of my travels in Turkey!).Value for money.

Disliked: When staying in dorm shower facilities are on separate floor to the bedrooms.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability